check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Hockaday Cottage - Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs

41 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Eureka Springs Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 2

Historic Hockaday Cottage nestled behind the main house on Spring Street is right in the heart of the city cradled in a beautiful private garden and yet only steps to the action of the downtown area. The cottage is 2 story with a sitting area and bedroom upstairs which houses a four poster bed with down bedding. The full kitchen and bath are downstairs. Bath has a soaking tub and shower which sits under an antique stained glass window.

The cottage was originally a carriage house for horses and carriage storage for the original owner Homer McLaughlin and his family in the 1880's. Later he turned the top floor into a small local grocery where the gentlemen would sit beside the wood stove and play cards. When we restored the cottage we found old newspapers and playing cards in the walls as well as tobacco stains on the floors around the original wood burning stove. I can just imagine the stories that were made up in that room......

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Joe Joy
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2016
Call Owner


based on 41 traveler reviews

Hockaday Cottage - Charming cottage hidden in a secret garden in Eureka Springs
average rating of 4.5609756 based on 41 reviews


  • 5 of 5

The cottage was very cute and cozy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Eureka Springs and at the cottage. Thank you.

Jill Doerr

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unique, quaint cottage

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is one of a kind!! It was in a quiet area yet only a short walk to the local food & shopping which are both amazing. The yard around the cottage was beautiful & the cottage itself was clean & had everything we needed! Very nice place, a great romantic place to lay our heads!!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kansas City, MO


  • 5 of 5

The cottage was adorable! It was a very quiet and peaceful stay. A wonderful way to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy little cottage

  • 4 of 5

We loved spending our first anniversary here! Looks exactly like the pictures. Quirky, woodsy, quaint and cozy just like the rest of Eureka Springs without the cheesy b&b vibe. The cottage was a nice walk from all of the fun shops and restaurants which eliminated us searching too hard for parking. Full kitchen, full bathroom, cable, cozy bed (full size), and the option to sit in the lush garden. Thanks a lot for having us! Definitely would recommend Hockaday Cottage.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice spacious Cottage

  • 4 of 5

Me and my fiance were celebrating our one year anniversary. The cottage was located conveniently close to all the surroundings in Eureka Springs. made it easy for us to get to downtown. You could have walked if you wanted to. We were very pleased with our stay the only thing that we would suggest is better directions next time and getting to the cottage.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Extremely Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

I found this cottage on the website and was so impressed with the pictures and reviews. However, we were extremely disappointed. 1) The stone stairway to get to the front entrance was uneven and the stones were deteriorating making it a hazard for anyone who might have problems climbing steps. 2) we were to have the room at 3:00 and it wasn't ready at 2:55. The door to the bedroom/sitting area was unlocked so we went in. 3)The bed was unmade, the clean bedding was on the bed and the pillows were all throw on a chair. 4) The rug needed cleaned and the floor needed to be moped. 5) There is no place to hang clothing in the bedroom. 6) The stairs going down to the kitchen/bath is very narrow and steep. 7) The bathtub was small and hadn't been

cleaned. 8) The worse part is the rooms had mold in them. My husband is allergic to mold and after being in the rooms for less than 5 minutes, he was starting to have a reaction to the mold. 9) The path to the cottage in the back is narrow and only one car can drive on it at a time. 10) The outside is nothing like the website picture. The paint is worn and it looks like an old abandoned building. Needless to say, after driving 4 hours to stay here, we were disappointed. I did call the owners and left a message letting them know that we would not be staying.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: While I'm disappointed at this response, let me clarify. The cleaning team was late in getting to the cottage of which I apologized and offered to have it ready in 30 minutes. I also refunded the clients money which according to our guidelines we don't do within 14 days of stay. The cottage is historic and therefore has no closet, but does have drawers in the armoire. The outside and inside stairs are again historic, but safe. There is no peeling of the concrete outside because it is stone and has lasted 140 years. Staying in a historic property might give you different options than a Days Inn, but it is the experience of the whole that makes it worth it. Again, I apologize.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
downtown, 2 blocks
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 62
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
downtown, 2 blocks
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Eureka Springs Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $20
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 14.37%

A 14-day cancellation policy is in effect
1. If cancellation is made less than 14 days before your reservation date you will forfeit the full payment for all days unless your room(s) can be re-rented for the entire reservation and
2 if cancellation is made 14 days before your reservation date you will be refunded in full less a $25 processing fee

By clicking on the pay button you agree to terms

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Eureka Springs Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Catering available
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full tub with shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed (1) with down bedding
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
European continental breakfast provided in the room

Partner Offers