Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

EAST LAKE COTTAGE : 45 miles from Tahquamenon Falls! Sleeps 5, Pets welcome!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Family friendly classic cottage~1 large loft, 1.5 bathrooms, sleeps 5

EAST LAKE COTTAGE

SLEEPS: 5

BEDROOMS: 1 open loft (no bedroom door): 4 beds

BATHROOMS: 1.5

*LAKEFRONT (East Lake)

*PRIVATE BOAT DOCK

*ROWBOAT INCLUDED

*PETS ARE WELCOMED

This Cottage on the quaint 122 acre East Lake is perfect for the small family or couple looking for the classic cottage experience in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Fishing, campfires, relaxing all await.

The amenities from home, coupled with the beautiful view of East Lake makes for a perfect get-away. Eat inside at the wooden table or at the large picnic table outside. You can even enjoy your the deck overlooking the lake with comfy patio furniture. Sleep together in the wide-open, high-ceiling upstairs loft bedroom. Enjoy fishing on East Lake either from the dock or the rowboat. Feel free to bring your own motor. Easy biking on the gravel road around the lake. The walk-out lower level with an easy access 1/2 bathroom makes it convenient to walk into the cabin from your campfire or the water. Walking distance to a little convenience store on MI-28. Pets considered.*Pets are welcome! Freshwater Vacation Rentals currently charges $50/per pet. Even though the cottage is not isolated in the woods there are the normal little bugs, mosquitoes and spiders that often are found around cabin/ lake-front living. We actively work at providing the best, safest insect control for you, your kids and pets. That doesn't mean they are non-existent.

East Lake is ideal for a couple or small families. Since there is just 1 large, open loft, it is not ideal for couples traveling together. Coupled with the incline for entering the cabin, the East Lake can be challenging for multi-generational travel as well. Keep in mind that there are neighbors, so we would recommend another cabin for groups larger than 5, or for those who enjoy loud, late night campfires.

Local Attractions:

*Newberry (a 1-picture movie theater, grocery stores, ice cream, etc.) is 7 miles northeast.

*Oswald's Bear Ranch: 20 miles northeast.

*Pictured Rocks National Lake Shore (& boat tours): 1 hour 15 minutes away. (55.6 miles)

*Tahquamenon Falls State Park: 45 minutes away. (37 miles)

*Toonerville Trolley (Tahquamenon Falls Wilderness Excursion) - 24 minutes (22 miles)

Fishing: East Lake is a beautiful 122 acre lake. Great fishing for Bass, Walleye, Pike, Perch and pan fish. Use the provided basic fishing/row boat--feel free to bring your own motor. Easy access launch is available nearby for your own boat as well. Many options.

More Details

Property Manager
Freshwater Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 7, 2017

About Freshwater Vacation Rentals

Freshwater Vacation Rentals

www.freshwatervacationrentals.com

reservations@freshwatervacationrentals.com

734-284-5677

844-MI-FRESH

If you are looking for a vacation rental, you have come to the right spot! We specialize in vacation rentals throughout Michigan. From your own private island to a lodge big enough to host your family reunion or a relaxing getaway on Lake Michigan.

Why Freshwater Vacation Rentals chose McMillan

The East Lake Cottage is right in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. The cottage is within a couple hours drive to Tahquamenon Falls State Park, Pictured Rocks National Park and Oswald's Bear Ranch.

What makes this cabin unique

A great cottage at the right price. Simple, clean, and all the basics you need for a fun vacation connecting with your family or friends. I love the deck overlooking East Lake. The lake is great for boaters who are not comfortable in the bigger lakes. I also love that you have your own space, yet still a cottage-around-the-lake experience. There is an empty lot next door, so that makes it feel even more spacious.

Map

Triangle Restaurant
Triangle Restaurant
Oswald Bear Ranch
"a unique place to take the kids- fun seeing bears up close"
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Chippewa County International Airport (CIU)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Triangle Bar & Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Mackinac Island- Star, Sheplers or Arnold
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Newberry Country Club
Nearest Train
311 Miles
Milwaukee, WI or Grand Rapids, MI
Nearest Motorway
0.4 Miles
MI-28
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Triangle Restaurant
Nearest Ski
120 Miles
Marquette Mountain
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Round (North Manistique Lake) next to campground
Car: necessary

East Lake is 122 acres.

Amenities

McMillan Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions ...
General:
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area ...
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • The 1/2 bath is easy to access from the water. The full bath is on the main level of the cottage. The water is well water, so at times it has a mineral smell.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Since it is one large loft area upstairs, ideally the cabin
  • Since it is one large loft area upstairs, ideally the cabin is for a small, single family of 5 or less. The wooden steps leading upstairs are open and a bit steep. The sleeping area is not handicap accessible.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
Notes:
To get into the front door, there is an upward incline. Also, to get to the lake, there is a downward incline to the lake as well.

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

30% Complete
30% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
EAST LAKE COTTAGE : 45 miles from Tahquamenon Falls! Sleeps 5, Pets welcome!
average rating of 3.7 based on 10 reviews
5

Loved the cottage!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was amazing, it was our 25th Anniversary, and they even got us a card and small cake, with flowers! The cottage was cozy beatuiful and well stock with everything except food. It was so peaceful and beautiful, but close enough to all the things we wanted to do. We hated to leave, but we have the most beautiful pictures and memories! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing Freshwater Vacation Rentals for your 25th Anniversary! Very happy you enjoyed the presents that were left for you, we wanted you to have an awesome anniversary! We would love to accommodate you in your future vacations, we manage over 45 properties throughout Michigan. Your very welcome! Freshwater Vacation Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
1

Pest problem not under control!

  • 1 of 5

While the cabin has a very beautiful setting, it left much to be desired. I had read all of the reviews before choosing this property for my honeymoon. One specifically mentions a mouse problem and the owners responded that they had since taken care of the problem. Well, we had mice walk on the potatoes on the stove while we ate dinner! There were no traps provided, so we bought our own and caught two mice while we only stayed three nights- we went home a night early because this problem was out of hand! The owners way of resolving this issue was to put a pile of poison under the sink- having lived in the Upper Peninsula for 33 years myself, I know that we get mice inside sometimes. But never have I had any walk on the stove while I’m eating dinner. And I also can’t believe that poison would be used- it just means that I’m going to find dead mice in random places of the cabin. I did contact the owners about this and their response was that I should have contacted them before buying traps and offered me 10% my NEXT stay. Why they think I would ever come back is beyond me! The owners phone number is nowhere in the cabin- not sure how they thought I would reach them. And the only way they could make this better would be to refund me my missed night.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for seeing the positive with the beautiful setting at East Lake. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience at the cabin. We routinely check for small animal/mice access points and caulk holes, as needed. There weren't traps at the cabin only because we haven't seen or had a mouse reported recently. As you know, the mice are looking for a warm place each fall. They can get in at a moment's notice, through a tiny hole anywhere in the cabin, including an open door. The only reason we were hoping you would have contacted us first was to save you the trouble of going out and buying the traps yourself. We would have sent our care-taker over with traps, and re-cleaned the cabin for you too. There should not have been any additional expense out of your pocket. I'm sorry we didn't hear you clearly enough when you called. Our contact numbers including text, for 24/7 service, have always been posted on the refrigerator on a magnet hanging sign. Plus, our numbers are included in your booking paperwork, via email, and on our website. We did not realize you left a night early because you were unhappy. Thank you for your feedback so that we can improve the experience of our cabin in this beautiful setting. Sincerely, Cara
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Gorgeous and cute

  • 5 of 5

Property was very well taken care of and had everything you needed! Great location to access many of the UP's attractions.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank Kaitlyn for taking the time to share your thoughts! We hope to see you again in the future! Thanks~Freshwater Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice location and neighborhood on East Lake.

  • 3 of 5

We had a nice stay at the cabin on East Lake. It is located centrally to the eastern UP sights that we wanted to visit. The neighborhood is peaceful and met some nice people there. The cabin was nice but could use a little TLC, I.E. towel racks in the bathroom, more lighting throughout the house, less clutter/mess in cabinets. The deck finish was pealing and dirty so we didn't use this for fear of tracking in stuff. Dock is not level and in need of repair. With a little attention this could be a great place.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mark, Thank you very much for your feedback. I notified our cleaners to remove clutter in cabinets. In addition, maintenance is scheduled to powerwash and repaint the deck and to inspect the dock. We sincerely apologize that it was not every thing you imagined. We do agree that the eastern UP, which not many people visit is gorgeous. We hope that when you want to take your next Michigan adventure, you will book with Freshwater. We have 54 other properties to explore. Freshwater Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, okay lakefront

  • 4 of 5

The property was well maintained. This, however, is not a one bedroom. There is sleeping for 5 in an open loft upstairs: no door. The water smelled of strong sulphur the entire week, which was very unpleasant for washing dishes & showering, forget about trying to drink it. The pier was two crooked planks into a bed

On the bright side. The neighborhood is in a perfect location for seeing many U.P. Attractions. The small Bear Den store at the end of the neighborhood is very convenient and it's open 24 hours. All of the neighbors we encountered were friendly, which is typical of the U.P.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I've further clarified the sleeping arrangements on the website. I didn't have an option for 0 bedroom on the site. We are working on improving the water smell. My apologies for the inconvenience. I will look into the dock to see what has shifted. None of the planks should be crooked. Please accept our apologies. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the neighborhood and the location. We will work on making the improvements to make the overall guest experience more comfortable. Sincerely, Cara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cedar Rapids IA
4

Great little cabin

  • 4 of 5

This cabin had a great central location for our trip to the eastern UP! It was an hour to Munising and an hour to Sault Ste MarieMarie which made it a nice central location.

The kids loved the rowboat! The cabin was nice and peaceful.

The only thing that kept us from giving it 5 stars was that the water had a funny taste/smell.

The Freshwater Vacations folks were great to work with and I would recommend this cabin to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties