check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Chris Weeks

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Ocean Front Costa Rica Beach Sanctuary

12 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Costa Rica Estate Rental Photos and Description

Estate, 4 bedrooms + Guest House with 2 bedrooms, sleeps (12-16)

Here is Your Ocean Front Vacation Home, comfortable, luxurious & very welcoming, equipped with all the amenities & a sense of 'being away from it all' you can never expect from a hotel room. 10 ft wall around the estate for privacy and relaxation. Swim in your private pool and walk right up to your own private 30 ft bar and kitchen and pour a cold cocktail and have a bite to eat. There is plenty of room for friends and family to play and relax. You wont want to leave once you have gotten here.

Main House has 4 bedrooms and guest house has 2 bedrooms. Large Private Bar with sinks, fridge, gas grill and more.

Private pool, 2 spas (not heated)

Groundsman lives on site.

Property located about 1hr 15 min from San Jose Airport. 40 min to Jaco. 25 min to town of Orentina for shopping and restaurants.


More pics at our website

email with any questions.

  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Chris Weeks (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Chris Weeks

We are from the USA and have been visiting and enjoying the amazing country of Costa Rica for over 15 years and want to invite you to have as much fun and relaxation as we have.

Our many years of experience and enjoyment can be passed on to you from our house to the people who will be serving you during your stay. We welcome you with open hearts and arms.

Chris Weeks purchased this estate in 2011

Why Chris Weeks chose Costa Rica

This property will give you the sense of being away from all of the 'noise' in todays world. You can have complete privacy or within a short time you can experience night life and shopping and when you are done you can continue or bring the nightlife back to the house and party all night!

The private bar, outside kitchen, private pool and beach are yours to enjoy the whole time with all your friends or just by yourself.

Why share everything with other tourist? Have your own Sanctuary and make your own rules!

What makes this estate unique

Your stay here is unique in the sense that you can have your own privacy with whomever you choose and make your own rules.

Stock the house with your own booze and food or head out to the nightlife and restaurants.

One of the only private homes directly on the ocean with your own Pool and Bar.

You can also hire your own chef or bartender to enjoy things YOUR WAY!


based on 12 traveler reviews

Ocean Front Costa Rica Beach Sanctuary
average rating of 3.9166667 based on 12 reviews

Great beach

  • 1 of 5

Let me start by saying we had a lovely holiday with lovely friends. This house though is in need of some TLC. The bar downstairs is not really of any use for food prep, sink and taps are rusty and there is no fridge at bar as advertised. The main house would be ok for a family unit but not great for couples because 3 of the four bedrooms have to share one bathroom. There are not 5 bathrooms as advertised unfortunately. If you go to bed after 11 the water is turned off so that sucks for brushing teeth or using the toilet. The beach and ocean are great for swimming, body surfing and walking. The pool is lovely, the 2 hot tubs, on the other hand, were covered in scum when we got there so one of our group drained them because it was not a nice sight while enjoying the pool. The entrance into the back of the property was very secure but the beach entrance was wide open and we had a man come in and jump in our pool one Friday and when we asked him to leave it became quite a scary confrontation ending with him saying he was going to shoot us dead, so that made for a stressful 48 hours until his party left after the weekend. The house worked but there are some shortfalls. I certainly can't see how weddings for more that 10 people could be held here unless seating and food was brought in. Also note that it is a full hour to the closest grocery store in Jaco and we did not baby our rentals haha. Needless to say I can't recommend this house until the security has been addressed and the ad is changed to reflect what is actually available to perspective renters.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am leaving a similar response to the last comment and wish someone had reached out to us during your stay with us. I don't know why the water was shut off after 11pm as this is not ever done unless the city was having problems with the water which we have not control over but have a back up system in case the water is shut off by the city. There is a closer town for groceries and anything else you need called Orentina which is only 30 min. Not sure why you went to Jaco for groceries which is 45 min as stated in our listing. There are 2 bathrooms in main house, 2 bathrooms in bar area and 1 in the guest house. I am sorry you didn't have a great time with us and we are looking into the comments made here and will make sure they are dealt with properly. We appreciate you letting us know but wish you had reached out while you were there and not have waited to write 2 bad reviews of our place.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Millet, AB

Very Dangerous!

  • 1 of 5

The house is located on Playa Bajamar which is very secluded and used only by Costa Ricans. During the week it is quiet but gets busy Saturday and Sunday. The house is protected on the road side by steel gates that Victor the grounds keeper is very good about keeping locked. The problem is the beach side. It appears that at one time there was a gate to provide security but it is leaning against the wall so all that is keeping people out is a rope. We had a random drunk or stoned man come in and use our pool one afternoon while we were sitting there. When we insisted he leave he threatened to come back and "shoot us dead". When you are in an isolated third world area a threat like that is very scary. Obviously after that we were uneasy about our safety and it had a very negative impact on the remainder of our holiday.

The beach is very nice albeit quite littered. The ocean is wonderfully warm with manageable sized waves to play in most days.

The house it not in very good shape but mostly cosmetic issues. We did have constant water problems which Victor would fix.

There is a decent fridge upstairs but no fridge in the pool bar or guest house.

The master bedroom has a private bath but there is only one other bathroom for the other three bedrooms in the main house.

The guest house is in similar disrepair but again mostly cosmetic.

There are two whirl pools that did not work and were full of green water when we got there. After several attempts to have this remedied by the pool guy we finally found a hose and were able to pump most of the water out.

I have traveled to Central America more than twenty times so I know what to expect in housing issues in these areas so it wasn't that big a deal to me but anyone not familiar with third world challenges be prepared for a bit of a shock.

Again a person can deal with minor issues and cosmetic problems but the safety issue is very real and as such I can not recommend this property to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always want our guest to have an amazing time during there stay and share it with their friends. We also communicate with our guest before their trip so I am not sure why during your 10 day stay with us you did not reach out to us to let us know of any problems you were having. We would have corrected these issues and dealt with them to make sure you enjoyed yourself. We are looking into these comments and will make any necessary changes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York

The Sanctuary is just that -- a place of refuge!

  • 5 of 5

Sanctuary is defined as any place of refuge. The Costa Rica Sanctuary is just that. It is 90 minutes away from hustle of San Jose the capital of CR down a 30 minute dirt road to the remote west coast of CR. The house is located directly on a one of the most gorgeous, secluded stretches of beach in the world. The silky, highly reflective black sand, caused from the erosion of black volcanic mountains that guard either side of the Bahamar cove, mirror the clouds and sky at sunset. Sunset, sitting on rough-hewn beach benches, is a staple of any Costa Rican day. Many days on the beach, we didn’t see another human.

The house and compound provide a large family or a group of friends the perfect CR habitation. Clean, large, cool and open, the house sits half in the rain forest and half on the beach. A family of 2’ red, green and blue McCall parrots stopped by a few times and gave us a squawk. Iguanas, heron, egrets, storks, Toucans, crabs, red squirrels and jumping fish all made a visit.

4 bedrooms, a guesthouse, 360 wrap around porch, large pool, palm trees, hammocks, grill, bar are all nice amenities to enjoy while enjoying the solitude. Rice, beans, mangoes, pineapples, watermelon, plums, strawberries, peppers, beans, fresh fish, chicken, chorizo, empanadas, rum and beer make up the perfect all natural diet.

If you are looking to meet new people and hang out at noisy bars go somewhere else. If you are looking for peace, relaxation and window into the real Costa Rican life, the Sanctuary is the place to go. I can’t wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Parkland, FL

Remote oceanfront sanctuary

  • 5 of 5

Not perfect for everyone but we loved it. This place is perfect for people like me who are looking for a remote place to check out from the hectic hustle-bustle of everyday life. We stayed during the low season and had the place basically to ourselves. There are neighbors. On one side, we had a family who did not bother us at all. The other side was empty all week. The beach was almost completely ours. We only saw other people twice in a week. Jose even had horses brought to the house and we rode them on the beach at sunset.

The gravel road to get to the house is bumpy but that is also what keeps other people away. If you want paved roads and lots of tourists, you should rent a house in Jaco.

I read about the bugs in another review which concerned me. However, in CR, there are bugs everywhere, just like Florida. There were some outside but we did not have any major issues. We had some ants when I didn't close the sugar. For those of the faint of heart, there are also Mosquitos, flies, and some other stuff. It didn't stop is from having drinks and dinner outside, every night, while watching the sunset.

We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 1 of 5

I am a frequent renter of VRBO properties, however this was my first time to rent outside the US. I recently stayed at the Bella Vista property also known as the “Beach Sanctuary” with a group of girls in March/April 2015. The last review posted for this property was from 2013, so I want to share my recent experience with this property. The dirt road to the property is 30 minutes long and that is after the hour and 15 min drive from San Jose airport. It contains crossing a creek of water, rocks, hills, bumps, ditches and livestock animal crossings, so a 4x4 is highly recommended or hire Jose the driver as there are no addresses in Costa Rica and the property is hard to find. The place has a bad insect problem, even after spraying and keeping all food and beverage in the fridge, we still woke up to ants, roaches and bugs everyday. The front door and only entry into the rental is a sliding glass and wood door that never opens or closes properly and has a huge gap that could possibly let larger insects, pests or reptiles in. When you close the door shut, it automatically locks and a key is needed to unlock and reopen, which is an inconvenience and hassle with only one key provided and always making sure someone is inside or the outside the rental to pass the key under the door to unlock and open. The electricity went out twice on us and the water went out once. The wifi connection is horrible and hardly worked. The privacy gate pictured in the ad is not there. Anyone walking by can see inside the property. The neighbors can see straight into the backyard if your in the pool or laying out since they have a 2-story as well. Both neighbor properties are multi-family mini motels with camping availability. So they always had renters and were loud. The guest house is not 2 bedroom, its a studio with a king bed and bunk bed. The bar downstairs does not have a fridge. The groundskeeper has frequent guests over (3 of the 7 days we were there), so much for peace & privacy. The water pressure is very low. The house sways every night when the waves crash on the land and the walls and foundation have huge cracks and the railing is deteriorating. There are safe's but no instructions or manuals on how to use them. The contact person posted on the wall to call if we have questions is not accurate as we had call and was told they no longer work for the property. The property has been neglected and needs some attention. The pictures need to be updated on VRBO.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always work at making our renters stay as enjoyable as possible. I was in contact with the leader of this group during their stay and they only had 1 issue of the groundskeepers friend visiting him the day they arrived. I spoke with Alisa after this review and she said it must have been one of the other girls with her as she enjoyed her stay. To clarify some issues in this review I told them ahead of the booking time that the road to the house is long and bumpy and prepared them for this. The house does not sway from the waves on the beach as it is made of solid steel beams and concrete as the swaying sometimes are from mini earthquakes that happen from time to time in Costa Rica along with the water and electricity going out all over Costa Rica at times and is unavoidable. We have had great reviews and 2 weddings at our house this year with no complaints. Come here to unwind and relax away from the business of life. If you want the Ritz and expensive service there are those places as well but most of Costa Rica is not like that. I hope this helps.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

All In One Wedding Location

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic 2 weeks here with our closest friends and family for our wedding. It was perfect! We were married by the pool and had a party at the bar. The home is private enough not to care about making too much noise but not so private that your feel unsafe. Our driver Jose was awesome and booked some of our activities. Our house manager/guard Victor was the best! We couldn't have been happier. Some of our Costa Rica family have stayed there since February because they loved it so much. We can't wait to go back! Chris was very helpful and helped make our event perfect. The bar was huge! The covered patio was well furnished. The beds were comfortable and we had hot water and A/C which is a luxury in Costa Rica. Our group was 12 people. It was comfortable for a large group and very affordable when you split the cost. We loved everything about it...not a single complaint other than we had to leave too soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Puntarenas City Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 25 - Jan 1
7 night minimum stay
Easter Break
Apr 15 - Apr 27
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $99

Rates are subject to change until reservation is booked. $100.00 cleaning fee will be added to all rentals.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Costa Rica Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 2 Full Baths in the Main house. 2 Full Baths at the Bar area. 1 Full Bath in Guest House
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 7 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) Guest house has 1 queen and 2 twins, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) in living room, Bunk Beds (1) guest house
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Other options include a personal driver for your stay, private bartender or chef.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties