check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Tim or Susan Johnson

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)

20 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Charleston Area House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths (Sleeps 12)

** New for 2017 - we are undergoing a renovation that will be adding 2 new bathrooms and renovating the other 2 on the 2nd floor. Three of the 4 bedrooms will have private baths. The bunk room will have it's own bath accessible from the hall with a shower/tub combination. We will update pictures when the project completes in late November. Our first floor bathroom, which was renovated last winter, will give you and idea of what these new bathrooms will look like from a style perspective.

This home will offer you a very rare, best of both worlds Folly beach experience, situated between the marsh and the ocean. The house has decks, front and back, both levels. The back decks have views of the marshes, folly river, the folly lighthouse and Charleston, but most memorable of all are the sultry sunsets and sometimes… after dark the fireworks in Charleston. There is a tidal canal in back with a crabbing dock – a dolphin has been seen cruising up and down this very canal! The front porches have views of the ocean and on the second floor are open to the night sky and the incredible number of stars. Access to the beach is directly across the street. This home has a well stocked kitchen including an icemaker, lots of outdoor living spaces and a pool table. This is a weekly rental (Sat/Sat Only).

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Tim or Susan Johnson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Tim or Susan Johnson

The picture posted is our family photo of all the 'cousins' from our get together last year. As the kids were growing up we spent every summer on the beach along the southern seaboaad - making lots of memories, as my mother-in-law so aptly expresses it. We hope that you will have a wonderful experience in our home and this will become a cherished memory for your family too.

Tim or Susan Johnson purchased this house in 2012

Why Tim or Susan Johnson chose Charleston Area

This all started with our love of Charleston, the historic scenic small but cosmopolitan city. We have been travelling there for over 15 years, exploring, eating, shopping and just hanging out. And then there's Folly, with it's eclectic group of surfers and hippies and BMWs, mansions and shacks. Everyone is super friendly and there is always an unusual experience to be had. While the house is the best of beach and marsh the location is the best of city and beach - juxtaposition - right?

What makes this house unique

You will be lost in the views of the marshes, they simply wash over you and make you forget all your worries and put you squarely in the present, in this moment - where there is no better place to be. Pure relaxation.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Dear Susan,

Yes we thoroughly enjoyed your home. I have already recommended it to a friend that is planning a trip this summer. The accommodations are very clean and decorated lovely. I felt like it was just as I would decorate which made it feel like home. We had 11 of us and everyone enjoyed a comfortable bed. The kitchen is so well equipped. Since it was so many of us and I love to cook, we cooked every night but one. I was never in need for a kitchen tool at every meal. We greatly enjoyed the pool table. We brought Kayaks and bikes. It was great to kayak right from the dock at high tide and to bike to the end of the island and see the light house at Morris Island.

We did have two slight issues. The fire alarm battery went bad at 4 am one night and I struggled to get the beeping to stop, however that could have happened at home too. I was glad to know the alarms were operational. We also had a issue with the disposal not working, but that was resolved quickly and with great service and follow up and never gave us another problem.

Thanks for opening your beautiful, comfortable home to us. We had many great moments and made some great memories.

Kris
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.5
based on 20 traveler reviews

Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
average rating of 4.5 based on 21 reviews
5

Family vacation at Folly

  • 5 of 5

We came to Folly Beach for our son's wedding at the Tides. Had his kids while he and his bride went on a honeymoon. Also had our other son and his family and our daughter and her family. Since they live in NC and we all live in MI, we had a chance to be together longer than a holiday. Spent 7 glorious days there. Just a little rain. Didn't spoil anything since we had plenty of games and movies to choose from. We have rented a lot of homes but never had one so well equipped. The linens were all superior and beds really comfortable. The real life saver was the ice maker. All the decks were well used. Loved having the beach right across the street. This will be a wonderful memory for all of us.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our home. We loved to hear your comments about the linens, as we decided last year to upgrade to much higher quality sheets and towels and all the beds are made before you arrive so you can start your vacation as soon as you walk in the door.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A much needed, relaxing get-away

  • 5 of 5

We love this house and this is the second year in a row the four of us have gone for anniversary celebrating! We prefer to cook our own dinners and go out for lunch, and the incredibly well-stocked kitchen and grill are awesome for that! Crosby's is the place to go for FRESH seafood! The bedrooms are comfortable, and if weather allows, leaving the sliding doors open and listening to either the sea or the marsh overnight is lovely and lulling. We got amazing sunset views over the marsh, and sunrise views over the water. Love the little beach right across the street! This is a great place for families and/or friends. We'll definitely go back!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will continue to make this a tradition! Tim and Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Fabulous in Folly!

  • 5 of 5

The perfect get away! The location of the house is perfect whether you want to relax and enjoy the views from the many decks at the house, walk or bike ride to the lighthouse and see the dolphins, or take a golf cart to hear live music and enjoy great food in town! We had the ultimate vacation and couldn't have asked for a more ideal place to stay! I would recommend it to all my family and friends!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

See the Morris Lighthouse!

  • 3 of 5

Two Keys were not adequate for extended family.

House was not as clean as expected.

Kitchen was not as stocked as expected.

We have been traveling to beach rentals for many years. Our family loved the beach, and the Morris Lighthouse, but the beach house needs a little work.

Traveling to-and-from the beach house was a constant challenge, so the members of our family that preferred sightseeing had difficulty.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We tried contacting our guest to obtain actionable feedback but did not get a response. This property is our home and we are avid cooks so to say the kitchen not equipped surprised us. In fact we've gone overboard to equip it well and have gotten consistent feedback saying so. If our guest had been specific, we probably would have gone out and bought what was missing! Regarding his comment on location, yes you can see the lighthouse as close as anywhere - we love it! But if you're looking to spend most of your time in Charleston, we are 15-20 minutes away depending on traffic. We don't recommend our place if the beach and beach town isn't where you'll be spending your time. Regarding cleanliness, we hired our own cleaner (Amy) who always leaves her name and number if anything is not to a guest's liking, but Amy did not hear from this guest. This summer, we also just upgraded our linen service to a luxury service. We are always looking for ways to improve our service so that our guests have the best experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
4

VMW

  • 4 of 5

Loved the house and the floor plan. Views were awesome and the house was well furnished, except there were not nearly enough towels for the number of people. Laundry had to be done daily. A/C was broken for a night and part of a day and the heat was brutal. My only real complaint is the rental agency did not return calls about the AC as they had said they would. Waiting on service for AC was much toolong with no communication from a particular agent. Otherwise, great house, great vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Vicki - We are glad to hear that you had a great vacation and enjoyed our house. We think the layout is also perfect and strive to make sure you have everything you would need to fully enjoy your vacation. For our readers, we do have plans to upgrade our linen service and they will be offering higher end products and including extra towels. I also contacted our property manager about the air conditioning and they advised that maintenance is able to pick up keys from the property manager and renters are not expected to wait for a repairman. We apologize if this was not properly communicated.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful house in Folly Beach

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home with amazing views. Nice size rooms. Four beautiful decks provide places to sun or relax in the shade. Home was well stocked and had everything we needed. Entrance to beach is directly across the street. Just a few homes away from the path to the lighthouse. Great place for young children to bike and walk without traffic. Beach chairs, toys, boogie boards were provided. Basketball hoop and pool table were enjoyed by all. A car is needed to get to town. We spent several days exploring Charleston which was only a 25 minute drive during spring break. We would definitely rent this home again.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Things you will love:

Paddleboarding

Surfing

Kiteboarding

Dolphin Watching

The crepe truck

The Red and White

Historic Downtown Charleston

Photos

Rates & Availability

Folly Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016 Summer 2
Jul 9 2016 - Aug 26 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,200
 
 
2016 Fall
Aug 27 2016 - Dec 2 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
2017 Winter
Dec 3 2016 - Mar 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
2017 Spring
Mar 4 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,700
 
 
2107 Summer
May 27 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,900
 
 
2017 Fall
Aug 19 2017 - Dec 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning and Linens $310 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.5%

There is an additional 2% service fee charged by the property manager.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Charleston Area House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms each have private baths. The bunkrooms have access to a hallway bathroom. There is a half bath on the first floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers