check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alden & Barbara Schiller

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, spanish

Secluded luxury retreat on greenbelt at Zilker Park, near downtown

36 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Barton Hills House Rental Photos and Description

3 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 6, walk to Barton Springs, greenbelt, downtown

Five-star quintessential Central Austin lifestyle property, on a secluded cul-de-sac in Barton Hills, Austin's hottest (coolest) neighborhood.

Walk to Barton Springs Pool in 12 minutes.

Relax cliff-side above the natural wonder of the Barton Creek Greenbelt. Architecturally distinctive back deck and patio cascade to 180 degree views of the greenbelt and Barton Creek below.

Nice views of the UT Tower and parts of the Austin skyline.

Filled with original art by local and national artists.

Minutes to Whole Foods, Book People, Waterloo Records, downtown entertainment districts and the very best restaurants and shopping in Austin.

Easy access to major highways and only 20 minutes from Austin Bergstrom International Airport.

Recently remodeled and updated. Fully equipped kitchen and well stocked pantry.. Modern appliances and bathroom fixtures.

Sleep soundly on comfortable beds, including a brand new, super comfortable Stearns & Foster queen bed in the master bedroom.

We are responsive, helpful and responsible owners ... this is our primary residence, we love living here, and we love sharing our comfortable home, wonderful neighborhood and fantastic city with our guests!

We have been licensed as a Type 1 (owner-occupied) short term rental property since the inception of the City of Austin STR licensing program. Our Austin Short Term Rental Operating License Number is OL 2013 007105.

We have always collected and promptly paid applicable state and city occupancy taxes, and we comply with all State and City of Austin short term rental ordinances and regulations;

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
Alden & Barbara Schiller (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, spanish

Reviews

4.9
based on 36 traveler reviews

Secluded luxury retreat on greenbelt at Zilker Park, near downtown
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 36 reviews
5

always a great stay

  • 5 of 5

love this house, neighborhood and central location! me and my family have stayed here twice on vacation. Its a great place to grill out, have family dinners and even roast marshmallows with a open fire. We loved being so close to downtown and the parks !! Alden and his wife are great!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wisconsin
5

Wonderful spot to relax and enjoy the best Austin has to offer

  • 5 of 5

Excellent furnishings, responsive owners, great location. Very nice patio even in the 100+ temps! Beds all nice and comfy, even the study sofa-bed was better than most beds we have slept in. Loved the Santa Fe decor and the lush plants and lawn, helped along by the excessive rains Austin has experienced this summer. Nice but rather warm walk to Barton Springs, if you drive use the back entrance to avoid traffic jams on the main road (Construction projects have narrowed it down to a lane each way). If you have small children, you may want to relocate some of the breakable art work and pottery out of their reach.

Excellent central air conditioning kept the place nice and cool in the 115 heat index we had! Would like to return next year!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful home to make memories away from home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this amazing property for a weekend during our daughter's graduation from UT. The house was fantastic and well equipped, and the backyard was so breathtakingly beautiful that we never felt the need to leave the house.

This is a place that we will acquire about staying at anytime we are back in Austin.

Alden, thank you very much for sharing your beautiful home with us.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Austin getaway

  • 5 of 5

Clean, spacious, beautiful and unique home in quiet neighborhood with breathtaking views right out the back door. Owner's are very friendly, attentive, and conscientious. Will definitely stay here again if given the opportunity.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family gathering house!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving in this home. It was within walking distance of Zilker Park and Barton Springs as well as our son and daughter in law's house. It is comfortable, livable, and spacious. The back yard is beautiful. We were warm on the cold days and cool on the hot days! There was plenty of seating for extended family at meals. We recommend this property. The owners made sure that we felt comfortable calling them if we needed anything which we didn't but it was reassuring. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, close-in, many amenities

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed this beautiful house that is filled with art and has a beautiful back yard overlooking the green belt. The third bedroom, with a pull-out couch that was quite comfortable, is right off the living room with just a curtain for privacy. This meant that the person staying there would be bothered if the rest of us were talking in the living room late or early. Fortunately the weather was great so we spent a lot of time out on the deck. The other thing is that the master bath has no door and the shower has no curtain and is right opposite the opening to the bathroom. So people who stay in that room need to be pretty comfortable with each other. It is a great shower with a big window to the outside.

We enjoyed walking to nearby Barton Springs Road for breakfast and to Barton Springs just for a look. It was closed because of recent flooding.

Restaurants we enjoyed included Evangeline's, Threadgill's, Torchy's Tacos and Uchi.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11.8 Miles
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.2 Miles
Aviary (wine bar), Horseshoe Lounge, Broken Spoke
Nearest Ferry
173 Miles
Port Aransas, TX
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lions Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Train
2.9 Miles
Amtrak-Austin, 250 N. Lamar
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
South Mo-Pac Expy (Loop 1)
Nearest Restaurant
1.2 Miles
Uchi, Olivia's, Chuy's, Shady Grove, El Rancho
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Barton Springs Pool
Car: recommended

Unanimous 5-star listing- Read the reviews! Santa Fe style with art and color, as close as you can get to Zilker Park and Barton Springs. Comfortable, clean, open, modern cliff-side home perched above the Barton Creek greenbelt hike and bike trail, 1/2 mile upstream from Barton Springs. Minutes to downtown and the best restaurants, shopping and nightlife in Texas. Super fast Internet with Google Fiber +Google TV.

Other Activities: live music, UT sports, arts festivals, eclectic shopping

Photos

Rates & Availability

Barton Hills House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
ACL Festival 2016
Sep 29 2016 - Oct 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$595
$2,950
$6,900
 
 
SXSW Festivals 2017
Mar 9 2017 - Mar 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$595
$3,450
$6,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$295
From
$395
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,950
$6,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $140
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 15.0%

Rentals longer than 30 days do not incur city/state hotel tax.
Rental charges (rent + taxes + cleaning fee) are fully refundable if reservation is canceled more than 30 days in advance of check in date.
Rental charges are non-refundable if reservation is canceled 30 days or less before check in date.
Property damage deposit is fully refundable if no property damage or violations of the rental agreement have occurred.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Barton Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Private master bath. Oversized shower with two shower heads
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Private master bath. Oversized shower with two shower heads
  • Bathroom 1 is the master bath, attached to the master bedroom. The 'shower for two' includes a 6'x4' window with views to the greenbelt below. Bathroom 2 is the guest bath and has been recently modernized with travertine floors and walls, a wall sized mirror, and a custom walk in shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Opens to patio and greenbelt. Attached master bath.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Cozy and quiet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Doubles as an office / media room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers