check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Anne Stone

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beach House in Historic Port Madison w/Dock & Hot Tub!

16 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bainbridge Island House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2bathrooms (sleeps 10)+ den

This cozy family friendly, pet friendly home is a 3 bedroom, 2 bath that sleeps 10 in historic Port Madison. It has a stunning view of the bay with a parade of boats coming and going well on until dusk. There is an extensive deck with grill, hot tub and two outdoor dining tables. The house sits on 3/4 of an acre and has large evergreen trees with an collections of rhododendrons... come see the spring show! There is a large lawn for croquet or simply relaxing in the hammock.

The King Bedroom has a HDTV/DVD as does the media room which has a hide-a-bed. The king bedroom comes equipped with an iPhone docking station for charging and listening to your favorite music. The Double room sleeps two in an antique four poster bed. The Bunk room has two bunk beds and a hide a crib in the closet that sleeps four. The Media Room has a very comfortable hide a bed with foam mattress that sleeps 2. The home has wi-fi and cable if you tire of the spectacular surroundings and need screen time.

The house has two decks with a hot tub on the lower deck that looks out on the bay. A large lawn for croquet, hammock, playing with the dog.

The house is part of the Port Madison Water Company and so it enjoys a Private Beach, dock, boat ramp, and walking trails in the woods!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Anne Stone (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Anne Stone

This property is owned by a longtime Bainbridge Island family that moved here from Seattle 50 plus years ago. It is our little piece of heaven that we have to share with you. It is managed by two sisters, one who lives in Oregon and one in Seattle who along with their brother look forward to their children enjoying this property with their children!

Anne Stone purchased this house in 1956

Why Anne Stone chose Puget Sound

Jake's Retreat was the original owner's little piece of heaven for over 55 years. It has been passed down to his kids who are keeping if for their children to enjoy. The original house was build in 1910 and has undergone three major additions/remodels that have tripled the size of the little cabin that Jake bought with his young bride in 1956.

What makes this house unique

The house is part of the Port Madison water company property that means it enjoys a private beach that runs the length of the neighborhood, a large forested green belt with trails behind the house, and a private dock with a boat launching ramp.

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Beach House in Historic Port Madison w/Dock & Hot Tub!
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
4

The views are unbeatable; the house is comfortable but a bit dated.

  • 4 of 5

The island itself is one of our favorite places to date. The location of the home and views it offered were unmatched by any of the other rentals our family had.

The only downside is that the home is a bit dated. Some minor things did not work well, but having kids in the home was easier knowing we didn't have to watch them like Hawks.

Because they allow pets, there was quite a bit of dog hair throughout the home. We have some allergies, so that was a bit tough, but we managed just fine. Otherwise the home is comfortable, offers everything you would expect (and more!), and was incredibly comfortable for 5 adults and 3 kids.

I have NO doubt we will be back on the island SOON!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the view as much as we do. Sorry you experienced allergy issues. Our cleaning staff carefully vacuum the whole house after each guest. It is a comfortable space for relaxing and enjoying friends and family. My tip to you and anyone in the future is to let your host know right away if something isn't working so they can remedy it! Happy Travels
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We were at Jake's Retreat for 4 nights in late July, and couldn't have been happier with this property. My husband and I took our two adult daughters, our son-in-law and 3 grandchildren here to spend time on Bainbridge Island and visit my sister and brother-in-law, who live on the island. The 3 children stayed in the room with the 2 bunkbeds, my husband and I slept in the Master, my daughter and son-in-law stayed in the double room, and my other daughter slept in the media room. The double bed that my daughter and son-in-law was in was a bit small for 2 tall adults, but for 4 nights it was manageable. The other surprise was that the media room didn't have a door, so my daughter didn't have any privacy. But again, for 4 nights, it was fine. Everything else about the house was perfect!! The house was very clean, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything imaginable you'd need to cook with, the hot tub on the deck was great, the games and puzzles were a nice addition, but most importantly, the view from the house every morning, afternoon and evening was unforgettable. The photos posted on the website do not do this property justice. I would highly recommend this home and hope to go back to enjoy it again.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were happy to have you. The view is truly one of a kind and we are so happy to share it! Sorry about the media room door surprise, I thought we had put that in our listing but if not I will do that. Thanks for the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view, great house

  • 5 of 5

I spent the weekend there with a group of friends. We cooked meals in the kitchen and on the grill, sat in the hot tub, socialized on the deck, and slept well in the comfy beds. The view is great and the location is ideal. I highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good time! Anne and Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another Enjoyable Stay at Jake's Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Lovely, comfy vacation home overlooking the water at Pt. Madison on Bainbridge Island. It's perfect for our small group of friends to gather. This was our 3rd visit. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ladies! So glad to have you back and so happy to hear it provides you the same solace we get from visiting. Best, Anne and Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Retreat

  • 5 of 5

This rental was a wonderful experience. The home was as advertised, clean, and so comfortable! It was great to find a home so prepared for our dog to come as well. Anne was great to work with, I would definitely come back. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time on the Island. We want folks to feel comfortable and enjoy this little piece of heaven as much as we do! We are a dog family and understand how much it means to people to be able to travel with Fido. Come see us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

The house was cozy, clean and fabulous linens. The view is amazing and we had everything that we needed.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Bay Hay & Feed
"Great little nursery, coffee shop and feed store. Stop by for your morning coffee and sit i..."
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
SeaTac International
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
15 minutes
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Amtrack King Street Station Seattle
Car: necessary

Bainbridge Island is a wonderful getaway only 35 minutes by ferry but worlds away. The town of Winslow has lovely restaurants, shops, groceries, and all services in a small town feel. The Olympic Penninsula is only a 30 minute drive northwest of the Hood Canal bridge where you can enjoy hiking, cross country skiiing, sightseeing, ocean beaches, and golf. If you choose to stay close and tour the Island take advantage of its quaint Island ambiance. If you want big city excitement Seattle is a scenic 35 minute ferry ride away where you can take advantage of all a big pacific rim city has to offer and then come back to your quiet spot on the Island as the end of the day!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bainbridge Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
May 2 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$325
$2,065
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Non refundable cleaning deposit $145
Tax Rate 10.7%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bainbridge Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , grab rails in tub
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower
  • Main bath has a tub/shower and double vanity. Downstairs bath has a shower and single vanity.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 2 king
    Bunkroom - 4 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , 2 sets of bunk beds sleep 4 total & one baby crib if needed
    Den - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Foam mattress double bed sofa sleeper in TV room
    Four Poster Bedroom - 2 double
  • King size beds (1) Bedroom #1 King bed with TV/DVD sleeps 2, Queen size Beds (1) Bedroom #2 Queen bed sleeps 2 in antique four poster bed, Baby Cribs (1) The bunk bed room has a folding wooden crib with linens and a pack and play in the closet for your ease of travel with infants and toddlers., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Media room has a fold out sofa sleeper with nice foam mattress that sleeps 2 comfortably, Bunk Beds (2) Bedroom #3 has two sets of bunk beds to sleep four
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • water skiing
Notes:
Private dock, launching ramp, beach with fire pit and walking trails.

Partner Offers