Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Waterfront Retreat, Spacious Family Homestead

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Bedrooms 5, Bathrooms 2, Sleeps 10

"Spectacular comfort and relaxation awaits you at this magnificent century home. There's room for the whole family and then some. Five bedrooms and three bathrooms gives the family plenty of room to stretch after a day of touring and shopping. This home is located along one of the prettiest streets the region has to offer. Harbor front strolls in the evening are sure be the perfect ending to perfect days spent enjoying the nearby sites of Niagara.Please note there is a cleaning fee, taxes and a management fee in addition to nightly rates.Call us about our discounted rates for long term travel :)"

To prevent additional cleaning fees, all properties must be left in the same condition as you arrive to. Please ensure dishes are washed, towels are put in the laundry and garbage is collected and bagged for removal.

More Details

Property Manager
Niagara Smart Stays | Niagara Falls Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english, All languages via email
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
December 12, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

What a lovely town Port Colborne is!! We have a great time in your home. Beautiful house and location!! Thank you!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Port Colborne House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • - 1 king
    - 1 queen
    - 1 double
    - 1 twin/ single
    - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

16% Complete
50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Retreat, Spacious Family Homestead
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 8 reviews
4

Great place for multiple families

  • 4 of 5

We were a group of three families plus a coach in town for the Canadian Sprint Championships. The house offered all the amenities we needed and there was more than enough room for everyone. The house was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The wifi was not the strongest but we managed to connect enough that to review race draws and results. The only thing the kitchen could have used was a better strainer for pasta. We would definitely book this space again if back in the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The house was nice and had nice amentities

  • 3 of 5

Nicely equipped house. The bedrooms were very small and not much privacy. The pictures were a little deceiving. The house was very clean and had a nice living room and nice outside area. The neighbors are very close so there is no privacy outside. The basement was very strange, and chopped up. I wouldn't count that as a living space. The basement bathroom is way back in a mechanical room, very strange. Our kids did not want to sleep down there. The air conditioning was hard to operate, very complicated thermostat and it did not cool very well at all. The neighborhood was fairly quiet. The house was ok, but I don't think I would go back.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very nice house but details overlooked

  • 3 of 5

Overall, this was a very nice house, with a lot of charm and lots of space for our family. We wanted to bring everyone together and this house did the trick. The rooms very spacious and well appointed, the house was nicely decorated. The location of Port Colborne is about 40 minutes from all the action in Niagara but it was a cute town and the house is located on a nice street with a great park including a nice playground and splash pad for the kids. The grocery store, Friday farmers market and port colborne shops are all walkable from the property.

However, the service was very impersonal. I understand that this company owns many properties but the instructions we received were generic instructions for all of their properties, most of the instructions not applying to the house we stayed at. I contacted them by phone (no answer), text (no response) and e-mail (no response) to ask in advance for the parking instructions and how many cars we could have at that particular property, and was given no information. As a result we brought one less car and arrived to see that we could have fit the extra car. In addition, the parking was behind the property - this information was not given in the instructions as the instructions were generic for all of their properties.

For a company that does not offer specific information or responses to their questions, they certainly charge a lot of fees and don't offer much flexibility. The check in is 4:30 (standard for airbnb is 3, like at hotels), and check out is 10 am, and they charge for late check out. They also had signs on the wires of the TV saying that there would be a charge for any wires that were switched on the tv systems. The payment system is also quite old fashioned. They only offer cheque or paypal, no credit card. With competitors like airbnb whom offer other payment options and more flexible check in, more personalized service, etc, it will soon be hard to compete.

Finally, the home looked clean at first glance, however, the floors were very dirty (feet were black within minutes of arriving and removing our shoes) and one of the bedspreads was stained. Overall, a very nice house but the company needs to improve on their responsiveness and attention to detail.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Linda Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Niagara Smart Stays is committed to meeting and exceeding guests expectations. Niagara Smart Stays takes Visa and Mastercard to process rates and security deposits. We have since refined the information that guests receive upon check in with more details, thank you for pointing this out. We hope to have you return as a guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Couldn't ask for anything more...

  • 4 of 5

Booking was quick and simple. This property was amazing in more ways then one. Large enough rooms to accommodate all of us, living room had a decent size flat screen tv with plenty of seating around. Kitchen was spacious to have multiple people helping without having the need to bump each other. Nice large upstairs bathroom with an attached laundry section. Big backyard deck with a *tank-less gas BBQ!!*. Adequate parking both behind and in front of the property. There's food basic,restaurants, LCBO just around the corner (5min drive) and a beach with a small water playground for the kids is a close walking distances also. We had an amazing time, and would definitely recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wallace Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. At Niagara Smart Stays we strive to exceed guests expectations and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our property! We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent location for a girls getaway weekend

  • 5 of 5

The property is absolutely wonderful and SO CLEAN!!!! Perfect

Place for annual girls get away. The property had everything we needed and it was nice to have linens and towels provided. Definitely a place for a repeat visit. The people at home away are very friendly and quick to respond. Also close location for a quick trip over the border.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2014
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Raywyn, Thank you for the positive comments! At Niagara Smart Stays we strive to exceed guests expectations and we look forward to hosting your yearly girls getaway! Please feel free to call and book any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Waterfront Retreat in Port Colborne

  • 4 of 5

Very spacious accommodation for our family of 5. We had more than enough room for all of us. The nice, spacious kitchen made it very comfortable for us to cook our own meals without having to spend a minor fortune on restaurant meals during our stay in Port Colborne. The town itself was a quiet and convenient location for exploring the sights in the Niagara region.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to hear from you and sounds like you had a fantastic time in Niagara! This is a really beautiful, spacious home and we are so glad you enjoyed it!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Outstanding natural walking, cycling, bird watching, running paths. Ask about our local wildlife sanctuaries. Outdoor events, attractions, festivals are year round. Award winning wineries and fantastic outlet shopping. There's plenty to see and do and leave you wanting to come back for more.

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • 174-699

You might like these similar properties