check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

DR THOMAS SHEA

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Ocean Front Luxurious One Bedroom Suite in Paradise on 5th FLOOR!!!!!!!

27 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Montego Bay Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 4 ( WE HAVE AIR CONDITIONING!

WE HAVE AIR -CONDITIONING!!!!! NOT ALL PALMYRA CONDOS DO!

When I first got to the apartment in the Palmyra, I found myself amazed by the beauty and luxury with which it was built. But then, after being there for a couple of hours, I found so much more. I found that the people were welcoming and open, very attentive and helpful, trying every moment to make my experience the best. I felt home, warmth, and then I realized that this was the closest feeling to being in Paradise on earth. The apartment itself is beautiful, the view is amazing, you can just sit on the balcony for a while and get lost in the ocean and the palm trees view. Then there is the private beach, with all the mixtures of blues and greens, and the water is always warm by the sun shinning all day long, it really makes you want to get a splash.

The Pool and the Jacuzzi are perfectly located in the middle of the first and second tower, making the ocean view the main attraction; you can forget about everything else, sitting in the Jacuzzi relaxed looking at the horizon and the Gazebo located half way inside the beach.

They ask me to write about the property in two paragraphs, and these are the things that come to my mind when I think of it. I know you will feel the same way and I can't wait for you to enjoy as much as I do when I visit this place.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
DR THOMAS SHEA (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Guestbook comments from the owner

YES WE ARE HOME SAFELY AND WE DID ENJOY YOUR CONDO.THE UNIT WAS CLEAN AND THE BEACH WAS BEAUTIFUL.WE HAD SOME INTERESTING ADVENTURES FOR SURE.THE PALMYRA WAS THE PERFERCT SPOT AS TWO WEDDING EVENTS WERE HELD IN THE VILLAS ABOVE HALF MOON GOLF COURSE AND THE WEDDING ITSELF WAS AT THE GREAT HOUSE AT ROSE HALL.

AS THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME IN A DEVELOPING COUNTRY I LEARNED SO MANY INTERESTING THINGS ABOUT JAMAICA AND THE WONDERFUL PEOPLE WHO LIVE THERE! THANKS FOR THE EXPERIENCE.
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 15

Reviews

4.6
based on 27 traveler reviews

Ocean Front Luxurious One Bedroom Suite in Paradise on 5th FLOOR!!!!!!!
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 42 reviews
5

WONDERFUL!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you, we really enjoyed our stay this week in Jamaica, your condo had all the comforts of home.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful, quiet....

  • 4 of 5

Dr Shea's condo is just as described. We stayed one week in June 2016. We loved Palmyra. No one around except us, really. Saw perhaps 4 other guests. The pool bar was open on weekends. Served up a little jerk chicken and drinks. We utilized the pool which was clean. It is being cleaned with a portable pump (as another reviewer stated.) Palmyra is in a geat location just outside the center of Montego Bay, next to Hyatt Ziva. The condo and facility are not perfect. It's true, the third building is a dark and spooky shell. Areas of the condo and facility need attention to detail. Palmyra is under new ownership now so hopefully all issues will be addressed. We stayed in Sabal Palm, the main building. Appeared to be most occupied. Front desk was always staffed. Needed taxi and they were happy to help. We stocked the condo with local groceries from Mega Mart, about 20 mins away in center of Montego Bay. Leisurely walk from nearby shopping center and Scotchies (jerk restaurant) took about 40-45mins, by car its about 5-6mins. We cooked, did laundry and fully enjoyed the condo. The view from the balcony is a side view, so you'll see some of the garden/road below plus beach view. You can also see Rose Hall Great House from the balcony. The facility is truly beautiful. The beach is breathtaking. For us, we enjoyed the peacefulness. If you prefer lots of people around, music, party, this is not good location for you. We did day passes at nearby all inclusives and the kids 5,17,20yrs, preferred those locations because of activities offered (lots of other kids there too.) So if you have kids, keep that in mind. We loved the home away from home feel plus the value for our money! Thomas was easily accessible through email. No problems there. We will return.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your accurate description. Best value in Jamaica . We love our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Loved Jamaica!

  • 4 of 5

The property was just as described, and our family (me, wife, 2 kids) had a wonderful time. Pool bar staff was incredible and even cooked us a couple of dinners. We caught Mahi-Mahi and the pool bar staff cooked it up Jamaican style for us....unforgettable. The only issue that kept this from being a 5-star rating is that the pool was closed for 6 of the 7 days that we were there due to pump issues. This was a big bummer for the kids...

Thanks Dr Shea!!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words . I am happy you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the pool pump and resultant pool closure. It has since been rectified. But again sorry for the pool issue. Yours Doc shea
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great unit!

  • 4 of 5

Great unit! It was very clean and smelled refreshed. This unit is definitely as he described. The only flaw was something sticky in the fridge. I would definitely recommend this unit .

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you .we aim to please our guests. We value our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful property. Beautiful well appointed apartment

  • 4 of 5

Our stay at Dr Shea's was great. The apartment was clean and pretty well maintained. It had everything that we needed (only suggestion would be to provide beach towels). Everything was in working condition, there's free wifi, a washer/dryer with detergent provided. It was truly like a home away from home!

The bedroom window looks out to both the ocean and Rose Hall Road. The living room had a pull out bed. Both sleeping areas had cable television and the entire apartment had air conditioning. The balcony is large and had ample seating and a lounge chair.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the property does not have a lot of tenants so for the whole time we were there we literally saw only 3 other people! We had the beach and very large pool all to ourselves. If you love privacy that would be your dream but if you to have others around you'll not like this. There's a pool bar that opens 11am everyday except Mondays. There's also a grill that's open on weekends. Those are the only 2 opportunities for food or snacks onsite. However, tons of restaurants and shopping are very close by.

One other excellent thing about our experience is how accessible Dr Shea was - all emails were answered within minutes. The staff at the property was very helpful as well.

You'll not be disappointed if you book this place. I'd do it again.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Beach towels are given out by the life guards at the pool . Sorry you missed this service.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Sooooooo relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Just to be able to sit and relax while listening to the ocean waves, couldn't ask for a better place to stay. We were able to cook our own meals, wash clothes and go out to dinner once a week during our 5 weeks at Palmyra. We celebrated our anniversary and birthdays at The Marguerite,s restaurant, Five star. Everyone at Palmyra was friendly and helpful, thank you Derrick and Petrina.

The bed was so comfortable and the shower was very relaxing. So glad the unit has air conditioning.

All in all we were very fortunate to come across this location and thank Dr. Shea for having us as guests.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We love our guests!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
sangster international montego bay
Nearest Golf
white witch,half moon,cinnamon hill
Nearest Motorway
a1
Nearest Restaurant
palmyra
Nearest Beach
palmyra

Montego Bay, Jamaica, Caribbean (5 Minutes From Montego Bay Sangster International Airport)

Other Activities: shopping, boating, kayaking, parasailing, wildlife viewing, health/beauty spa, rock climbing

Golf: Reduced fee membership included at the white witch, half moon,and cinnamon hill golf courses.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Montego Bay Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$129
$900
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $40
Property Damage Protection $59

200 to 360 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Montego Bay Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • See photos
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • See photos
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
exclusive membership included at the white witch/cinnamon hill/half moon golf courses, , gym, restaurants, adjoining Ritz Carlton hotel, private beach no solicitors, fifth floor view with elevator, Catering Available

Partner Offers