Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Captiva Beachfront Home in the Heart of the Village

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2BR+loft/2BA Home

Captiva Beachfront Home in the Heart of the Village.

Eighteen Urchin Court is a Sunset Captiva home, close to the beach, with 450 feet of private beach on the Gulf and private docks on the bay side.

Experience tropical island ambiance in our 2,000 sq. ft. home situated within a private gulf front community, which includes heated pool, tennis courts, and BBQ grills. Enjoy spectacular sunsets and great shelling. Behold the nesting and hatching of the protected Loggerhead turtles on the beach and observe the dolphins and endangered manatees along the shoreline. Our home is located in the village of Captiva. Just steps away you’ll find an array of restaurants, shopping, galleries, library, bike and boat rentals, charter fishing and exploration expeditions. Even attend worship services next door at the renowned Chapel by the Sea.

We have remodeled our home with new furniture and fixtures, new maple wood flooring and carpeting, appliances, linens, artwork, etc. The great room, which includes a vaulted ceiling, marble-hearthed fireplace, leather sofas and entertainment armoire, is open to the dining room appointed with a large glass topped pedestal table with seating for six. For convenience light meals can be taken at the adjacent snack bar. Eighteen feet of moveable window walls open to an 9’ x 30’ screened private lanai with seating for nine. The new modern kitchen is very open and offers ready access to the lanai. A tropical-themed bedroom with two twin beds and a sunny yellow full-bath complete the main floor. The upper level includes a newly-appointed master bedroom (king sized bed) with walk in shower. The upper loft provides seating for cozy reading as well as sleeping for two in a queen-sized sleeper sofa.

The bedroom and loft access an upper level sun deck on which to sun bathe or view the celestial nighttime skies.

Fully equipped newer kitchen (refrigerator with ice maker, above range microwave, convection oven, dishwasher, dishes, bake ware, and utensils). Washer / dryer, all bed, bath linens, towels. Two cable TV’s (one in great room and master bedroom). Covered parking is provided under this 'Olde Florida' styled home.

Out of respect for our guests, no pets or smoking are allowed.

By renting at Sunset Captiva, you will have access to the private community pool and tennis courts that are just steps away. While a guest in Sunset Captiva, you can enjoy the Pine Island Sound bayside wildlife amenities, as well, from the comfort of private docks. Manatees and dolphins are frequently sighted in the bay. Additionally, boat slips are available on site.

BR B Area: /B BR Within the village of Captiva you will find shopping, restaurants and a small general store. Kayaking, canoe rental, charter fishing and site-seeing excursions are available.

More Details

Owner
Robert Fox
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

Amenities

Captiva House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , New walk in shower
  • Outdoor shower available.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master suite includes access to the rooftop sundeck
    Guest Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
    Sleeping Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Pull-out Sofa in loft area
  • Sleeping loft includes a queen sized sofa sleeper.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
33% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Captiva Beachfront Home in the Heart of the Village
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
5

Beautiful Home!

  • 5 of 5

Incredible location. The house is centrally located, yet private. Being within walking distance to amazing restaurants and only a two minute walk to the beach, which allowed for tons of time spent with family! Property was very well maintain and clean. Property management and owner were extremely helpful and nice. Overall, wonderful vacation spent in a great house!

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Property!

  • 5 of 5

Incredible location. The house is centrally located, yet private. Being within walking distance to amazing restaurants and only a two minute walk to the beach, which allowed for tons of time spent with family! Property was very well maintain and clean. Property management and owner were extremely helpful and nice. Overall, wonderful vacation spent in a great house!

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place!!

  • 5 of 5

Home and location is wonderful!!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

We expected better .

  • 3 of 5

This could be a great place with a little more care given to it. We just kept thinking how great it would be" if." First of all ,it needs a good thorough cleaning. I took photos of the nasty , mildew covered shower curtain to send to the owner. The sofas in the living room are beat and not real clean; I put down our own beach towels before we would sit on them. The windows were dirty and the old and mismatched, torn bedding in the closets left me squirming. We had to call management to ask for washcloths which they promptly delivered. The linoleum in the downstairs bath was coming up; should be tiled. None of the clocks were working; just needed batteries. It was a shame as this could be a real nice spot. the best part was the back screened porch but wish we could see the water. Do you think the owner might be interested in selling?

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a bizarre and deceitful review. The washcloths were supplied promptly by the management company as acknowledged. However, the management company also promptly addressed their other concerns as well, including replacing the offending shower curtain and charging the owner for those services. Several other comments are incorrect or deceitful per the owner who was personally present immediately prior to this guest’s arrival. The owner agrees that the batteries for the wall clock should have been replaced but in many years has never heard any such complaint. The management company would have replaced them if requested to do so. The owner believes the guest was attempting to use this review as “blackmail.” The guest that followed this guest the next week wrote to the owner that the home was “wonderful,” “perfect,” “lovely,” and was very thankful. P.S.: The owner has replaced the two couches with two new leather ones, installed new carpeting, and new marble floors in both bathrooms. These had been planned for some time.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2
Wrentham, MA
4

Beautiful location! Love captiva

  • 4 of 5

Everything was perfect and easy. Dryer had an issue and mgmt responded quickly and the employee was very pleasant and professional. House could use some tlc but it's all about the beach anyways.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Perfect location on Captiva

  • 4 of 5

This was a great spot on the island in the heart of the village, offering access to both the gulf (3-minute walk) and the bay. Overall, the home was very comfortable - a beautiful, well-appointed kitchen, but some of the furniture and bedding seemed a little tired. My husband and I own a couple of rental properties and I always like to know about renter experiences so, to the owner, I'll say you might have a word with your property manager about being a bit more diligent - the king bed had only one pillow with a pillow case. The other pillow was covered with just a protector with a broken zipper. And I pulled a nose strip off one of the pillows - we don't use them so I know it wasn't ours. Walls and outdoor furniture could use a good cleaning.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Charter Cruises to Outer Islands

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Reservation Fee $55 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 11.0%

$1650-2650 / Week (Low-High Season)
$235-$375/Night (Low-High Season)

Low Season rates (Mid-April to Mid-December): $1,650

Peak rates (Mid-December to Mid-April): $2,650

Inquire about discounts for selected dates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties