check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

4 Season Home:Romance and Tranquility of Great Sacandaga Lake Getaway!

20 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Hadley House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 full bathroom, sleeps 4

Escape to your own private romantic getaway on Sacandaga Lake. This private house offers a picturesque wooded Adirondack country home in a peaceful setting that is nestled on 3 acres of land. Experience and enjoy magnificent views of the lake while reading a book or simply relaxing and rejuvenating on our indoor surround windows 4-season porch. Enjoy the peaceful gifts of nature while watching the wildlife/ many birds or visiting deer in the yard. House offers a full kitchen with pots/pans, microwave, and utensils. Living room has stone fire place and reading area for those cozy, quite nights when you want to cuddle up to a good book or movie with a fire. (House has basic cable and an array of DVDs/ DVD player hooked up to Bose speakers for your movie pleasure.) Two full bathrooms, (one upstairs and one on the main level), washer and dryer, master bedroom, guest room with pop-up second twin size bed, and third bedroom has been converted to a study. House comes equipped with a full size air mattress that can be inflated and used in living room so house has potential to sleep 6 or 8 people, depending. (Please ask about specifics.)

House has BBQ grill (for use in all seasons) in covered area, patio w/ chairs, table, and umbrella. There is free wifi, and landline telephone for local calls use in the United States, only. There will be additional charges for international calls.

Enjoy swimming on the lake directly across the street on our own private 35 foot lake front permit area, soak up the sun on our lawn chairs, hike up the trail for an awesome view, bike ride or simple plan a day of adventure exploring what the great Adirondacks has to offer. The choice is yours and just waiting for you to come and enjoy! The Adirondacks has so much to offer; summer events and fire works, beautiful leaves in the fall, and skiing/ snow shoeing in the winter. Every season brings so much to do and experience!

**House is also located 30 minutes from Saratoga Race Track in Saratoga NY and just a few additional minutes from there to all the activity of Lake George. We look forward to having you visit our home!

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 30, 2016

Guestbook comments from the owner

House was beautiful, peaceful and clean. Area was full of many activities and neighbors were great. Everyone, was nice and helpful. It was a vacation to remember. I give it a 5 star! My only regret was, we would have like to have stayed longer! Thanks Willi
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 1


based on 20 traveler reviews

4 Season Home:Romance and Tranquility of Great Sacandaga Lake Getaway!
average rating of 4.55 based on 21 reviews


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and another couple stayed at this wonderful lake house from 7/2 – 7/5/16… It was a quiet and most relaxing get-away – we enjoyed everything about this home - the view of the lake, making campfires down by the lake and sitting out on the patio in the evenings under a star-filled sky. This home had everything we needed. Willi was very accommodating and answered all my questions very quickly. Thanks for a great vacation Willi! Would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. :-) It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We do our very best to have our guest enjoy our home as much as we do. It's such a beatiful peaceful place that brings us joy. I am so glad to hear your family had a great stay. We would love to have you stay with us again. Please consider us for your future vacation needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic Getaway, turn off the cell phone*****

  • 5 of 5

We are so happy this home was available for our dates. We had never been to the lake before but traveled a lot. So we were not sure what to expect. This house was exactly what we wanted! We had all the comforts of home and more. Very tranquil, clean, and relaxing. The kitchen and house was equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The owner also answered all our question, we had immediately.

We definitely recommend the property and homeaway to anyone looking to rent on Sacadaga Lake. It was a excellent vacation. We will be back next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for renting out your house to us. We really enjoyed the quiet serene environment. The house was exactly what we expected, very clean and well decorated and accommodated our every need.



  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

3 Xs a Jem. A Great Stay 3 years in a row!

  • 5 of 5

A Great Stay, 3 times!

This was the third year our family rented this lovely cottage. Each year we came we were always greeted with an awesome stay. We could not ask for more. We stayed this year for 2 weeks. The house was always clean, well equipped, and really nicely decorated in a rustic style. The view from the house of the lake is superb! The area is accessible to everything and the lake right across the street from the house is out of this world. We all had something to do that we enjoyed. My wife likes to go to Saratoga, which is so close. I think it took us 30 minutes tops. The kids love the lake for swimming and playing. I love relaxing to a good book soaking up the sun. We all found the house and vacation was exactly what we needed. Once you find a good place on the lake that has something for everyone in the family, you keep coming back. The owners were very welcoming and easy to get a hold of, if we had a question. You could tell they were very eager to help. It was a great vacation!

We will definitely come back again next year for our fourth year. If you love Sacandaga Lake like we do, you could not ask for more in a rental property. Thanks Homeaway!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tranquil escape, just what the doctor ordered!

  • 5 of 5

Best kept Secret on the Lake

My family and I were looking for a place to stay on the lake. This was our first time visiting the area and wanted a place to stay for a week to vacation. We read the reviews of this house and honestly did not know what to expect. This house was exactly what we were looking for and more! Great house and very nicely decorated. The views were terrific from the time ou walk in. We wished we could have stayed longer. We all had so much fun, two adult with kids, we did not want to go home. I can’t find one bad thing to say. The owners were very attentive and provided everything we needed to have a great vacation. There were lots of activities on the lake and we docked our small boat right by the house. The leaves had just started to turn and the lake was beautiful. We even took a couple day trips to Lake George and Saratoga, which were not far at all. I can't say anything bad about the area or house. The house was clean and well equipped. The grounds were breathtaking and very private and when we wanted more action, we went out. We did it all and really enjoyed the area and the house. Very nice house at a reasonable price. We are glad we booked this house for your vacation and first experience on the lake. It was well worth the money. We will definitely come back. Thank you to the owners.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Property But Renters Beware

  • 1 of 5

After reading favorable reviews for this property, my family rented this house for a week in August, 2015. After we arrived, we were optimistic we would have an enjoyable stay. The property was well kept, the house was quaint and clean and there were numerous amenities that could make for a relaxing getaway. The sun porch and the outside deck offered wonderful views of the Lake and the location was perfect.

Unfortunately, after we settled in, we received an unannounced visit from the local Electric Company. The Electric Company rep cut off all electricity services to the premises (lights, water, and telephone). The Electric Company stated they had attempted to resolve a significant problem with the owner "numerous times over several MONTHS" but the owner had still not resolved the financial issue. My husband and I had to drive to a nearby town to use our cell phone to email the owner regarding the problem. The owner responded they would look into the problem and would quickly get back with us. After waiting for HOURS with no response/resolution to the problem and with nightfall approaching, we had no choice but to return to the house, move back out and go to another town to check into a hotel. We immediately sent the owner a message advising where we left the house key. The owner responded they needed more time to look into the matter and suggested we could have used a generator!!

Needless to say, we cannot recommend this property as we had a terrible experience and hope steps will be taken to prevent future renters from becoming victims of similar circumstances.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you felt the house was clean and accomodating. Sorry to hear that you were upset with your stay despite my repeated attempts to rectify any problems you had as expediently as possible. As noted to you on day 5 of your 7 day stay, when you initially reported a power outage at 12:00pm; I reponded to you by phone at 12:15, updated the status of the problem at 12:55 and then again at 2:17. The power outage was resolved three hours after you reported it. Unfortunately after e-mailing you to notify the situation was being corrected and the property manager would set up the back up generator for your use in the mean time. I had not heard back from you. As noted in my e-mail to you immediately, I am truly sorry for any inconvenience and would like to offer you a free week next year or when you would like to return for your several hours of undue hardship. The outage was resolved within hours. Please see reviews of guest that came into the house immediately after your stay on Aug. 8th. New renter had no problems. I am honestly not sure why you noted you were not kept informed or that the matter was not dealt with immediately. Also,please note, electric companies by law will not disclose confidential information unless you can verify proof with credentials you are the owner, as per their stringent policy. I take pride in having my guest enjoy their stay, respond to any and all emergencies immediately, and pay my bills on time. This is obviously an error and unfortunte incidence. The power was not shut off due to an unpaid bill. For future reference, the house as noted in your rental contract is equipped with a back up generator as a precautionary measure because of its location in the mountains. In the event that an outage may occur, due to natural causes, i.e. severe thunderstorms, utility companies usually resolve any problems within several hours. I take precaution so that my guest are not inconvenienced in such events by supplying the back up generator. Once again, so sorry for any inconvenience. I rent my home, which I value dearly so that others can too enjoy the beautiful place and mountain air. We would love to accomodate you for your future vacation needs. I will continue to be a moral good owner and provide a safe, clean place for my guest. We hope that you and your family come back and build positive memories!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 4


House is located 20 minutes from Amsterdam town area for shopping and hospital. 10 to 15 minutes for Northville also for local shopping. 30 minutes for Saratoga NY (Race Track, activities, and shopping as well as minutes from Saratoga to Lake George region for outlet shopping and amusement park and other restaurants and family activities. Great Sacandaga Lake is centrally located to many Adirondack nature trail and exciting activities whether you are looking for a rejuvenating peaceful time or want to experience a full day of excitement.


Rates & Availability

Hadley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 8.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Hadley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Possible sleep 6 or 8
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Please bring your own towels and sheets.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties