Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Luxury Log Cabin Retreat-8 acres. Perfect for couples, families, friends & pets

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms/3 Full baths, sleeps 8. 1 King, 1 queen, 2 twins, 2 futons

From the moment you awaken, you will realize you are someplace special. Perhaps it’s the first cup of coffee from one of the many rocking chairs on our deck, or the sight and sound of deer and bears walking through the woods, this place is one of peace and quiet. Providing a front row seat to Mother Nature's best offerings, you simply need to roll out of bed, take a deep breath and open the blinds. Imagine soaking in an outdoor hot tub, secluded in a woodsy setting with no one else around. With 2 stone, wood-burning fireplaces, you can easily curl up, cuddle up and disconnect. Enjoy magnificent stargazing, far from city lights - the stars glint like precious jewels in the night sky. Our cabin is privately owned and was built with the purpose of escaping to the beauty, privacy and serenity of the Shenandoah Mountains.

Want to leave your cozy accommodations and explore? You can head to Charlottesville for a UVA football game, visit the historical homes of Thomas Jefferson and James Madison, see the area via hot air balloon, take a hike in Shenandoah Natl. Park, or an easy meandering drive along Skyline Drive. Wineries? Yes, we have them. Kayaking, Canoeing and Rafting? Bring it on! Year round activities are within reach at Massanutten Resort. This well adorned cabin is close to everything, while maintaining the feeling of being worlds away.

This cabin is located on 8 acres in the woods along a one-lane gravel road that the State maintains in the winter. 4 WD recommended if there is snow or ice.

Pet friendly! The owners keep this calendar up to date, so please check your dates against availability before inquiring with our local property manager.

More Details

Tina or Janice, Property Managers (Please check calendar before inquiring.)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our guest had trouble submitting her September and December reviews via Homeaway, so here it is:

We stayed for a long weekend at the Dancing Bear in September and again in December...that right there should tell you how wonderful this place is! At our December stay the owners left us a handwritten card and a Dancing Bear ornament on the kitchen counter when we arrived, which was so thoughtful! The atmosphere inside and out is so welcoming and you instantly feel relaxed. We loved sitting in the rocking chairs drinking wine and enjoying the beautiful scenery! The fire pit provided hours of entertainment as well as the awesome hot tub. We really enjoyed using the fireplaces! We slept on the king size master bed both visits and it felt like sleeping on a cloud. The faucets and sinks are unique and fit the cabin decor perfectly. It was nice to stay at a clean cabin in which the owners have thought of everything! The kitchen is stocked and no matter what you needed you found it. Both stays were so much fun and we look forward to our next stay at The Dancing Bear :)
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 38


Stanardsville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2d level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , LL family/TV/game room
  • Clean, fluffy towels provided. 2 of our bathrooms feature copper sinks and fixtures. Soap and shampoo provided.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Main level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2d level
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2d level
    Bedroom 4 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , lower level
  • Crisp, clean linens provided. Comfy robes provided in master bedroom. All furniture is made in the USA of reclaimed Aspen. Hickory floors. Each bed is adorned with luxurious Donna Sharpe quilts. Ceiling fans are in each of the bedrooms.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 10 garden chairs
  • Groups
  • Singles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeping
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
No need to overpack. Just bring food & charcoal! This fully stocked cabin has a toaster, blender, automatic coffee maker, Keurig coffee maker, electric griddle, full size HE washer/dryer, iron, ironing board, charcoal grill, grilling utensils, refrigerator with ice maker, oven, microwave, dishwasher, glassware, dishes, silverware, serving dishes, pizza stone, hand mixer, knife sharpener, Cuisinart cookware, flat screen TV, DirecTV, NFL Sunday Ticket, DVD, DVR, WiFi, telephone with local and domestic long distance, dual zone central heat/ac, two wood burning fireplaces, foosball table, book library, games, puzzles, 6 person Bullfrog jacuzzi and outdoor firepit. Firewood provided seasonally. The cabin is located off the main road by a long, private driveway. Sloping, grassy back yard provides plenty of space to run around. While the cabin is not officially ADA compliant, the cabin can be accessed by 2 steps. The master bedroom and bath are on the main floor.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Log Cabin Retreat-8 acres. Perfect for couples, families, friends & pets
average rating of 4.5 based on 44 reviews

Cabin Rental ~ Dancing Bear

  • 3 of 5

The property and the cabin was absolutely beautiful! grounds were kept very clean, and well-maintained. The only issue we had was an over-abundance of dead Stink Bugs in the lighting fixtures above the food preparation area of the kitchen. The hot tub smelled very dirty by the filter area. And the water filtration filter for the cabin was completely BLACK. Raised a health concern for my family.

Spoke with the owner (Tina) about it, and was concerned why we didn't call maintenance while we were there. We paid for a "Vacation Ready" cabin, in full prior to our visit. We didn't want to be dealing with maintenance people while being on our vacation for something that should have been taken care of prior to our arrival. This was clearly a problem of negligence and not a malfunction. Other than that, the area was beautiful..

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nicole, As the owner, I am very disappointed to learn of your experience at our cabin, and completely understand your concerns. I am glad you called our local Property Manager, Tina, to share your feedback. I feel the very same way when I go on vacation and expect no less as it relates to cleanliness and maintenance issues. These issues have been addressed and we hope you will return. Sincerely, Amy M.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful lodge & surroundings

  • 4 of 5

Property & lodge were beautiful. The cabin was great, lots of room & had everything we needed. There were a lot of stink bugs that were inside, no matter how many we threw outside. We felt for the price there should have been more wood supplied for the fireplaces. We had about 12 pieces of cut wood with no kindling. Found out if we wanted more we had to drive a couple of miles to get it & pay for more. Some of the cooking utensils had food on them, not cleaned off from prior use.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We were disappointed to learn of your unsatisfactory experience. Please be assured that we will speak with our cabin management company regarding the issues that you have raised. Given their standard of excellence, we are comfortable that they will make an effort to be sure this won't happen again. We trust that you enjoyed your time at our cabin retreat in spite of the bugs and the firewood, and sincerely hope that you decide to return again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC

Perfect weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

What a memorable weekend! My husband and I rented this cabin to get away from DC for our anniversary, and it was exactly what we needed. Quiet, peaceful, serene, romantic. The cabin itself is well thought-out and has pretty much everything you need and then some. Comfortable beds, a full bath on every floor, plenty of dishes and cooking tools (pots, pans, knives etc). The weather was dreary all weekend long, but it didn't take away from the beautiful setting or stop us from enjoying the hot tub, sitting out on the deck with a glass of wine, making use of the 2 indoor fireplaces, cooking great meals... we ended up not even leaving the cabin despite the wineries and quaint farms nearby. We checked in Friday, stressed from traffic and the work week and checked out Sunday feeling completed re-charged and reconnected. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 5 of 5

The moment you approach you feel like you've left all the hustle and bustle behind you! It was the perfect way to pull my husband away from the grind for his birthday. We lost ourselves in the great ambiance of this beautiful home and its tucked away location. From the indoor decor to the outdoor amenities - you feel like you are staying someplace very special. Clean, secluded and had everything we needed for a few days of euphoria!!!!

I'm looking forward to visiting again!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Dancing Bear is amazing! Upon arrival we were thrilled!! The cabin is decorated so beautifully and had many amenities! The owners obviously took a lot of time and effort and spared no expense to ensure there was everything we could possibly have needed. We had such a relaxing dinner for the family, going in the hot tub, biulding fires and making s'mores! We also loved the actvities that Lydia Mountain had to offer.. We went ATV'ing , zip lining and tubing! It was a perfect family weekend. We can't wait to come back, as a family again, and also just the two of us for a romantic getaway! Perfection!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Perfect cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED the dancing bear cabin! We wanted a fun fall weekend and so we really loved the "rustic" style of the cabin (all wood cabin with fire pit and beautiful setting) but we definitely wanted luxury amenities and it delivered on both ends! Everything was SO clean and well thought out. We were so impressed with how well appointed the kitchen with us that it had all the necessities, even things like an electric mixer and a pizza stone! Anytime we needed anything during our day, we were pleasantly surprised that it was already provided and easy to find. We loved the location as well and can't wait to return next year. It'll be an annual tradition!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We very much appreciate your comments. A lot of consideration was put into building and stocking our cabin, and we are glad you felt at home here. We take pride in "the little things" and cleanliness is key! We welcome you back and hope Dancing Bear is part of your treasured fall memories.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Early Mountain Vineyards
Noon Whistle Pottery
Lafayette Inn & Restaurant
Barboursville Vineyards
Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Charlottesville, VA
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Greene Hills
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Charlottesville, VA
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Rt. 33
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Lafayette Inn
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Massanutten Resort
Car: necessary

Located 110 miles from Washington, DC; 90 miles west of Richmond; 25 minutes from Charlottesville or Harrisonburg, VA, it borders the Shenandoah National Park, nestled in the foothills of the stunning Blue Ridge mountains. Specifically, we are located just east (6 miles) of the Swift Gap/US 33 entrance, which separates the central and southern sections of the park. Monticello, Luray Caverns, Keswick Hall, vineyards and acres and acres of exploring are all close by. (The location icon above is not 100% accurate - the cabin is located off the main road on a shared gravel 'cul de sac' of 4 homesites spread amongst 40 acres. There are no other homes on our 8 acres, and our cabin does not appear on Google Maps.)

These services can be arranged to ensure complete relaxation:

-Personal Chef

-In-Cabin massages

-Grocery pre-stocking

-Limousine service to area wineries, sporting events, and concerts

For the more adventurous:

Lydia Mountain Adventures is an easy 2 mile drive from this cabin and offers ziplining, tubing and ATVs.

Greene Hills Country Club offers golf, tennis and swimming.

Things to do:

Antiquing, Apple Picking, Art Galleries, ATV Tours, Ballooning, Biking, Birding, Canoeing, Festivals, Fishing, Golf, Hiking, Historical Sites, Horseback Riding, Ice Skating, National Parks, Pottery, Sky Diving, Snow Skiing, Snow Tubing, Spa Activities, Star Gazing, Theatre, Tubing (All Season), Universities, Wildlife, Wineries, Zip Line.

And then there's always "unplugging" - curling up with a good book and reconnecting with family and friends.


Rates & Availability

Stanardsville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan 1 2017 - Jun 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Tax Rate 5.0%

2 night minimum required on all reservations. 3 night minimum required for holidays & holiday weekends. We do not rent our cabin for just one night. Check in is any time after 3pm. Immediately upon your arrival, please be sure to complete the rental agreement that we have left on the kitchen counter in our cabin and then put it in the mailbox at the end of the driveway. Check out is 11am. Please include a telephone number in your inquiry. It's the easiest way to get in touch with you to finalize your reservation!

$100 non refundable deposit to confirm your reservation. If you cancel your reservation, this fee is not refunded. Your deposit will be applied to your overall stay. You must cancel your stay at least 7 days in advance with the Property Manager or you will be charged for your entire stay. Credit Cards only via telephone (434-985-6343). We do not accept wire transfers/on-line payments through VRBO.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties