check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: german

Enjoy Your Own Private Cove on Beautiful Lake Arrowhead

36 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

North Waterboro House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Come spend your vacation on beautiful Lake Arrowhead, an 1100 acre lake located between Portland, Maine and North Conway, NH, and only two hours north of Boston. Our cottage was built in 2010 on 1.5 acres of beautifully wooded land, is sunny but cozy, child-friendly, and contains all of the comforts of home, such as wireless Internet, in an open floor plan. Two bedrooms, both with queen mattresses, along with a loft area with four twin mattresses, sleep 8 comfortably. Two baths, one on each floor, allow for privacy, and the first-floor bath contains a tub for bathing the little ones! Full-sized washer and dryer are located in the walkout basement.

In the summer, rest on the screened-in porch with water views, sit on the private dock or explore the lake by kayak. Guests can enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools, gym, tennis courts, and playground. An outdoor fire pit allows for building new family memories.

Come to Maine and enjoy a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of life, with so much to do that you won't know what to do first! We'd love to have you!

Summer rentals are weekly from Saturday to Saturday. We offer special monthly and seasonal rates for Fall, Winter, and Spring.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property. A $500 security deposit is required, and will be returned if there is no damage or no extra cleaning is needed. There is NO smoking in the house or around the property. Sorry, no pets allowed.

Keywords: Vacation Home, Beachfront Property

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: german

About Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence

We are a busy family of 4 who used to live in the Boston area for many years before moving to Georgia in 2011. Our girls are 10 and 15 and love to swim, play, and explore.

Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence purchased this house in 2010

Why Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence chose Lake Arrowhead

Lake Arrowhead is a lovely and peaceful area and community. We go up to the lake house at least once a year to start our summer and to get the house ready for our summer guests. In the summer time, we have been swimming in the lake as late as mid-September. In early August, the water was really warm and we stayed for hours in our beach area. The community and the surrounding area have much to offer and we always enjoy going up to the house. Be sure to check out Krista's in Cornish, ME...an incredible restaurant!

What makes this house unique

Our lake house is far enough away to find peace and recharge our batteries, but close enough to visit with friends or invite them for a day or two.

Reviews

4.8
based on 36 traveler reviews

Enjoy Your Own Private Cove on Beautiful Lake Arrowhead
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 36 reviews
5

The perfect family vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

You know you've rented the right place when you arrive and it looks EXACTLY like it does in the pictures online! My husband, 8 yo daughter, and I had the BEST 2-week family vacation here! The cottage was beautiful and spacious and clean. The property was wonderful! We fished off the dock at least twice a day - and caught a lot of fish! We used the fire pit at night and made s'mores. We used the kayaks on the beautiful lake. The hammock was delightful! And working with the owner was a breeze! I can't say enough nice things about this property! We greatly appreciate that the owners made this little slice of vacation heaven available to us!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Will not return -

  • 1 of 5

I stayed the Pine Hill Cottage property in 2014. It was a great place, reflecting many of the reviews posted prior to this one. Therefore, my wife and I decided to stay there in 2016 and signed a contract in January (2016). Unfortunately, we had a negative experience dealing with the owner and Management Company as well as the condition of the house that will prevent us from renting here again.



We assumed, incorrectly, that the house would be cleaned by a professional service between each rental, and that cleaning obligations on a list that was posted on the kitchen wall matched the cleaning obligations listed on our original contract. However, the list posted in the kitchen did not include details such vacuuming and mopping. Long story short, we were charged for five or six hours of additional cleaning work because we neglected to mop and vacuum. According to the property owner, the management company doesn’t clean, they merely “check” the property. We certainly would have mopped and vacuumed if it was posted – who remembers the details of rental contract 7 months after the fact – we were supposed to be on vacation!

Here are a few concerns about the condition of the house especially if you have kids-

• A pendant light glass shade was dangling from the light bulb and didn’t work – there was note from the management company to avoid touching it. This was a problem in 2014 and I actually called the owner about it.

• The toilet seat was caked with feces near the hinges from a previous renter(s) and needed to be removed and scrubbed clean, which was quite distressing and disgusting and underscores the owner's reliance on renters to adequately clean (rather than surface-wipe)

• The bathroom door downstairs has been in disrepair (does not lock) since 2014 depriving occupants of any privacy.

• The cushions for the couch in the living room had a strong smell of mildew.

Overall, as beautiful as the layout and location of the home, we could never rent there again because of the owner’s indifference to our concerns, his apparent arrogance in light of these concerns, and his use of a management "company" that appears inept at maintaining the property appropriately (at least to our satisfaction). The owner’s reliance on renters to properly clean the home is disturbingly inadequate, and a fact that was only fully disclosed after a problem arose.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you feel the house was not a good fit for you. However, we do understand that you came to this conclusion when we had to ask you to cover the cost of the clean-up we had to have done after you left the house. Regarding the alleged shortcomings, we feel that you never gave us a chance to correct any of them since you did not mention anything until after your rental even though we asked you (as we ask all our renters) on the day of your arrival to let us know if anything was not to your expectations. In fact, when we called to discuss how you left the house, you were full of praise and wanted to book it right away for next year. Once we learned of the issue with the hanging lights, we replaced all of the lights. Regarding the other items you mentioned, neither our management crew nor any of the renters visiting after you were able to corroborate these shortcomings. We want to believe that you do not make these statements just because you had to pay for the clean-up. We hope you will find another place that is a better fit for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Love

  • 2 of 5

Lovely, neat home with all amenities listed in description. Not as kid friendly as advertised.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you feel that the house was not a good fit for you. We couldn;t agree more. Since your stay, we have made it a point to reemphasize that there is no cleaning service at the house and we expect renters to leave the house the way they would like to find it upon their own arrival. We also remind renters that there is no smoking at the lake house. Unfortunately, we were not able to convey this message to you and must have left the impression that you could leave the cottage dirty and were allowed to smoke. We hope you will find another house that allows you to smoke and offer full-service cleaning. All the best to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Lake Retreat for Families

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the lake house last August with our two children (4 and 6). We loved all the amenities the house offered, especially the canoe and kayaks. The kids fished for hours off the dock. We took advantage of the location to do day trips to Old Orchard Beach, Portland and the local farm for blueberry picking. The owners were true professionals and very responsive. We hope to go back soon!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic family vacation

  • 5 of 5

This is our family first year coming to the lovely house at Lake Arrowhead. What a place to unwind and let the stress melt away. The house was very clean and well maintained. We enjoyed sitting on the screened porch, nightly BBQ on the deck, and fishing and boating on the lake. Thank you Alexander and Patricia for sharing your beautiful home with us. It's a real gem in Maine! We would defiantly rent again in the future and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect rental house on Lake Arrowhead!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I were coming back to Maine for the first time in 7 years and looking for a quiet place where we could relax. We found this beautiful house on a private cove to be perfect in every way. The privacy and secluded back yard and lake access allowed us to really enjoy our stay. My teenagers even enjoyed it! Perfect for any family. We enjoyed the cosy and modern interior of the house as well as the many amenities such as screened porch, fire pit, kayaks and canoe, and wi-fi too.

The kitchen layout was perfect for making meals while still enjoying good conversation and family time too. The large and spacious living area downstairs was perfect too. We barbecued on the back deck and enjoyed simply unwinding around the fire pit roasting marshmallows and making s'mores too!

My wife and I knew from our first night's stay here that we'd be coming back again for our next visit to Maine. The lake house was convenient to Hannaford's supermarket and Dunkin Donuts but secluded enough to make you feel like you were the only one's out on the private cove and lake area. I highly recommend this lake house to anyone traveling to southern Maine and looking for a quiet and relaxing stay while there.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

North Waterboro House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Post Season 2016
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Management Fee $75
Tax Rate 9.0%

We have pre- and post-season rates at $1,000/week. Our Summer rate is $1,500/week.
Payment terms are 50% 60 days prior to rental, the remainder 30 days prior to rental.
To hold a reservation we require a deposit of $500 which becomes your security deposit as you pay the rental fees.
9% Maine Lodging Tax applies to all rentals of less than 30 days.
Guests must bring their own bed linens and towels.
We close down for the Winter but if you are interested in a seasonal rental, please let us know.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Waterboro House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • First Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Second Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Loft - 2 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , Open area on the second floor, ideal for kids!
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , Guest bedroom on the first floor
    Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , Master bedroom on the second floor with a great view!
  • The master bedroom on the second floor has plenty of space to allow to set up the baby crib that we have available.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Screened in porch

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties