check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Floating Lakehouse on Lake Fontana-2 bedrooms + 2 queen size beds In Loft

20 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Robbinsville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8)

Lake Fontana is located in the far reaches of Western North Carolina in the majestic beautiful Great Smoky Mountains of the southern Appalachians.

This region is home to some of the highest and most remote mountains east of the Mississippi with elevations ranging from 1177 to 5560 feet. Fontana is nestled among hundreds of thousand of acres of wilderness full of stunning mountain landscapes and many memorable breathtaking views.

Our floating lakehouse has a breathtaking view of the lake and mountains. The sunset is AWESOME!

The house has 16 ft cathedral ceilings that are black walnut tongue and groove paneling. The loft is done in wormy red oak paneling. The bedrooms are done in all cypress tounge and grove paneling. The fully equipped kitchen is all hickory cabinets. A beautiful home for the perfect vacation. Keep in mind this is a Solar Powered House. Conserve energy. Generator available for AC use. We do ask that you replace fuel used. Prefect for those that want to be Off The Grid!

We offer shuttle service to and from Oros Landing to the floating lakehouse. Upon arrival a pontoon boat is available. With less than a five night stay the pontoon is an additional 125 a day which is collected upon arrival. We ask that you replace fuel used. You are welcome to bring your own boat if so desired.

Fishing guide is available upon request at an additional cost.

Lake Fontana is a wonderful place for the adventurer, sportsman, outdoors man or just to get away and relax. Experience of a lifetime!!! Gather up all your fishing buddies or family and get ready for lots of fun.

Two kayaks are available for the family to enjoy. Great hiking trails and much more.

Keywords: Floating Lakehouse, Lakehouse, Lake, Mountains, Fishing

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed

Marcella Reeves
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2016
Call Owner

Why Marcella Reeves chose Lake Santeetlah

We love the beautiful views of the mountains and pristine waters. One of the most peaceful places I know. We both love nature and being outdoors. Fishing is always a bonus. Sightings of Bald Eagles and nature at it's finest!!


based on 20 traveler reviews

Floating Lakehouse on Lake Fontana-2 bedrooms + 2 queen size beds In Loft
average rating of 4.6 based on 20 reviews
Waxhaw, NC

Boater's Paradise

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent a week in June at this truly unique vacation house on one of the most beautiful lakes I have ever seen. We brought a boat last year and were looking for a place to take it on vacation where we wouldn't have to haul it or our gear around all the time. There was nothing more convenient than docking it 15 feet from the sliding door of this house!

The house is very well built using quality materials. As an engineer I truly appreciated all the work that was put into building a house that floats on the water. Make no mistake, this is a floating "house" not a cabin just to bunk in. The queen sized beds were comfortable and we found that there was everything we needed for the week.

The location and views from the house are unbelievable! I honestly think that they have the best location on the entire lake. The pictures of the view do not do it justice and what it doesn't capture is just how quiet the area is. The house is in a creek just off of the main channel where the lake opens up to miles of undeveloped lake. On the weekend, there were maybe 2 or 3 other boaters out and during the week there was only 1 other family in the creek, so we felt like we had the area to ourselves. The lake itself is clean, deep, deserted and usually pretty flat (think of a mirror). Even though it is up in the mountains, the water was warm and perfect for water sports. If you are new to boating or renting their boat, this is an easy lake to navigate.

We went out fishing with Bobby a couple of times and had some good luck! He was an excellent guide and handled my young boys (6 and 8) wonderfully. What is truly an amazing accomplishment was he got my wife into position to catch her first "solo" fish while they were jumping.

Steve and Marcella were excellent hosts. They have set up this house with everything you need and were a pleasure to work with. Steve made it a point to offer up anything in the house and made us feel at home. You can tell he's proud of the house and rightfully so.

This was a great family vacation for us and when the week was over nobody wanted to go home. We could have easily stayed another week and normally my wife won't say that. Our kids loved the house and playing in the water at every opportunity. While they had DirecTV in the house our kids spent more time away from all that. I would highly recommend this rental. I'm sure we'll be back, probably next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
Fredericksburg, Texas, USA

very nice houseboat, beautiful location, uncomfortable and frustrating experience

  • 2 of 5

Beautiful houseboat in a lovely part of Fontana Lake. Views of the Smokies are exhilarating, lake waters perfect for swimming, fishing great. We caught a huge trout while standing in doorway of the house! It was wonderful to walk out the door and jump into the Lake. Owners' reps, Tanya and Jody, with Tanya's dad, the legendary Bobby, were extremely helpful, truly great people. They greeted us and explained the intricacies of the solar/generator power and other quirks of houseboat living. When we left, Bobby even gave me a terrific hug!

HOWEVER, when we arrived, the refrigerator was broken. We were greeted with a huge ice chest instead. All week long, we had to replenish ice, drain ice water, toss food that was ruined in the ice water bath in coolers we used. The owners, Steve and Marcella, were remarkably unconcerned with this major inconvenience in a listing that noted "fully equipped kitchen" and "refrigerator." They said they did not know about it, but I believe they did since their representatives were fully aware of it and greeted us with an ice chest. Marcella exhibited what to us was an almost hostile attitude about our complaints. We followed all suggestions to fix the problem, to no avail. Neither owner even showed up until halfway through our stay. Steve then appeared, with another ice chest and more ice, at least. He schmoozed us, explained no one could fix the fridge until the following week, offered us a well-deserved rebate on our rental fee. He also offered to take my son fishing, which my son enjoyed a lot in his and Bobby's family's company. This nice gesture appeased us, and we we went through the rest of the week managing on limited facilities. My family is pretty easy going by nature, we made the best of a bad situation. We left the property in good condition, received our full deposit back.

Now, owners refuse to give us promised rebate, despite their violation of terms of listing agreement. Claims we were compensated already by Steve's fishing trips (at NO time did he mention a charge, he instead extended an invitation to appease us). Also claim we owe $75 for fuel used. Well, these owners cannot charge for fuel used by the generator since it is listed as a power source in the listing, no mention of fuel charges. We know we were responsible for boat fuel, it may have been down about 8 gallons when we left but we feel ice purchases, spoiled food costs exceed this $24.

Get an up-front guarantee that all systems are functional.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I care about each and every renter and this time was no different. My #1 priority is that each family create wonderful and lasting memories. I can't control when an appliance stops functioning properly no more than I can control the weather. To say we knew the refrigerator wasn't working is a Fabrication of the Truth. We have given each renter a complimentary cooler full of ice (124 quart=100 lbs) as an extension of our Hospitality for the last six years. Our recent reviews before and after this renter reflect that they had no issues or complaints with the appliances functionality. I've never been accused of being hostile but as we all know opinions are not based on facts or knowledge. It's true we could not schedule a technician till the following week. We were advised the steps to take from the technician to resolve the issue. Our representative was not allowed access to attempt resolving the issue. Renter stated the steps we were advised to take would not fix the issue as they thought it was an electrical problem. The owner was requested. Steve rescheduled his work soon as possible to make the trip. Upon arriving the renter stated that it was not necessary to attempt fixing the problem and they could manage. Once again we tried to resolve this issue. We supplied ice for the entire stay which we didn't mind at all. Renters were compensated with fuel and two free fishing guide trips. We tried to make everyone happy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing property!!! Beautiful in every sense, secluded, peaceful and a true escape from the rest of the world!!! Will hopefully make this an annual get away and have already told all our friends!!! Awesome!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Just what we needed

  • 5 of 5

The last year has been incredibly busy for my wife and I, and as the summer was quickly passing we needed some slow down time. Once school started back this fall for our teenagers, we knew that time would only go faster. The floating house was just what we needed. We had five teenagers, and the two adults, but there was plenty of room. This house is amazing, had everything we need. Yes you have to plan ahead since there's no store right down the street, but even with this, when we needed bread Steve was gracious enough to get some for us. The owners are wonderful hosts, and made sure all our questions were answered. During our stay there was nothing that the house didn't provide. Most importantly the house provided an opportunity to breathe in nature, get back to God. I am so grateful that we found this rental, and it's owners, and their incredible friend, Bobbie. Anyone that stays at this house should not miss the chance to meet and talk with Bobbie. He will remind you how people used to be, and still should be. I know my son, and his two friends, became better young men by spending time with him. If you need to get away from technology, see beautiful mountain ranges, play in a stunning lake, meet great people, and enjoy a fabulous house, then this is the place.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you were able to set back and relax. Starting up a new business takes a lot of work. I'm sure you will do well. I enjoyed meeting each of you. Bobby is the best and I'm so happy you got to spend some time with him. Hope to see you again. Tell the children that I hope they have a wonderful year in school. Thank you Marcella
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Neither do I

  • 5 of 5

We go on vacation every year and every year we try to do something different. We are not the "get a condo on the beach for a week family". When I saw this house I was like "OH YEAH!!" It was everything plus some. The first second the boys (17, 13, & 12) stepped on until the minute they stepped off it was pure action! Skin diving down to the fish bed, running trot lines, diving competitions, wake boarding, water skiing, knee boarding and tubing wars (one of the tubes didn't make it home, RIP), rafting the Ocoee, running trails, searching for cemeteries, rope swings and jumping from cliffs...Seriously.... We spent more time on the water than in the house. We stayed for 5 days which allowed us to use the pontoon for free, which was very helpful, but we also brought a jet ski. We had no problem with the accommodations being limited (generator and solar powered). The refrigerator is tricky and I suggest keeping milk in the ice cooler....which they supplied! along with extra ethanol free gas. We drove to Bryson City one day to walk around and grab some pizza. Asked the boys what they wanted to do and they all wanted to go back to the house! Marcella and Steve were both wonderful and inviting. Made us feel at home and treated us like one of their own.

First thing our youngest said when he stepped out of the truck back at home, "I wish we weren't home".

...Neither do I....

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! It was a pleasure meeting you and your family! Your welcome back anytime. We loved having you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

You won't regret.

  • 4 of 5

More rugged than a resort, but more adventure. The cabin is very nice and the lake is beautiful. There is but one other floating home in the cove and they were away so we had the place to ourselves. Swimming, fishing, cookouts all on the lake. The solar power means you have to conserve but the kids spent so much time kayaking and swimming that it wasn't hard. Stay the five nights to get use of the pontoon boat. One day we went to Nantahala center and rafted/zipped line, another we went to the Smoky National Park-both nearby. We let Captain Bobby take us fishing one night at the dam. A great time and the owners and their on-location man Bobby attended to any issue we had. I highly recommend, but you will want to make sure your group are swimmers.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Train
25 Miles
Bryson City Train Ride
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Highway 74

Fishing guide may be reserved upon request. Cast and blast trips available starting 2011 Turkey Season. Call for information on cast and blast reservations.


Rates & Availability

Robbinsville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rates are $425.00 each night. Additional$ 125.00 each day for 28ft pontoon boat for 4 nights or less. Five night stay or more pontoon boat is included.
****28ft Pontoon boat available for $125.00 per day, if you stay 5 days or Pontoon Boat is Included

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Robbinsville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds Two bedrooms downstairs with queen size beds. Loft contains two queen size beds.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Fishing guide may be reserved upon request

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties