check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Harbor Country Cottage, Beach Access, Built-in Pool!

21 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights


Sawyer Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Screened In Porch, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Unique, charming home in beautiful Harbor Country (Sawyer), only 80 miles from Chicago. With its main house and guest residence, this property can accommodate up to 10 people. Just a short walk to the beaches of Lake Michigan; drive-in beach access also available. This one acre wooded lot offers plenty of space for privacy and has its own pond, fire pit, and outdoor dining area. Beautiful built-in pool with wood deck. If you have friends staying in the area, we have a huge poolside outdoor dining table that can seat up to 16 people! The large grounds are ideal for entertaining with great games like volleyball or horseshoes.

The main house has three bedrooms and two full bathrooms (one with an over-sized soaking tub); the guest house has its own bedroom and a full bathroom. Bedrooms lay out as follows:

- master bedroom: queen bed plus a day bed

- second bedroom: queen bed

- third bedroom (kids' bedroom): 2 twin beds

- guest house bedroom: queen bed

- guest house: single sleeper sofa in living room

The main house has a spacious kitchen, breakfast nook and full dining area; cozy living room with fireplace and cable TV; and sizable screened-in porch. The guest house offers a bedroom, full bath, living room with convertible twin bed sofa, cable TV, kitchenette, and its own screened-in porch. WiFi available.

DURING THE SUMMER, FULL WEEKS RENT FROM FRIDAY TO FRIDAY AND PARTIAL WEEKS RENT SUNDAY TO FRIDAY. Please contact regarding details on weekend and weekly packages during the off-season.

Keywords: Main House and Guest House

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Steve Nichols
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2016
Call Owner

About Steve Nichols

Avid traveler. Have stayed at other VRBO locations.

Steve Nichols purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Steve Nichols chose Southwest Michigan

Proximity to my home.


based on 21 traveler reviews

Harbor Country Cottage, Beach Access, Built-in Pool!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews

Gorgeous property!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with a group of 10 friends in our late 20's/early 30's and we had an amazing weekend. As soon as we pulled up in our car we saw three deer grazing in the yard. There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need, and the outdoor dining table was a perfect place for us to all share meals. The heated (and lighted) pool was a blessing as it was already getting chilly, and nights were spent there or around the campfire making s'mores. A large dining table inside gave us space to all play card games once we were done with the pool, and the living room was a comfy place for us all to sit and chat. The beds were some of the softest and most comfortable I've ever slept on, like staying in a 5 star hotel. The frog pond was pretty cool to check out, and when it started raining some of them even hopped up to the pool to join us for a swim! We didn't get out at all to see the beach or neighborhood because we loved the property so much and saw no reason to leave.

There were two small issues: Because of all the water and woody location, mosquitoes were a problem. Bring lots of bug spray and citronella candles/incense sticks to make sure you don't end up as covered in bites as I did! Second, a neighbor called the owner to complain, and said we'd had a large party lasting until 3am. In fact it was only the 10 of us on the lease hanging out in the pool until about 10-11pm before heading inside for the night. The owner was totally understanding when we reassured him no such party took place, but it put a damper on our next night as we felt like we couldn't use the pool or have any conversation outside for fear of this neighbor calling the police on us (as was threatened). I'm not sure if this neighbor is a common problem or not, but if your group consists of night owls who want to stay outside around the pool/firepit a little later, this might not be the place for you. Neither of those problems are the owner's fault, just things to be aware of. We still plan on returning as soon as we can plan it!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

A great place to house our wedding "overflow"!

  • 4 of 5

The house was comfortable and clean. We had no complaints.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jemez Pueblo, NM 87024

Not Ready for Guests

  • 3 of 5

The location is great -- very convenient to Lake Michigan, restaurants, downtown Sawyer, and Warren Dunes State Park.

The owner was available by text and responded quickly.

While the description is accurate, we four women friends discovered that this home was not ready for guests.

Upon arrival, the key would not unlock the door. The problem was solved when one of us discovered that the glass doors from the house into the screened-in porch into the house were open. We fixed the lock with WD40.

When departing, we could not get the lockbox to lock, so we left the key in a safe place and texted the owner where it could be found.

The following can be remedied by a thorough cleaning (or a change in cleaning staff) and attention to details:

• The house needs a major cleaning.

• Dirty dishes were stacked with clean ones, so all had to be washed.

• A smelly bag of trash was left in the guest house.

• The lint trap for the dryer was full of lent, which can cause a fire.

• Some of the electrical outlets in this rental do not work.

• The guest house has a musty smell, which can possibly be remedied by crystals from the Container Store or a dehumidifier.

• While there are pages of instructions for the pool, there are no instructions for the thermostat.

A bed collapsed in the wee hours of morning and the occupant had to be rescued by another occupant. Thankfully, this was the last night of our stay.

The stairs to the basement laundry are dangerous.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For over a decade of renting, we have always prioritized the satisfaction of our guests. Unfortunately we had some inconsistency with our cleaning service this year and are rectifying this issue by bringing in new housekeepers. As we always tell our guests, if the house is not cleaned to your satisfaction upon arrival, please contact us immediately so it can be addressed. The challenge that this renter had with accessing the property was perplexing. No other guests all year, or any other year, has had any issue with entry to the home. We also conveyed our sincere apologies to the guest regarding the bed, which was a minor problem caused by some of the support boards coming loose under the mattress, something that we fortunately were able to easily rectify for the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Idilic outdoor space with cozy house & guest house

  • 5 of 5

This is our third year at this property - and it won't be our last! We spend hours each day in the pool and around the spacious deck. We eat most of our meals outdoors under the beautiful pergola, and have at least one bonfire/s'mores night at the fire pit on the lower lawn. It's a summer outdoor paradise!

The cozy, shabby chic house is well-maintained, adorably comfortable and offers a pleasant indoor respite.

The owner is responsive and easy to deal with.

Put this property high on your list of options... But please don't take our week!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

A great retreat that accommodated our family of 9 which included 3 generations. Plenty of room for everyone to have their own space to read, play a game or take a nap. The kitchen was fully equipped with all the comforts of home and more.

This is a quaint little house located on a quite street just a short walk to the beach and we took full advantage of all that the area offers including hiking at Grand Mere State Park, climbing the sand at Warren Dunes and wine tasting at the Round Barn Winery.

This property attracts quite a bit of wildlife including a doe and her two fawns that made passage through the yard on a daily basis along with a friendly chubby chipmunk that hung around the grill patio, and croaking frogs in the backyard pond.

After reading previous comments about mosquitos, we came prepared with a Thermacell and citronella candles which were needed sitting near the pool and around the ready made bonfire. The week went by too fast. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Even better than expected, and my expectations were high!

  • 5 of 5

This is going to be my new second home! The owners must be artists. The home and cottage and property are absolutely stunning. I have a true (not joking) medical diagnosis of OCD which makes me need my space and everything I touch to be sparkling clean and my surroundings well organized. Usually, whenI rent, I spend my first day "re-cleaning" and organizing the space. At Steve's I didn't have to touch a thing. Additionally, the owners have generously supplied and entrusted their guests with truly fine knives, pots and pans, and anything and everything one would need to cook a gourmet meal to enjoy in any number of beautiful indoor or outdoor spaces. Steve and his family go so far above and beyond to give their guests the same level of comfort and enjoyment they would have if this were their own home. I know, if it were my home, I would not change one thing. Everywhere I looked this gorgeous space took my breath away.

The beds and bedding are incredibly comfortable. The pool is pristine. The yard is like a fairytale with separate areas for grilling, dining, swimming, or making s'mores over the bonfire.

I visited here with 2 friends, my 10 year old and my friend's 14 year old. Every age group fell in love with this place and my 2 friends and I will definitely be coming back.

I am keeping my finger's crossed that all who visit will treat this beautiful place with kid gloves and help keep it in the perfect condition that Steve and family have entrusted us all with. I would be crushed if the owner's ever stopped renting out. This is by far the BEST VRBO I have ever had in my 20+ years of renting.

Thank you Steve & Family for such a blissful week!


  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anne, We are so happy that you enjoyed your vacation so much. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again next year. Best, Laurie and Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Greenbush Brewing Co.
"Great beer. Great food. What more do you need?"
Sawyer Garden Center
"Excellent selection of groceries, fresh fruits & vegetables, and beer & wine. Very nice off..."
Luisa's Cafe
"Wonderful option for breakfast and lunch."
Cafe Gulistan
"Great Mediterranean cuisine with really great staff. A very unique local option. "
Fitzgerald's -- CLOSED
"Very good place for lunch and dinner. The staff is really friendly. "
Blueberry Patch
"Awesome outdoor activity if you have kids. Picking blueberries at the height of the season ..."
Warren Dunes State Park
Mesa Luna Restaurant -- CLOSED
"Recently reopened, now in Sawyer. Great that it is back. Really great option for couples a..."
Marco Polo Art an Antiques


Rates & Availability

Sawyer Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Off season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
Spring 2017
Apr 2 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200

Cleaning fees for the property are $175.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Sawyer Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Sleeping porch allows guests to enjoy sleeping outdoors.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties