Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Tina De Angelis, Manager

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese

Enjoy the Beautiful Eastern Shore Spring @ BCL!

16 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


Chesapeake Bay Estate Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 8+

On the upper reaches of the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay is beautiful Broad Creek on which is located the pet-friendly mini-estate known as Broad Creek Lodge. 5.6 acres of waterfowl and wildlife woods, ponds and rivers. Deer, turkey, fox, quail, songbirds of all kinds, Canada geese and duck abound. Miles of flat back country roads for biking and miles of water for exploring the shoreline in your canoe or kayak - a birders, bikers, and boaters paradise.

The house is designed for entertaining with an open floor plan that segues from room to room and spills over on to the decks leading to the pool and waterfront. All on one floor, the three+ bedrooms occupy one end of the house while the rest is strictly for fun from the totally equipped kitchen to the open living areas to the billiard room and media center.

A dock with lights and running water for your boat or use our two kayaks, wind surfer, or paddle boards. The dock is also good for crabbing, fishing; and watching both the sunrise & sunset on our many park benches.

A picnic loggia for eating hot steamed crabs that you caught and cooked on the outdoor crab cooker, including a fire pit to enjoy the night-time sky.

A pair of mountain bikes for you to use to tour the surrounding areas.

A beautiful pool for sunning and swimming on hot summer days

A hot tub for those aching muscles from days of working hard at sailing, biking, fishing, etc. not to mention playing pool in your private billiard room

Art galleries, fine restaurants, shops, Eco tours, museums, etc., etc. For what more could one ask?

A holiday at Broad Creek Lodge!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Tina De Angelis, Manager (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese

About Tina De Angelis, Manager

Tina DeAngelis manages BCL for Harold & d'Arcy Harder who grew up in the St. Louis, MO, area, and met in college @ University of MO - Rolla. They have been married for ~38 years, and have two children, Sarah & Christopher, who both live in Knoxville, TN. Sarah & her husband, David, were married @ d'Arcy's sister's house on the Chesapeake Bay in Claiborne, MD. Harold & d'Arcy currently reside in Decatur, AL.

Tina De Angelis, Manager purchased this estate in 2012

Why Tina De Angelis, Manager chose Chesapeake Bay

Harold & d'Arcy Harder have been visiting this area for over 32 years; d'Arcy's parents retired in St. Michaels, MD, in 1982, and formerly lived directly across Broad Creek from this Bozman house. Several other brothers, sisters and extended family members have moved to the surrounding area, and Harold & d'Arcy look forward to retiring here one day.

What makes this estate unique

This home is special due to it's proximity to d'Arcy's parents' former residence across Broad Creek, and closeness to her sister's house in Claiborne & her brother's house in Wittman. It also has a deep-water dock to facilitate boats & jet-skis, and a pool, hot-tub and pool table for relaxation & entertainment. During our first visit to the house, we were greeted by 4 deer and 6 turkeys which are now prominently displayed on the Broad Creek Lodge sign at the end of our driveway.


based on 16 traveler reviews

Enjoy the Beautiful Eastern Shore Spring @ BCL!
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews

Beautiful setting and great home.

  • 4 of 5

This home was just as described in the listing. It was clean and seemed well maintained. The air conditioning went out one day and the repairman was able to talk my husband through re-setting it and they came first thing the next morning to double check it. The manager met us when we arrived, was very responsive when we did have to call and was there to check to make sure all went ok when we were leaving. I would recommend this place to anyone with a family that needs room to spread out. We caught crabs from the pier - but be warned the large crab trap has numerous holes so doesn't hold crabs but we did find a crab keeper at the end of one of the lines hanging from the dock. The pool was perfect (every single inflatable pool toy had a hole in it but we had our own so not a big deal). Fabulous Jacuzzi in the sun room and they even had big fluffy robes to use, though we didn't it was a very nice touch. Just 7 miles into town for supplies or restaurants and far enough away for quiet walks and bike rides. Pros: location, clean, great dock with running water and electric, kayaks, pool, home layout, outdoor cooker for crab steaming, jacuzzi

Cons: listed as linens provided but none are provided for the 3 futons only for the 3 beds. You can only use 4 bath towels unless you have the extras washed and dried before you leave. We were told to only use the white towels and washcloths but there is only one white washcloth available. You cannot eat crabs in the house. The only table outside is a glass topped table. It was thundering one night so we had to carry the glass topped table into the garage and round up 7 chairs to fit around it. Luckily we brought our own fans since the garage was extremely hot. The paddle boards were actually old surf boards so unable to be used as paddle boards.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return again. The brand new heat pump air handler was repaired this month under warranty & should not cause any further issues. Thank you alerting us that one of the two crab traps & some pool inflatables had holes; they have been removed. Please note that a complete set of linens & towels are provided for those people renting the house; if more are needed, simply ask Tina & she will make them available. You are also most certainly allowed to eat crabs in the house; you just cannot use the propane steamer inside. The HomeAway & VRBO listings both state that we have surfboards, windsurfer, kite boards & kayaks; some of which are often used as paddleboards. Again, please visit us again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Extremely pleasant family vacation

  • 5 of 5

The property was every bit as delightful as advertized. Our stay was extremely pleasant for our whole family. Mrs De Angelis, the property manager, is very personable and was very responsive to our needs. We will definately do this again!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful vacation for our family

  • 4 of 5

We had people from 2 yrs old to 64 yrs old and we all had something to do. We kayaked, biked, swam in pool, relaxed in hot tub, played pool and games outside and inside. Good eating in st. Michaels. The home was neat, organized, comfortable with a 180 degree view . Everyone enjoyed themselves. Tina, the manager is very quick to respond to messages and was there to greet us upon arrival. She was very accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return in the future. Although your written review in the BCL book as well as your online review were extremely positive w/no negatives noted, we always want every traveler to have a "5-star" experience. Please let us know if there was anything else we could have done to improve your experience; otherwise, we will assume your 4-star rating reflected poor weather or other uncontrollable conditions!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful waterfront with great amenities!

  • 5 of 5

This property is gorgeous; right on the Chesapeake Bay with a beautiful deck to watch the sunrise/sunset from. The pool is well maintained with comfortable patio furniture and the hot tub provides a place to relax and unwind at the end of the day. Our dogs loved playing in the bay from the dock. The neighbors were wonderful and very friendly; however we only saw them once so it was a nice respite away from the rest of the world. We highly recommend this rental; it's everything they describe it to be and more!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We hope you will return soon; BTW - we have wonderful neighbors who we hope you get to meet next time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Gorgeous Property, but Amenities need attention

  • 4 of 5

This property is absolutely beautiful...park like setting, lots of land, beautiful waterview and spectacular sunrises. The house was comfortable...linens very clean as well as bathrooms. A few things need attention....the grill outside was unusable as the grates were covered in rust and caked on food. Also no propane. Notified the rental agent and though they tried to get new grates, they could not. But they did scrape them down a bit. Also, the A/C in the living room kept shorting out. The ceiling fan in the hot tub room did not work. I would also suggest that some things be checked between tenants...old food left in the refrigerator and dirty laundry in the washing machine. Plus ants are a definite problem. But we enjoyed the solitude and serenity as well as being so close to St. Michaels. We also appreciated how well the grounds were maintained and how clean the pool was.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the few issues you mentioned. Please note that the window A/C's have been replaced with a whole-house heat pump for greater comfort. The ceiling fans in both the Hot Tub & Pool Table room have been replaced; plus, we have installed a new Hot Tub with many new features! We had a new property manager in 2014 who was unclear about the importance of checking the house thoroughly between tenants; we now have Tina DeAngelis back as our property manager for 2015! We hope you will return soon; please contact me directly for a special returning customer discount! Harold
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Beautiful and so peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Broad Creek Lodge. The property was clean and comfortable. We had fun in the pool and the hot tub was great. However, what we enjoyed the most were the beautiful views and the peace and tranquility. We had such fun crabbing right from the dock! Having access to the bikes and kayaks made our stay perfect.

Ruta from Chesapeake Bay Real Estate was very helpful in arranging our stay and in providing information about the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words, it really is a little piece of paradise! Please come back and stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
St. Michaels
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
St. Michaels
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Route 50
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
St. Michaels
Nearest Beach
75 Miles
Ocean City
Car: necessary

On the upper reaches of the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay is beautiful Broad Creek including the mini-estate known as Broad Creek Lodge. 5.6 acres of waterfowl and wildlife woods, ponds and creeks. Deer, turkey, fox, quail, songbirds of all kinds plus geese and duck in season abound. Miles of flat back country roads for biking and miles of shoreline for kayaking and canoeing - a bikers, birders and boaters delight. Plus, you may enjoy fishing from the dock or crabbing in season!


Rates & Availability

St. Michaels Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
May 20 2016 - Sep 10 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Sep 16 2016 - Dec 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning fee $150
Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 4.0%

ALL HOLIDAYS RESERVATIONS WILL BE AT THE WEEKEND RATE even if it doesn't fall on the weekend.
Credit Cards accepted by Pay Pal, please ask the manager to generate a Pay Pal invoice for you.

$150 Cleaning fee applies - No exceptions

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Chesapeake Bay Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2250 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1/2 bath off the 1 car garage
  • Master is en suite with the other two bedrooms sharing the hall bath Half bath is located off the garage - perfect for cleaning up after a day on the water before entering the house
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Media room has Two full-size (double) futons & one single futon
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • DVR
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 6 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Although not required, the pool is fenced for additional safety of children. Exercise machines provided in the hot-tub room (not shown in photo). The dock is equipped with running water and electric - makes it easy to clean your 'catch of the day' Wood-burning stove with firewood for those chilly evenings. Child & Pet-Friendly home.

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the manager to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote