Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Harbor Country Cottage, Beach Access, Private Built-in Pool!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Screened In Porch, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Unique, charming home in beautiful Harbor Country (Sawyer), only 80 miles from Chicago. With its main house and guest residence, this property can accommodate up to 10 people. Just a short walk to the beaches of Lake Michigan; drive-in beach access also available. This one acre wooded lot offers plenty of space for privacy and has its own pond, fire pit, and outdoor dining area. Beautiful built-in pool with wood deck. If you have friends staying in the area, we have a huge poolside outdoor dining table that can seat up to 16 people! The large grounds are ideal for entertaining with great games like volleyball or horseshoes.

The main house has three bedrooms and two full bathrooms (one with an over-sized soaking tub); the guest house has its own bedroom and a full bathroom. Bedrooms lay out as follows:

- master bedroom: queen bed plus a day bed

- second bedroom: queen bed

- third bedroom (kids' bedroom): 2 twin beds

- guest house bedroom: queen bed plus single sleeper sofa

The main house has a spacious kitchen, breakfast nook and full dining area; cozy living room with fireplace and cable TV; and sizable screened-in porch. The guest house offers a bedroom, full bath, living room with convertible twin bed sofa, cable TV, kitchenette, and its own screened-in porch. WiFi available.

DURING THE SUMMER, FULL WEEKS RENT FROM FRIDAY TO FRIDAY AND PARTIAL WEEKS RENT SUNDAY TO FRIDAY. Please contact regarding details on weekend and weekly packages during the off-season.

Keywords: Main House and Guest House

More Details

Owner
Steve Nichols
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2017

About Steve Nichols

Avid traveler. Have stayed at other VRBO locations.

Steve Nichols purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Steve Nichols chose Southwest Michigan

Proximity to my home.

Amenities

Sawyer Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , queen bed plus twin
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , queen bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2 twin beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , guest cottage, with queen bed and sleeper sofa
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Sleeping porch allows guests to enjoy sleeping outdoors.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Harbor Country Cottage, Beach Access, Private Built-in Pool!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 22 reviews
5

Idilic outdoor space with cozy house & guest house

  • 5 of 5

This is our third year at this property - and it won't be our last! We spend hours each day in the pool and around the spacious deck. We eat most of our meals outdoors under the beautiful pergola, and have at least one bonfire/s'mores night at the fire pit on the lower lawn. It's a summer outdoor paradise!

The cozy, shabby chic house is well-maintained, adorably comfortable and offers a pleasant indoor respite.

The owner is responsive and easy to deal with.

Put this property high on your list of options... But please don't take our week!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jean, thank you so much for staying at our cottage again. You and your family have been wonderful guests over the years. We really appreciate the great care and appreciation that you show for our home, and we hope that you come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago & Harbert, MI
4

Great house for a group!

  • 4 of 5

We needed additional housing for my family when we were hosting Thanksgiving this year. This house and guest house were perfect to accommodate our relatives. Would love to come back in the Summer!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great place to house our wedding "overflow"!

  • 4 of 5

The house was comfortable and clean. We had no complaints.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jemez Pueblo, NM 87024
3

Not Ready for Guests

  • 3 of 5

The location is great -- very convenient to Lake Michigan, restaurants, downtown Sawyer, and Warren Dunes State Park.

The owner was available by text and responded quickly.

While the description is accurate, we four women friends discovered that this home was not ready for guests.

Upon arrival, the key would not unlock the door. The problem was solved when one of us discovered that the glass doors from the house into the screened-in porch into the house were open. We fixed the lock with WD40.

When departing, we could not get the lockbox to lock, so we left the key in a safe place and texted the owner where it could be found.

The following can be remedied by a thorough cleaning (or a change in cleaning staff) and attention to details:

• The house needs a major cleaning.

• Dirty dishes were stacked with clean ones, so all had to be washed.

• A smelly bag of trash was left in the guest house.

• The lint trap for the dryer was full of lent, which can cause a fire.

• Some of the electrical outlets in this rental do not work.

• The guest house has a musty smell, which can possibly be remedied by crystals from the Container Store or a dehumidifier.

• While there are pages of instructions for the pool, there are no instructions for the thermostat.

A bed collapsed in the wee hours of morning and the occupant had to be rescued by another occupant. Thankfully, this was the last night of our stay.

The stairs to the basement laundry are dangerous.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For over a decade of renting, we have always prioritized the satisfaction of our guests. Unfortunately we had some inconsistency with our cleaning service this year and are rectifying this issue by bringing in new housekeepers. As we always tell our guests, if the house is not cleaned to your satisfaction upon arrival, please contact us immediately so it can be addressed. The challenge that this renter had with accessing the property was perplexing. No other guests all year, or any other year, has had any issue with entry to the home. We also conveyed our sincere apologies to the guest regarding the bed, which was a minor problem caused by some of the support boards coming loose under the mattress, something that we fortunately were able to easily correct for the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

A great retreat that accommodated our family of 9 which included 3 generations. Plenty of room for everyone to have their own space to read, play a game or take a nap. The kitchen was fully equipped with all the comforts of home and more.

This is a quaint little house located on a quite street just a short walk to the beach and we took full advantage of all that the area offers including hiking at Grand Mere State Park, climbing the sand at Warren Dunes and wine tasting at the Round Barn Winery.

This property attracts quite a bit of wildlife including a doe and her two fawns that made passage through the yard on a daily basis along with a friendly chubby chipmunk that hung around the grill patio, and croaking frogs in the backyard pond.

After reading previous comments about mosquitos, we came prepared with a Thermacell and citronella candles which were needed sitting near the pool and around the ready made bonfire. The week went by too fast. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Chicago
5

Even better than expected, and my expectations were high!

  • 5 of 5

This is going to be my new second home! The owners must be artists. The home and cottage and property are absolutely stunning. I have a true (not joking) medical diagnosis of OCD which makes me need my space and everything I touch to be sparkling clean and my surroundings well organized. Usually, whenI rent, I spend my first day "re-cleaning" and organizing the space. At Steve's I didn't have to touch a thing. Additionally, the owners have generously supplied and entrusted their guests with truly fine knives, pots and pans, and anything and everything one would need to cook a gourmet meal to enjoy in any number of beautiful indoor or outdoor spaces. Steve and his family go so far above and beyond to give their guests the same level of comfort and enjoyment they would have if this were their own home. I know, if it were my home, I would not change one thing. Everywhere I looked this gorgeous space took my breath away.

The beds and bedding are incredibly comfortable. The pool is pristine. The yard is like a fairytale with separate areas for grilling, dining, swimming, or making s'mores over the bonfire.

I visited here with 2 friends, my 10 year old and my friend's 14 year old. Every age group fell in love with this place and my 2 friends and I will definitely be coming back.

I am keeping my finger's crossed that all who visit will treat this beautiful place with kid gloves and help keep it in the perfect condition that Steve and family have entrusted us all with. I would be crushed if the owner's ever stopped renting out. This is by far the BEST VRBO I have ever had in my 20+ years of renting.

Thank you Steve & Family for such a blissful week!

Anne

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anne, We are so happy that you enjoyed your vacation so much. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again next year. Best, Laurie and Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Sawyer Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$280
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 2 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$390
 
 
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
5 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
$390
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200

Cleaning fees for the property are $175.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Greenbush Brewing Co.
"Great beer. Great food. What more do you need?"
Sawyer Garden Center
"Excellent selection of groceries, fresh fruits & vegetables, and beer & wine. Very nice off..."
Luisa's Cafe
"Wonderful option for breakfast and lunch."
Cafe Gulistan
"Great Mediterranean cuisine with really great staff. A very unique local option. "
Fitzgerald's -- CLOSED
"Very good place for lunch and dinner. The staff is really friendly. "
Blueberry Patch
"Awesome outdoor activity if you have kids. Picking blueberries at the height of the season ..."
Warren Dunes State Park
Mesa Luna Restaurant -- CLOSED
"Recently reopened, now in Sawyer. Great that it is back. Really great option for couples a..."
Marco Polo Art an Antiques
Falatic's Meat Market

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties