Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Home in South Haven W/ Private Beach Access

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-8)

Our home has three bedrooms and 2 full baths. The master bedroom has a king bed and a small loveseat that converts to a bed. The other bedroom upstairs has a queen bed and a full bed. The downstairs bedroom has a queen bed. We also have 2 roll away twin sleepers perfect for children. The living room is two story with a wood burning stove. The enclosed screened porch overlooks open land. Also, have a outside grilling deck with gas grill. The house has all the modern amenities, dishwasher, microwave, washer/dryer, air/heat, satellite TV/stereo and Wifi. There is also a fire pit for marshmallows and story telling. It is on a 1 acre private wooded lot but close to so many attractions. 300 yards from a private association only beach for the neighborhood.

Keywords: Beautiful house set in wooded lot w/private beach access to Lake Michigan

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 11, 2018

About The Owner

Greg and I bought this home in 1999 when it was new construction. Greg grew up in beautiful Michigan and wanted to have a place there for our four children to enjoy. We love all that Southwest Michigan offers; beach, dunes, golf, great restaurants, shopping and relaxing. It is a great place to go to get away from everyday life.

The Owner purchased this house in 1999

Why The Owner chose South Haven

We bought in this location because South Haven is so beautiful with so much to do for the entire family.

What makes this house unique

When we are in South Haven we love to go to the beach or golf. We love grilling out and eating on the screened in porch. We like to go to one of the many farmers markets and get fresh fruits and vegetables. We love going on walks and sitting around the bonfire at night toasting marshmallows.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed with our family and had a great time. Home is super comfortable and great location! Enjoyed using the firepit and screened porch. Kitchen was well stocked. Loved that we were in a beautiful wooded area and out of the busy downtown. Close to get to South Haven and Saugatuck. Went blueberry picking, beach and golf.
May 2017
  • 1 of 1


South Haven House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Home in South Haven W/ Private Beach Access
average rating of 4.6 based on 11 reviews

Disappointed with the cleanliness of the house

  • 2 of 5

We have stayed at many rental homes in the area and found this one to be subpar in terms of cleanliness and updates. The kitchen cabinets, drawers, pantry, utensils, coffee pot were not clean (lots of crumbs, dried on bits of food, coffee film, etc.). I actually spent the first afternoon of our stay cleaning the kitchen so we could use some of the essentials. Bedspreads and linens were stained and some even had tears. Upon our arrival we were informed that we could run the dehumidifiers and empty them daily, which we did due to the moldy, damp smell throughout the house. There also appeared to be some sort of leak in the upstairs hallway that I informed the owner about and never heard any more about. We were also informed that the beach was gone due to erosion just weeks before our stay (and the private beach was the main reason for choosing this location).

I will say the owner offered to send the cleaning company back, but we had already settled in and didn't want a cleaning company in the house with our belongings (and we had already cleaned the parts we were comfortable using). I asked to have the cleaning fee refunded, but that request was ignored.

The layout of the house was nice but we did not have the best experience there. The place could be greatly improved with a deep cleaning and a few upgrades.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, we were very disappointed in this review. We have rented for 19 years and have always had nice comments and helpful suggestions. We always want renters to have a nice experience and always set the expectations, so we don't have upset renters. We have all photos of our home on VRBO, so to hear it was dated, when they saw the photos is strange. Our home looks exactly as the photos portray it. Also, we have let all renters know, as a courtesy; water levels for Lake Michigan have been extremely high and have caused many beaches to be compromised or non-existent. This has been all over the news for the last 2 years and we assume renters are aware of this when they plan to vacation in the area. Additionally, our home is professionally cleaned each week. When this renter complained, I felt terrible and called her back immediately to address her concerns. We offered to have the house re-cleaned for her. She declined this request and I didn’t hear from her again. Additionally, she did not ask for a refund on cleaning and our policy would have been to have the crew back out. Furthermore, we always stay at our home over the summer and never let the cleaning crew know what week we will be there; that way we can assess the level of cleaning. It has always been well cleaned. However, perhaps things were missed in this instance and we appreciated being informed and tried to offer a solution.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it!!!

  • 4 of 5

Would have been 5 Stars but the private Glen Shores beach is gone (No fault of the homeowners-- Lake Michigan's high waters are the cause.) and the walk to that beach is a little longer than I would have liked. Otherwise it was the perfect spot for a multi generational family vacation. Located in a highly wooded area about halfway between South Haven and Saugatuck--so away from the more crowded areas and yet easy to get to shopping and restaurants. Very clean, lots and lots of towels--beach and bath, delightful screened in porch--perfect for viewing deer, fox, wild turkey, ground hog and of course the frogs that live in the pond. (The little ones loved it!) Lots of room to run and plenty of beds to sleep in when you are worn out at the end of the day. We wanted to take home the king sized bed comfy! Baths appear to be recently remodeled. Gas grill for bbqs, fire pit for late night ghost stories and sa'mores. The 8 of us--ages 68 to 1 1/2 were very happy with this home! Plenty of room for all, clean, comfy and extremely well stocked--from garbage bags to paper towels to kleenex --and a washer and dryer!!! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glen Carbon, IL

Great home away from it all

  • 5 of 5

This property was exactly what our family was looking for - a quiet, secluded house within a short walk/drive from the beach. In fact, the pictures don't do this house justice. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in a saw how much space we had for both of our families (four adults, four kids). The screened porch was a bonus - we ate every meal out there. And the fire pit was perfect for s'mores and some relaxing when the kids went to bed.

Then owners provided so many great amenities - a fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, games for the kids, beach chairs/umbrella, and the list goes on. Unlike the previous house we rented, we didn't feel like we constantly had to walk around the house with shoes on . . . sand was never tracked into the main living part of the house because there was a hose outside that everyone got sprayed with when we returned from the beach.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by two deer in the backyard, and they also showed up to tell us goodbye on our last night - it was a sure sign that we had picked the right property for our vacation. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toms River

One word...PERFECT

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with another family over the Fourth of July and loved every bit of this place. We had more than enough room and found ourselves very comfortable. The fact that it is set back into the woods on a quiet cul-de-sac in the back of a semi private community sets the tone for a very relaxing getaway. We spent most our nights sitting around the awesome fire pit and enjoyed the serene atmosphere. The inside of the house has a well opened floor plan that allowed us to flow well and the kitchen was big and inviting for all of those fun meals we prepared and ate together. The private beach was nice to go down to and enjoy without all of the clutter of a lot of people and is only a nice walk from the house. Although the location is a ten minute drive away from Downtown South Haven it is easy to get to and well worth it, to come home to a quite "getaway" from our getaway. Thank you for providing a great place for families to enjoy to make countless memories that will last forever.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Kalamazoo, MI

Great week in South Haven!

  • 5 of 5

The house is well maintained, roomy and very clean. We loved being able to drive right down to the beach (we rode our bikes from the house) or walk down the steps. We kayaked and spent most of our time on the beach during the day. We loved the location - we had dinner in Fennville, South Haven and Saugatuck. The house was nicely equipped with everything you might need - beach towels, utensils, Bose dock, DirecTV and wireless internet service. We'll definitely try to book again next year!!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis, Indiana

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and really enjoyed the home in South Haven. It is in a quiet and secluded area but close to town and a short walk to the beach. My children and grandchildren enjoyed the beach during the day and the fire pit at night. We were pleasantly surprised at the sand toys and beach chairs available. Thank you for such a wonder place.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: June 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties