check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

owner/property manager Geraldine

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english, Gaelic/Irish

Charming,comfortable, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve

55 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Clare House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, living room with piano, separate kitchen, sleeps 5

Fanore Lodge is nestled between the sea and Slieve Elva, set amid the wonders of Burren flora and its unique geology, offering views of the sea and the long sandy beach, three minutes from Fanore Lodge. There is a local surf school operating from the beach. The Caher River runs by the door, and the soothing sounds of water on rock can be heard from the house. Fanore Lodge is at the foot of the Caher Valley Nature Reserve. The Caher Valley and Caher River probably take their names from the fact that there are so many ring forts or cahers in the immediate vicinity. The house is ideally situated at the starting point of many hiking routes.

The house is protected as a historical structure and has been sympathetically and attractively furnished and decorated according to the period in which it was built. The owner is fond of art and there are paintings and prints of well known artists throughout the house and many images of the Burren.

Amenities: WIFI connection

Kitchen, sitting room, bathroom,

3 bedrooms, (1 Super King, 1 double, 1 single)

Satellite television & DVD, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer, electric shower, oil -fired central heating.

There is a large library of books and music available for guests use, including books on the Burren and walking routes in the area. There is an open fire and piano in the sitting room.

A welcome pack of local produce and fire pack is included for guests. All household linens provided.

Secluded garden with garden furniture and sea views. Roofed terraced area with barbeque for outdoor dining. Off road car parking

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
owner/property manager Geraldine (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english, Gaelic/Irish

Guestbook comments from the owner

We SO enjoyed our time at Fanore. We spent one day just driving through the Burren, exploring, and another day riding the ferry out to Inis Oirr and seeing the Cliffs from above and below. I also enjoyed a little walk up along the road by the lodge. It was all so breathtaking. There is room for the soul in that place, and I miss it already! I would sincerely love to come again, and I would certainly choose Fanore again!

Thanks for everything!
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

5
based on 55 traveler reviews

Charming,comfortable, sea-side heritage house at foot of Burren nature reserve
average rating of 4.9636364 based on 59 reviews
4

Excellent choice, both house and location

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, both from the perspective of the part of Ireland we were in, and also the house.

Fanore is a wonderful location for a holiday; it is fairly isolated, largely unspoilt and right by the sea. It also affords ready access to so many places worth visiting; Ballyvaughan and Kinvarra are lovely towns for a stroll, a pint and some food. Doolin is great and is also the leaving point for the Aran Island ferries (make sure you go on a visit, even if only for the afternoon to Inisheer - but don't agree to the first ferry fare you're offered!). Galway City is not much more than an hour's drive, and of course the Burren itself, and the cliffs of Moher, should be explored.

The house is extremely well equipped, with three bedrooms, the master being quite a size. The sitting room is very comfortable, with an open fire, two settees and a piano! There are also books all over the house, as well as CDs and DVDs available. All the facilities were of a high-standard, showing a keen attention to detail. Geraldine herself was extremely welcoming and provided all that we needed, including an ample amount of food in the kitchen to keep us going on arrival. A proper Irish welcome! Thank you, Geraldine.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Everything about this home, and Geraldine, seem to be out of a story book. My husband and my 2 year old daughter took my mom to Ireland to celebrate her retirement. We spent a week in this beautiful home. The surrounding towns and views were always perfect, and at the end of the day we would arrive home to start a cozy fire and enjoy music, card games, and conversation. Every detail of this home has been carefully planned. Geraldine greeted us, even though we arrived an hour late due to my daughter getting car sick (the roads are windy!). Geraldine could not have been kinder and more understanding. She had a fire going and the kitchen stocked with some local goodies. We travel a lot, and this is probably the BEST rental we have ever had. Thank you Geraldine!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Brilliant

  • 5 of 5

Fanore Lodge has been our "home" away from home on several occasions. For our family it is perfect. Geraldine has lovingly restored this historic RIC Barracks to it's lovely splendor. It is ideally suited for families that enjoy the peace and solitude of the Burren. Quiet walks either to the beach, or up and through the Caher River Valley, evenings by the fire, dinners cooked and enjoyed in the lovely kitchen, are the highlights of this home.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

best rental property we've ever stayed in

  • 5 of 5

My family & I have stayed in numerous holiday rentals over the years 7 this was the best one ever, by far. Firstly, it's a beautiful house in a great location, the heart of the burren, right next to the sea, river flowing in front, mountains behind. But the thing that makes it really special is Geraldine, her generosity & attention to detail. Where do I even start - beautiful living room with blazing fire on arrival, kitchen stocked with salmon, wine, artisan butter, bread, jam, chocolates, basket of fresh herbs outside the kitchen door - huge bed, best of bed linen, electric blankets, fluffy dressing gowns & slippers, loads of great books - fastest filling bath ever with l'occitane toiletries! Despite the record breaking awful weather we had a great time as it allowed us more time to experience this great house. Top marks from the Feely Family.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Urlaub wie im Bilderbuch

  • 5 of 5

Wir haben uns ausgesprochen wohl gefühlt. Das Haus und die Inneneinrichtung waren wie aus dem Bilderbuch. Sehr haben wir uns an den Überraschungen erfreut, die von Geraldine bereitgestellt wurden. Der Strand von Fanore ist in unmittelbarer Nähe. Er hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Das Haus liegt wunderbar in der Landschaft des Burren. Ausflüge zu den Arran-Islands oder zu den Cliffs of Moher sind von hier aus problemlos möglich. Wir können die Unterkunft uneingeschränkt empfehlen.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Aesthetically sumptuous home with great hiking right out the door. Would like to have spent a month here! I think that was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, which is not something I ever expected to say about a vacation rental. Geraldine, the owner, is a wonderful host.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Shannon
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Fanore
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Doolin
Nearest Golf
17 Miles
Lahinch
Nearest Train
32 Miles
Ennis
Nearest Motorway
32 Miles
Ennis
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Fanore
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Fanore
Car: recommended

Stunning location in the heart of the Burren, a karst landscape of great natural beauty, richly endowed with rare botanical specimens including several varieties of wild orchids. Situated adjacent to the Caher Nature Reserve and the Burren National Park.

Fanore Lodge is nestled between Slieve Elva and the golden sandy beach of Fanore, (500 yards), which is safe for bathing and has a local surf school and Life Guards during summer months. There is a wide range of activities on the door step including sea angling at Blackhead, coastal and hill walking on marked green roads, loop walks, horseriding, golfing and cycling.This region is also full of opportunities for potholers as the area has a extensive network of underground caves.

Home to poets and artists, this inspirational landscape is rich in antiquities including prehistoric settlement and burial sites such as dolmens, cairns and ring forts as well as ruins of medieval monastic sites.

'The Caher Valley and Caher River probably take their names from the fact that there are so many ring forts or cahers in the immediate vicinity. Further up the valley, past the bridge, is a fulacht fiadh or cooking place to the south of the road.

Close to award winning sea food restaurants. North Clare is famous for its traditional music and many of the local pubs feature live music. Only a 15 minute drive to Doolin, renowned for Irish music. The Cliffs of Moher, one of the most popular Irish tourist attractions is also only 20 minutes away. The Aran Islands are a short cruise from Doolin and ferries run several times a day.

Fanore Lodge is a one hour drive to Galway; and during the summer months a fast speed ferry operates from Ballyvaughan to Galway.

Coole Park, to which WB Yeats was a frequent visitor, is 45 minutes drive and Doolin and Ailwee caves are just 20 minutes away.

Lahinch 18 Hole Championship Links Golf course is 30 minutes drive. Doonbeg, a Greg Norman Golf Course, European Golf Course of the year 2010, is only an hours drive away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Clare House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring/Summer
Mar 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
5 night minimum stay
$112
$730
$2,245
 
 
Autumn /Winter
Oct 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$112
$730
$2,245
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$112
$730
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fanore Lodge is more furnished and better equipped than many rental homes and I would like guests to enjoy and to respect the house and amenities!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Clare House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • electric shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
  • King bedroom with sea views Both other bedrooms have views of the Burren hills
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • MP3 Dock
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Fanore Lodge is a historic but comfortable house in an area of great scenic hill and coastal beauty in the center of an area with a network of wonderful pedestrian walks called green roads which bring walkers into the heart of the Burren landscape. Cycling,,watersports and horseriding also available locally.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties