Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Classic Maine Cottage In A Beautiful Little Fishing Village

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Nice Ocean And Harbor Views, 50 Yards To The Ocean

Brand new to the Phippsburg rental market!!! The Sand Dollar Cottage is a classic quaint Maine cottage in picturesque Maine fishing village. The first floor master bedroom has a queen size bed. There are two more bedrooms upstairs each with two twin beds.

There is a dining room and sitting area adjacent to the living room which has amazing views of the crashing ocean . The kitchen has everything you'd need. A full bathroom completes the first floor.

The location of the Sand Dollar Cottage in West Point makes an ideal “home base” for any vacation you choose. For those who “need to get away from it all” you can spend your entire vacation in West Point. Guests can lazily relax on our deck or perhaps take a short stroll to Cat Cove for swimming, shell collecting and tide pool exploring. Cat Cove is a great location to launch your kayaks for a day of exploring nearby harbors and islands. A short trail through the piney woods leads to a secluded rocky area that is fun to explore. Among the rocks are tide pools where some of the locals learned to swim. Look for sea creatures that are trapped in the pools! Bring your fishing poles for an early morning of fishing. The rocks are a good place to cast your line in. Be sure to keep a look out for eagles, loons, cormorants and seals! A Maine vacation must is fresh seafood for a lobster or clam bake. You can take a leisurely stroll down to the local lobster pound for the fresh catch of the day.

History: For those of you who enjoy more history and more activity, West Point and its surrounding areas provide just that. West Point is one of the oldest and scenic fishing villages in Maine. Many of the locals are descendants of the original fishermen who settled here. Close to West Point is historic Popham. Popham is one of the earliest English settlements during Colonial America being settled in 1607. Though it was unsuccessful it led to later settlement along the Maine coast. Popham State Beach is a beautiful 500 acre beach of white sand. It is definitely worth a visit. When the tide is out, you can walk across the beach to a nearby island. Fort Popham, from the Civil War years is close by and is ready to be explored.

The nearest city to West Point is Bath, “the City of Ships”. Maine’s first ships were built here in this area around 1607-1608. If you are interested in shipbuilding the Maritime Museum offers a glimpse into Maine’s boat building past.

Shopping and exploring: Quaint shops and restaurants make Bath a fun day trip. Boat rentals can be found in Bath for touring or fishing the Kennebec River. Golf courses are also in the area. To the north of Bath is Boothbay Harbor. It is another excellent day trip for vacationers! It has shops, restaurants and antiques. Whale watching, Puffin watching and lighthouse boating excursions are available at the wharf. Brunswick, another historic town nearby offers shopping, restaurants, Bowdoin College and the Joshua L. Chamberlain Museum. L.L.Bean’s flagship store is located south in Freeport. It is opened 24 hours a day and is a good place to go on rainy days. Freeport also has many name brand outlets. Portland is about an hour away and has many historic sites, shopping and great restaurants as well.

After many request we now offer sea kayak rentals on site for exploring the coast and harbors. Both singles and tandems.

More Details

Property Manager
John Krott
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

Map

Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Sebasco
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Bath
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Route 1
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Popham Beach State Park

Amenities

West Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Village
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , First Floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2nd floor
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Classic Maine Cottage In A Beautiful Little Fishing Village
average rating of 4.071429 based on 14 reviews
5

Lovely, rustic Maine beach cottage

  • 5 of 5

Our three generation family had a great time at sand dollar cottage.

Property was quite clean, beds comfortable, kitchen extremely well stocked ( no peeling teflon pans, good sharp knives, abundance of dish Ware). Super good service from on site manager - prompt, helpful, cheerful.

Layout of rooms allowed grandparents with large bedroom and almost en suite bathroom slightly separate from the rest of the house. Two bedrooms and smalll full bath upstairs was perfect for the rest of us.

Cottage definitely has a rustic feel, but you are in Maine, on the coast!

The cottage is located on a very quiet cul de sac. You are a two minute walk from lovely Cats cove, small sandy beach nestled between classic Maine rocks and pines. Tidal pools for the kids. Water was clear, bottom smooth. One can swim out beyond the rocks to more open water. You are also a two minute walk to working lobster pound. Fun to watch lobster boats unload, then to purchase (at very reasonable price) to carry home for dinner.

Conserved land in abundance, 1 mile from town beach. About a 5-10 drive to -popham beach (spectacular, big, sandy,). Veggie stands (selling great pies)close by. Several good seafood restaurants close by. Of course one can always go back toward Bath for more adventures.

Only drawback was the limited water view, but we were so often at cats cove that we had lots of opportunity for view gazing.

Yes, I would recommend this property to a friend, as long as they expected a rustic, not a cookie cutter, experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Vacation in Maine. The setting could not have been more perfect.

  • 4 of 5

Upon arrival we were met by Bill. Bill is responsible for taking care of any needs the renters have. He is very attentive and responds immediately. The overall stay was perfect. The location allowed us to do our morning runs on country roads with challenging hills. The weather could not have been better. Eating lobster every night was a special treat. The guys at the loading dock where lobster boats delivered their loads were fantastic. There is nothing better than getting lobsters directly off the boat. The loacation of the cottage allowed easy access to the local attractions such as Popham Beach and the town of Bath. If you are looking for a quaint cottage on the coast of Maine this is the place for you. We will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

All good

  • 5 of 5

Nice little place that housed a family of six perfectly. We had a plumbing malfunction, but it was dealt with swiftly by the owner in a courteous fashion. The property manager was friendly and attentive. If you stay here, don't miss the Popham Beach State Park - our kids loved it.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

I did not enjoy my stay. I found alternative accommodations during the first week and left.

  • 1 of 5

Not air conditioned as advertised! The right side of living room sliding glass door would not lock. Plumbing from upstairs bathroom visible directly over the downstairs dining room table ! No smoke alarms. Sections of stiles and rails of front porch were rotted through. Sheetrock down stairs so unevenly cut "insulation" was visible, and the floors were very uneven down stairs. In short, an extremely poor "remodel" of a deteriorated house. Definitely not worth the money!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Sand Dollar Cottage. We had absolutely no idea there was an issue with the property and thought you were out with your friend from Bath as you had mention to Bill (our onsite property manager who lives right next door). He got the impression from you that you were having a good time. He mentioned that you said there was no A/C and he asked if you would like some air contioners installed (I don't know of any properties along the coast of Maine that have central air conditioners). He would have been more than happy to install them for you, but you replied that you just wanted a fan and not A/C's so that was what he provided. We have multiple a/c units available to our guest. Most guest prefer the ocean breezes and a fan. But, there are times when that is not enough and we can put in as many a/c units as you would like. Our goal is to make our guest happy at all cost! We just ask our guest if you have any problem, big or small please, please, please let Bill know. I promise you he will get right on it. As for the cost, the property is priced $1000 less than any of the properties on the point. We manage six properties there and this house is by far the least expensive of all of them and in my opinion the best value for where you are. I admit the views from some of the other properties are better but you will pay over $2,000 more per week for that view in this area right on the ocean (not tidal coves). The view from this property is beautiful as other reviewers have mentioned with beautiful views as well. We have smoke and CO2 detectors throughout the house so was confused by that comment. Again we apologize that your stay wasn't a pleasant one, for all of our future guest, if you see something wrong as minor as a lightbulb please let Bill our property manager know. I promise you, we are trying to give our guest the best possible vacation they can have and we can't do that unless you tell us there is a problem. We assume all of our guest are having a great time, because it really is so beautiful there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year staying here. We had a great time, very peaceful and beautiful. Bill the property manager is awesome!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful spot!!! So much to see and do nearby!

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay! The view was beautiful and the house was adorable. Brought me back to my childhood in Maine. Only concerns in the house were that there was a small leak over the sofa bed when it rained and no blankets for the bed. But overall we loved it! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $175
Cleaning and linen fee $205
Tax Rate 9.0%

Kayaks available for rent; single seat kayaks rent for $100 per week and tandem seat kayaks rent for $125 per week.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties