check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Whidbey Island 1930's Cottage on 13 Acres

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Whidbey Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This inviting, one bedroom cottage is a 1930's gem. Located between Freeland and Coupeville on South Whidbey Island, the Artists Cottage offers privacy and unique blend of rustic elegance on 13 acres of fields, woods, and wetlands. Especially intended for longer stays, there's a well equipped kitchen, original art on the walls, and the delightful rooms boast color, texture, and warmth.

Inside there is an automatic gas fireplace, a claw-foot bath tub, while outside you can enjoy a hot tub on the back deck overlooking the wetlands and forest. The pond in the front yard is regularly visited by ducks, herons, and even deer. The beautiful Meerkerk Rhodedendron Gardens are a short walk away and the historic town of Coupeville and incredible Ebey's Prairie are a short drive to the North. More antiques and artwork can be found to the south in the village of Langley.

Keywords: Cottage on 13 Acres

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Nancy or George Roberts (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish, a bit of Shona and Africaans

About Nancy or George Roberts

We raised our two boys on Whidbey Island for 18 years,while George taught school and Nancy ran a cafe. When we decided to expand our horizons, we realized we could not part with our cottage at Greenbank. It is such a special place. We added a larger bedroom, decks and hot tub, and visit as often as we can. It is a great pleasure reading the guest book, and sharing a favorite place on the planet with others.

Nancy or George Roberts purchased this cottage in 1991

Why Nancy or George Roberts chose Whidbey Island

We have owned this 1930's cottage for many years before we decided to turn it into a vacation rental. It is rare to have such privacy and 13 acres of woodlands, trees, wetlands, and meadows, all to oneself, with of course, the deer, rabbits, ducks, and birds that we share it with.

What makes this cottage unique

It is a fantasy come true... Private lush life surrounding a darling cottage, decorated with art from the Pacific Northwest simply nourishes the spirit! And a live animal planet channel right out the window!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)
Whidbey Island 1930's Cottage on 13 Acres
average rating of 4.25 based on 20 reviews
5

Wonderfully Quaint & Idyllic Place to Spend the Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Loved the 1930/40's decor. The yard and all it's many places to explore made this a magical place. We lay on the lawn to look at the stars at night. Only wish my niece had been there and seen all the wild bunnies and used the croquette set. She could have had the perfect Alice in Wonderland adventure.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location for access to all of Whidbey

  • 5 of 5

Easy to find location with a nice buffer of land. Plenty of flora and fauna and a nice view of the property from the rear deck. Clean place with everything in working order. I like it and will be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jay, Thank you so much for your review! It warms our hearts when people find our cottage to their liking. I will pass your review on to our housekeeper as well, as she likes to know she is doing a good job. We do hope you'll visit again. All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Quaint

  • 2 of 5

You know when you read in the real estate ads for a home that is described as "QUAINT" what that really means? It's code for a place that is quirky, old, and even has floors that tilt! This is a small cottage with interesting and abundant nick-knacks. Charming yes, but very dirty. We felt comfortable but we are SMALL adults (meaning not tall) AND this is NOT a place for someone who is over 5' 8"! Very low ceilings. The place was very DIRTY and we spent at least two hours of our precious vacation time cleaning the bathroom (which smelled horrible and needs new shower curtains) and the kitchen (and we barely made a dent.) This place needs a deep clean from top to bottom and the carpet needs to be PROFESSIONALLY cleaned. The bed was fine, the shower was not so fine. The highlight was the "newish" hot tub which overlooks the back yard. Sitting in the front yard is not comfortable because the noise from the road is LOUD. Luckily the bedroom is in the back of the cottage, so you don't hear the noise. Although the cottage is on 13 acres, we could not find any walking trails to speak of and I think most of the acreage is the cattail swamp that takes up most of the back yard. There is plenty of outdoor furniture, but it's out and about and COVERED in bird poop. We spent another hour trying to clean up the outdoor chairs and tables so we could enjoy our morning coffee and evening meals outside. One afternoon we came home tired and hot from the beach to find that our precious holiday time was interrupted by the maintenance man mowing the lawn. Not much fun trying to have happy hour when you hear the sputter of a lawn mower. Would I stay here again? Maybe. Our dog enjoyed the yard and it's in a great location between Langley and Coupeville. I just wish they tidied up a bit. We hope the owners will consider giving us a partial refund.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deborah, I am sorry you were so dismayed. I spoke to the housekeeper. She stated that you arrived so early she thought you were the vacating guests. When you said you were arriving, she did her best to clean around all your things that had been strewn around the house, the refrigerator full of items, and your dog running around. You were so entrenched she didin't want to ask you to leave so she could clean properly. If you had let us know that you wanted to arrive early, I am certain your review would be different. If you had called us at any time about the cleanliness, we would have had her return. In this business, communication is key to having a perfect vacation. Our lawn man could have come at a different time if you would have said something in advance. It normally doesn't bother people for the half hour he is there. I know the vrbo fee upset you as well, but it is their new policy and is not refundable, but it is there from the beginning in the quote. The housekeeper does clean the bird droppings, but things were pretty hectic when you arrived so early unbeknownst to any of us, and she got the feeling you wanted her gone. We wish you the best on your future holidays. Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely artist home mid island with all the amenities!

  • 5 of 5

The property was super cute! We loved relaxing in the yard and enjoyed the beautiful flowers. The artwork and the nice comfy master bed made the home super comfortable. They have everything needed inside the home to make it an enjoyable trip. Plus there is a cute store and a few country shops close by the house. Everything worked perfectly, internet, tv, cable and the hot tub, which was relaxing after spending some time at the beach. The quiet location made it a perfect getaway. Thank you for sharing the artwork with us, we really enjoyed our stay on the island!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great getaway in quaint cottage

  • 4 of 5

The property was beautiful, with space. It was a great place for our dog to run. The cottage is cute and quaint. It is 1930's in many ways. Clawfoot tub, farmhouse sink, fireplace (gas). My wife and I loved it and the hottub as well, on the deck. My only warning would be if you don't like the quirkiness of a 1930's cottage, then don't go. It's something we liked, and it was perfect for our weekend away. Whidbey is a great with a nearby winery and dog park. A great place to relax. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
3

Country cottage in Greenbank

  • 3 of 5

The cottage was as we expected, and was in a nice enough part of the island. Great dog walking trails at Greenbank Farm about a mile away. The cottage was cozy as others have stated and the kitchen, although very small, had everything we needed to cook a proper meal. The cubbards could use a good clean and throw-out of things no longer usable. Lots of art deco stuff in the kitchen which was cute enough, but 'sticky'. Bedroom was great...very large with a nice view out the back. The Lounge was small but just fine for a social glass of wine and a sit in front of the fireplace. The only weakness we found in the place was in the bathroom. The shower head is hanging from a bunji cord and overall this room needs an update and a clean. We had a scare one morning when the cleaners showed up unannounced. Guess there was a mix-up with dates, but we were NOT dressed when they arrived. Overall, I'd recommend the place if you're okay with quirky and need some space for your pups. It's a great dog-friendly place!!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We had our housekeeper go through the entire kitchen cupboards and clean as per your request. We are sorry it did not completely meet your expectations and hope you will return sometime so we can. All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Meerkerk Rhododendren Gardens right next door, Loganberry festival, Choochokum Arts Festival, Ebey's Prairie

Photos

Rates & Availability

Greenbank Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
standard
Jun 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$165
Fri,Sat
$900
$3,500
 
 
low
Nov 1 2016 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$800
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $100
Pet Fee $50

30.00 per pet is for entire stay, additional pet 30.00
extra person 15.00 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Whidbey Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties