Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Day Dream Retreat-DISCOUNTED SUMMER WEEK: Kayaks, Wifi, Great waterfront

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms and loft, 2 full baths, sleeps 6-8

Auh-mazing screened room on the dock. 2 - weber gas grills. 1 close to the house and 1 right by the dock.

BIG DISCOUNT: Aug 20-27th - further discount available if checking out Fri or Saturday. Contact me for details.

Protected knee deep (sand bottom) swim area for the smaller kids and deep water dock tucked back from the channel to play and float your cares away. Perfect for the whole family!

>>>>>Covered Boat Slip with electric and water at the dock

Brand New self-cleaning Hydropool Model 695 just installed -- come try all the seats and be truly pampered and relaxed!!

------->>>> Child & Adult Kayaks available for renter use <<<<---------

Beautifully landscaped, level lot to the waterfront with both deep water and walk-in access. Covered boat slip available for renter use!!! Plenty of space to park your trailer.

Located on the Public side, Day Dream Retreat has an amazing waterfront with hardscape level access, walk-in to water and a HUGE party dock. Firepit, fan in screened dock area, plenty of sunning room. Deep water for boats and a wonderful, safe swim area tucked back from the main channel but with easy access.

A-frame great room, fully equipped kitchen, huge master suite with Jetted Jacuzzi double size soaking tub and loft bedroom / playroom makes hanging out inside the house almost as fun as hanging out by the water.

Perfect for couples or the entire family, the retreat is located in a small community with the waterfront tucked back from the channel. Discover the wonderful water views combined with the privacy and serenity offered by the beautifully landscaped lawns and surrounding trees.

The inviting great room with its full lakeside windows and cathedral ceiling is a wonderful place to gather and unwind. Snuggle in for a romantic evening in front of the gas fireplace or some me-time in the large master suite with jetted jacuzzi tub and large sitting area with lawn and water views.

You'll be able to enjoy your evenings hanging out on the party dock, grilling, sitting by the firepit or doing something you get pleasure from, rather than pulling your boat in and out of the water. Get an early jump on the fish, too. Lake Anna's sport fishing includes largemouth bass and stripers. Perch and catfish are in plentiful supply as well. Boat rentals, marina services, and professional fishing guides are available nearby. Tell them we're on the public side.

There is plenty to do at Day Dream Retreat and in the areas surrounding Lake Anna, even when the weather is not cooperating. Play a game, watch DVDs or read. We have games, DVDs and books for all ages. Go golfing or wine tasting, tramp battlefields, see Montpelier or Monticello. The nearby State Park has hiking trails and a sandy beach.

Lake Anna, an easy 90 minute drive from DC and less than an hour from Richmond or Charlottesville is one of Virginia's best kept secrets. Its clean waters offer swimming, water skiing and world-class fishing. Nearby attractions include vineyards, golf courses, antique shopping, historic sites, hiking in the State Park and easy access to King's Dominion. Enjoy a romantic retreat or family renewal at Day Dream Retreat. Available all year around.

Day Dream Retreat Amenities:

• Over 100ft of waterfront in a protected safe swim area with party dock and covered boat slip

• Hardscape path to waterfront

• Large deck with awning and exceptional sunset and lake views

• Wi-Fi

• Central air / heat and ceiling fans

• Gas fireplace

• Firepit and 2 gas grills - by the house and at the party dock

• Huge 20x20 screened room on the dock with electrical and ceiling fan

• Covered boat slip for renter use

• Additional 20x20 dock in deep water

• Ample parking and even space for trailer parking

• KEYLESS entry - never worry about having enough keys or losing the only key

• Walk-in access to the water with sandy bottom

• Games, dvds, playhouse kitchen for little guests and reading material for all ages.

• 2 Satellite flat panel TVs with DVD player including TV in the master bedroom and a 3rd TV in the loft (with VCR/DVD player)• Selection of games, books and movies both DVD and VHS

• Master suite with jacuzzi soaking tub

• 2nd bedroom with a double bed (note - no bunk bed as shown in picture), loft with double bed futon

• Truly comfortable trundle bed in the great room sofa makes a double bed

• Fully-equipped kitchen all utensils, plates, glassware, pots and pans including coffee maker, crockpot, steamer pot, blender, etc.

• Easy access to local attractions including Lake Anna State Park with hiking trails and sand beach, multiple golf courses including Meadow Farms (home of the longest hole) and other Locust Grove golf

courses, King's Dominion Theme park, James Madison museum, Montpelier and historic sites.

More Details

Owner
Andrea
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 27, 2017

About Andrea

Owners of The Retreats at Lake Anna - Day Dream and Lake Cabin. Our goal is make it more than just 4 walls and a place to sleep. We want to make a space that you can make memories. We hope you truly enjoy it and find everything you need for a great Retreat.

Andrea purchased this house in 2012

Why Andrea chose Virginia

The waterfront and landscaping are wonderful. A swim and dock area for all ages / preferences. Hot tub, firepit and sunset views for year-round enjoyment.

What makes this house unique

Wood floors, pet friendly, level access to the waterfront, HUGE dock with fan in the covered area, big master suite, convenient aisle kitchen with a large pass thru to the diningroom, protected swim area with both walk-in and jump in access, HOT TUB and WI-FI!

Guestbook comments from the owner

A group of us spent a weekend at Day Dream Retreat for a Mom's Getaway and we had a wonderful time at this home. The house was clean and cozy and the waterfront dock area was a perfect place to enjoy the sunset. We hope to make this an annual tradition!
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Mineral House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 queen
    Loft Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Living Room: Double bed pop-up trundle sofa sleeper - very comfortable with no sofabed bar. Please note 3rd 'bedroom' is a loft.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Wood floors. Level hardscape path to waterfront. Walk-in water access. Awning on deck. Huge party dock with fan in covered area and sunning area.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
26% Complete
4% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Day Dream Retreat-DISCOUNTED SUMMER WEEK: Kayaks, Wifi, Great waterfront
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 67 reviews
Fairfax, VA
5

Beautiful setting and gardens, large dock with screened in section.

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable, with friendly, helpful and accommodating owners.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved our week at Lake Anna! Andrea was great to work with!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Day Dream Retreat. Our kids, 3 teens, and their friends, had fun swimming, fishing, and kayaking.The deck was certainly our favorite spot with both open deck and covered screened deck. We spent the majority of our time outdoors! We rented a boat during our stay and used the covered boat slip. The lake was beautiful and not very busy which allowed plenty opportunity for water sports with very little boat traffic. Everything was perfect! Thank you, Andrea, for being so helpful and quick to reply to any messages so quickly! We look forward to returning to Lake Anna!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I look forward to welcoming you back. Glad everyone enjoyed their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA
5

Great lake house!

  • 5 of 5

This house has an amazing lake side dock that kept us outside the entire time we stayed there. The screened in porch, comfortable deck furniture, and the outdoor speaker system was amazing. Even with the rain, we were still able to sit out and enjoy the water views and enjoy being outside at the lake. Other than to sleep, we barely left the dock.

I would definitely recommend this home to anyone who loves being on the water!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Owner

  • 5 of 5

Where to begin... Andrea, you are so sweet and helpful! I appreciated your wonderful communication so much and willingness to work with us in anyway you could! You went above and beyond. The hot tub was wonderful and clean. The Screened in porch- well WOW! What an awesome touch! Perfect location on the lake- we had ample room to swim and layout. House is a little dated- but will not keep me from coming back! Master bedroom was very large! When you have such an amazing dock by the lake you really don't need or care about anything else! :) Thank you again for your warm hospitality and allowing us to rent your beautiful location on Lake Anna. I can not WAIT to return. (I already looked to book again with my family and was so disappointed to see there was no availability) Highly recommend. You won't be disappointed. :)

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Blush. :) Thanks Christa. Please do think of us again sometime soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable retreat

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this place and wish we could be at the lake a bit longer-- especially as the two days we were there it rained a lot. The lush green of the trees and the gorgeous landscaping is really beautiful to take in (the pictures don't do justice).

The owner, who lives on the ground floor, wasn't around during our stay but was very responsive, so that was great!

There were a few things, however, that we were disappointed with:

- Hot tub didn't work (circulation flow error). We used the jacuzzi inside the house instead and that was nice... but the flaking wall paper in the bathroom is nothing like nature! Our stay was short so it wasn't like they could fix it for us to enjoy on the last day or anything.

- The stereo inside the house has blown speakers, so its practically useless (unless it was the cord connection issue with iPhone to speakers)

- The fireplace inside runs on gas, and apparently the gas was shut off and we couldn't run it (it would have been perfect for a cold, rainy day! We couldn't use the fire pit outside because of the weather)

Suggestions for improvement:

- Better lighting by the hot tub area. There are outside lights on the basement level by the hot tub, but no way to turn them on to be able to see the space.

- boathouse dock connecting to the property has a narrow path because there is a maple tree in the way. the smaller trunk could be cut off for a little more space-- it doesn't look healthy on the main tree trunk, anyway.

- Our family is centered around the kitchen table (for food and playing games). If renovating kitchen/dining room space, the kitchen and dining room could switch spaces for a better flow, lighting, and to allow the dining table to look out to the lake and the greenery.

Bottom line, this place is really pretty and nice (especially the outdoors!!) but it has room for improvement. You get what you pay for, really... considering the prices of other rentals in the area. If we had a boat, we would rent this cabin again mostly for its docks and outdoor space.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your suggestions. I like your idea if we do a remodel to swap the kitchen and the dining room. I was thinking it would be helpful to open the space up. The large window in the kitchen does have a nice view and other than when you're cooking or doing the dishes you don't get to soak it in. We keep an apartment in the basement but don't live there. We try very hard not to be at the house whenever there are renters, especially during the shorter rentals. I'm really upset to hear about the hot tub issue. We replaced a 4yr old tub just last September because it wasn't reliable. It was working fine when we were there the weekend before your stay. We specifically bought the Hydropool self-cleaning tub because we wanted to make sure it was available for the renters to enjoy. We do have motion sensor lights by the hot tub but occasionally renters turn them off and don't turn them back on. I think after mulching all weekend, we didn't budge off the couch in the evening and didn't notice they were out. I'm with you about how nice a fireplace is on a rainy afternoon and I'm sorry we weren't able to connect during your weekend. A previous renter must have turned off the gas to the fireplace, as I mentioned in my voicemail, the key is the bookcase. I could have walked you through the steps to getting the pilot lit. It's not something I can ask the cleaning person to check. They don't touch the fireplace. I'll add it to my list of things to check before we leave. It was 80 and it didn't cross my mind. This weather has been so strange. Thanks for the heads up about the stereo speakers. I would seriously hope that the music wasn't turned so loud as to blow the speakers but I'll be sure to check it the next time we're down (more mulching left to do). We are planning to remodel the bath to put in a larger shower. Unfortunately, we were hit with a number of unexpected expenses last year (including the hot tub - darn it) and had to postpone the work. I hope you'll be able to come back and enjoy it and the hot tub.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fitting name for the property

  • 5 of 5

Owners were a delight and excellent communication. Property is beautiful. Everything was in order. Yes em to Virginia often and won't stay anywhere else after first ding this gem !!! Stay here. You wont regret it. And half the price of a comparable stay !! Thanks again Andrea

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow. Blush. I love it -- we're a Gem. :) Glad you enjoyed your time at Day Dream. Hope you'll return again soon. Thanks, Andrea
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Reagan International
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
I-95

There's plenty to do in and around Day Dream Retreat. Lake Anna's 13,000 acres provide incredible opportunity for fishing

and water recreation. Bring your bass or jet boat and waverunners.

Located on the public side of the lake tucked back from the channel to provide safe swimming. You'll never have to worry about swimming by the party dock or spending loads of precious vacation time getting to an area suitable for skiing or tubing.

• Swim / lounge

• Boat

• Jet ski

• Water ski

• Fish

• Tubing

• Easy access to local attractions:

• Lake Anna State Park with hiking trails and sand beach

• Golf at Meadow Farms and Locust Grove golf courses

• Paramont's King's Dominion

• James Madison museum

• Monticello an Montipelier

• Historic sites / battlefields

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mineral House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 19 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,375
 
 
Season Ender Discount
Aug 20 2017 - Aug 26 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,975
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,175
 
 
September
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,575
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,450
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$350
$1,850
 
 
Holidays
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
$150
From
$330
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,875
 
 
Winter -1 Special
Jan 2 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
$175
$975
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,175
 
 
Winter 2
Jan 16 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$185
Fri,Sat
$1,050
 
 
President's Weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$165
From
$285
Fri,Sat
$1,175
 
 
Spring
Mar 23 2018 - Apr 26 2018
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$290
Fri,Sat
$1,475
 
 
May
Apr 27 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$325
Fri,Sat
$1,475
 
 
Memorial Weekend
May 25 2018 - May 29 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,975
 
 
Summer discount
May 30 2018 - Jun 9 2018
4 night minimum stay
$335
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,875
 
 
Summer discount
Jun 10 2018 - Jun 16 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,975
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 17 2018 - Jun 30 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,275
 
 
July 4th Week
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 7 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,775
 
 
High Season
Jul 8 2018 - Aug 11 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$1,075
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $115 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $0
Tax Rate 7.5%

Security / Damage deposit required to reserve. During the summer rentals are Sun-Sun.
Flexible check-in day other than Saturday during the rest of the year.
Martin Luther King, President Days, Columbus Day and Veterans Day have a 3nt minimum.
Pet Fee is $25 PER NIGHT (per 2 pets)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties