check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Doug and Linda Gallagher

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Charming waterfront cottage with pristine views of Bear Mountain/ Lake

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Waterford Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 6

Unique waterfront getaway in the pristine mountains of Maine. By day, enjoy all water activities right outside your front door while in the evening ,be enchanted by the call of the loon. A three Bedroom Cottage with cozy window seats over looking the Lake views of Winter, Summer, Fall , Late Spring seasons Beautiful Sunsets and Evening Moon views from the dock. The living room has a cozy stone fireplace Great place to play board games with family and friends Cozy Kitchen to cookin The Cottage is Near Quaint Small Towns in the Lake and Mountain Region of Maiine where you can expore the wild life in the Mountains hiking, canoeing , kyaking, apple picking (hay rides and home made donuts made fresh and warm) , swimmig,snow mobiling, skiing (Shawnee Peak, Sunday River, Mt Abram) sledding, skating, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, Book Reading - Cozy Book store in Bridgeton, Great Restaurants, local shops, Outdoor Deertree Theater in Harrson, Storyland in North Conway NH and Santas Village in Jackman NH Fun drive through Bethel Maine through Great Mountain viewig Roads, blueberry picking and strawberry picking, Buffalo Farm in Waterford ad Yummy Bakery's in Waterford Maine, Oxford Speedway, Maines Wild Animal Park in Gray Maine, Fishing (ice fishing too), Drive-In Theaters in Bridgeton Maine, Biking, a rope swing you may fin along the Lake not far from the Bear Haven Cottage while walking or hiking in the area. Bear Haven Cottage is easy to find and Located on a Main Rt that you will find on a Mountain side and on a Lake and very peaceful and quiet most of the time until Evening time (Dinner time) it becomes a popular route for Deertree and Restaurant Goers comig from Bethel, Level,and Waterford areas enjoying the views and the cool evening air, We have a very popular hiking trail directly across the road from the Cottage - is Bear Mountain - guest love the views and the hike is best for children 6yrs and up - great execise We hope you will enjoy the Cottage and surrounding areas, as much as we do...

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Doug and Linda Gallagher (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Doug and Linda Gallagher

Always loved the experience to go by the lakeside to visit relatives and the adults would gather to play card games with children or swim while the children would kayak -swim - and play games. It was fun having a place to be with your family that we would only see once or twice a year. We enjoyed hiking ,sledding, skating, and skiing together. Great way to enjoy outdoor activity and share meals and favorite recipes together.

Why Doug and Linda Gallagher chose Western Maine

Great location - offers natural setting in the great outdoors and near two Cities -N.Conway - Portland 30 and 40 min away .The Cottage is cozy to hangout in ( rest) and get away from it all. It offers a warm cozy fireplace to sit by and read or watch a movie. Beautiful views all year round -very colorful in the fall-beautiful winter postcard views after a fresh snowfall-the sunsets in the summer and full moons at night are spectacular. The sounds of the loons on the lake are a great way to relax on the dock after a long day.

What makes this cottage unique

We enjoy the views -being able to hike right outside the Cottage and travel only a couple of miles to enjoy quaint towns with outdoor theater -apple picking - blueberry picking-strawberry picking-the sounds of nature all around you - very private- swimming in clean fresh water-enjoying kayaking-fishing-hiking-biking-ice fishing-sledding-skiing 15 min away (Shawnee 25min Bethel Sunday River)-shopping in quaint local stores-restaurants-ice fishing -skating-cross country skiing-snow shoeing-sledding-snowmobiling(ITS right from Lakeside)

Guestbook comments from the owner

tiful Cabin. Everything was perfect from the row boat to the firepace!! We so loved the hike though Bear Mountain and downtown chili cook off. So precious! We left you some extra movies that we bought along the way..so Please add them to your collection. We look forward to coming back sometime.

5 stars
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)
Charming waterfront cottage with pristine views of Bear Mountain/ Lake
average rating of 3.9 based on 11 reviews
5

Lovely cabin, cozy, well supplied, clean.

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay at the cabin on the beautiful lake. The cabin itself is cozy, clean, well-supplied. The lake is beautiful -- we kayaked, swam, and the dogs frolicked in the water. The area is quiet, yet there are things to do. Great vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great Stay for July 4th weekend!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time staying at this cottage for the July 4th weekend! The lake is quiet with infrequently boat traffic. The outside deck space was perfect and provided a great view of the lake. Access to the water was fine for adults but could be challenging with children. The cottage came equiped with EVERYTHING that we needed to cook for the weekend. The owners Linda and Doug were wonderful and very accommodating! VERY ACCOMMODATING! The space was a bit awkward for 3 couples as there were 2 master bedrooms each with a queen sized bed and a third bedroom with bunk beds but we made the most if it and It ended up being kind of fun sleeping back in bunk beds! The busy road was a bit worrisome with the dogs, but we did hike up the trail that was directly across from the house which took about 45 minutes each way and the dogs had a blast! We even picked wild blueberries at the top! It's a great little cottage for a weekend getaway!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Horrible

  • 1 of 5

I have never written a bad review. But this one was so horrible, that I have to write. I will be very precise: dirty, dusty, mouse poop everywhere in the kitchen, in the pots and pans. Everything was so dirty that I did not know where to sit. It is good they have asked ask to bring our linen. I was there for a long weekend, from our busy workings schedules we wanted to go away, with two small kids. There was a deck, but the couches had not been cleaned for ages, small kids could not go the to lake... they would just fall, even the bigger ones. We have paid for 4 nights, but left earlier, I could not stand the dirt. Plus with two small kids, how can I cook in the kitchen, that mice are running. I called the owner, she said she might come - did not, that her house cleaning lady will come - did not. Total ignorance , just saying sorry. From now on I read all the reviews than arrange a trip. But this one, was my first and I hope the last worst trip.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to our Aug 2014 guest, who did inform us she and her Family would place a bad review if we did not refund her for her stay. We have many nice reviews and had many request for longer stays and an extra week stay from August 2015 guests too!! We were very surprised and taken a back and saddened that we had some how displeased our guest. We value our guest and consider their experience before they enter the Cottage for a great rustic experience. Our Cottage is in a beautiful location in Maine. We look forward to sharing Our Cottage by renting to guest who will enjoy their stay as we always do. It is our greatest sadness that our renter found our property unsuited for her very active toddlers ( playful boys) . As mother I understand how important it is to let go and let children play freely. And to be able to relax. Near the waters edge and on the side of Bear Mt, can make for a beautiful wilderness walk for an adult. We do explain our property and answer all questions asked and we remind our inquirers with small children and aging parents about the outside terrain for safety and comfort levels of our guest. For the respect of our guests expectations for a clean Cottage for your comfortable stay at Bear Haven Cottage. We have a great communication and strong understanding of what is expected for a clean place for our guest to have during their getaway. We personally check the Cottage randomly and check in after every guest. Not just our cleaning staff. We ask our guest so we know if we need improvement or missing important items. We are Pleased that our cleaning staff took the guest complaints about the Cottage very seriously and knew personally that they thoroughly inspected the Cottage before and after cleaning. They went over by early afternoon to check guest concerns and she would not let them in..... Next time I'll take her up on the references she mentioned she has...not that I had even asked. My first Red Flag. For our inquiring guest we hope to hear from you and we look forward to answering all your questions and concerns you may have...
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Weymouth MA
5

What a great week!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Linda and Doug for letting us stay in your beautiful house. Our family and friends (and our dog) had such a great time spending our week at your house. We loved being out on the water on the kayak, surf board with a seat, and the canoe. It was perfect that the hiking trail was right outside the door and when you got to the top the view was great.

Quick ride to towns for shopping, dining, bars, ECT. was a plus and it was great you could return to the quiet hideaway.

The only cons: busy street out front, didn't bother us but I could see it being an issue for a some renters. Early morning bugs on the water that seemed to go away as the sun came out.

Thank you again!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Annapolis, MD
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Great cottage! Good location! Wonderful views! The listing is accurate, with the exception of linens and towels provided - they are NOT. This was a bit of a negative for us as we were traveling a long way in a very small car. Having a bed already made would've been a treat. However, Linda and Doug warned us in advance and we were prepared with linens. The property was reasonably clean and well-maintained. It is not a luxury condo - it is a cottage- which is exactly what we wanted. The negative review is unfair. Yes, there is traffic on the road - but you are right on the water and the sound of the cars is drowned out by loons and trees swaying in the breeze! And all of the many windows face the pond, not the road. The 3 tiered deck is wonderful. Yes, a bit tricky on the last tier, but we are in our 60's and managed just fine. The location is very nice with small towns within easy driving distance with fine restaurants. The hike up Bear Mountain is challenging, but doable and worth the reward of a beautiful view from the top! Bear Pond is more of a lake than a pond and is lovely to kayak, canoe, and swim in daily. It is very clean and refreshing. The bathroom is nice, excellent shower, no problems with hot water at all. The master bedroom is delightful, with gorgeous views of Bear Pond from everywhere in the room, including the bed. The other bedrooms looked good also, but it was just the 2 of us, so they did not get used. The kitchen is equipped with everything we needed to make our breakfasts and lunches. We chose to go out for dinners. Listening to the loons in the evening and early morning was one of the highlights for us. If you are looking for a nice cozy, somewhat eclectic and rustic waterfront cottage with beautiful views and excellent water access, this is a perfect choice. We were very happy that we DID NOT listen to the one BAD review. We would DEFINITELY return here and recommend this listing to our friends and family.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
United States
5

Cottage on a beautiful lake

  • 5 of 5

Location is priceless. We kayaked and swam from morning until evening. There is even a public swing rope 2 mins walking distance from the cottage, where we jumped into the lake. The kids did not want to go anywhere, but stay on the lake. The house is comfortable and very clean. Great time was had by all. We appreciated all the movies stored throughout the house. It was really fun showing kids movies that we enjoyed before. The only downer is cell phone service. Found a good spot by the kitchen table in the corner window. Could also be a good thing for the family to stay off electronics.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Map

Nearest Airport
41 Miles
Portland International Jetway
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Highland Lakes
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Shawnee Peak
Car: necessary

Lakes Region, Maine with several large bodies, including wonderful lakes and rivers. Terrific site seeing opportunities by biplane, bike, and on foot. Mountaineering is especially accessible. On the lake are all the water activities you can expect including boating, swimming, skiing, tubing, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waterford Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
$975
$2,925
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning service is included in the rates for your stay... first nights firewood is included in your stay...no more than six people per a stay to keep the septic system friendly and Happy being a Lakeside three bedroom Cottage to enjoy all year round. Great sledding and cross country skiing and down Hill skiing nearby and snow mobiling ITS Trail can be connected to right from Lakeside Trails...

Bank check and credit card check Separate security deposit check for stay. Please.

Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Waterford Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , overlooks lake
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , overlooks lake
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , bunk bed and from futon a view of lake
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Great night skiing at Shawnee Peak and about 26 miles to Sunday River...sledding cross country skiing ITS snow mobile trail from Lakeside...bluebery apple and strawberry picking nearby....bowling drive in Theater indoor theater outdoor Deertree Theater...sports centers about 30 min from Cottage...Porland Maine about 40 min from Bear Haven Cottage..North Conway is about 30 min from Cottage...Great hiking and fall colors to explore...beautiful springs and Mountains to view...storyland ( 40 min ) Santas Village (an hour) Bethel (20 min) from Cottage...Great Restaurants

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties