check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Teresa McElroy

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Seclusion on 46 Private Acres - Comfortable Mountain Log Home

89 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Beverly Cabin Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Oak Mountain Hollow Lodge is a secluded modern-yet-rustic, clean and comfortable full-sized log home on nearly 50 undeveloped private acres. Located at the end of a private lane, the home sits 1/3 mile away from the road and other houses, with no traffic, no other nearby houses or buildings, nature is at the doorstep. Enjoy the natural views of woodlands, hills, fields and wildlife from all the windows and the spacious main deck and private master deck complete with outdoor furniture, umbrella, hot tub, grill, and wild bird feeders. The location is secluded yet not too remote, an easy 10-mile drive to Elkins or 3 miles to the charming town of Historical Beverly, within an hour of Snowshoe, a bit closer to Canaan Valley or Timberline resort/ski areas, nearby to fishing, hiking, hunting, National and State Forest, Historical Sites, scenic back roads, Davis & Elkins College, and all area activities!

This home is cooled with ceiling fans in nearly every room, natural breezes (all windows have screens, screen doors on 3 levels, and a master-bedroom air conditioner. For a cozy Winter, Fall or early Spring visit, the lodge features electric baseboard heat, a wood-burning fireplace, and woodstove (please inquire about availability of firewood). The water is clean and from a public water supply. There are books, indoor and outdoor games, CDs and DVDs onsite. The modern kitchen is fully-equipped and has many extras.

This cabin is on three levels (so there are stairs) top level has master bedroom, small private covered deck and a separate seating area overlooking the main living area, main-middle floor has a half bath, living room (opens to main large deck with hot tub and grill), dining room, and kitchen (open plan), and the bottom level has a family room with a full futon style couch-bed, two separate bedrooms with full and queen beds, a full bathroom with tub and shower, and an entry room with a large dog crate and an entry door from the parking area.

Our prices are West Virginia - friendly, and cover up to 4 guests. There is a fully-refundable $100 security deposit collected on all rentals. Your well-behaved dog is welcome at no extra charge (please inquire if you have more than one dog) and the deck is gated, the backyard fenced, as well as an extra-large pet crate on the premises. A friendly outdoor cat resides at the cabin, and we request guests to feed him once a day (food is provided)-- if this is a problem please let us know so we can make alternate arrangements for the kitty during your stay. The location is complete with private, natural walking paths adjacent to the home, one woodland trail and one open-field wildflower trail.

Please check with us if your group excedes 6 guests ( but no more than 8 ).

Keywords: lodge, cabin, log home, vacation rental

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Teresa McElroy (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Teresa McElroy chose West Virginia

This is such a naturally beautiful area, the perfect retreat from hectic city life, somewhere to relax and enjoy the peaceful natural surroundings, listen to the birds and the wind in the trees, gaze at the stars, view wildlife, watch the seasons change...there is beauty and solitude in every season here.

What makes this cabin unique

The cabin/home offers complete privacy and seclusion, yet is not too remote for enjoying off-site activities. The property features private walking trails and an outdoor fire pit, a small creek runs near the edge of the acreage, and there is a variety of terrain to enjoy, hills, flat areas, woodlands and open wildflower fields.

Reviews

4.8
based on 89 traveler reviews

Seclusion on 46 Private Acres - Comfortable Mountain Log Home
average rating of 4.8426967 based on 89 reviews
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

We rented this cabin for a girls weekend getaway and it was just what we was hoping for. Secluded and very peaceful. We enjoyed playing cards out on the deck and "Itty Bitty" the cat keeping us company. This cabin is very spacious and the four of us had plenty of room. The bed's were very comfortable which is very unusual when leaving home. While there we enjoyed a night out at the Gandy Mountain Dance Theater and a road trip to Spruce Knob lake and Seneca Rocks. This is the perfect place whether you want to relax or go site seeing, very centrally located to several area activities. Communication with Teresa was fantastic and she made sure everything was taken care of. We will definitely stay here again next time we come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

This was my second year staying at "The Cabin in the Woods". I attended the Old Timer's Reunion of Cavers which was about 4 miles from the cabin. The first three years I had to tent camp until we located this cabin via Internet. It was a wonderful experience and gave me a much welcome bed, shower, and cooking facilities. The cabin is homey, well -stocked and accessible from the main road. It is also peaceful, with paths for exploring and wildflowers galore. I stayed there with 3 other people, and we didn't get in each others way. I got plenty of good rest and solitude, but also got to share the experience with nice people. The cabin was clean and a wonderful choice for a calm vacation away from the bustle of life. The only trouble I had was that I have bad knees and there are a lot of steps. Thanks for a little bit of HEAVEN!! It is also very acessible to town and supermarkets, store, restaurants,,etc.

I hope to come back again next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cabin stay

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year staying at the cabin and once again had a fabulous time. It is so relaxing and peaceful at the cabin. It supplies everything you need for a great getaway. We love the master bedroom with the balcony where we star gaze at night and drink our coffee in the morning. The deck is our favorite place to eat with nature all around us. We saw several deer and birds and butterflies galore. The hot tub under the stars was my husbands favorite. Hope you too get a chance to enjoy this cabin.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Quiet and relaxing

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay for the most part. We enjoyed the location for sure, it was very quiet and the hot tub was very relaxing.

We were a bit disappointed with a couple of things, charging a buck a piece for firewood caused us not to enjoy the fire pit in the evenings. (Had we known, we'd have brought a bunch from home ), the phone in the cabin not working, ( especially since there's no cell coverage there, and a TV no bigger than a computer monitor.

The air conditioning advertised, is 1 small window unit in the loft bedroom. And the bathroom withthe shower in it was down on the first floor which was pretty musty even though a dehumidifier was running.

We did have a quiet relaxing stay, which was the idea, just not what we expected.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased Eric found our cabin location and hot tub quiet and relaxing, however we would like to address the aspects he was not completely happy with. We are sorry that the landline phone service has been intermittently in and out and ongoing since July, as I previously explained to this guest in detail, with Frontier working on it ever since, and saying it is fixed when it is not (we have been invoiced for three service calls already and the situation is becoming very frustrating). The phone working only some of the time is far from ideal but we remain on the problem and hope for a full repair soon. Frontier is our only landline phone option at the cabin, and we feel a landline is important for the secluded location of this cabin because it should also work during power outages if they ever occur. The TV is 25" and though this is our first complaint about it we would consider a larger one if other guests don't find it large enough. The air con in this cabin is only in the master bedroom, and is as described on VRBO. Since the window size in the master won't accommodate a larger a/c unit, it is our only size option, and we are sure to keep it in working order. The firewood is passed along at cost and is there for guests' convenience. Firewood is not provided in the cost of the rental and we try to make that clear. We are not in the firewood business, nor do we want to be, and we purchase a supply of dry split wood and leave a small supply at the cabin to help out our guests in case they want to use it. Our VRBO listing mentions firewood in only that it is available and please inquire for details. Everyone is welcome to bring wood or purchase it elsewhere, though please do not carry wood across WV State lines as it is not legal to do so. The dehumidifier in the lower level is brand new -replaced another one that was in use for years - and keeps the lower level of the cabin nice and dry during the humid and rainy Summer weather if the bucket is emptied when full. The location of the main full bath on the lower level is as described in the contracts and also in the VRBO listing details. There is a half bath on the main (middle) floor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

just remote enough

  • 5 of 5

I'm the type who needs to get away in order to not get sucked into work emails and calls every day. The only bummer was that we actually had great cell service the whole stay! (but no one needed to know that back home) The fenced backyard and gated deck were great for our dog, and the wildflower trail gave her plenty to sniff. You can go a couple of days without seeing people, but there's a Wal-Mart and a Sheetz maybe ten minutes away. We may well be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Mostly nice cabin...

  • 3 of 5

I would agree with most of the reviews - the cabin was very secluded, private and peaceful. The main floor was very updated and comfortable with the living area, kitchen and dining room. The kitchen was wonderfully stocked, from cooking utensils and appliances to spices. The master was in the loft as stated, and was large and very comfortable. My husband and I decided to bring a mini inflatable bed for our 6 year old daughter in case it was hot so she could sleep in the master bedroom since it has A/C. Good thing, because it was not stated that the other 2 bedrooms were in the basement, which would have put her 2 floors down from us. I really think the description should state where the bedrooms are located - that may be a deal breaker to parents of young kids like us. The basement was a little claustrophobic - low ceilings and very small bedrooms. I would not have wanted to sleep down there. Unlike others who raved about the deck, we did not spend time there because the deck bows significantly down the entire length - we looked underneath at how the substructure was built and it scared us, especially with a hot tub on it. It looks like it has withstood the test of time, but I did not trust it.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate Cindy and her family staying at our property and taking time to write a review- we appreciate all reviews and comments and try to improve what we can. We are happy they enjoyed many aspects of our property, however, I also wish they had contacted us with their concerns during their stay at our cabin. We are sad when a guest does not for any reason have full enjoyment of their time there. At least we could have tried to assure them that the deck has been inspected many times for safety by a licensed contractor including again this past Spring. While the deck has settled down the middle length over time (the cabin was built over 20 years ago) we have been assured it is safe, strong and secure (in the contractor's words "not going anywhere"). The deck is securely attached to the cabin structure and there are numerous supports including extra strong/large supports built under the hot tub. It has indeed stood the test of time...That said, however, for the sake of the possible future perception of a potential safety issue, we will try to include in our Fall maintenance leveling up the deck's center. A detailed layout of the cabin bedrooms and living areas is included in our rental agreements that we provide to every guest for their review and signature, but we will also try to make the layout even more clear in our listing on VRBO. The lower level bedrooms mentioned measure 9 1/2 feet by 13 1/2 feet (not including the closet) and 7 1/2 feet by 12 feet (also not including the closet) and have queen and full beds, dressers, night stand(s) and are adjacent to a much larger family room. All the lower level rooms have standard height ceilings (not low ceilings). Both these bedrooms (as are all the rooms in our cabin) are also pictured in our listing. Even though we can't change the room sizes, we are still sorry this guest was not favorably impressed by this part of our cabin, though we have had many, many guests use these secondary bedrooms without any negative comments. We encourage all potential guests to ask questions before renting in case we missed mentioning any detail, and especially if they have special needs such as young children, infants, elderly, or health/mobility problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Country Club Rd, Elkins
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Elkins, WV
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
219/250
Car: necessary

Area festivals include the Forest Festival in Elkins, Maple Syrup Festival in Pickens, Ramp Festival, Augusta Festival (Elkins), Strawberry Festival (Buckhannon), Beverly Days, nearby to Rich Mountain Civil War Battlefield, Davis and Elkins College ( D & E College ) in Elkins is approx. 15 minutes away, Historic Beverly WV, Train Rides--Cheat Mountain Salamander, Durbin Greenbrier Valley Railroad, New Tygart Flyer, Mountain Explorer (all in Elkins within 10 miles)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Beverly Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until your reservation is confirmed. Major holidays are extra. Weeks run Sunday to Sunday unless pre-approved by management. We do customary cleaning before guests arrive. Guests are expected to care for the home during their stay and perform basic cleanup at checkout to insure full return of s/d, as outlined in our rental agreement.

Preferred payment method is by check, Paypal may be accepted for a small additional fee, families with young children please inquire about possible reduced additional guest fees. Pet fee may be required depending on number of pets (dogs allowed). Major Holidays and major local events are not included in Standard Rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Beverly Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.5 baths, full bath on lower level, half bath on main level
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Master Bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) 2nd Bedroom, Double Beds (1) 3rd Bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Family Room, Double size
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
picnic table in yard, outdoor fire pit, woodland view, extreme privacy and seclusion

Partner Offers