check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bernard du Buy

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Beach Bird -Comfortable Nautical Theme Home with Pool- Non-Smoking

15 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sandbridge Beach House Rental Photos and Description

5+ bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, remodeled kitchen and baths

Remodeled In 2010: Upgraded Kitchen W/ Granite Counter Tops & New Appliances, Enlarged Master Bath With Tile Accents. Two Full Bathrooms Downstairs Remodeled. Located in the quiet, low-traffic north end of Sandbridge, a short stroll to the lifeguarded beach, Beach Bird features a solar-heated 16 x 36 pool. You can relax on the wonderful shaded poolside patio with comfortable cushioned chairs and table under the 12 x 12 gazebo. There is also ample poolside lounging, outside shower, and two gas grills in the private fenced backyard. Additional features are the downstairs kitchenette with 2nd refrigerator and microwave, hot plate & oven off the rec room. There is a spacious front deck with second patio dining set and ample parking in the gravel front yard. U-shaped Staircase Connects 1st and 2nd Floor inside. CAC/heat pump, 7 TVs (1 large screen), VCR's, DVD's, CD, hi speed wireless internet access, basketball, ping pong, high chair. No smoking or pets.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bernard du Buy (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Bernard du Buy

We took over management of Beach Bird in 2011 from an agency to better serve our guests. Thanks to Homeaway this was not as daunting as expected; it turns out everything is done online now anyway. We get to meet and know our guests and this has been very rewarding; there are some really great folks out there and providing them with a first class vacation has been a wonderful experience. When you see guests relaxing and having a good time it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Bernard du Buy purchased this house in 2001

Why Bernard du Buy chose Tidewater & Hampton Roads

For me Beach Bird was love at first sight; my real estate agent wanted to turn around and leave immediately. All the windows and doors were frosted and furnishings were pretty basic, but I liked the layout and location in the low-traffic North End. You would never guess now with the large pool and gazebo but the backyard was a bramble path. But there were great views, and the owner had already installed solar hot water, so we already had a start on my goal of going solar.We now have a solar pool heater and this year hope to start on our PV solar project. Every off season we were busy remodeling starting with the doors and windows. Some day maybe I'll get to stay there a few days without working and see what it's like!

What makes this house unique

Over the years as Sandbridge has become busier I have come to appreciate the North End more and more. You can walk or bike ride without worrying about busy traffic, and crossing the street to the beach path is never an issue, the neighbors have been great and we have tried to be selective in having guests who like to relax and enjoy peace and quiet on their vacation. We have made the backyard pool area into an oasis where you can relax by the pool and keep and eye on the kids in comfortable reclining patio chairs out of the hot sun under the gazebo cooled by the ocean breeze. I'm sure that sounds like hype but we do actually get an afternoon rising convection sea breeze most afternoons when I'm taking a break from the remodeling; it's my favorite spot.

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Beach Bird -Comfortable Nautical Theme Home with Pool- Non-Smoking
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

What a great week!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 12 stayed at the beach bird in August of 2016. Bernard is such a nice man. We arrived a little early but he let us unload our things in the downstairs and then we left to get lunch at the local eatery. The house was a mere minutes walk from the beach! Most of the family lounged in the pool all day. He had everything you would need for the beach. We especially liked the cart to pull our belongings. The house was clean, large enough for all of us. Having tv's in every room was a huge plus. I would recommend this house again and again. And just working with Bernard was such an easy and pleasurable experience. Thank you so much!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Katie, always a pleasure to have such a great family at Beach Bird. It really means a lot to us to have someone appreciate all the work and preparation. Thanks also for taking such good care of Beach Bird and leaving it so clean!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beach Bird has it all..and then some!!

  • 5 of 5

From start to finish your experience at Beach Bird will be wonderful!! The owner, Bernard du Buy, goes above and beyond to ensure that every guest has a phenomenal experience. He provided us with directions to help us avoid potential driving delays so we could get our vacation started on time! Beach Bird is fully equipped with everything you could wish for and use at the house and the beach! Everything from beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, pool and ocean toys, books, and games -- Beach Bird has it all! I emailed Bernard asking if Beach Bird had umbrellas as I have 2 family members who are sun sensitive -- not only did he provide umbrellas, but he purchased a large SunBrella so that several family members could hang out at the ocean without worrying. Also, your linens are free of charge --sheets, bath and beach towels!!! If you want to stay at a very clean, well maintained, and equipped house that is only a 2 minute walk to the ocean and an owner who is friendly and committed to providing you and your family the most relaxing, hassle free vacation --- then stay at Beach Bird!! Thanks Bernard for making our third vacation at Beach Bird so phenomenal!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Best vacation ever

  • 5 of 5

This was a great vacation for my family and all seven of my grandchildren ...... You commendations were first class and everything we needed was there ..... This included all supplies in the kitchen and all supplies for the beach and pool plus there were many games for the grandchildren to use and play with ..... We thoroughly enjoyed our week and recommend this property to anyone who wants to spend a great week at the Virginia Beach shore.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Work retreat

  • 5 of 5

Bernard allowed me to rent the beach house off season for a relaxing work retreat with my coworkers. The house was very spacious and accommodating. Everything we needed was available, very clean and well maintained. Bernard stopped by to tend to the pool and he was very good natured, friendly and sought out if we were having any problems. The beds were very comfortable, atmosphere relaxing and not one complaint from anyone except that our time was too short. It was just a short walk to the beach or the little market that had outstanding fresh donuts but we enjoyed our time by the pool chilling under the gazebo area. I would definitely go back and recommend this house to anyone wanting to visit Sandbridge.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Excellent!!! Wonderful house and good location.

  • 5 of 5

The property is well taken care of and anytime something needs attending to, the owner responds immediately. The grand kids claimed the downstairs and enjoyed the games and pool. We had dinner at the restaurant next to the grocery store (which was very good) and toured the Wildlife Sanctuary several times. It is so peaceful down there. I have recommended this to all my friends. We love Sandbridge and do not even consider going to any other beach or house.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Beach Bird Vacation

  • 4 of 5

We spent the week at the Beach Bird House with friends. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach and the pool in the backyard was a highlight to the trip. The upstairs kitchen worked out well when preparing meals for a large group. The top deck was nice to sit and relax on in the evening. Kids enjoyed the basketball hoop and ping pong was a big hit. Plenty of beach supplies such as coolers, chairs and umbrella's. The owner was very responsive. We had an issue with the air-conditioning unit and the problem was resolved with in hours.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Norfolk International
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Sandbridge Island
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Knott's Island-Currituck-Corolla
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Hells Point Golf Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Amtrack Station, Harbor Park, Norfolk
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Interstate 264
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Sandbridge Island
Nearest Ski
150 Miles
Wintergreen
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Sandbridge Beach

Bike, kayak, surfboard paddleboard rentals and surf and paddleboard lessons and eco-tours in Sandbridge. Jet-ski and parasailing rentals at Rudee Inlet 20 min.away as well as bike rentals on Boardwalk.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sandbridge Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September
Sep 4 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,950
 
 
Fall off
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,450
 
 
Spring 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,150
 
 
May, 2017
Apr 29 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,250
 
 
Value
May 27 2017 - Jun 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,350
 
 
Peak
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,750
 
 
Fall Value
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,350
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Opt. linens incl. towels $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 15.5%

Three payments: $600 down with signed lease, half nominal rent less down payment due Sept. 30, balance rent, taxes and security deposit due 21 days prior to arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sandbridge Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Outside Shower - outdoor shower , hot and cold
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Queen Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Queen Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    King Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Rec Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Q sofabed/Dbl futon
    Bunk Bedroom with bathroom - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Triple bunk double lower, twin upper; separate twin
    Entry Room with door - 1 double , Triple bunk, double lower, twin upper
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The 16-1/2' x 36' in-ground pool is solar heated to extend the swimming season. You, your family and friends will enjoy a very well-equipped kitchen on the second floor as well as a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, microwave and toaster oven on the ground floor. Plastic ware for the pool area is also provided in the downstairs kitchen. In addition to the living room, there is lounge seating for 6 in the recreation room and for 3 in the family room. A beach cart, rolling cooler, beach chairs, umbrellas, and toys are supplied for your convenience. And there is lots of off street parking available.

Partner Offers