check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr


Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Late August Still available!

Bedrooms 6
Property type house


Vanderhorst Plantation House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 12 in beds but can have up to 14)

You will love our beautiful Kiawah Island home. It is located in the Vanderhorst Plantation area of Kiawah behind two security gates. It is right next to the bike path which provides easy access to the beach. We are about a 5 minute bike ride from the beach. Surrounded by Live Oaks with a beautiful lagoon view it features 6 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. There is a wonderful entertaining area upstairs with pool table and flat screen TV. The house features multiple TV's and wireless internet access.

Because it is at the end of a cul-de-sac the house is very quiet. As you enter you are met by 14 foot ceilings, which is very unusual for most rental homes. There is a dining room to the right that seats up to 10-12 people. There is a large living room with a flat screen and gas fireplace and a beautiful sunroom with three walls of windows/doors. There is a full kitchen with pantry, granite counters, Viking appliances and seating for 3-5 at the counter.

The master bedroom and bath(separate shower/tub) are on the 1st floor with a large walk in closet, tv and gas fireplace. There are also three other bedrooms(queen, 1 with twin beds and one with a trundle bed) on the 1st floor. The queen bedroom/bathroom on the 1st floor is wheelchair accessible with a ramp up the side of the house. Each of the bedrooms on the 1st floor has it's own bathroom. The twin bedroom has a new shower with larger sliding glass doors.

Up the staircase and you are in the recreation area with bar/pool table and sitting area with flatscreen tv. There is a large king bedroom and sitting area and a twin bedroom. There is one full bath upstairs. This shower is new as well.

The house has a deck across the entire back that was recently refurbished and a lovely pool area. We truly think this is a spectacular place to spend time with friends and family and we know you will enjoy it.

Keywords: 6 bedroom house with pool, perfect for 2 families

More Details
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

We live in Cincinnati Ohio but truly love our home in Kiawah. We owned a condo prior to our house and know you will love it too.

The Owner purchased this house in 2002

Why The Owner chose Kiawah Island

We chose Kiawah because it offers so much for our family including the sites in Charleston.

What makes this house unique

Our home is wonderful for one family, family reunions or several families. The adults can relax and have their own time while kids are playing pool, in the pool or hanging out in their own space upstairs. Our house is also unique because it has a wheelchair ramp on the side to allow easy access for those who need it. We have a beautiful, relaxing lagoon view with plenty of wildlife and the bike path right out the front door to make it easy for all to get to the beach or just get some exercise....


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)
Late August Still available!
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
Orlando, Florida

Thanksgiving Vacation at Yellow Throat Estate Home

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home with a great floor plan for large family gatherings. Located near the ocean with an bike ride to the beach. Set in a beautiful part of the South with large trees, tree lined streets with overhanging canopy reminds you of the old south. A great market with premium quality food is only a short ride. We enjoyed our day at Patriots Point in Charleston just a short ride away.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family vacation!

  • 4 of 5

We are so glad that we stayed at this house! It was fantastic for a family get together. There was plenty of room for all of us, with room to spare! The master suite was gorgeous and roomy. The decor was comfortable and relaxed and was perfect for a beach vacation! The walk is about 10-15 mins to the beach which our kids didn't mind on their scooters and strollers. The pool was fantastic for the adults and kids! Great place, great location!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thrilled you had fun and enjoyed our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great vacation!

  • 4 of 5

Great week! Beautiful island! The house was a great fit for our family and the rental agency was amazing!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had fun and enjoyed our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States

Welcome to Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Privately nestled among enormous pines and oaks with an amazing view of one of the ponds in the backyard - simply takes your breathe away. The house is beyond spacious. The bike trail runs along the house and takes about 5 minutes to ride to the beach - a very scenic ride I might add. Bike rentals are a must - you can rent tow behind trailers to carry all your beach necessities and ones for young children as well. It was awesome having a private pool - definite PLUS in the summer months. The pool was beautiful and crystal clear. So much wildlife from the little lizards, all sorts of birds, deer and of course alligators - we loved them all. This was our second trip to Kiawah Island and it truly is paradise. So private, so quiet and so peaceful. Thank you Melissa for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the awesome review and we hope you come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
McLean, VA

Good stay for 9 - 5 adults (2 sets of parents and one babysitter) and 4 kids (ages 5-8)

  • 5 of 5

Pre-arrival: This house is rented directly by the owner but managed by Wyndham resorts so booking and preparation is a little like renting a house in the 90s – emails, snail mail, faxes, scanning, checks and phone calls instead of an integrated experience. Generally painless, but more time consuming than other rentals I've done. They Wyndham was pretty helpful with planning and guidance when I called, but the main Kiawah resort is more helpful.

Arrival: Saturday arrival is chaos in any beach rental as agencies process people in and out and your arrival experience can set the tone for the week of vacation. Our house was supposed to be ready at 4pm, it wasn't ready till 5:15pm. I called twice to ask for early arrival but was told at 4pm that Wyndam's understanding was that I was arriving late. They were mostly overwhelmed. When I got to the house, it was still being cleaned but Wyndham and the home owner were both very friendly and responsive to my requests to get the house cleaner. The pool was a little confusing, more on that below. So there was a little drama, but they handled it well and the week went fine.

The house: The house if great. The pictures on here don't do it justice. The 14 foot ceilings are wonderful and open up the whole place. There are multiple spaces to relax privately and/or hang out socially. The pool, the kitchen, the dining room, the sun room, the living room and the upstairs game room are all fun, social spaces. And there are two extra decks as well. The bedrooms are far apart so plenty of privacy. It is easy to relax and have fun here. On rainy days at the beach, the house is important and the billiards and board games came in handy.

The pool: The pool is great for the kids. Safe and a good size. The pool itself looks dirty…like it has a film on the surface, but apparently it has been sun-stained or something. Wyndam, the owner and the pool company all asserted its cleanliness and they were correct. The jacuzzi doesn't heat up and the bubbles don't work-intentionally. Apparently it was disconnected for safety or renter problems. The contract will state it doesn't work. Not a big deal for us but also the only time I've every encountered that at a rental in Kiawah or Hilton Head

The location: This house is easy to everything. It took me 8 minutes on bike pulling two kids in a burley to get to the beach. Its not easy to find the connecting paths to the beach at first, but once you do its nice. I like Vand

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for the great review. I have acutally just added new photos to highlight some of the counters, new furniture etc. Yes, often renters are little rough on the house. As such, we don't advertise a "hot tub' and specifically state the pool is not heated. To heat the pool people go through the entire propane tank which is several THOUSAND dollars fill and no one seems to be willing to pay an upcharge for heat. In terms of the snail mail etc.... the contract could be scanned and sent back via email, I also accept credit cards but require a small % to cover my costs. Therefore, most people choose to pay via check. I hope this information is helpful to others as well.....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5

What a great week we had! The house was perfect for our families and the adults and kids had a great week. Even with the weather being on the colder side - the house was perfect for inside activities. The location was private and quiet and allowed the kids to have a total blast! Looking forward to coming back!!!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the kind review and I am thrilled that your stay was enjoyable....look forward to having you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1



Rates & Availability

Vanderhorst Plantation House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Late Summer
Aug 21 2016 - Sep 10 2016
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee for nightly $398 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 12.5%

4th of July week is $6100.00. During June/july/August rentals will be Saturday-Saturday unless otherwise arranged
Nightly fees will vary based on time of year and do not equate to the weekly rate. Please don't rely on VRBO to give the correct cost either.

prefer check but can take credit card (3% upcharge for credit card fee)
50% at time of booking, 50% 30 days prior to stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Vanderhorst Plantation House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 5
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , this is a trundle bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , two twins with bath
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1st floor master
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , queen with bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 2nd floor- shares bath with other bedroom upstairs
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , 2nd floor, shares bath with king upstairs
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers