Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Serene & Private Nature Escape, Private Lake, fishing and campfires..ahhh

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6 comfortably) CHECK OUT IS 11am

Beautiful 3 bedroom (sleeps 6 comfortably - 2 double and 2 single with( extra futon available) 3 piece bathroom(no tub), log stack wall cottage, nestled on a quiet motor-less lake in between Dacre and Griffith approximately 1 1/2 hour drive west from Ottawa. If you want to get away from it all this is the place for you and your family. This unique cottage is a nature lovers dream. Equipped with new solar panels, open concept living, perfect for viewing the changing of the season. Just steps away the pristine lake is well stocked with trout and bass perfect for fishing, swimming. Included in your rental is a cedar dock with seating area, a picnic barbecue area, an aluminum boat, canoe, kayak, life jackets and paddles. Just minutes away at Griffith is a very developed hiking trail called "The Griffith Uplands Trail", google for details.

Winter renters; We provide heating firewood, nearby we boast the highest vertical ski hill in the east. Hundreds of km of OFSC Ski-doo trails just a km away, numerous Ice fishing opportunities, and a sliding area with sleighs.

Keywords: Lakefront four season country home, swimming, fishing, pristine quietness.

More Details

Owner
Cory and Julie Vincent
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
June 19, 2017

About Cory and Julie Vincent

My wife and I live in Guelph Ontario. I am a geologist at the University of Guelph, my wife is a practitioner in Biontology. Our property managers are long time residents of Griffith. Cory is currently working at Canada Nuclear Laboratories and is an Occupational Safety and Health Specialist. His wife Julie is a graduate of Travel and Tourism and Esthetiques, currently working from her home and is a talented jewelry artist.

Cory and Julie Vincent purchased this cottage in 2009

Why Cory and Julie Vincent chose Ontario

This property is very private and nestled on beautiful & clean Jeffers Lake. It is surrounded by lush forest. As well as the lake there are 2 ponds that support so much wild life. The cottage boasts that it is completely off the grid. We are the second owners to this unique cottage of cordwood construction. The nearby village of Griffith is home to so many talented artists. The beautiful Madawaska River flows through, all the way to the Ottawa River and houses several hydro dams.. It's lower portions, Centennial Lake and Black Donald is one of the largest, most underdeveloped lakes in Eastern Ontario with approximately 250 miles of shoreline and provides excellent fishing and recreation. There is over 40km of boating. Public boat launch only approximately 12 minutes from the cottage on Matawatchan Rd.

What makes this cottage unique

This property captivated us from the first time we were visiting with the original owner who was the designer and builder. We shared the same dream of being away from the crazy pace of life, and being so close with nature. It's just quiet and peaceful. To sit on the dock with a book and just breath and notice how in tune you become with singing of the birds, the croaking of frogs, the splash of a fish grabbing is supper from the surface of the water....... its just priceless. We could never spend enough time here, so we decided to rent, we knew others needed to see this piece of paradise.

Amenities

Greater Madawaska Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Cottage cleaning required.You are expected to leave kitchen clean and do a sweep through all the rooms.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , THERE IS NO TUB. We provide toilet paper & liquid handsoap
  • There is no bathtub ( issue maybe for small children)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Open concept
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Open concept
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , No linen provided for any beds
  • Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2) and an extra futon for possible additional occupant. There are floor fans in every bedroom. Mattress cover on all beds. Plenty of pillows provided. No linen provided. CHECK OUT IS 11AM. CHECK IN IS 3PM.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
THERE IS NO GARBAGE PICK UP, YOU ARE REQUIRED TO TAKE IT WITH YOU OR TAKE IT TO THE LOCAL DUMP AT GRIFFITH. WE PROVIDE THE DIRECTIONS AND HOURS IN THE COTTAGE INFO BINDER. The cottage provides plenty of pillows, all newly bought, they come with a cover on them. Also provided are comforters, duvets and blankets. You are required to bring your own pillow cases and sheets.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Serene & Private Nature Escape, Private Lake, fishing and campfires..ahhh
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
5

clean, private, peaceful, everything you need for a getaway

  • 5 of 5

We came across this and thought it would be perfect for a unwinding get away. It was so clean, especially for being a cottage, no bugs or cobwebs. It has great character and the touches of decorations really made it all come together. You have everything you need there, just bring bedding, clothes and food. There were alot of games there, and horseshoes. We fished the whole weekend and caught Rainbow and Speckle trout. Paddled around in the boat, had a bon fire, watched movies, cooked on the bbq. It is so peaceful and serene! Perfect cottage experience. The cottage is built uniquely so it makes the experience even better. Even though the bugs are bad this time of year, we dressed right and used bug spray and we were fine. We took a few walks around the property, and the store in only 10 minutes away if you forget anything..or if you need cell service. It is conveniently located but yet off the grid. We loved it and will return in the future. While we were packing up a moose walked right through the property. How much better could our much needed relax weekend be?

