check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Sunny Vintage Craftsman Vacation Home in the Redwoods

4 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Larkspur House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

For extensive photos of the house and the property scroll down the page to 'Links for more information'.

Experience the Best of Bay Area Living in Nature yet in close proximity to San Francisco. The house is in beautiful redwood-lined Madrone Canyon but situated on a sunny southern facing hillside where you can soak up the warm Marin County, California sunshine. It's just a 10 minute walk into the town of Larkspur where you can have a fantastic meal at a different restaurant every day of the week. You will be just a 15 minute car ride to the Golden Gate Bridge and the cultural destinations of San Francisco. The Wine Country, Muir Woods, Point Reyes National Seashore and all the rest are all very close.

Our rental home was built in the 1920s and has been lovingly maintained in its original condition except for the obvious updates to kitchen and bath facilities. This house has tons of charm and has everything you could want for a thoroughly relaxing vacation. You don't even need to get in your car to have an excellent adventure -- just strike out by foot or bicycle onto the nearby trails of the Mt. Tamalpais Watershed. There is an amazing offering of hiking trails and biking trails nearby.

Please note that access to the house is not for the faint of heart. To reach the front door you must either ascend or descend many stairs. If you're up for the invigorating experience, however, you'll be rewarded with beautiful views of the canyon, trees, and gardens on the property. Coming up from the bottom street you're climbing out of the shadows and cool clean air of the redwood canyon. Coming from above you'll be gazing at the the redwood treetops and admiring the landscaped gardens on the way down.

Check out our calendar for availability. Thanks!

Keywords: Single family home

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Owner
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 4 traveler reviews

Sunny Vintage Craftsman Vacation Home in the Redwoods
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
5

Home Sweet Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5

This home is the most amazing getaway we have ever experienced and we are hoping to come back soon. We often talk about the great week we had in this home. We felt we were living in a tree house nestled so far up in the redwoods. We loved it from the minute we walked in the front door. It is a wonderful home with a lot of personality, love and care. We did not want to leave when it was time to go home. We enjoyed many hikes right out the back door and steps into Marin County. We hiked down to Stinson beach, up Mount Tamalpais, biked across the Golden Gate Bridge, checked out former marin Navy base overlooking SF bay, enjoyed Larkspur Inn for Easter brunch, Larkspur town, visiting friends in SF and Marin, etc. The home is fully equipped with all the modern technology teens love (cable TV), Internet, Mac. The kitchen is fully equipped by an obvious great chef and lover of good cuisine (recipe books!). The owners (D and K) left us a nice welcoming basket of food for our arrival and first day. They asked what kind of milk, bread, jam, fruit, snacks, beer and wine we liked, so they could set us up. They sent us the weather forecast for our week stay. It was so sweet to have the start of the stay taken care of until we had time to go to the store. We arrived very late in the night and walked down the many steps to the home following the strand of white christmas lights strung up on the fence. It was like a mystery adventure that ended with us opening the door to the best home ever! The garden surrounding the property is gorgeous and well cared for. The patio and deck are wonderful for dinner. The sunroom kitchen area was an amazing start to every day. We all slept so peacefully in Nature. This review is long overdue as our stay was 3 years ago (3/23-30/2013). LOVE this HOME!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ross, CA
5

Fantastic, charming house in the midst of tall redwoods

  • 5 of 5

Wow!! We had such a fantastic 3-month(!!) stay at this Larkspur retreat. This vintage (1930s?) era home is incredibly well-kept, tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. Walk out the front door and find yourself in the midst of tall redwoods and feel like you're far from a big city. But downtown Larkspur (charming) is less than a mile away, and downtown SF is a short drive (or bus or ferry ride) away. At the house, we really enjoyed the large front and back patios, bright breakfast area, large master bedroom, long hiking trails through the forest just down the road, and the abundant fresh air. On one hand, you really feel like you're stepping back in time and into the country, but modern amenities are all present and the city is easily accessible. The landlords D and K are great and will be longtime friends of ours now -- they are helpful, accommodating, and quick to respond to questions. You probably won't see much of them, but if you do, they'll probably be decorating the property for Halloween or stringing Christmas lights like they did for our daughter. It was wonderful. While we stayed for a number of months, which was great, this retreat would also be a great place for a quick getaway or weekend out of the city. During the summer, often when it was foggy and cool in downtown SF, the skies were clear and the air was perfect and warm here in the shadow of Mt. Tam. Living here was a great experience for our family, especially for our daughter, and we give our highest recommendation about this location to anyone looking for a home away from home or a quick getaway. Have a great time!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Private Paradise in Marin

  • 5 of 5

After travelling and living in many places around the world, our family found a home away from home. This place is guarded by enormous redwoods and thousands of birds. It is situated in an area full of sun and silence. The house is walking distance to a beautiful and charming Larkspur. Here you can find grosery store, coffe shops, restaurants and a movie theater. On the other hand, this place is 15 minutes drive to San Francisco city through the magnificient Golden Gate Bridge. The house is warm, very well maintenance, clean and neat. It has antiques and charming fernitures. We enjoy the kitchen full equiped, having breakfast in its sunny nook watching deers in our garden. The owners are always available and ready to help and solve any problem immediately. This is our second time in the special home, we feel the owners are already our friends.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Marin County, CA USA
5

It's a RETREAT!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this home for 6 months while house hunting in Marin. We were thrilled to find The Retreat, as we now affectionately call it. We moved in with our clothes and put just about everything else into storage. It was a bit daunting, but ultimately liberating.

We found this home to be so relaxing and cozy, it made it difficult for us to motivate and get to work! We felt like we were on an extended vacation. The sunlight in the kitchen is spectacular. The trees brushing the bedroom windows give the feeling of being in a tree house. And morning yoga in the living room, surrounded by beautiful Oak and Redwood trees, so peaceful. Our 2 boys also loved it, "I sleep so well surrounded by nature". Even our dog was happy - staying on the look-out for squirrels and the passing deer.

The Retreat feels deceptively remote with it's garden setting, the birds, the deer, the incredible trees. It's a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle, while still being able to walk everywhere: to the hiking trails, to downtown, to school, to the bus stop, and of course, to Picco.

The owners are generous and gracious, honest and compassionate; they were so helpful and accommodating as we negotiated our home purchase and our move out date. We had a wonderful experience and will recommend The Retreat to our friends and family.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Larkspur House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Pet Fee $150

Contact owner for longer term rates

Deposit holds reservation and is refunded in full provided no damage is incurred.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Larkspur House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties