check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

cork marcheschi

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, italian

Urban Loft Ocean Getaway.

20 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Pacifica Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

VRBO

The Loft - two day minimum stay.

Deposit is 50% your stay. Balance is due within a week of your arrival.

The Rockaway Beach loft is a 1,350 sq. foot space located in Pacifica, California, just 15 minutes from downtown San Francisco and a one-minute walk to the ocean. Pacifica is the first beach town south of San Francisco and just 15 beautiful minutes from Half Moon Bay and an hour from Santa Cruz, one of the best boardwalks on the west coast.

The Loft is located at Rockaway Beach on the frontage road to the Pacific Coast Highway, otherwise known as Route 1. The second floor of a working artist's studio with it's own private entrance, the lower space and adjoining building are the studio of an internationally know sculptor. (It is sound insulated and noise from the lower studio is not an issue!)

Surfing

If you're interested in surfing, Linda Mar Beach (aka Taco Bell Beach) has good waves for both the beginner and seasoned surfer. The setting is beautiful with the hillside community of Pedro Point cradling this great surf spot.

If you are an advanced surfer and like to ride challenging waves, you're just 15 minutes away from Mavericks. This is the largest break in the continental USA, home to the annual Men Who Ride Mountains competition. For both Linda Mar (Taco Bell) Beach and Mavericks, I recommend you go to youtube and see the scene for yourself!

Biking

Pacifica provides a great jumping off point for the cyclist. Just across the highway from The Loft, there is a paved pedestrian and biking trail that connects all the districts of Pacifica. Linda Mar Beach is just to the south over a short rise, and just to the north is a trail which circumvents a former quarry which has become the go-to spot for joggers and dog walkers.

For the roadie, little used coastal roads south of Half Moon Bay lead to small town general stores and spectacular ocean views from the hills. The Tour of California passed through here in 2009, and riders were challenged with beautiful switchback climbs to the aptly named Skyline Drive at the ridge of the coastal range. Serious riders can head north on the Coast Highway and be at the Golden Gate Bridge in an hour.

For the mountain biker, the area is criss-crossed with fire roads leading to such points of interest as the SF Bay discovery site and the top of Montara Mountain at 1800 feet above sea level affording 360 degree views of the bay area, including Mount Tamalpais in Marin County, Mount Diablo in the East Bay, and on a clear day, the Farrallone Islands 26 miles out to sea.

We would be happy to provide maps of the area and guided rides are available.

Hiking and Walking

There are hundreds of miles of trails that are available in and near Pacifica. Walk across to the ocean and you have your choice of a paved path that goes through fields, oceanfront and hills. A great place to take a relaxed stroll and check out the local wild life. In the summer the pampas grass gets to be over 9 feet tall and it's a beautiful thing to walk through the forest of these giant plumed plants and see breaking waves just beyond. Starting your walk in the same spot you can go off the paved path and take any number of trails that lead you up and over the hills with many levels of difficulty available. These hikes can be scenic or extremely vigorous, depending on your preference.

Art

The loft is filled with artwork that has been produced on site. Several of these pieces have traveled internationally and are still in circulation. The studio operates regularly and if you have any interest in seeing what’s being worked on, you're invited to visit and hang out. The San Francisco art scene is quite rich with numerous museums, commercial and experimental galleries. A list of galleries and museums is provided with the literature in The Loft space.

FOOD

The Bay Area hosts some of the best food in the world. There is a spectrum of everything from Head to Tail dinners (at Incanto) where every part of the animal is served, to Weird Fish (in the Mission) serving only vegetarian and fish dishes) to fabulous Crème Brule served from a street vendor's pushcart. Our family is passionate about food and know the Bay Area scene very well.

Give us a call and we will be very happy to help you plan eating as if you've lived here for years, or if you're interested in dinner with this native San Franciscan family, we offer dinners at our San Francisco home. Just ask for further details.

MORE INFORMATION

Heading south on Route 1 from The Loft, you'll pass Linda Mar Beach and then head up and over Devil's Slide. This is a great time to see the amazing geological striations that are a result of continental drift, since a tunnel to be completed in 2012 will cut through the mountain making Devil's Slide a pedestrian/bicyclist road only.

Continue south past Montara to Moss Beach and visit the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve, then down to Half Moon Bay, once the agricultural hub of the northern California coast, and then on to Pescadero. The one-street town of Pescadero boasts DUARTEs, one of the great gems on the coast. Esquire magazine has rated the Ollalaberry pie as the best in America, and we agree! You can also find abalone and green chile and/or artichoke soup, among other homemade fare.

Not to be missed, but perhaps deserving another day would be Santa Cruz, Monterey, and Carmel. As you can tell, we know and love our area of the northern California coast. We'd love to share it with you!

Keywords: oceanside, artist's loft, studio, apartment, urban beach retreat, nature, surfing, biking, ecotourism, fishing

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
cork marcheschi (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, italian

Why cork marcheschi chose Pacifica

We love Pacifica because of its close proximity to the wonders of the ocean, coastal towns, and to the world class culinary and artistic life of San Francisco. A mere 15 miles south of San Francisco, we consider Pacifica another neighborhood!

What makes this apartment unique

While at The Loft, you can awaken in the morning, cross the road (Route 1) and be on one of the most stunning beaches in the world within two minutes. Within five minutes you can walk to another stunning beach (Linda Mar) and watch beginning and advanced surfers tackle the waves. Without getting in your car you can hike, bike, surf, fish, get coffee, eat, shop, or after spending a day outdoors you can jump in your car and be in San Francisco in 15 minutes to see a movie, play, music, street theatre, and go out to a world class restaurant.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We booked this at the last minute and got lucky on a cancellation. We arrived and found a dedicated parking space ( always nice.) The place is big, open and looks just like the pictures on the sight. We walked across the road and had dinner at Nick's, an old fashioned sea food place. This was great fun and the bar was out of 1950 film noir.

The art stuff was crazy fun. Everything lit up and some of it moved. There were books, board games and cable tv.

I do not know where you can find this kind of experience any place else for a 100 bucks a night? We met Steve in the sculpture shop down stairs and he was very helpful with suggestions about the coast and food. We came up to Pacifica to get away from the heat and found a place that we will come back to just to hang out and enjoy the ocean.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.7
based on 20 traveler reviews

Urban Loft Ocean Getaway.
average rating of 4.65 based on 21 reviews
5

A wonderful escape

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 3 nights in March to unwind. The loft was the perfect getaway for us. The spaciousness, hominess, and lightness of the place made us feel completely comfortable. We were so glad we opted for this rental instead of an impersonal hotel room. The other reviews and property have listed the amenities so I will not restate them here. We had everything we needed. Also convenient was the fact of the loft being separated into two main rooms, which provided privacy if you you have someone still sleeping and want to prepare a meal or work on your laptop. Most impressive was the wonderful art on display throughout the loft and due to rain one day, we spent most of the day inside just admiring the decor and playing some of the many games the owner has provided.

We look very forward to our next visit.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Myself and three of my girlfriends stayed at the Loft for four days and it was an incredible experience. First off, the Loft is HUGE, much bigger than I anticipated. We cooked quite a bit and everything worked wonderfully. The bathroom is very spacious plus there is tons of mirror space through out the loft so it didn't get too crazy with four girls in the house haha. The Loft is equipped with many of the necessities; such as, towels, blankets, toilet paper, dishes, etc. The Loft is filled with super awesome art and furniture. There's also access to a balcony that we actually spent a lot of time on. It's located above an art studio, which is pretty sweet. We were lucky enough to hang out with the neighbor and Baker, who is in the studio often. They gave us some good advice on places to visit. They were incredibly friendly and fun. The Loft is walking distance to a few bars and to the beach which we took advantage of! I noticed that the driving directions on my GPS to the city seemed to increase the length of time it takes to get into the San Fran, but it was not bad at all. We were able to visit the city daily with no problem. We will definitely be back! Leaving the Loft was heart breaking, we loved it so much.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Salt Lake City, UT
5

Unique place, spacious and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights to decompress from a week with family in San Jose. This is not a Marriott, and it took us a few minutes to re-orient our expectations as to what exactly we had rented. First, you drive up and are looking into a shop full of machines, parts, and people working. The loft is on the upper floor of the shop, up some wooden stairs off to the side of the building. Once we got the key -- be sure to ask in advance for the code on the lockbox -- we were in the unit quickly and easily.

The loft has a lot of space, and there is an eclectic collection of objects. Not cluttered, but stuff you are not used to seeing in a rental. We loved the electric art after finding the various switches to illuminate things and we quickly settled into and embraced the character of the place. The "master bed" is tucked away in a corner of one of the rooms with some vertical blinds separating it on one side, which were useful for blocking the morning light. This is not, however, a private space if other people are in the unit with you. There was another double bed made up in the main room, which may or may not be a futon. We would be fine having our kids share with us, but it would not work for two couples, for instance, at least not for my wife's need for privacy.

There is a kitchen with stove, refrigerator, dishes, and a microwave. We did not use it, so all I can say is it was there and looked useful. The bathroom has been recently remodeled and is very nice. The shower stall is large, the water was as hot as we needed, and there were shelves to store stuff. The kitchen area has a very large dining table, and we ended up sitting there a lot when doing e-mail and hanging around. There are other sitting areas in the loft, and the furniture is easily moved around. The space invites it.

Definitely need a car to get to and from the property. There is a designated parking space, which is nice as parking in the immediate neighborhood seems to get used up. You are just across the highway -- there is a crossing signal a half block up the street -- from an area of small shops, coffee places, and a few restaurants. We ended up having breakfast three straight mornings at Breakers, which is three blocks down by the waterfront. You are about 20 minutes from San Francisco, 30 minutes from places like the Park.

Do visit Cork in his studio. It is a unique experience and part of the charm of the place.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Fun, convenient loft space!

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I stayed at the loft recently for four days and overall enjoyed our time there. The owner provided good instructions for accessing the loft and there is a guest parking spot in the large driveway. The exit onto Harvey St. is a blind spot so you have to be careful pulling out and you will need to drive up HWY 1 to the first stop light and make a U-turn to go west as it's all one way otherwise, not a big deal.

The loft itself was very spacious! I loved the sense of space and to have it filled with wonderful art. I'm an artist myself so it was a treat to see works by another artist. Each piece does have a switch to turn on the light for it. I had to search for some of them, but enjoyed each one once they were lit up. The one in the northeast corner didn't work, but no biggie.

The facilities

The loft has a kitchenette with a stove, sink, and refrigerator. The refrig. is okay, but the freezer desperately needs to be thawed out as it has a deep layer of frost in it. We didn't actually end up cooking, but the stove seemed adequate with at least four burners. One thing that was missing that would have proved to be an issue had we cooked was silverware. There were some plastic spoons, but no actual silverware. I recommend at least stocking a basic set for guest use. I'm sure we would all wash well before using. The bathroom was fine with plenty of towels and a great shower with plenty of force. I enjoyed the absolutely awesome mirror in the bathroom. The dining area has a funky, cool retro glass top type table with retro chairs. I found the space very charming. I loved checking out the many art pieces around the space and I liked the skylights, which helped the place feel even more open.

There is plenty of seating in the big, main room with at least six actual chairs. There's a futon in the corner that could sleep two and a main bed with a blind partition. I imagine if one has guests it would be private enough.

There is a sliding glass door and small deck/balcony facing HWY 1 on the north side of the loft. From there you can kind of see the ocean, but with the door open all you'll hear is the traffic. That's not really an issue though as it's a short walk or easy drive down to Rockaway Beach for beautiful sunsets or a nightcap at the Moonraker in the Best Western. We were too exhausted from our trips to Santa Cruz and San Francisco to do much else.

We really enjoyed NOT being in a hotel. We will return :)

  • Submitted: May 25, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

LOVED our Friday-Sunday stay at the LOFT. My mom turned 70 this month and wanted to celebrate with a trip out of town. We lived in Moss Beach nearby so this was a great place in a familiar area.

There were 4 of us: my mom, my two sons (10 and 12) and myself. Instructions were easy to follow and the LOFT itself was great! So much space! I'm so used to feeling cramped on trips, this was a very nice change. The artwork in the LOFT is beautiful and interesting to see! You have a view of the ocean from the balcony, and nothing beats the beautiful air from the Pacific ocean. Someone complained there is traffic noise because of the proximity to Highway 1, but honestly it did not bother any of us at night with the windows open, even on the weekend.

One of the reasons I rented the LOFT was the kitchen. We didn't end up cooking as I had planned, but we did use the kitchen for breakfast (cereal and greek yogurt), to chill beverages and keep other perishable items Friday till our departure Sunday. There were plenty of dishes to use.

The bathroom is spacious, and the showerhead was great. I hate showerheads at hotels and this was what I'd have at home. There were plenty of clean towels for all of us, and an adequate mirror with lighting for us ladies to get ready. Speaking of getting ready, there are an assortment of boxed games the boys could play while waiting :)

My mom and I shared the queen bed, which was absolutely clean and comfortable, with outets on both sides for charging phones. There's also a privacy blind you can adjust depending on your needs. During the day it was slip open, and at night I had it open at the end so I could see my kids (and they could see me), but closed enough because my mom didn't want the light I left on for the kids.

The kids slept on the futon and they were comfortable. My 12 year old is 5'4" and 120 pounds, my 10 year old is 5' and about 75 pounds. There were plenty of blankets for them.

This was my first VRBO experience and I was very pleased. Thank you for sharing your space and letting my family enjoy the perfect weather in Pacifica!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Great place, roomy and fun! But *renter beware*

  • 3 of 5

If you decide to stay here, I recommend that you request a 'walk through' before AND after your stay. There are many things/appliances that are 'rigged' and don't work well...but you will have have poorly written instructions next to the things that don't work. There is a lot of amazing artwork and unfortunately, we were accused of breaking a piece (which I TOTALLY would have owned if we had broken it) It was just very unfortunate and sure put a negetive vibe on the end of an otherwise fantastic trip visiting family! I feel this all could have been avoided with a 'walk through' and better communication. There are many positives to this place, but some negetives also ... I just would hate for someone else to have the same experience we did after our stay.

Also, be aware that it is

right off of hwy 1 (noisy to some)

windows don't open (has funny gas smell in the apt)

Good luck!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was created because the guest would not pay the full fee for her stay. She paid for 4 guests and had 5. When I requested payment for the extra guest she because angry. I did not push this, I was not paid for this extra person or for damage done to some art work. Please read any or all of the other 13 reviews and you will get a feel for this spot.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
san francisco international
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Nick's
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Pacifica Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nick's - Rockin Robs-The Breakers - Surf Spot
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Rockaway Beach
Car: recommended

Active Sculpture and Fabrication Studio

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pacifica Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$115
$775
$2,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $80

A deposit of 50% via pay-pal or check will secure the booking. The balance can be paid within a week before your stay.
There is an $80 cleaning fee. The cleaning fee is not negotiable.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pacifica Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1380 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Spacious bathroom with sky light, Large shower and abundant towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...