check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


18 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Carmel Valley House Rental Photos and Description

Family Estate, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 5 Baths,

(NOTE: 11 is standard occupancy. Up to 13 occupants are allowed upon approval with an additional $100 per person per night. We also have many more gorgeous vacation rental properties available if your dates are already reserved. )


Our 2 Story 5Bed/5Bath Spacious Family Home is perfect for 2-3 Families looking to share a big beautiful kid-friendly home for a perfect San Diego Summer or Anytime Vacation.


The home's ideal floorplan includes a dramatic 2 story entry way opening up to the formal designer living room (seating for 10) and dining room (seats 8). Step down into the oversized Family Room with large comfy sectional couch and overstuffed loveseat, 60inch TV, DVD, Surround Sound, and cozy fireplace. Family room opens up to HUGE SPACIOUS Fully-Stocked Kitchen complete with designer granite countertops and long center granite island & breakfast nook (seats 8) that opens to double french doors leading to the private Tropical Backyard with unlimited outdoor entertaining and relaxation areas. There are 2 Guestrooms & 2 Bathrooms downstairs and the laundry room is also downstairs equipped with washer/dryer & large sink basin, and cabinets filled with cleaning supplies & beach towels.

Guestroom #1 includes: Queen Bed, private bath with combo tub/shower.

Guestroom #2 (the Disco Room) includes: Full Bed, Sleeper Futon, Flatscreen TV, IPod Docking Tower, Disco & Strobe lights for kids dance parties :)


Upstairs you will find a spectacular 1200 Sq. ft. Master Suite complete with Cal King, Flatscreen, Surround Sound, DVD, Comfy Couch, cathedral ceilings, 2 Balconies, a separate office with dual fireplace, a sunken jacuzzi bathtub & separate glass shower, his/her vanities. Down the hall from the Master you will find 2 Guest Bedrooms & a KIDS DEN/LOFT.

Guestroom #4 includes: Full Bed, LCD TV, private bath w/combo tub/shower.

Guestroom #5 includes: Queen Bed, LCD TV & private bath w/combo tub/shower.

Kids Loft: (sleeps 3-4 kids) L Shaped Sectional Couch, 60in LCD TV, Electronic Key Board, Mini Fridge, Game Console, Toys, etc.


Nightly Rates vary from $650-$1200 per night depending on #of occupants, Rental Season & Length of Stay.

Please inquire with owner regarding additional charges and fees. Refundable Damage Deposit $600-$800.

Please contact us directly for exact rental rates and costs. We will always try & work within your budget if possible. If we cant meet your budget needs at this property we will do our best to find another property for you that fits within your budget.


Our home is conveniently located just a few miles east of Del Mar & Torrey Pines Beach & is just north of La Jolla in one of San Diego's most prestigious neighborhoods, Carmel Valley 92130. It is conveniently located a few miles from the 5 San Diego Freeway & a quick drive to the Local Beaches & The Del Mar Race Track. The Del Mar Highlands Shopping Center is also located a couple of miles from the property and is complete with abundance of grocery stores, restaurants/bars, boutiques, coffee shops, specialty stores & fast food.

The property is also conveniently located 15-20minutes from All SD Major Attractions such as: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Lego Land & Historic Balboa Park & The Downtown Gaslamp District, as well as Shopping Centers, Cinemas, Prestigious Golf Courses, and tons of beautiful Parks & Churches.

AIMSTAR VACATION RENTALS: This property is privately owned by Amey Hoey, the owner/founder of Aimstar Vacation Rentals -AVR- a local San Diego personalized Vacation Rental & Travel Hospitality Group. Aimstar Vacation Rentals manages and facilitates over 15 other vacation properties for friends and family members throughout San Diego & the Palm Desert/La Quinta area.

AVR only represents quality properties that qualify as IDEAL VACATION DESTINATIONS - we do not manage or promote properties that we would not stay in ourselves. We only deal with quality property owners that understand the importance of keeping their properties well-maintained, up-dated and vacation rental ready. AVR is dedicated to customer satisfaction and we will always go the extra mile to ensure that all our vacation travelers have the most memorable & care free vacation experience during their stay in one of our many Aimstar Vacation Rental properties.

All AVR Managed Vacation Rental Properties come with Personalized Welcome Baskets, Attractions & Restaurants Recommendation Lists and discount coupons and VIP Concierge Itinerary Services (additional fees may apply) to ensure that all our valued vacation clients have the best possible experience in America's Finest Vacation City.

Please contact us directly 619-318-9292 or 858-750-9017 (we are available 7days a week) so that we may answer all your rental questions and get you booked into this fabulous vacation rental.

Keywords: SPACIOUS, 2 STORY, FAMILY VACATION RENTAL, w/POOL, in prestigious neighborhood of CARMEL VALLEY-(5 mi from Torrey Pines Beach).

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Amey Hoey & Brock Hixenbaugh
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2016
Call Owner


based on 18 traveler reviews

average rating of 4.611111 based on 18 reviews
Dana Point, CA

Relaxation, comfort and perfect for Del Mar Kaaboo festival

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for a getaway long weekend with friends. The pool and hot tub were awesome for before and after the music festival we attended in Del Mar. It was a quick Uber ride to the fairgrounds or downtown. We grilled and cooked, the kitchen was wonderful for entertaining. Everyone had space to get some quiet time if needed also. Brock and Amie were wonderful to work with and I would absolutely return and recommend to friends.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Needs Updating

  • 2 of 5

My family and I went to San Diego for my nephew's wedding. We reserved this rental for us, our two children, their spouses and 5 children. On paper, it looked perfect! The first hint that it might not be as 'perfect' as we expected was the fact that it took Amy about a half an hour to go through the house with us to "point out a few things." For example: the stove 'clicks' constantly when the gas is on; the knob on the washer is broken so you sort of have to guess where to stop it to wash the clothes; the door in one of the upstairs bedroom locks when closed so you have to exit through the bathroom to open the bedroom, etc., etc. The pool was refreshing and the children loved it but the deck area was covered with berries (the gardner was supposed to come by to sweep up...never saw him) and the deck furniture is on it's last leg. The gas fire pit is not working. There was a warning on a note in the kitchen that only one hair dryer could be used at a time in order not to blow a fuse. In short, this lovely home in a lovely neighborhood is in great need of fix up. I have sent Amy and Brock a list of suggested projects but neither of them replied so I hope they will take these suggestions to heart and fix up this wonderfully located property and bring it up to the neighborhood standards! If they were to fix and update this property, I would highly recommend it, but until they do, I think it is subpar for a VRBO rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We initially decided against responding to this obvious bogus review and just let all the numerous glowing reviews speak for themselves; however, we decided it was best to clarify any negative misconceptions this review may have on any potential rentals. First of all, this group registered 10 occupants but tried to sneak in 7 additional guests without our approval. When the situation was discovered after 5 days into their rental, we told them the additional guests could stay but that we would have to charge them an additional standard per night guest fee and additional cleaning fee. Plus we had to deduct $350 for a huge red wine stain on the area rug in the family room. Well, apparently these additional required charges did not sit well with this discourteous family, and unfortunately they chose to retaliate by writing a bogus and exaggerated review that does not closely resemble all the other numerous favorable reviews we have received over the years. Please note that we take extreme pride and effort in presenting this home in a manner that fulfills our vacationers every want and need. And we will ALWAYS go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is as delightful and memorable as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Amazing Holiday Vacation for our Family....

  • 5 of 5

We arrived the day after Christmas to find this home still beautifully decorated for Christmas, we felt like we were home. The Home was beautiful, well-kept and the pool and spa were warm and a nice treat from leaving 19 degree weather. There was 14 of us, which was a worry of space. This home was plenty big, there was plenty of beds, space and was extremely comfortable. Amie and Brock were quick to answer any questions that we had, they were extremely professional as well as very personable. We would gladly work with them again on our future stays in California. What an amazing family vacation, memories to last a lifetime.... Cheers.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Lake City, UT

Saved our Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful home with a great private back yard with a pool. We had a family reunion planned in San Diego. We were "scammed" by a listing on Craiglist. In a panic, with a large family already in San Diego, I found this listing through VRBO. I called Brock. He made some calls, made some adjustments and called me right back with great news. This beautiful home was available. Both Brock and Amey were extremely accommodating. Kids and adults loved the pool. Fully stocked kitchen. Enough space for all of us! Easy travel distance to all tourist vacation destinations. Great shopping. Absolutely wonderful!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Buffalo, NY


  • 5 of 5

My family and I were very comfortable and felt very much at home when we walked in the door. The bedrooms were all very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, glasses, silverware and plenty of pots and pans, along with small appliances. The pool is a great asset. With very young children, we especially appreciated the locks, both high and low, to the patio. The home is spacious. With 9 adults and 3 children, we never felt crowded. The listing with pictures are very accurate. location is great. we had no trouble getting to and from major tourist sites such as the Zoo, waterfront, OldTown, Sea World and disneyland. shopping is convenient. my emails with the owner were answered promptly. i had the owners contact information to call if we needed anything or had any questions. When we come back to San Diego,this is our house of choice.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
San Ramon, CA

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We took our annual family trip to San Diego this year. We were looking for a nice, modern, clean home with a swimming pool close the beach. We found Amey's listing and instantly booked. The home is located in a beautiful, safe, and quiet neighborhood. It had everything we needed and more. Very spacious home with plenty of rooms and bathrooms for the entire party. Amey was very responsive to my emails and questions. Brock was very helpful and accommodating during our stay. We would highly recommend this beautiful home to family, friends, and anyone who is looking to stay in the San Diego area. Thank you Amey and Brock for a very memorable family vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
San Diego Airport
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
The Grand Del Mar
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Amtrak Solana Beach
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
5 San Diego Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
3.5 Miles
Nearest Ski
120 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Torrey Pines/Del Mar Beach

Our Home, located in Carmel Valley 92130, is 2 Blocks from Ashley Falls School & Park - Ideal for Family Gatherings & Playtime. There Are 3 Kid's PlayStructures with Lots of Sand, Picnic Tables, Bathrooms, Basketball Hoops, Sand Volleyball Courts, Tether Ball, Back Boards & Huge Fields for All Sports Activities. There is also a Skate Boarding Park, Public Driving Range & Miniature Golf Course located within a few miles of the home.


Rates & Availability

Carmel Valley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Fall Value Season
Sep 11 2016 - Oct 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving Holiday
Nov 21 2016 - Nov 30 2016
5 night minimum stay
Winter Holiday
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pool/Jacuzzi Heating Fee $175
Refundable damage deposit $700
Cleaning Fee $225

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Carmel Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4300 sq. ft.
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers