check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lee Reed

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Gunnison Country Getaway

29 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Gunnison House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, (Sleeps 12)+ loft

This modern and spacious home sits 8,200 feet above sea level on nine acres in the middle of the Colorado Rocky Mountains. The Cabin has 360 degree views of the Rocky Mountains and overlooks the 300 acre Green Mesa Ranch, Tomichi Creek Valley, and Quartz Creek Valley. The property has a front porch and a back deck where you can sit, relax, and enjoy the views. The Cabin is an excellent base camp for many adventures - fishing, horseback riding, hiking, 4-wheeling, jeeping, mountain biking, touring, etc.

Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lee Reed (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Lee Reed

My wife and I lived in the Gunnison Country, in this home, for four years before moving. We enjoyed the area and our friends so much, we decided to keep the home after we moved. We take every opportunity to come home and see old friends and revitalize ourselves. Some of our favorite activities are shopping in Gunnison and Crested Butte, hiking, 4-wheeling, enjoying meals as the locally owned restaurants, but mostly, sitting on the front porch or back deck and taking in the creation around us.

Lee Reed purchased this house in 2005

Why Lee Reed chose Southwestern Colorado

We purchased this property as our residence when we lived in Gunnison. When we moved from Gunnison, we loved the friends we made, the house and the area too much to totaly leave, so we kept the house as our second home.

What makes this house unique

When we go to our Gunnison home, we enjoy sipping our morning coffee on the front porch and watch the sunrise and the Tomichi Creek valley wake-up. We enjoy our evening wine on the back deck while watching the sunset and the horses at the Green Mesa Ranch. Between these events, we enjoy hiking and jeeping the Gunnison Country, shopping in Gunnison and Crested Butte, boating on Blue Mesa Reservoir.

Reviews

5
based on 29 traveler reviews

Gunnison Country Getaway
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
Michigan
5

Fabulous property , great for big groups , close to trails and other attractions , well maintained .

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful property.. spacious , clean , well appointed. We were a group of motorcycle trail riders , we could ride right from the property... Would definitely stay again.. Only improvement we could recommend would be a Large outdoor Hot tub for the old people , we would not mind paying more for that luxury. Would recommend this property to any large group .. Very easy to find and communication with the owner is excellent . The nearest store is in Gunnison about 12 miles away and it is close to the Hot Springs .. a great place to wind down after a long hard day of riding .

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Broken Arrow, OK
5

Couldn't Be Better!

  • 5 of 5

This is our third year to stay at the Gunnison property.

We love this place.

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

More that you could imagine

  • 5 of 5

The Reeds have set up their home to accommodate every need you might have. I have used VRBO rentals a lot and this was not like that all, it was more like going to a family members home while they were not at home. We all felt just like we were at home when we got there. We were so glad we had not went shopping before we got there because we usually have to buy all the minor essentials but you don't really need to because they are all there. So I recommend you go there before shopping for food. If you have lot of children their family room above the garage had 6 very nice twin beds set up with nice linens and even a snuggly animal. My daughter had to study a lot while we were there and she was able to work well in the fully stocked office with a window looking out on the wonderful view. Great things to see, all close by. Lee Reed was available for our every need. There were games and puzzles and books to read. Just an all over home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Spectacular view at sunrise and sunset & every moment in between . Watching the bunnies, horses & hearing the coyotes at night was cool. Decorated perfectly. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Equipped with everything & very clean. Enjoy your stay.....

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

This home suited our needs perfectly and the location is beautiful. The owner is great to deal with and very professional, we very highly recommend this property.

Thanks again,

The Denver Water Wildland FIre Strike Team

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, well-stocked, exceptionally clean!

  • 5 of 5

I went to this property for a graduation stay. I was overly impressed by the cleanliness of the property both inside and out. The house is well-stocked with kitchen needs and miscellaneous needs. It is obvious that the owners take pride in their property and understand the needs of every renter - they are prepared! The property has 3 bedrooms and one loft room with 6 single beds above the garage. The master bathroom was awesome, including a jetted tub and comfortable mattresses in the bedroom. It was a serene vacation, highly recommended and I will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind works and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forwared to your return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Gunnison-Crested Butte Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Several in Gunnison
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Dos Rios Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy. 50
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Several in Gunnison
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Monarch Mtn (30) & Crested Butte Mtn Resort (30)
Car: necessary

Our home is 12 miles east of Gunnison right off Hwy. 50.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gunnison House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $125

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gunnison House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Printer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master on-suite
    Guest Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sinks
    Powder Room - toilet , Next to laundry
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Corner Bedroom - 1 queen
    Red Room - 1 queen
    Bonus Room - 2 double , 4 twin/ single , Open room above garage. Great for kids.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The house is located away from it all at 8,200 feet above sea level, 12 miles from town, and no next door neighbors. You can leave it all behind while setting on the front porch or back deck and just relax. A perfect place for reflection, meditation, or a retreat. Or you can experience the history and adventure that the Gunnison Country offers with family and friends.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties