Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Muir Beach Ocean and Garden Retreat

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8 MAXIMUM - No exceptions

This house was a family home for over 10 years and was recently totally renovated. The property is perfectly nestled above Muir Beach with extensive beach frontage. The owners who are landscape architects designed extensive gardens that were featured in the book 'Gardens by the Sea' by Barbara Seagal, an English author; and featured in Garden Design as well. The house features wrap around decks that connect all the rooms to the outdoor, the gardens, and the ocean. All 4 bedrooms have ocean views. An extra feature of this property is a private studio on the hill which can be leased at the same time for an additional cost.

Other amenities include a BBQ on the deck, a deep jacuzzi tub, and a wonderful garden where you can enjoy the day with a great number of friends and guests.

More Details

Isis Schwartz - please send online inquiries first - phone calls after response
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese, Some Italian and German
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2018

About Isis Schwartz - please send online inquiries first - phone calls after response

We bought the property in 1990 and lived at the beach full time for 10 years. We recently remodeled the entire house to use it again as our vacation property and to feature as a VRBO. We are landscape architects and have won many awards for our work both nationally and internationally. David is a California native with a strong sensibility for the environment and conservation and Isis is a Brazilian native. We have lived in the US, Europe, and South America and have a strong international sensibility and design sense which is reflected in our house.

Isis Schwartz - please send online inquiries first - phone calls after response purchased this house in 1990

Why Isis Schwartz - please send online inquiries first - phone calls after response chose Muir Beach

We bought this property from David's parents because of its location, the proximity to San Francisco for our work and all of the amenities the coast offers. As life long environmentalists and ocean enthusiasts there was no better place to live than facing the Pacific Ocean. We also wanted to keep this property in the family and have every intention of continuing the tradition with our children.

What makes this house unique

Flat ground in front of the house: all of the level areas were created by David and me to derive the greatest enjoyment of the property.Kids can play ball and other games on the lawn, we hosted fabulous Easter Egg hunts and birthday parties with more than 50 people enjoying the property and never feeling crowded.


Muir Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:30 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 - Studio bathroom, rented with cottage only
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen bed, ocean views
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom with en suite bathroom, ocean views
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Double bed and twin bed/couple + child
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Ideal for kids/teens
    Detached Unit - 1 double , Rented separately from main house, en suite bath
  • King size beds (1) Master Bedroom with Cal King bed., Queen size Beds (1) Front bedroom with queen bed., Double Beds (2) Bedroom # 2 with double and twin bed. Cottage on hill with double bed - for additional 2 guests and not included in main house rental. Daily rate is 200.00/night. Twin or Single Beds (1) Two twin beds in kids bedroom.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Games
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub ...
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
The studio on the hill is available as an extra bedroom and bathroom. The cost is 200.00/night with a 50.00 cleaning fee. There is a 2 night minimum at the studio. It has its own deck, coffee pot, and outdoor amenities and it is a great place for a family or group member who needs more privacy. Daily house keeping services available at extra cost. Kayaks available.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Muir Beach Ocean and Garden Retreat
average rating of 4.65 based on 20 reviews

Comfortable, clean rooms with great views and a beautiful garden, east walk to the beach.

  • 5 of 5

We had a family reunion there the and space was well suited for that. Private and public space enough for all of us. After a very windy road, about an hour after leaving the SF airport we arrived. We should have stopped for groceries on the way, because there isn't anything nearby. It was about a 1-1/2 hour drive to wine country the first day, the 2nd day we chilled at the house. Getting a place to park at nearby John Muir Woods was tricky, but we got in on Monday. Would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute, comfy house, great views. Not easy to get in and out of with a vehicle that carries 8.

  • 3 of 5

Great communication from owner!

Kitchen was a little dirty upon arrival and laundry was still in machine in laundry room when we arrived.

House had everything we needed for our stay though and the hot tub was great! Not a quick drive to any store, so plan a grocery run that will last throughout your stay.

Overall, the minor inconveniences were just that; minor. Views were great and the area was nice and serene. Hiking trails were close and plentiful and whales were in the bay. Short drive to Muir Woods.

The very tight winding roads were quite an experience but manageable. San Fran was a good 30 minutes depending on traffic but it was nice to be out of town in the evening and not stuck in a hotel. It would have been nice to know though, that the beach closest to the house was clothing optional....especially when traveling with the kids (I must have missed that).

Good stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

House in a stunning environment, but badly taken care of!

  • 2 of 5

After booking, it got impossible to contact the owner: they did not respond to emails sent via VRBO, to text messages or phone calls. Even after being contacted via VRBO 68 hours before the rent started, I only got a response because I googled the owner and phoned her business partner at their business. This meant an enormous stress and waste of holiday time for my husband and myself! We spent 2 half days just trying to get in touch with the owner!

I requested the property to be cleaned before we arrived and it was not:

- hairs in the shower,

- dead old bugs on the floor in every room and under the floor mats,

- dirty refrigerator filled with old food,

- broken sockets in almost every room,

- mice extrements in the corners and mice smell in the bathroom,

- dusty shelves in the bathroom,

- stinky bathroom that has been producing a weird and old smell since we arrived.

You can expect more when you pay an exceptionally high cleaning fee of several hundred dollars!

In addition to the dirt, the place is not as advertised on VRBO:

- The master bedroom had only a light bulb, but no lamp, - the shower in the master bathroom is a disgust for 1000 USD/a night

- there is mold on the main windows on the master bedroom.

- The advertisement of the house says has 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, as well that hat all of the bedroom have ocean view! However, only two bathrooms are available and one of the bedrooms is a better walk through back room to the outside garage with only a sky light.

- The prized garden by landscapes architects is - compared to the neighboring gardens - in a bad condition : muddy, no garden work done for months, dead plants, the patio and the chairs dirty.

When trying to light the fire the second time, the chimney vent malfunctioned and we had smoke in the living room "for dinner". The malfunction could have been easily avoided, if the fire place was installed properly by the owners.

We are aware that the property is on the ocean surrounded by nature after a rainy winter. Taking the more the very high rent for the property into consideration, you can definitely expect a proper condition of the house: cleaned and well taken care of and in the advertised condition.

In fact, we consider to have left the house cleaner than when we arrived!!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Claudia, I am sorry you found the property in such disarray. This is highly unusual and we don't have a single review like this, so I am truly sorry for what you describe. Had I known the house wasn't clean I would have sent the housekeeper. Regarding access codes: I wait until the last week to give actual access code. You received tenants instructions and list of attractions when you booked. This is a beach house and not a resort. I have many guests who return to the property. I am sorry this didn't agree with your preferences. Sincere Regards, Isis
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

We enjoyed beautiful weather

  • 5 of 5

The power was out in the area but not for long. The beach was short walk away. The house was comfortable with good view. We loved the fire place and plenty of wood.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent Vacation on Muir Beach

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautifully located, well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Great for a quick getaway with family and friends. Thank you Isis and David!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, California

Lovely site and hosts

  • 5 of 5

Iris and David have a perfect spot for a family retreat. Comfortable, cozy, well decorated with pretty views everywhere-from eh living room , bedrooms, desks, heard and seating area overlooking the beach. Hosted a small family and guest thanksgiving dinner here-and on arrival there were nice seasonal touches on the table! Beautiful views from their yard (and the hot tub). Minor snafu with the furnace-and David was very prompt and helpful. Wifi didn't work (but that wasn't why we came).

Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Muir Woods National Monument
Marin Headlands
Sand Dollar Restaurant
Great food,music, a local institution
Parkside Cafe
Local restaurant, coffee, soft serve ice cream, breakfast, just good fun, right by the entra...
Mill Valley Market
Goodies from all over the world,old family market. Go there if you want an alternative to Wh...
Muir Beach Overlook
Watch Memoir of a Geisha and you will recognize this outstanding point on the coast. A must ...
Mat Davis Trail
Car: necessary

Muir Beach is located only 20 minutes from San Francisco which makes it a perfect location for year round residents. The community has a newly remodeled community center which is rented for weddings, parties, and other celebrations. We are located close to the Zen Center, Golden Gate National Recreation Center, Stinson Beach, and the famous Dipsea Trail from Mill Valley to Stinson beach.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $400
Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $500

Rate is for standard stay. Holiday rate increase apply. Holiday week minimum 5 night stay. Maximum number of guests, no exceptions is of 8 people.
No refund policy. Please purchase travelers insurance

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties