Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Stream Retreat: rustic elegance, decks overlooking stream, wood stove!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

1-bedroom cottage with wood stove, 2 decks next to stream

Relax in your private Woodstock cottage perched on the banks of a meandering mountain stream that flows through a shared mountainside estate on the south side of Overlook Mountain, just 1.5 miles from the Woodstock Village Green. This rustic 2-story cottage has been lovingly renovated and beautifully decorated with handcrafted imported furniture and original artwork. Prepare snacks and meals in your well-equipped kitchenette and serve them at the dining table by the wood stove in the winter, or on the deck overlooking the stream in the summer! Climb the open stairway to the second-level loft-like bedroom with a cathedral ceiling, sitting area, queen-size sleigh bed, and sliding glass doors that open onto a sunny second-level deck. Or rock in the porch swing that hangs below the deck in front of the cottage surrounded by gardens. Mountain Stream Retreat is the perfect hideaway for a romantic getaway or creative sabbatical. It’s peaceful and quiet, simple and clean, and the natural setting is both soothing and inspiring! Amenities include WIFI, AC, luxury linens, gas grill and wood-burning fire stove (wood provided).


Property Manager
Judy Atwood
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 4, 2017

Amenities

Woodstock Accommodation and Amenities

Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • River ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Firewood
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(51 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
25% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain Stream Retreat: rustic elegance, decks overlooking stream, wood stove!
average rating of 4.627451 based on 51 reviews
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

This is the perfect house if you want to stay in Woodstock and be surrounded by nature. From the bedroom deck if there is a night sky you will see a breathtaking displays of stars it really feels like you're a part of the galaxy. Wood fire stove I mean forget about it this place is what you need. Bliss.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property close to town

  • 5 of 5

This is a great little retreat about a quarter of the way up Outlook Mountain and walking distance to Woodstock.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

under impressed

  • 3 of 5

We stayed in the cabin for 6 days with our dog in early September. Because of our dog, we planned to eat most dinners in, cozying up in the cabin. The location was nice and the deck views were great; one overlooking a creek and the second floor one providing a great view of the stars. Beyond that, though, there were many problems, mostly involving broken or malfunctioning things.

We arrived around 5pm on a beautiful day in the 70’s with a light breeze. No windows were open and the cabin was hot and smelly. An AC unit was running on the first floor that we immediately turned off. We opened the windows but first had to find portable screens (tucked behind the stove) as none of the first floor windows had screens. After airing it out for two days we couldn’t get out the smell until we discovered the “air fresheners” tucked away all over and put them outside. As the weather got a bit colder we shut the windows at night but the second floor stayed around 80 degrees – very uncomfortable to sleep in. We finally realized that the heat was on so we tried turning down the temperature, but it had so many pre-sets that no matter what we did it would get hot again. Finally, around day four, we turned the heat totally off; the next morning the cabin was 62 degrees – cold but better than too hot!

The kitchen was not well laid out for cooking anything beyond a simple breakfast. In fairness, it was fully equipped with pots, plates, etc. However, the table was tiny with a broken support that kept knocking when we used it. The refrigerator door opened awkwardly toward the wall so it was difficult to access. The shelf over the counter was not secured so things could just slide forward and off. We ended up finding places to go where we could eat outside and bring our dog.

Overall the first floor was a very uncomfortable space with only one sitting chair and little free space, especially once we took our shoes off (as requested) as soon as we came into the cabin. The bathroom might be fine for a short stay but longer term it was stuffy (no way to vent the room as there was no screen for the window), the shower was miniscule & the bathroom door wouldn't shut tight due to a missing knob on the bi-fold door. The upstairs was okay, the bed comfortable, and the deck view was wonderful. However, the casement style window barely worked (the crank typically just spun around) and the screen door to the deck was bent often fell off its track. Both decks had some rotted wood.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Mountain Stream Retreat. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay, but are sorry that you encountered difficulties. At the time of year that you visited, the temperature varies greatly, ranging from the 70s during the day to the 50s at night. The week that you stayed at the cottage was unseasonably warm. Our experience has been that the cottage stays cooler if the windows are closed on a warm day to keep out the humid air. We turned on the AC to further cool/dry the air, so that you would be comfortable. We’re sorry that we misjudged your preferences, but are glad that you were able to turn off the AC and open the windows as you wished, inserting the adjustable screens that were stacked against the wall next to the Franklin stove. Frankly, we can’t imagine why the heat was running upstairs, and are guessing that perhaps the previous guests turned it on the night before. We’re sorry that we missed the fact that it was on (just as you apparently did) and are glad that you eventually turned it off. We’re not sure what you mean about the “presets” for the heat. The thermostat is not programmable; it's a simple mechanism that turns the heat on/off, with controls for raising/lowering the temperature. The only “odor eliminating” products used in the cottage are located under the kitchen sink next to the trash, and in the bathroom next to the toilet ~ for good and obvious reasons. Regarding the condition of the cottage, I find your description surprising and misleading. The cottage is a historic hand-built artist retreat that the owner takes great pride/care in preserving. The fact that it is lovingly maintained is apparent from the gorgeous landscaping/gardens in front, the fresh coat of paint on the exterior and decks (which certainly are not rotting), the immaculate interior, the imported decor and original artwork, the luxury bedding with freshly pressed sheets, etc. It is disappointing that you overlooked all of those details, and focused instead on “problems”, such as the fact that the fridge door is hinged on the right (as it must be to open the door fully, since there’s a wall on the left). However having said that, we do appreciate you bringing the broken crank on the casement window to our attention so that we could fix it. The screen on the sliding glass door is not bent as you supposed, but it will come off its track if forced or handled roughly.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy and welcoming!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Mountain Stret Retreat! It was the perfect getaway from the city. Warm, cozy and so welcoming. We loved that it was tucked away on the mountain, yet close enough to walk to town and enjoy the local shops and restaurants. Judy and her team were on top of everything; we didn’t have to bring anything! We can’t wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

Nice little cabin in a good location close to Woodstock. Very easy to get around. House is well maintained with a cool upstairs. Great hiking in the area, especially in the fall when the leaves change.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved our stay at this amazing cottage. Very cozy.

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable. Bed was amazing and view from balcony was one of best star gazing experience I have experienced. Everything you needed was there. Perfect for romantic getaway for two.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Albany Int'l or Stewart Int'l (Newburgh, NY)
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Woodstock Golf Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Amtrak (Rhinecliff, NY)
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
NYS Thruway (Rt. 87)
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Hunter Mountain, Belleayre Ski Center, or Windham
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

PETS: Well-behaved dogs considered. Please ask. One-time $75 pet fee per dog applies. Thank you!

REFUNDABLE SECURITY DEPOSIT: $250

CANCELLATIONS AND REFUNDS ~ Please note that 30 days' notice is required for cancellations. All cancellations are subject to a 10% cancellation fee. Cancellations that are made more than 30 days prior to the arrival date will receive a full refund, minus the cancellation fee. Cancellations that are made within 30 days of the arrival date forfeit the full payment, unless the house is re-booked for the same time period. If you anticipate a possible cancellation, we suggest/recommend you consider purchasing cancellation insurance. Thank you!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties