Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sugarloaf lodge retreat

Bedrooms 5
Space 6,800 sq. ft.
Property type lodge


About the property

5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17

Beautiful lodge style log home perfect for a family and freinds getaway. 3 master bedrooms, and one queen guest room, 1 bunk room that sleeps up to 7 people, one fold out queen sofa in the loft, 7 stone fireplaces, gourmet kitchen, bar, game room, sauna, hot tub. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the mountains of Maine. Shuttle bus service from the driveway to any location on the mountain during winter months 24 hours a day.

John Irwin
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 5, 2017


Carrabassett Valley Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
  • Catering available
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 6800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
  • River
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • Four
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Three master bedroom suites, one queen guest room, bunk room that sleeps up to 7 and one loft fold-out couch.
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting
During the winter months there is a shuttle bus that comes by the house hourly from 8:00 am until 10:00 am and then is on call until midnight. They will pick you up and take you anywhere you want to go on mountain property (including restaurants, etc.). It is a very convenient way to get around the mountain without ever using your car.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sugarloaf lodge retreat
average rating of 4.75 based on 12 reviews

Spacious, and cozy

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was amazing! The location was perfect..a 10 min drive from the mountain resort, 5 min away from grocery and the house had everything we possibly might had needed! The kitchen was beautiful and there was enough room for my family for 16! No complaints..I would definitely return here was a nice getaway

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Newbury

Absolutely Perfect Ski Weekend for Large Group

  • 5 of 5

Annually a group of friends get together for a ski weekend, in years past we have visited other locations and stayed in similar properties. Without taking anything away from the other locations, this year was by far the best. The house was absolutely perfect for a large group, the kitchen was sufficiently large and perfectly equipped to cater the group. We took turns to prepare meals, much easier than trying to coordinate reservations for large group in the valley. The lower level bunk room added great sleeping arrangement, something often lacking in large lodge floor plans.

The hot tub and sauna were perfectly clean, the indoor ski equipment storage area is really great. There is so much about this house that you will love. Make sure you bring plenty of guests, the house is the perfect retreat for a large group.

We used the Shuttle Bus system and highly recommend the service, I wish other ski areas offered such a service. The skiing was excellent, first time at Sugarloaf for many in this group.

The images posted online do not do Sugarloaf Lodge full justice, in real life this place is really much grander than photos can ever show.

The owner is the perfect host, absolutely committed to making your stay comfortable and perfect. As a group we could not be more pleased.

Thank You

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house and a great owner

  • 5 of 5

Went for a corporate retreat with adults and children. The house is better than the pictures indicate, and is a great base for exploring the area. Facilities are top notch. Owner checked out the place for us on check in, and was helpful in every way. While Sugarloaf is a great mountain with super nice people, the owner and the home add so much to the experience. Would stay there again in a heart beat. The fireplaces, hot tub, sauna, and kitchen were huge, and the quality is top notch.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Dirty but beautiful setting

  • 3 of 5

The house is huge with plenty of room for a large group of people, however when we checked in I was not impressed by the state of the house. The floors were sticky, half of the lights needed the bulbs to be replaced and most of the light fixtures with full with dead house flies. However the kitchen was the worst with mouse dropping in the cupboards and an explored beer in the fridge for the price and the very large cleaning fee I would have expected a much cleaner house. However you can't beat the location and setting- Sugarloaf is heaven.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cleaning for this property is contracted through Sugarloaf Condo Housekeeping Services who normally does an outstanding job. The concerns this traveler expressed were forwarded to them and we are assured that the issues raised have been addressed and resolved. There was a stickiness to the kitchen floor that arose when we tried applying a new tile sealer that was supposed to be easier to keep clean. It did not set up properly and left a tacky surface. It has since been stripped and replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Great house for a ski group!

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group of adults who have gathered each March for over thirty years. This house had everything we needed. The kitchen is set up so the cooking team had plenty of room and all the necessary tools. The counter is long enough so eight or so guests can sit and watch the cooks do their thing. A wonderful fireplace in every room with plenty of wood in the garage. We used the hot tub quite a bit as well as the sauna. The Sugarloaf Shuttle picked us up and dropped us off on the half hour. Very convenient. The gazebo, with a large gas grille and running brook nearby made for a great place to hang out outside. More than ample parking.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Superb Ski Season Stay

  • 5 of 5

Our annual ski trip to differing New England mountains was once again a success for the sixth year in a row after staying at this gorgeous home for a long weekend in January. It was our first trip to Sugar Loaf and we were more than pleased with the accomodations at the property, dealings with the owner, the proximity to the mountain, and of course, the skiing. A tremendous property on the extremely convenient shuttle route of a tremendous resort. I would recommend to anyone looking to stay at Sugar Loaf. Clean, accomodating, and fun. Thanks for a great stay! Our favorite yet!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Portland Maine
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Carrabassett Valley Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 1 2017 - Nov 15 2017
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $375
Damage Deposit $750

$1000 to $1500 / night.
Payment information:
Downpayment of 50% due at time of booking. The remainder must be payed by 8 weeks prior to arrival. If booking within the 8 week time frame, full payment is due at time of booking.
Potential guests have been reporting that the website will not allow certain arrival and departure dates and I cannot seem to correct this. I prefer to not split a weekend during the winter meaning I generally require weekend stays to include both Friday and Saturday nights. Other than that I try very hard to accommodate the needs of my guests. I do not allow online booking so please contact me via the website. The calendar is generally up to date so availability is as shown there. I am willing to negotiate a modest discount for stays of 7 days or more.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties