Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cubby Bear Cabin*Pet Friendly*Picturesque, So Lake Tahoe

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + 1 Bedrm Sleeping Loft, 1 Bath

Dog Friendly! Cubby Bear Cabin in South Lake Tahoe close to the Mountains, the Lake and Casinos features sleeping arrangements for up to five in a 1 master bedroom, 1 bath, for two plus 1 bedrm + twin sleeping loft for 2-3. Cedar paneling, lofted beamed ceilings, cathedral windows with a magnificent view of beautiful Ponderosa Pines out your living room. Enjoy the snow fall in front of our new bisque-Franklin gas fireplace! Warm & cozy atmosphere!

First floor master bedroom (queen bed with head that raises & lowers) for 2 with TV, private loft with double & twin for 2-3, living room with cozy sofa. Cabin includes linens, pots, pans, dishes, cable TV with DVD, games galore, free 40 Mbs broad band high-speed Wifi internet included and common area washer/dryer. Secluded, romantic, nestled among the ponderosa pines for lots of privacy. Off street parking, located on a quiet cul-de-sac. French doors lead to your private deck. In Summer outdoor barbeque, and picnic tables.

Cable TV with DVD, gas stove, microwave, gas fireplace, games, free 40 Mbs broad brand high-speed Wifi internet included. Excellent warm, gas furnace as well. Close to all that South Lake Tahoe has to offer including all winter sports, skiing, snowboarding, tobogganning, sledding, snowmobiling, hiking & summer sports, boating, hiking, sightseeing, day and dinner cruises, dog beach, gambling, great restaurants, night life, night clubs and comedy and cabaret shows. A mile to Lake; 4 miles to Heavenly Resort and the casinos; walk to restaurants and shops. Close to Tahoe Keys, Emerald Bay, Fallen Leaf Lake, Camp Richardson. 60 miles to Reno Airport. Rates are the standard rates unless specifically expressed by the dates.

Winter: 12 Feet of Snow in 7 Days on the mountains! Plenty of the white fluffy to enjoy on the slopes for skiing or snowboarding or sledding! Summer: Enjoy the Mountain breezes while touring the exquisite Lake.

Keywords: cabin, lake, tahoe, ski, snowboard, cubby, bear, cedar, pines, resort, casino, mountain, Ponderosa, dvd, cable, tv, LCD, flat, screen, barbecue, parking, dogs, pets, free high speed Wifi.

More Details


Tahoe Valley Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Cubby Bear Cabin*Pet Friendly*Picturesque, So Lake Tahoe
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 27 reviews

Cozy and close to town

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at Cubby Bear Cabin. It felt like a home away from home. The loft was perfect for our 2 kids who loved spending time up there. We were always warm and comfortable and it was great place to land after a day of outdoor activity. We even brought our 2 small dogs who also felt right at home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a wonderful time and everything met your expectations. Please come back in the Spring when everything starts to bloom and the hi,ing trails are beautiful! Sincerely, Hilary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The cabin is wonderful and clean

  • 5 of 5

Will definitely come back

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you found the cabin clean and comfortable! Would be happy to have you back whenever your plans bring you back to South Lake Tahoe! The hiking trails are beautiful in the Springtime. Sincerely, Hilary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not so good

  • 1 of 5

This property is right next to similar properties in a very tight array. This is problematic when the neighbors are loud and when the mechanical units (HVAC or something) next door start rattling and wake you up several times during the night.

The unit is tiny and that became a problem when I cooked scrambled eggs. A few seconds after adding butter to the hot pan a voice came through the smoke alarms saying the alarm was about to sound. There was no visible smoke but, in such a small area, there was enough to trigger the pre-alarm. I opened the tiny kitchen window and everything seemed fine. After checking out, the owner sent a message that she was retaining $50 of our security deposit to clean up excessive grease, noting the alarm. Keep in mind that I only cooked eggs, not bacon or sausage (ie nothing greasy save for the pad of butter). This feels cheap and like nickel and diming to me. It left a bad taste in my mouth. Not the kind of experience I want to repeat, so I can not recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, my cabin is not tiny. It is a one bedroom on the first floor and a loft upstairs sleeping five people. So it is two stories. There are no HVAC units so there is no noise from them. Unfortunately, this review is from a vengeful person who’s family with three children in only three days time trashed my beautiful home. My cleaning service said to me after their check out: “it was the dirtiest we have ever seen in seven years of cleaning your cabin. All the blankets were dirty and all over the cabin. Food and grease were all over the kitchen. Nothing had been tidied up before their departure per your instructions. It was a mess.” They spent four hours preparing the cabin for the next party on Christmas Eve day which is twice as long as their average. I have the nest thermostat so I know when the smoke alarm in the kitchen goes off and in seven years they are the only party who has ever set off the cabin fire alarm. I could have withheld the full security deposit from this party and that would have been justified. However, I decided that I would only withhold 50% and turned that over to my cleaning service for the added time they spent on Christmas Eve preparing it for the next check-in. My cleaning service couple have a family with their own children and yet they devoted extra time on Christmas Eve to my cabin to take care of this party’s unthoughtfulness. They deserved to be compensated for their extra time. This is my private home and I request people to treat it as their own.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco

Very Cute Cabin, Close to Shops, Not Far from the Lake

  • 5 of 5

Really cute cabin! Small, but fully stocked. We had a great time. Our dog loved it there too. Would recommend. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

If you want rustic accommodations

  • 2 of 5

Wasn't for me. We were there with another couple so sleeping upstairs where you couldn't even stand up...awkward. The cabin really wasn't very clean. That basic item was a turn off for me. They could do so much more to make it appealing. At least it was close to amenities.It was a cabin. Given those expectations still would have loved clean windows, dusting, cob web removal.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cozy, small, cute, convenient location

  • 4 of 5

My family with 2 boys(12 and 8) stayed this cabin over the July 4th holiday weekend.

The location is really convenient to go to Reiley's grocery store, and Tahoe key beach. The cabin is located in Y-camp ground and this cabin is mobil home.

It's very organized, cozy, and cute.

My boys enjoyed sleeping attics which has two beds( actually mattresses).

The cabin has everything we need to sleep and eat. My family like to cook rather than eating outside. So we cooked breakfast and lunch. They have enough cooking stuff for family of 4.

There were few things we were not happy.

1. The WIFI was not working even though they advertised they have one. We contacted the owner and she responded very quickly. However, she could not help it because of her family event.

2. There were some mouse drops under neath the kitchen sink. The house was very clean and neat, but this hidden space made me disappoinred.

3. Since the neighbors are pretty close each other, you can hear your neighbor very well , especially with windows open in summer.

Overall it's very convenient and the owner always responded quickly.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. However, I must respectfully correct some of your details. My home is not a motor home. It is a cedar sided cabin that is stationery on the ground. It is also NOT in the y campground. That is a completely different facility. We are a group of 12 cedar cabins in its own completely separate land plot next to the national forest preserve. I appreciate your compliment that it is cute, organized and cozy. You did email me about the wifi and I did respond to you that it was my son's Wedding Day on July 2nd. That's not just some family event like a picnic, but a once in a lifetime event. However, I dropped everything and called Spectrum, the cable company, to find out what the issue was. They tried trouble shooting remotely and determined they needed to make an on-sight visit. I set that up and scheduled the first available date with them which was after the 4th of July holiday. They came out and made the appropriate repairs to make it operational again. Your booking was at the 4th of July holiday period. Regarding a mouse dropping, I am sorry for that and have spoken with my cleaning service. They assured me that was an isolated circumstance. I receive many compliments from my clients about how clean the cabin is, so I will trust they are doing a good job. We are adjacent to the forest preserve so there will be animals periodically. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at my cabin and found the location to be very convenient. Sincerely, Hilary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

About The Owner

Hilary Pender Entrepreneur Real Estate Professional Greater Chicago Area

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2009

Why The Owner chose Tahoe Valley

I rented myself for 10 days and fell in love with the picturesque atmosphere and the South Lake Tahoe area. So I bought the cabin! It was perfect for my family and me to enjoy all that South Lake Tahoe has to offer. We love to ski and have two dogs, and wanted a dog friendly atmosphere. So what more could you ask for! The location is perfect to offer privacy but close enough to all the action. We can get to Heavenly in 10 minutes.

What makes this cabin unique

Just installed a wonderful, new Bisque Franklin-stove gas fireplace for lounging in front of with a good book or movie.

Dog beach four miles away! Great for getting out that canine energy! Lots of hiking trails too! Aross the street from the forest preserve.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Hilary 😊

We have checked out and are headed home. Just wanted to touch base with you. We had a great time! It was so cozy and comfortable. And loved reading your little guest book. Thank you so much! 😊

We would love to come back in the near future and bring my son.

And all in all we had a wonderful time!

Thanks again 😊

Nov 2015
  • 1 of 6


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Reno, Nevada
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Lake Tahoe Lake Tours
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Lake Tahoe Public Golf Course
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
South Lake Tahoe
Car: recommended

Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling in winter, Casinos, Nightlife, Bars, Clubs, Gambling, Night Life, Night Clubs, Comedy, Cabaret Shows, Boating in Summer, Cruising, Cruises, Easy access from Airport, 4 lanes to Carson City and then up to South Lake Tahoe, 60 miles from Reno Airport. Late check-outs approved by mutual agreement. Otherwise, another day's charge will be accessed.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $100

$25 per dog per two night stay, $50 per dog more than two nights. No refunds for no-shows, cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival. Late check-outs approved by mutual agreement. Otherwise, another day's charge will be accessed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties