check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Amanda Donaldson

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Rewind, Relax and Retreat to Indian Lake!

14 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Manistique Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 1 full bath, sleeps 8 (with pull out sofa)

Looking for a get-away? Come to the Donaldson's Bar-D on Indian Lake in Manistique, MI for a great time. Manistique is a smaller town in the U.P., just 1.5 hours west of the Mackinaw Bridge.

The cabin is a great place for family and friends to vacation, with plenty to do and see. The lake is fairly sandy, (not mucky) so it makes wading in the shallow water inviting. There is also some fishing to be done for Walleye, Perch and Pike. Just be careful, there's a large rock pile on the north end! Other endless lake activities include: jet-skiing, waterskiing, tubing, kayaking, swimming, etc.

Lake Michigan is also just a few miles away if you feel like exploring the rest of Manistique.

*Ask us about our dock and where to launch your watercraft!

Besides aquatic activities, there's a huge front lawn to host outdoor activities like football and baseball and plenty of trails to take a walk or run.

Cabin Amenities

3 Bedrooms

-2 queen beds (Brand new mattresses!)

-1 w/bunk bed (Brand new mattresses)

-BRING OWN LINENS AND PILLOWS

3 Large couches

-1 w/pull out queen bed

-2 large enough to sleep on

Kitchen

-Basic cooking accoutrements

-Electric Stove / Oven

-Microwave

1 Full Bathroom

TV

-13' VHS playing TV

-Could hook up portable DVD player

-No cable

2 Tables

- plenty of room for card playing

Deck/Outside

-Gas Grill

-Some patio furniture

-6' Picnic Table

-Ardinak Chairs

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Amanda Donaldson (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Reviews

3.8
based on 14 traveler reviews

Rewind, Relax and Retreat to Indian Lake!
average rating of 3.7857144 based on 14 reviews
4

The cabin was absolutely adorable. Plenty of space for the 4 of us.

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Plenty of space for the 4 of us. The grass could have been mowed and the outside could use a good power washing. There were a few spiders that greeted us at the door, but didn't have an issue with any inside. Really enjoyed the front porch area. It had everything we needed there. We did have to buy a fan though because it was warm in there and only 1 worked. Enjoyed the sunrise over the lake and the fires at the fire pit in the evenings. The cabin was located about an hour from Munising. That worked out well. We did a puzzle that was in one of the bedrooms and really enjoyed that. Good family time!

Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing vacation!

Dawn Cochran

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great setting but not what I expected

  • 1 of 5

Positives: Beautiful location off the Lake. Convenient minimum stay requirements compared to other rentals nearby, and they accept pets. Owner was attentive and accommodating, including moving my stay by a day on short notice. House has a nice open layout with great views. Great natural attractions and visits nearby.

Negatives: In all fairness, I should have read some things through more thoroughly before booking this location, but since I have never had a poor VRBO experience, I made some general assumptions. First, to clarify a couple points made from other reviews, there are no bed bugs anywhere, but I agree that the queen beds are uncomfortable, no box springs. I later realized that a washer and dryer are not listed, which I should have assumed since it was required to bring your own linen and towels, but since that is pretty common in rentals I assumed it would be there, I think that point should be made more clear for this listing. So when I arrived, there were notes posted on the washer and dryer not to use, it would have been good to at least have a clothes line outside for towels to dry. Also, I was not able to use the dishwasher, but I would not have anyway since there was mold inside of it. I also noticed mold around an old leak in the ceiling of one of the bedrooms, there was an attempt to paint over it, which continued to fuel my disappointment. This combined with a damp smell throughout the house was very unsettling. While the house was relatively clean, this location lacks attentive care and attention to detail compared to what I'm used to with VRBO rentals; lots of cobwebs, some paint chipping away here and there, deck needs to be refinished, and some other little things all combined to largely fall far below my expectations.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice private get a way

  • 4 of 5

We had a full family week long stay. We enjoyed the location being only an hour drive to each destination we had planned.

The cottage was perfect for our needs. Plenty of sleeping arrangements and space for five of us.

Lots of yard space and we sat in our chairs and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

If I could give any tips to make it better- replace the cooking pots, pans , etc. The frying pans are non stick coating and are flaking off and some pots badly burnt/ stained.

Very nice vacation and rental owner easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Relaxing setting

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed their time at this wonderful cabin. It was quiet and relaxing. Interior was wonderful, lots of room to spread out and enjoy each others company. The kids enjoyed the big yard and woods area to play and explore. Everyone enjoyed the dock and playing in the water. The area around the dock in the water was perfect for young children. The appliances and furnishings were great and everything worked well. The washer and dryer were not working but there was plenty of places to dry wet towels and bathing suits outside. The location was great. Only about 10 - 20 minutes from local attractions and stores. About 1 hour from Pictured Rocks and a little over 2 to Whitefish Bay. Overall the family really enjoyed the time here and we would definitely book it again for another vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

Awesome cabin in the woods. Peaceful and quiet. Close to town and many restaurants, beaches, and attractions. Living areas spacious, bedrooms adequate (NO BEDBUGS) comfortable mattresses, bathroom had a new commode installed and the full shower/bathtub was a welcome surprise. Abundance of cooking & eating utensils, dishes, pots & pans. Great adult retreat from hectic lives, we unplugged and spent time outdoors with bonfires in the fire pit. Owners were great to work with I highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Canada
2

My View and Opinion Only

  • 2 of 5

Let me start by saying my vacation was good. When we arrived at the cottage it was left exactly as description stated. Unfortunately we started our vacation with my son being stung 6 times by bee's due to a football sized bee hive in the overhang above the side door that was not cared for. Once we established the side door and surrounding area were no longer an access point to the cottage, we just stayed away. The property of the cottage was absolutely beautiful. However the trees and bushes were overgrown taking away the view of a beautiful lake. The swimming was great and the water is very accessible for kids and all ages, sandy bottom. However the dock was not properly built and very unstable/unsafe. The dock size was approximately 2-1/2' by 10' long, there was nowhere to sit comfortably directly near the water to watch young kids. You can sit at the top of the hill at the top of the stairs and a short path to watch.

The Cottage???? This cottage simply served the purpose for the week. Day 1 we spent 3 hours washing splattered bugs from the walls, washing floors and in general cleaning so we could just feel somewhat comfortable. It appeared to just be poorly surface cleaned prior to our arrival. We moved the couch over 6 inches to give a little more room at the door way and it looked like a dog lived there for months is all I am saying. I also read about bed bugs in previous reviews. The owner replied the beds were bought within the last couple of years. NOT TRUE! maybe 1 bed was newer. The others were gross and stained and old. We did not get any medially diagnosed bed bug bites that we were aware of. In the 1 bedroom the door less closet were full of crap and junk. TV's are not functional either. The deal breaker for me is the washer and dryer (unhooked) and dishwasher was marked not working "BROKEN". i would rather have been told the truth. Propane and hydro can get expensive I get it. Fortunately there is a laundry mat less than 10 minutes away. Shower is good for 1 shower every 2 hours. If you spread your showers and keep short you will be okay there.

ENOUGH with the criticisms. The Lake, The Property, The surrounding Area is great. There is a ton of things to do from 5 minutes to within a 1 hour drive of the cottage.

I do ask you to take this view and opinion seriously if you are considering. I neglected to believe on a previous review and they were right on.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: -Our listing does not say we provide a washer/dryer or dishwasher because in the past guests have not used the equipment properly and have broken it. -We have since removed the antique TV that was there for looks -We have removed "junk" from closets and have the cottage better organized. -All new mattresses have been purchased from 2013-2015, except the pullout sofa, which can yes be uncomfortable -We have since installed a new water heater, septic system and toilet. -We have a hired cleaning lady that comes after every guest to clean the cottage. -Sorry about the beehive, had back to back guests, and were not aware it was there.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Nearest Airport
51 Miles
Delta County Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Big Spring Inn
Nearest Ferry
200 Miles
Ludington, MI
Nearest Train
300 Miles
Green Bay, WI
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
US 2
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Big Spring Inn
Nearest Ski
180 Miles
Marquette Mountain
Car: necessary

-The Big Spring, also known as Kitch-iti-Kippi, is a sight you won't want to miss, just 4 miles from cabin.

-Depending on which direction you're coming from, you could hop on the ferry at the Mackinaw Bridge to visit Mackinaw Island (2 hours from cabin).

-Pictured Rocks, Tahquamenon Falls, and Chappel Beach make great day trips (no more than 2 hours away).

-Fayette Historic Townsite in Garden, MI (less than an hour away).

-Kewadin Cascino (15 min).

-Thompson State Fish Hatchery (5 min.).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Manistique Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 6.0%

Nightly Rate:
- $125, discounts are sometimes given for longer stays.

Cancellation policy:
-If the cancellation is 30 or more days from the reservation date, the deposit will be returned, less a $50.00 handling fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Manistique Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Rustic
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Firewood
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers