check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Allison Williams

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

'Smuggler's Retreat' - Panoramic Caribbean Views, Pool, Wi-Fi

13 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Grapetree House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

High on a breezy hillside overlooking the white sand beach at Smugglers Cove, Smugglers Retreat commands a sweeping view of St. Croix's east end, Buck Island and the Caribbean Sea.

Colorful tropical terraced landscaping surrounds this very private home and pool. As you step onto the walk way to the house, you know something special awaits—the start of a perfect vacation!

Entering the great room with it’s flat screen TV, and comfortable mahogany couches, the blues of the Caribbean Sea catch your eye. A small dining area shares the great room.

Step out on the wrap around deck and take a look down on the palm trees lining the white sand beach; it’s a picture postcard view. Bedroom 2 is directly to the right of the great room. This room has 2 twin beds which can easily be made up as a king.

The well equipped kitchen has everything you need to prepare a quick snack or gourmet meal to enjoy at one the teak tables on the deck. The laundry room adjoins the kitchen.

The master Bedroom is on the left or the house and overlooks the pool. This room has a king bed. Bedroom 3 is on the lower lever and very private. This room has a King bed, mini fridge and large deck to enjoy the views.

The most outstanding thing about Smugglers Retreat are the dramatic views from everywhere—the bedrooms, pool and decks. A special spot is the hammock, perfect for sunning and relaxing.

Smugglers Retreat is a dream come true vacation spot for couples or a family with older children.

Keywords: House, villa

More Details
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Allison Williams (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Allison Williams

My family currently resides in Virginia. We fell in love with the Virgin Islands and after more than two years of searching, we purchased this dream home on St. Croix as an investment/vacation/retirement home.

Allison Williams purchased this house in 2010

Why Allison Williams chose St. Croix

We fell in love with the Virgin Islands during several sailing trips. In over 2 years of house hunting we visited Tortola, St. John, St. Thomas, Turks and Caicos, and St. Croix. We chose St. Croix for its personality, charm and amenities.

What makes this house unique

Our home is a true island paradise with panoramic views of the Caribbean, tropical breezes, and privacy! Enjoy the views from every room, private pool, patios and hammock!! We are walking distance to an incredible palm-lined, white sand beach and a short drive from restaurants, bars, shopping, and other amenities - including the casino!

Reviews

4.8
based on 13 traveler reviews

'Smuggler's Retreat' - Panoramic Caribbean Views, Pool, Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
New Jersey
5

Perfect Island, Perfect house!

  • 5 of 5

This house surely does not fall short of the pictures! From the views, to the house, everything is perfect! We found two beautiful beaches not even a mile from the house, and when we wanted to stay in, there was plenty of things to do and views to take in from the deck right at the house! The fact that it was on the quiet, less populated East End just adds to its charm, as it was an amazing place to retreat to at the end of a busy day exploring all the wonderful island has to offer. I am another who has absolutely fallen for STX, and my family and I will certainly be back to Smugglers in the near future!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are glad that your family enjoyed Smuggler's Retreat and the beautiful island of St. Croix! Can't wait to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible Experience

  • 5 of 5

Smuggler's Retreat is nestled on the side of a mountain with incredible views. The accommodations are very comfortable and private! We felt very safe and thoroughly enjoyed running in the mountains every morning! What a workout! The beaches are great and the water beautiful! I hightly recommend Smuggler's Retreat!

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Smuggler's Retreat! Please visit us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Can't Imagine a Better Setting & Views......

  • 5 of 5

Can't say enough about the week we enjoyed with friends at the Smuggler's Retreat in St Croix! From the arrival at the airport to our departure a week later, things could not have gone more smoothly. Excellent accommodations for our three couples, offering each of us great privacy yet plenty of room for enjoying wine & cheese and soaking in paradise from the beautiful living room and expansive patio overlooking the Caribbean and Buck Island. Unbelievable views, great weather (steady cooling winds meant no need for the AC, though it was available) and every amenity was provided. Internet access was good, though we discovered Verizon cellular service was barely available on the East End (AT&T and Sprint are more accessible on St Croix). Rental car is a must for access to shopping, dining and exploring. Met many wonderful locals and snowbirds during our visit. Our trip to St Croix was our first (but definitely not our last), as we are considering buying a home on the island in about 3 years. If Smuggler's Retreat were available for purchase, it's the type of home and location we would be looking for!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for a glowing review! So glad you enjoyed your stay in St. Croix and Smuggler's Retreat! Our home isn't for sale, but we do discount repeat visits! Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Perfect Honeymoon at Smuggler's Retreat

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in St. Croix and stayed at Smuggler's Retreat in June 2015. The villa was a perfect private romantic getaway. This was a our first time in the Caribbean, and it was the perfect vacation. We loved being able to retreat back to the East End after a busy day of sightseeing throughout the island. The villa was situated on the top of the mountain and the natural breeze was perfect. We never even turned on the ac. We did have a good amount of ants around if there was food on the counter in the kitchen, so we just made sure we cleaned up after ourselves and tried not to leave any crumbs. We also had quite a few ants in the master bedroom. We couldn't find where they were coming in, so hopefully that will be taken care of before we return again! Overall, great vacation. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you chose Smuggler's Retreat for your honeymoon and even more so that you found it the perfect spot. We couldn't agree more. Thank you for notifying us about the ants. They are commonplace to the tropics and as you unfortunately witnessed, they love a handout. We will forward this to our local management company and ask them to spray more frequently. We look forward to your return to St. Croix and Smuggler's Retreat!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Our first St. Croix vacation 2015!

  • 5 of 5

Smuggler's Retreat was beyond our expectations! My family loved the house, the pool and especially the view. We explored the island and went snorkeling at Buck Island but our favorite was to return to Smugglers and spend time at the house. We ate most meals at the outside table on the front porch. You couldn't get a better view at any restaurant. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful views!

  • 4 of 5

The views here do not disappoint! We had always been curious how the hilltop experience differed from the oceanfront vacation. It was more affordable and the views were more incredible. This home is very clean and well decorated. Feels like a luxury property. The winds were more than a gentle breeze but I understand that is unusual. The home is Far East if you are island exploring. Plenty to do on the east end. Once the wind settled down we discovered the beach in front of the house was quite nice! Vacations at croix was great to with with. Would come back again!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! We hope you return to Smuggler's Retreat again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Grapetree House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Low Season
Apr 16 2017 - Dec 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.5%

Listed rates are for 1-4 guests. Rental rates for 5-6 guests are $3,000 (low season) and $3,200 (high season).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Grapetree House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2) Beds Easily Convert to a King-Sized Bed., Baby Cribs (1) Pack-and-Play Cribs Are Available., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen-Sized Air Mattress on-Site.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Privacy, Hammock, Outdoor Shower.

Partner Offers