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a great time, for us was just about perfect.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time, the proximity to where we needed to be was superb.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Exactly as advertised and more

  • 5 of 5

We arrived for the weekend and did not want to leave. Every inch of the cottage was immaculate and the decorating touches throughout are refreshing. The beds and comforters were good quality and the additional blankets and pillows were appreciated, since the nights were chilly. All instructions are detailed, from directions to the cottage to buttons on the oven; leaving you feel completely equipped for a fun filled worry-free getaway. The lack of cellular service surprised us - we found a cell phone booster in the book case, sent some messages and everyone disconnected for the rest of our stay. Our daughters experienced a bit of withdrawal (especially when you want to Google something!) but we quickly adapted since disconnecting is the main part of the cottage experience. Julie met us early in our stay and was as pleasant in person as she seemed over email. She answered all my questions (and there were many) before booking and after, within 24 hours ; most of the time, within an hour. What I will remember most about this destination is the quality of care put into making our experience the first of many. Nothing was left out of place, mismatched, broken or dirty. All the furniture is good quality and in good repair and we enjoyed playing the piano. Till next time!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Guys, I am so glad you had a good time, sorry about the poor cell phone signal, I wish I could do more about that. We were thinking of taking out the piano, but maybe we better leave it. Winter is a really cozy at the cottage with the fire crackling, and a blanket of white everywhere. We are buying some snow shoes for guests and some more board game. We have some new wintry duvet covers that I can't wait to put on. We sprinkle pine boughs everywhere and hope that guests feel a world away. If you are lucky you will get snowed in. Thanks so much, Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This place is great, the property is extremely clean and well-maintained. Modern plumbing, a kitchen with all the gadgets you'd need and a beautiful location. The canoe is nice to do laps around the lake in. The inside is just as nice as the pictures. Would highly recommend, very modern interior with a beautiful lake.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kevin, so glad you had a great time on the lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing, quiet, very private location a unique and overall great experience.

  • 5 of 5

Everything was provided as described, lots of space for a family, with plenty of things to do. The unit was clean, and everything worked, flashlights were provided, although they weren't really needed much unless you went outside at night. Kids enjoyed swimming and boating around the lake, and fish were biting. I can easily recommend this place to families with kids older than 8, if they are younger they may have difficulty swimming in the deep water, and unless they are meticulously clean the property manager may complain, this also goes for pets. Also there is an issue with the garbage you will have at the end of the week, you need to be prepared to take it in the car with you when you leave, because the dump isn't open until 2 hours after check out, or you will be charged a fee for garbage removal at the end of your stay. These were my only complaints though, overall the stay was relaxing and a lot of fun, this was a gem of a cottage and truly enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Robert, I would like to express our gratitude for the five- star rating and your feed back on how we can make improvements. May I kindly suggest the garbage can be less of an issue if most of it is taken the day before when the dump is open. All the information is available to you in the cottage manual including directions for the 8 min. drive. Hopefully this takes care of the garbage issue, if you chose to return and enjoy all that this beautiful place has to offer. We are very welcoming of all children, and I would like to assure you that property manager Julie happens to love people in general especially children and fortunately for us they love her. You made a good point about the deep waters, and that is why we supply pristine life jackets. However, you may want to bring your own for tiny tots. Pets have been a problem at times and unfortunately the damage and cleaning services can become very costly. To make it fair for all of our tenants instead of raising prices for the cottage we have implemented polices that if it is left unreasonable the extra cost will be for the ones responsible and not factored in so everyone has to pay. We feel this is the fairest way for our tenants. . Thank you again for your wonderful feed back we look forward to servicing you and your family again. Sincerely John and Carin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, well-maintained location

  • 5 of 5

Had a fabulous week. Julie made sure we were well looked after. Spacious cottage, very well maintained, everything you could need. Beautiful location. Would highly recommend to anyone. The only downside for me was that the swimming isn't ideal, but there is a dock you can swim or boat out to that makes it a bit better. Otherwise, near perfect!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words.. It was an honor to have you as our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
7 Kilometres
Griffith
Nearest Golf
35 Kilometres
Renfrew, and Calabogie
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Pine Valley and Calvyns Take Out
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Calabogie Ski Resort

This area is some of the most beautiful in Ontario. We are located minutes from Griffith, approximately 30 minutes south of Renfrew. At Griffith you will find "The Griffith Uplands Trail", check it out on google. There are numerous small lakes for short shoreline fishing trips. Also at Griffith is The Greater Madawaska Canoe Rental and Shuttle service. The Madawaska River at Griffith is one of Ontario's most beautiful waterways. The Madawaska flows in to the lower portion known as Centennial Lake and Black Donald where you will find over 40km of boating and fishing with absolute stunning scenery.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Greater Madawaska Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$146
$878
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 1 2017 - Apr 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$128
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$146
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $365.9
Tax Rate 13.0%

There is a $50 fee (for sorted garbage), and $75 fee if left behind and has not been sorted properly), that will be subtracted from your security deposit if any garbage is left behind. Renters are expected to use our local dump during it's hours of operation, or take it back with them. We have strict rules for sorting at our local waste management site. The rules for your separating are in the cottage information binder. PLEASE TAKE TIME TO READ THE INFORMATION BINDER, IT IS VERY IMPORTANT. We will provide you with directions and the hours that they are open so that you can take your garbage there. There is also a $50 fee if you have not picked up after your dog, you are responsible for picking up all your dog messes.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties