check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Steve Nichols

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Harbor Country Cottage, Beach Access, Built-in Pool!

17 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Southwest Michigan Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Screened In Porch, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Unique, charming home in beautiful Harbor Country (Sawyer), only 80 miles from Chicago. With its main house and guest residence, this property can accommodate up to 10 people. Just a short walk to the beaches of Lake Michigan; drive-in beach access also available. This one acre wooded lot offers plenty of space for privacy and has its own pond, fire pit, and outdoor dining area. Beautiful built-in pool with wood deck. If you have friends staying in the area, we have a huge poolside outdoor dining table that can seat up to 16 people! The large grounds are ideal for entertaining with great games like volleyball or horseshoes.

The main house has three bedrooms and two full bathrooms (one with an over-sized soaking tub); the guest house has its own bedroom and a full bathroom. Bedrooms lay out as follows:

- master bedroom: queen bed plus a day bed

- second bedroom: queen bed

- third bedroom (kids' bedroom): 2 twin beds

- guest house bedroom: queen bed

- guest house: single sleeper sofa in living room

The main house has a spacious kitchen, breakfast nook and full dining area; cozy living room with fireplace and cable TV; and sizable screened-in porch. The guest house offers a bedroom, full bath, living room with convertible twin bed sofa, cable TV, kitchenette, and its own screened-in porch. WiFi available.

DURING THE SUMMER, FULL WEEKS RENT FROM FRIDAY TO FRIDAY AND PARTIAL WEEKS RENT SUNDAY TO FRIDAY. Please contact regarding details on weekend and weekly packages during the off-season.

Keywords: Main House and Guest House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Steve Nichols (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

About Steve Nichols

Avid traveler. Have stayed at other VRBO locations.

Steve Nichols purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Steve Nichols chose Southwest Michigan

Proximity to my home.

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Harbor Country Cottage, Beach Access, Built-in Pool!
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
Chicago
5

Gorgeous property!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with a group of 10 friends in our late 20's/early 30's and we had an amazing weekend. As soon as we pulled up in our car we saw three deer grazing in the yard. There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need, and the outdoor dining table was a perfect place for us to all share meals. The heated (and lighted) pool was a blessing as it was already getting chilly, and nights were spent there or around the campfire making s'mores. A large dining table inside gave us space to all play card games once we were done with the pool, and the living room was a comfy place for us all to sit and chat. The beds were some of the softest and most comfortable I've ever slept on, like staying in a 5 star hotel. The frog pond was pretty cool to check out, and when it started raining some of them even hopped up to the pool to join us for a swim! We didn't get out at all to see the beach or neighborhood because we loved the property so much and saw no reason to leave.

There were two small issues: Because of all the water and woody location, mosquitoes were a problem. Bring lots of bug spray and citronella candles/incense sticks to make sure you don't end up as covered in bites as I did! Second, a neighbor called the owner to complain, and said we'd had a large party lasting until 3am. In fact it was only the 10 of us on the lease hanging out in the pool until about 10-11pm before heading inside for the night. The owner was totally understanding when we reassured him no such party took place, but it put a damper on our next night as we felt like we couldn't use the pool or have any conversation outside for fear of this neighbor calling the police on us (as was threatened). I'm not sure if this neighbor is a common problem or not, but if your group consists of night owls who want to stay outside around the pool/firepit a little later, this might not be the place for you. Neither of those problems are the owner's fault, just things to be aware of. We still plan on returning as soon as we can plan it!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Chicago
5

Even better than expected, and my expectations were high!

  • 5 of 5

This is going to be my new second home! The owners must be artists. The home and cottage and property are absolutely stunning. I have a true (not joking) medical diagnosis of OCD which makes me need my space and everything I touch to be sparkling clean and my surroundings well organized. Usually, whenI rent, I spend my first day "re-cleaning" and organizing the space. At Steve's I didn't have to touch a thing. Additionally, the owners have generously supplied and entrusted their guests with truly fine knives, pots and pans, and anything and everything one would need to cook a gourmet meal to enjoy in any number of beautiful indoor or outdoor spaces. Steve and his family go so far above and beyond to give their guests the same level of comfort and enjoyment they would have if this were their own home. I know, if it were my home, I would not change one thing. Everywhere I looked this gorgeous space took my breath away.

The beds and bedding are incredibly comfortable. The pool is pristine. The yard is like a fairytale with separate areas for grilling, dining, swimming, or making s'mores over the bonfire.

I visited here with 2 friends, my 10 year old and my friend's 14 year old. Every age group fell in love with this place and my 2 friends and I will definitely be coming back.

I am keeping my finger's crossed that all who visit will treat this beautiful place with kid gloves and help keep it in the perfect condition that Steve and family have entrusted us all with. I would be crushed if the owner's ever stopped renting out. This is by far the BEST VRBO I have ever had in my 20+ years of renting.

Thank you Steve & Family for such a blissful week!

Anne

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for our young children!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at this charming (and I MEAN charming!) cottage with our young children, my sister's family and new baby, and my parents, and it was PERFECT. There were 6 adults total and plenty of space to spread out.

For starters, the owner was INCREDIBLY easy to work with and despite having contacted him very last minute (I emailed on a Thurs evening, he sent me rental agreement the next morning, and we checked in on Saturday...) he accommodated us so quickly and efficiently. I loved all the carefully thought out details from kitchen essentials down to the best toiletries I've seen outside a 5 star hotel.

The POOL was heated when we arrived, and regardless of the 65 degree weather, my children jumped right in. The pool shed had everything from goggles to noodles, and every pool toy any child would need. Instructions were precise and easy to follow. The Guest house is detached from the main home, which was perfect for the Grandparents; they retired early in the evening and had their own private space (with a living area, tv, and private screened-in porch.

The whole property was so quaint and charming, from the steps down to the frog pond and bonfire area with the cute adirondacks. We enjoyed s'mores on the last night we were there:)

Loved our stay, will be back again!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Outdoor areas are nice. Inside not so nice.

  • 2 of 5

We were shocked when we arrived at this rental. The reviews had all been so glowing. The pool and outdoor areas were nice. The house was not clean. Upon arrival the house was full of insects. We had planned to house a guest in the "guesthouse" but it was too dirty. The "sleeping porch" on the house was constantly filled with flies and everything on the porch was grimy. We purchased and replaced at least 8 indoor or outdoor light bulbs. We cleaned the entire house on day one of our arrival because it was unacceptable. This could be a nice place but perhaps the housekeeping between owner visits is not up to par. Needs better indoor and outdoor maintenance.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As 10 year members of VRBO/Home Away, we have always made it a priority to be responsive to our renters - prior to, during, and after any rental. It’s unfortunate that this renter was unsatisfied with the condition of our home upon their arrival. We encourage our renters to let us know of issues as soon as they arrive so we can address them immediately. However this party did not communicate their dissatisfaction until now. We had assumed their rental went well, as this renter had sent an email upon arrival stating that things were in order at the house and sent another note afterward stating that they enjoyed their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
Illinois
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

With the cooler temperatures of Lake Michigan water, it is ideal to rent a home that also has a heated pool. It was a necessity for the children in our family to be able to swim and they were able to day or night!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Yellow Springs, Ohio
5

Family Reunion - Outstanding Property!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this home! It is actually one large house and a smaller guest house. Both were tastefully and comfortably furnished. The built-in pool was amazing. The outdoor dining area was beautiful and so unique. The owners have created many different gathering places on the property. We loved playing bridge poolside, gathering in the screened in porch, gathering around the campfire in the lower back yard and eating at the long dining room table. The houses were thoughtfully appointed - everything we wanted in the way of kitchen amenities, games, chairs were there. If anything, the property was even nicer than the photos and descriptions suggested. When we had a small difficulty with a refridgerator, the owner arranged for it to be looked at the very next day. Warren Dunes State Park is only 5-10 minutes away and very beautiful as well. I would highly recommend this rental to my family and friends.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Greenbush Brewing Co.
"Great beer. Great food. What more do you need?"
Sawyer Garden Center
"Excellent selection of groceries, fresh fruits & vegetables, and beer & wine. Very nice off..."
Luisa's Cafe
"Wonderful option for breakfast and lunch."
Cafe Gulistan
"Great Mediterranean cuisine with really great staff. A very unique local option. "
Fitzgerald's
"Very good place for lunch and dinner. The staff is really friendly. "
Blueberry Patch
"Awesome outdoor activity if you have kids. Picking blueberries at the height of the season ..."
Warren Dunes State Park
Mesa Luna Restaurant
"Recently reopened, now in Sawyer. Great that it is back. Really great option for couples a..."
Marco Polo Art an Antiques

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sawyer Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
May 27 2016 - Sep 5 2016
5 night minimum stay
$570
 
 
Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$390
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
$390
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200
Refundable damage deposit $500

Cleaning fees for the property are $175.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Southwest Michigan Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Sleeping porch allows guests to enjoy sleeping outdoors.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties