check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bill Metzger

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Expansive views of Chesapeake Bay.

68 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Moon House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bdrm's, Sleeps 10, 3 full bathrooms, 3 half baths, newly renovated.

- Expansive water views of the Chesapeake Bay from every room of the house.

- Large private pool with a gas grill as well as a gas streamer pot to roast some delicious oysters or steam a pot of Chesapeake Bay crabs.

- Kayaks & life jackets provided to explore the quiet coves.

- Bring your own boat or rent one locally. Private concrete loading ramp and private boathouse that accommodates two 36' craft.

- Bicycles & helmets provided to enjoy our quiet country lanes or pack a picnic and ride just 4 miles to white sand Haven Beach or just 2 miles into the little town of Mathews.

- Crab pots provided for guests. Children love baiting them and checking to see what they caught for dinner.

- A little less than an hours drive to the most historic locations in the United States--Colonial Williamsburg (first U.S. capitol), Jamestown (first settlers landed here), Yorktown (famous for the action it saw during the Revolutionary War).

- A little less than an hours drive to one of the largest theme parks and water parks in the United States -- Busch Gardens.

- Watch world class yachts and sailboats come and go from the Mathews Yacht Club just up the river.

- Get away from it all in the hammock enjoying the expansive views and breezes off the Bay.

- Many excellent movies in the library for your pleasure or the games or cd's available to our guests.

- Roast marshmallows or hot dogs at the waterside fire pit. Starter fluid, fire wood, and telescoping forks provided.

- Watch the moon rise and see the stars brighter than you have probably ever seen them due to the low light pollution here.

- 20,000 watt propane backup generator which will provide electric service for entire house if main power is lost.

- High chair (1) and "pack & play" (1) available.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bill Metzger (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Bill Metzger

Bill Metzger is originally from Oklahoma, but has lived in Virginia for the past 35 years. Now semi-retired I love living on the Chesapeake Bay and near the small but charming town of Mathews.

Why Bill Metzger chose Virginia

The house has expansive views from every room in the house. At least 110 years old this house has weathered many storms and hurricanes. It was a working farm. In this area most farmers also were watermen with fishing boats.

The house has been modernized to today's high standards yet continues to maintain it's coastal farm house charm. It has everything a coastal property should have. A quiet slide into the cove for kayaks, boat loading ramp and boathouse that can accommodate two 36' craft.

What makes this house unique

The first time I saw this property, it was love at first sight. Nothing beats the expansive views and when the sun is at a certain angle the water definitely looks blue -- thus, Blue Water Haven.

It is a haven from all the worries of the world. Although if you want to stay in touch with the world we have WiFi and TV's in every room.

Reviews

5
based on 68 traveler reviews

Expansive views of Chesapeake Bay.
average rating of 5.0 based on 68 reviews
5

Beautiful Waterfront Setting

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful waterfront property, with panoramic view of Milford haven and surrounding water. Property was luxurious with all the amenities one could want on the water including private boathouse, swimming pool, and well appointed furnishings inside and out. If you like the salt water then seriously consider this rental.

Ray

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Buffalo, NY
5

Beautiful Home and Amazing Location

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home which is extremely well maintained and has everything you could possibly need. This home has an amazing location. You look out your bedroom windows and see the Chesapeake Bay! The pool area is a great size with plenty of seating including tables with umbrellas.

My family enjoyed the bikes, kayaks, canoes, and supplies for crabbing. This is a private and peaceful location but the grocery store is a quick drive. You will not be disappointed if you spend a week at this lovely home. It will exceed your expectations. Owner is very responsive and a pleasure to deal with.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal Escape or Family Gathering Place

  • 5 of 5

The description and claims were not exaggerations. The view alone was enough but add all the amenities provided and the attention to detail by the owners and Blue Water Haven earns five stars. The house and grounds were clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the pool, used the kayaks and rode the bikes. We were fortunate that our stay coincided with Mathews Market Days which was a treat. Lunch at Richardson's Drug Store brought back memories of a similar setting in our Kentucky hometown.

The owner was incredibly responsive and we would definitely recommend a visit to friends.

The Harris family and spouses (Washington, DC/Lexington, KY)

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific House

  • 5 of 5

Family vacations do not get better than this. A beautiful house, amazing views of the Bay and so many things to do right on the property. My family loved crabbing. We never did anything like this before. It was fun and we all enjoyed a crab cake dinner. The large backyard made it a great place for flying kites. We had three up in the air at once. My 2 year old granddaughter’s favorite thing to do was swimming. The pool is beautiful and we all enjoyed spending time there. We barbecued one night and ate outside around the pool. Two evenings we had a campfire. Sitting around the fire, next to the water, seeing thousands of stars, wow.

We had eight adults and two children. Some of us just stayed around the house relaxing and enjoyed all the things to do there and others ventured out to see sights in the area. They went to Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia Beach, Bush Gardens and local beaches. There is something to do for everyone here, which made for a wonderful family vacation.

I would also like to say that Bill showed us around the house and answered all our questions. He was very friendly and honestly cared about our family having a nice vacation. He wanted us to take advantage of all that his house had to offer. No wonder this house is rated five stars.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful week at this very interesting and beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

We travelled from the UK and met us with our family who live in US and spent a brilliant week at this lovely house. The pool was Moorish and we spent hours enjoying its delights. Our family brought their sailboat and had such fun around the bay and they also learnt how to kayak and canoe with the boats available for use. The location was very quiet and the property suited all of our needs. All in all a good time was had by everyone. Thank you Bill.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston
5

Incredible Week at a Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5

The property is very well maintained and equipped from extra firewood for the fire pit to a gorgeous well lit pool area with plenty of seating and shade. The house was very clean and had great places to relax and eat as a group. The yard was a home run, meticulously maintained but usable. The lawn to the water was amazing for all sorts of sports and provided a breathtaking view of the bay. We will definitely find our way back for another stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Newport News, Virginia
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Several town of Mathews
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Piankatank Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
24 Miles
Interstate 64
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Several in town of Mathews
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Haven Beach
Car: necessary

Less than one hour from historic Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, Bush Gardens, and WaterCountry USA.

The best fishing and boating area along the Chesapeake Bay.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Moon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 17 2016 - Nov 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$365
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$2,415
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 27 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Pre-Holidays
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$310
From
$335
Fri,Sat
$2,200
 
 
Holidays
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$360
$2,500
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$278
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,900
 
 
Early Spring 2017
Mar 24 2017 - Apr 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$310
From
$335
Fri,Sat
$2,200
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 28 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$385
From
$415
Fri,Sat
$2,675
 
 
Peak Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Sep 15 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,280
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 17 2017 - Nov 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$376
From
$410
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Linen & House Cleaning $170
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 5.3%

FULLY FURNISHED - sheets, bath & pool towels, robes, paper, soaps, shampoos. Kitchen has dish soap, dishwasher detergent, towels, trash bags & all cooking/eating utensils. TV's & DVD's in living & breakfast area &all bedrooms. WiFi enabled. Laundry avail.
FULLY REFUNDABLE $500 damage deposit & $170 Cleaning Fee are not taxed and due at time of final payment. Cancel Policy explained in Agreement.
2 DAY RENTALS on selected dates: Pricing subject to change for 2 night stays - please contact owner for quote.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Moon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , next to full bath w/ combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Powder Room - toilet , for general use of household
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Pvt balcony overlooking The Bay w/ in-room full bath.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Veiws of River & Bay w/ full bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , with in-room half bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Gr floor w/ full views of River, Bay, Pool & adj full bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , small studio w/ private adj half bath
  • All bedrooms have satellite tv service and DVD players along with clock radios.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • DVR
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Yard
  • 10 bicycles
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
within an hour or so of many historical/entertainment sites to include: Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, Bush Gardens, Water Country USA.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers