Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Luxurious, Authentic Log Cabin Located 4,000' High in the Smokies

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom/3 Bathroom Luxury Log Cabin Sleeps 8

'Cliff's Hanger' is a beautiful, log cabin home located 4000' high in the Great Smoky Mountains near Cashiers, North Carolina. Three miles from Lake Glenville and Trillium Golf Course, this luxurious home is in a private community convenient to Nantahala National Forest, waterfalls, hiking and horseback riding, or shopping in nearby Highlands or Cashiers, NC. Other nearby attractions: Tubing down the Tuckaseegee River, visiting Cherokee Indian Reservation; outdoor play 'Unto These Hills' ; Harrah's Casino; riding the Smokey Mountain Expressway, a visit to the Biltmore Estate; Boat on Lake Glenville 10 minutes away.. In the winter we are 45 minute drive from Cataloochee Ski Resort.

Amenities: Fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator icemaker and all dishes, pots, pans and utensils, 1satellite TV with VCRs, ceiling fans, telephones, washer/dryer, gas grill, stone gas fireplace, large porch with swing and rockers. queen beds in bedrooms, Plenty of quilts and blankets for those wonderful cool nights!!

Activities: The cabin is located 3 miles from Lake Glenville and is close to Trillium golf course, Tuckaseegee River, a local 'Swimming Hole' off Hwy 64, Cherokee and all its attractions and shopping in Sylva, Highlands or Cashiers!

It is close to horseback riding, shopping (especially if you like antiques and crafts), white water rafting, tubing down the Tuckaseegee River.

More Details

Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017


Cullowhee Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Basement
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub has hand-held shower
  • There is a full bathroom on all 3 levels of the home.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Loft
    Basement - 4 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
  • There are 3 bedrooms, one of which is a loft with Queen pull out sofa. The basement has 2 sets of bunk beds and the 3rd bath.
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Swimming and Boating 10 minutes away in Lake Glenville.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
55% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A Luxurious, Authentic Log Cabin Located 4,000' High in the Smokies
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
Goldsboro NC

A Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

This is not a "rental" cabin.....this was a "homey" cabin. Very comfortable and cool, even in August. Has everything anyone could ask for.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2009
  • Stayed: August 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Mount Pleasant SC 29466

Cabin in the mountains

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice, big house in the woods

  • 4 of 5

This is the second time we've stayed at Sandy's house. It's a nice, fairly comfortable house way up in the woods, beyond Lake Glenville. It's a little far from Cashiers and/or Highlands, but it's a pretty drive to either place.

The house is situated up a nice, wooded, private neighborhood drive. The big back porch has a lovely view of the woods & mountains. There's like zero light pollution, so if you lean way back on the back porch, you can see just a ton of stars.

The kitchen is fine. Everything works. The living room is nice and comfortable. The master bedroom is a decent size, with maybe a queen sized bed? It was comfortable enough. The main floor bath has a great tub with a hand sprayer, but no shower. There are showers in the "basement", and upstairs; though the upstairs shower had poor water pressure last time we were there. We didn't try it this time. It's all nicely decorated, and could easily fit a whole family with two sets of bunk beds in the basement, and another bedroom and a den with a couch upstairs. And the place is well cleaned.

The are very few "cons" - You have to take your garbage with you, which is minor. You make your own bed on arrival, which is not bad, except the fitted sheet had shrunk a bit, and took both of us wrestling the mattress to get it on.

Clearly I'd go back again, because I already have. It's a nice place.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely scenery, very good affordable option

  • 4 of 5

Positives - They greatly outnumber any negatives. The price is really reasonable. The home is comfortable, and we found it to be clean. We only used the main floor, on which there was a bedroom, very nice bathroom with a great tub, and hand-held sprayer. The kitchen was clean and spacious enough, with plenty of counter top, and a small breakfast table. It had a formal dining area, a nice, comfy living room with a gas fire, satellite tv, and a large porch with chairs, a swing, and an amazing view. There was a bedroom, bathroom, and seating area with a couch upstairs, and bunk beds in the basement as well, although we only went down there for a minute to make sure all the doors were locked up properly, so I didn't really look around. The area is quite picturesque, and you feel like you're really out in the woods, but it's still not that far from Cashiers. It had wifi, which wasn't fast, but was quite sufficient for my needs.

Negatives - Are so minor, really, they wouldn't prevent us from staying here again if we were looking to rent a cabin. There is no real shower on the first floor, and the shower on the 2nd floor has really bad water pressure to the extent that there is no point in trying to use it. So if you don't like baths, you won't be happy. The oven smoked badly, someone staying before must have let something burn on the bottom, so we gave up trying to use it at all. You have to take your garbage to the dump. This wasn't really an issue, just something to be aware of. It made us more careful about wastefulness, which is not a bad thing at all.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you did enjoy your stay at our mountain retreat. I do appreciate being notified when there are issues such as the oven needing cleaning due to a spill from a prior guest. The cleaning lady with be checking that in the future as it is often overlooked. Also, we are fixing the upstairs shower head so that the pressure will be normal. I am glad you would consider our cabin for future stays!! Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gainesville, FL

Great Home Away from Home

  • 4 of 5

My family of four, plus our dog, stayed here while we escaped the Florida heat. We mainly used the home as a central location as we drove 1 to 1 1/2 hours to different locations: The Biltmore Estate in Asheville, Great Smoky Mountains Railroad in Bryson City, Nantahala Outdoor Center for white water rafting (just outside of Bryson City, Tallulah Gorge in Tallulah Falls, GA. Overall the home was great. The home was clean and inviting. If I had to come up with any "complaints", it is these:

1) There was no air conditioning. For most people - this isn't an issue, and we kept windows open and fans on at night to help. However, my husband is hot blooded and we were both a little uncomfortable that first night (again...coming from Florida we are used to the A/C being on high almost year round...).

2) I wish one bed would have been a King. We KNEW there was no King size bed (the description clearly indicates that a Queen is the largest)...we are just used to a king sized bed so we are spoiled.

3) The "master bedroom" on the 2nd floor only had a double bed. This wasn't a big issue, we just slept on the bedroom on the main floor. But...the bathroom on the main floor didn't have a shower, so we had to go up to the 2nd floor to use a bathroom that had a shower. Again...not a huge issue...

4) They did have wi-fi (as advertised), but it was very slow...and in this digital age with everyone (including our two kids) having an iPad...the bandwidth was limited so things either took forever to load or didn't load at all.

5) Along the lines of above...there was no cellular service at all...but there was no cellular service on the mountain at all! haha In some ways this was phone calls at all...and it was actually kind of nice to be that "disconnected".

Most of my complaints are what I would consider "First World Problems" and we would be happy to stay again at this cabin should the opportunity ever come up again. The owners were VERY helpful and accommodating, and answered any questions we had quickly and thoroughly. They were a pleasure to work with and I would recommend this home to anyone looking for a "Home Away from Home."

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Buford, GA

All the comforts of home, !

  • 4 of 5

This was a great place to get away...The quiet, beautiful surroundings were just what the doctor ordered!!!! Remote enough, yet close enough for other trips also...Fans were great for the early part of the week, screens for nice airflow, and then to use the fireplace at the end of the week....and beautiful views of the changing leaves....Great time!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2011
  • Stayed: September 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Asheville, NC
Car: necessary

The cabin is centrally located to easily access Sylva, Cashiers, Franklin and Highlands. It is close to Lake Glenville, Trillium Golf Course, Tuckaseegee River and all the scenic falls off Hwy 64 on the way to Highlands. close......yet so far away!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning $85
Refundable damage deposit $200

From $500/week Rates are for a party of 6. There is a $10/person/night xtra charge for parties over 6. Maximum 8.

$200 Security Deposit
$85Cleaning Fee
There is a $10 person/night charge for parties over 6
Monthly rates consist of 4 weeks.
$75 Pet fee (nonrefundable) $200 security deposit refundable after 3 weeks after flea inspection if you have a pet.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties