Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect location & turtles! Enjoy Paradise! 🐢🌺

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-7)

The Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite is a two-story, non-smoking unit with two full bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, living room, and lanai. It can easily accommodate two couples plus kids or a family of six or seven. Probably the best feature is a two-story, open-beam ceiling living room, and lanai. A two-story, glass wall opens to a breathtaking view of the ocean.

As you plan your ultimate Maui vacation, don't settle for a 'partial ocean view.' The Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite looks out on a huge ocean view and the pool, surrounded by meticulously-kept grounds. In the distance is the ancient Haleakala Volcano.

The Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite is handsomely decorated with a Japanese-Hawaiian flair so consistent with the island's culture. The upstairs bedroom enjoys an open view of the ocean through the two-story windows. You can even see the ocean from the upstairs shower! The living room and lanai have a spacious feeling that literally mirrors the deep blue Pacific Ocean.

The kitchen is fully-equipped with everything you will need for a quick breakfast or a gourmet dinner served out on the lanai. All the appliances are new including microwave, toaster, coffee grinder for fresh Kona coffee, and a four-speed smoothie machine so you can enjoy all the incredible tropical fruit available here on Maui.

The Ma'alaea Kai is simply the best maintained and most beautiful condominium-hotel along the Ma'alaea Bay coast. A huge, putting green-style lawn and bright blue pool are the only things that separate you from the ocean. Palm trees sway in the tradewinds and gorgeous tropical flowers bloom everywhere. Maui Sea turtles have made their home here, you can see them from our lanai. At times we count up to 50 of them feeding off the rocks right in front of the condo. You can walk right in and snorkel with them along with many other tropical fish varieties. Explore the ancient underwater caverns that are just past the surf. Unlike most other resort areas on Maui, Hauoli Street is a short (one-fourth mile) tropical walk to Sugar Beach. Just north, a two-minute walk takes you to Ma'alaea Bay boat harbor for all your boat trips and shopping at the Ma'alaea Harbor Village. Trilogy is our favorite boat, we just took a trip to Lanai and saw schools of spinner dolphins on our way there and back! Amazing, more than we could count, heaven on earth!

Sugar Beach is just a five-minute walk from the Ma'alaea Kai and is probably the quietest beach on Maui, and one of the longest. You can walk or run along this beach for miles and pass only a few other people. Sugar Beach is great at sunrise or sunset or for catching rays midday without another soul in sight. Because it is tucked around the bay, Sugar Beach is an ideal place for children to enjoy the ocean where waves and undertow are always safe.

The Ma'alaea small boat harbor is one of only a few such harbors on Maui. This is the island's main launching point to the crystal-clear, tropical waters of Maui. Snorkeling trips, deep-sea fishing, and sunset cruises all begin right here and you do not even have to park. Above the harbor is the Ma'alaea Harbor Village, a small but quaint shopping area with four excellent restaurants. The Maui Ocean Center is also located here and a visit is highly recommended. The General Store has reopened and has excellent food and almost anything you need for cooking meals. It has great coffee and pastries, I always enjoy shopping at the store.

The Seascape Restaurant is my choice for lunch (now open for dinner too) and hosts a stunning open-air view of the harbor and ocean. Beach Bums is a great addition to the Harbor, you can have breakfast, while chatting with the local boat captains. The food is great and the price is great too. They also have a really nice Happy Hour...Mai Tai's are $3.50!

Sunrise from the Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite is an experience in itself. Pre-dawn light brings the chatter of a thousand birds and iridescent blue waters. The trade winds ruffle the palm trees and caress your senses as you sit with your first cup of Kona coffee in the huge lanai. As the sun breaks over the ancient 10,000-foot Halealala Volcano, your face and your world are bathed in sunlight. Your penthouse is illuminated with a bright warmth that leaves you glowing. It is time to think about the day's activities or simply sit back and have another cup of coffee.

Ma'alaea Bay is Maui's most quiet, secluded, best-kept secret. It is truly the most centrally located vacation area on all of Maui, lying at the ocean front and between two volcanoes that formed the island. The old whaling port Lahaina is 18 miles to the north. Bustling Kihei is eight miles to the south, and it takes just ten minutes to drive from the airport to the Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About The Owner

Retired after 38 years in education! We will be enjoying Maui every chance we get! 🐢🐳🌴🌺💫🐠🏖

The Owner purchased this condo in 2002

Why The Owner chose Maui

Fabulous location, longest walking beach on Maui! Heaven on Earth 🐢🐠🌴

What makes this condo unique

Relaxing by the ocean reading a favorite book, snorkeling, dip in the pool, and our very favorite is taking a boat trip, we love being out on the ocean! You will enjoy our home!

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kahului
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Beach Bums
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Beach Bums, Seascape, Maalaea Store Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Sugar Beach
Car: recommended

Whale Watching, Ocean Kayaking, Sunbathing

Amenities

Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1) Beautiful hand crafted oak king size bed, Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) our sofa is also a convertable bed ; we also have one futon mat
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Boogie Boards, Snorkeling gear, Fins, Fishing Poles, Hand Weights and beach toys for the keikis!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect location & turtles! Enjoy Paradise! 🐢🌺
average rating of 4.793103 based on 29 reviews
5

Outstanding Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

I was a little nervous about booking a two week vacation at a location where I had just seen pictures on the internet, however, my fears were unnecessary as the condo was fantastic! The view from the balcony provided spectacular morning sunrises, a beautiful view of the volcano and a perfect view of whales in the bay/ocean. The cooking and beach amenities provided were everything we needed, even for 4 adults! The bedroom in the loft gave us beautiful views in the morning, and fresh ocean breezes all day.

The grounds of the condo were immaculate! The pool was always clean, the grills were cleaned daily and the grass around the pool area was like a golf green.

Our most amazing discovery were the sea turtles. Everyday we saw between 20-30 turtles playing in the surf or sunning themselves on the beach.

The central location of the condo in Maalaea was ideal. It made travel to all areas of the island a short drive. Also, there was a great bar/restaurant within walking distance that had great food!

We look forward to returning to this condo in the future!!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Lynne 🌺 So glad you enjoyed our place on Maui! We look forward to your return. Mahalo, Stefani & Todd 🐢🐠🌴🌅
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location with view of the ocean

  • 5 of 5

We stay two family of 7 and love it. Great view and location. Great snorking gears, buggy boards, outside barbecue right next to ocean, great view.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great 2 bedroom with a view!

  • 5 of 5

Clean, has everything you need. Great views. Comfy beds. Quiet. Reasonable price. Owners friendly.

Only downfall- A bit hot when the sun is shining in, a curtain or shades would be helpful but didn't bother us!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha 🌺 Happy to hear you enjoyed our place. The sunrise does come up at our place, by 10am it is no longer on our place. We have thought about a shade, but the view is so awesome. Thanks for your thoughts. The Clark's
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Condo

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this beautiful condo for 9 days. The area is very peaceful. You can see turtles from the condo. The owners are great to work with. Would definitely stay again.

Pros:

- Centrally located. We wanted to explore the whole island and the condo is right in the middle of it all. It was perfect.

- Peaceful. We aren't one for crowds and there were few people around.

- Evening breeze. Every night we would enjoy the winds blowing through.

- 2 stories. We had 7 people in our party. Having the upstairs bedroom made it a nice retreat from the crowd.

- Beautifully decorated. It was nice to feel like you were in Hawaii inside the condo.

- Great Owners. Some contractors were on the roof and it made a mess in the condo. The owners were prompt in sending over a cleaning crew to take care of it.

Cons:

- Parking. You have to park on the street. It wouldn't be too bad except the trees you park under are full of ants and what I guess are mini cockroaches. So every day we came our to a car covered in beautiful yellow flowers and bugs.

- No Air Conditioning. We visited in June and the daytime would get pretty hot in the condo. Thankfully we spent our days outside. The evening winds would help cool it down so that it was comfortable at night. They also have a good amount of floor fans to help.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this positive review. Our condo was re-roofed during this guests stay. We had worked with our building association for over a year on scheduling this work for a time when the unit was not occupied. At the last minute the contractor changed the schedule and was a week late in beginning the project. The guests were extremely cooperative under the circumstances and we appreciate that. This being a once in 20 years event will not effect visitors in the future. Our building is very proactive and makes maintenance and beautification a top priority. We are quite sure our guests enjoy the quality of the facilities as well as our newly remodeled condo. We are working on other options for guest parking. Please contact us if you have concerns.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St. Joseph MI
5

Simply amazing

  • 5 of 5

outrageously beautiful penthouse condo. Decor has an Island vibe without being corny. Spectacular view. Lush beautifully kept grounds. Close to everything without the crowds. We spent 9 days here and i never want to leave. We sae several negative reiews about the breeze here. Its wonderful and frankly would be unbearable without it. Kuds to the owners for making this such a beautiful place to stay.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo🌺 We look forward to your return. Stefani & Todd
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

awesome condo!

  • 5 of 5

Great condo and awesome place to stay!! from the time we arrived until we left, it was wonderful to see how the views changed from sunset to sundown!!! Highly recommend and would consider booking again if we travel to Maui. Loved the decorating, many cooking and beach extras and the wine rack.......take one leave one! great idea!!! Thanks for letting us enjoy your condo for a few days!

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for the great review! We are very proud of the place we have created for our visitors and love hearing that you enjoyed your stay. Pleas consider another stay with us in the future. Aloha - Todd & Stefani 🐠
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150

Fee of $100.00 for more than four persons. Cleaning fee is $200.00, if your stay is less than seven nights. All rates subject to change.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties