check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alison & Brian

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Serene, comfy Dune Cottage in the shadow of Lake Michigan dunes

5 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

South Haven Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, sleeps 8

This is a quiet getaway cottage nestled in lush greenery, just a pleasant walk from Lake Michigan. A great place to share with family and friends. A pleasant escape to relax, re-center and recharge where time melts away. Enjoy lazy mornings in the shady woods or being greeted at breakfast by the songbirds; sunny, breezy afternoons on the uncrowded beach; dinner grilling on the private deck, and intimate evenings in the glow of family and friends around the fire pit.

Additional amenities: Propane grill, deck, fire pit, patio furniture, bottled water, air conditioning (AC), TV, cable TV (no PPV), DVD player, internet, wi-fi, phone (free national long distance)

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Alison & Brian (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Alison & Brian

I am the mother of 4 and a small business owner in the Chicago area. I was born and raised in the western suburbs of Chicago.

Alison & Brian purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Alison & Brian chose Southwest Michigan

We fell in love with the soothing beauty of Lake Michigan, the friendly peace and quiet of the neighborhood, the breathtaking sunsets and uncrowded beaches near the house. The town of South Haven is just minutes away, with all of its shops, restaurants and amenities. My family has been camping at Van Buren State Park since I was a little girl. So this house is a touchstone for all of those wonderful family memories as well as our corner of the world to make memories like those with my own children.

What makes this cottage unique

Short walk to secluded beaches, but still reasonably priced.

Quiet, friendly, verdant neighborhood, but just minutes from the conveniences, amenities and events of South Haven.

A bike ride from Van Buren State Park, with its public beach and campground.

Reviews

5
based on 5 traveler reviews

Serene, comfy Dune Cottage in the shadow of Lake Michigan dunes
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
5

Clean, quiet, and close to the beach

  • 5 of 5

I had a wonderful time staying here in South Haven. The house is very clean, quiet, and so close to the beach! And the beach is perfect for reading a book, relaxing, or just taking a walk.

The views from every window are exquisite!

I will definitely stay here again soon!! I couldn't ask for a cleaner, quieter, place than this.

Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Denise! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
West Chicago, Illinois
5

A place to relax

  • 5 of 5

It is important to me to leave the city when I can and return to the peace and quiet of nature. The cottage offered my family a place to get away to enjoy all Michigan has to offer. The dunes and beach were a short walk away and so beautiful and relaxing. The town is five minutes away and offers great shopping and food. The house offers much more than a clean place to sleep; it has all the comforts of home, but its a place where you can relax and breathe in the fresh, crisp air. I haven't slept that well in years. The yard is full of trees and flowers with a fire pit that makes the nights perfect with a drink in hand. I can't wait to go back and visit the cottage again as soon as I can.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Chicago, IL
5

Great cozy cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at this cottage. The cottage is roomy, clean, well maintained, and very cozy. I love that the property is surrounded by trees, so you really get a feeling of nature and being away from the city. Inside, there is plenty of room for many more people than we had (there were three of us). I'd like to go back with about a group of 8 or so in the near future. The owners have many amenities and extras supplied, so you really just have to bring your own personal stuff. We loved the deck and really enjoyed sitting around the fire pit and enjoying the outdoors. It is quiet and serene. The view of the lake from the dunes is breathtaking. The beach is a clean, white sand beach and private. There are also many paths and areas to explore. The downtown area is about a 5 minutes drive away. Downtown South Haven has a lot of great shops, restaurants, and also wonderful views of the lake. I highly recommend this cottage for anyone looking to get away - just two or a big group would enjoy this cottage.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
DuPage Co, Illinois
5

Rest and rejuvination!

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed a weekend with friends and family. Dune Cottage was clean, quiet, comfortable and relaxing. It's super close to a private and secluded beach. The short hike around the dune was peaceful. It's neat to be amist woods, dunes, and then pristine beach. Pictures do not do justice to the home, it is tastefully decorated and stocked. I would definately recommend the cottage to anyone. Downtown South Haven is just a few miles down the coast, and beautiful Van Buren State Park and beach is less than one mile down the road. We went blueberry picking down the road, and enjoyed local fruits and vegetables.

Nights by the fire were great. Thanks to the owners for stocking firewood - great touch!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
St. Charles, IL
5

Super place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

I was so pleasantly surprised with Serene Cottage and happily recommend it! It is clean and neat, homey and cozy, with a fabulously large kitchen and an adjoining deck where we spent much of our down time. It is private and quiet which is nice to come home to after a days' adventure. The kids liked the tv...and I loved the crisp white sheets on all the beds!! What a wonderful treat. We will be back!!

...Did I mention that the gorgeous lakeshore is a fun walk away?

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
South Haven Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Maple Grove Tavern, Curve Inn
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Saugatuck
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Beeches Golf Club
Nearest Train
9 Miles
Amtrak in Bangor, MI
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-196
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Ranch House Ribs, Mancino's, Cafe Julia
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Bittersweet Ski Resort and Timber Ridge Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Lake Michigan Beach
Car: necessary

Serene, comfortable setting; quiet trails leading to secluded Lake Michigan beaches.

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Haven Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Season
Sep 7 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$900
$2,000
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Early Season 2017
May 30 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$195
Fri,Sat,Sun
$900
 
 
July Fourth Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Middle Season 2017
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Last Partial Week of Aug
Aug 27 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Late season 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,000
$2,000
 
 
Standard pricing
7 night minimum stay
$800
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Booking fee $50
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rates and availability are subject to change until reserved.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Haven Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
  • There's also a day bed in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers