Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Wailea Ekahi Condominium

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Our Maui vacation rental is a light and airy one-bedroom, two-bath condominium on the second floor of Ekahi's Upper Village. It comfortably sleeps four guests, with a lovely tropical garden view overlooking a quiet and peaceful swimming pool (Pool #3). You also enjoy a gorgeous partial ocean view from the pretty lanai and our well-stocked kitchen. Vaulted 15+ foot ceilings in the great room of our Maui rental create a feeling of spaciousness that belies its size.

Although the interior space and lanai are only 1090 square feet, the condominium is laid out in such a way as to more than accommodate four people. You will also find it equipped with beach chairs, towels, umbrella, boogie board, many videos and DVD's, books, WiFi, and everything else necessary for a delightful sojourn in Maui.

It is a five minute walk down a greenbelt to Keawakapu Beach and the ocean -- no roads to cross! You can snorkel or jump waves to your heart's content; it is a sandy white beach about a mile long. Our unit is quiet, not on the street, and you will hear the birdsongs as you enjoy all the bouganvillea, palm trees, bamboo and flowers that are within reach from our lanai. The snorkeling is fantastic right in front of Ekahi.

See our own website for details, more photos, and virtual tours of the condominium (click on link below).

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Marilee
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2017

About Marilee

We have loved Maui and have been coming to Ekahi for over 25 years now. Our children (now in their early 20s and late teens) learned to surf, snorkel, and boogie board right at Ekahi with us. We are an active family, so some hike Haleakala crater (the volcano), some paraglide up at Kula, some surf or windsurf all over Maui, and others just soak the rays on our beach.

Marilee purchased this condo in 2005

Why Marilee chose Maui

Tom and I bought our second-story unit in Ekahi after renting for a number of years (and enjoying our parents' unit in the 1980s) -- we love the flowers, plumeria trees, and the beach most of all. It is so sunny in Wailea ~ always beautiful weather and clear waters for snorkeling.

What makes this condo unique

We always see turtles here when we snorkel, and the whales are sometimes right off the beach between November and April. Nothing is more relaxing than sitting on the lanai of our condo, 42E.

Amenities

Wailea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Murphy Beds (1) Queen, with linens
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • water sports
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Built-in Hairdryer, Beach towels & toys, No Pets

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Charming Wailea Ekahi Condominium
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
Gig Harbor, Wa.
4

Relaxing Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Quiet location at the Ekahi Condominiums. The condo is very well equipped from the kitchen to beach equipment. It was great for the two of us. We enjoyed sitting out every morning on the deck for our morning coffee. We enjoyed walking down the green belt to the beach. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is just steps away from the condo.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Honeymoon in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for the second part of our honeymoon in September. We loved the unit and the location, the whole resort was beautiful and filled with beautiful greenery and flowers. Often as we walked the grounds, it would smell as though I had my nose in a bouquet! The walk to the beach is not bad at all, every morning we would walk the beach and the ocean path (which goes for hours!), and every evening we would bring a few cocktails to the beach to enjoy the beautiful sunset.

The unit had a wonderful feel to it and the layout perfectly made use of the space provided. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed (even stocked with tupperware which is nice for packing beach lunches!), the unit had tons of beach and bath towels, 4 beach chairs, umbrellas, boogey boards and 2 coolers. We ate most of our meals in the condo, the BBQ came in handy and everything we needed was available. My husband loved the unit so much, especially the shag carpet which made him feel like he was in Miami Vice - he kept saying that he was not sure what would be worse, leaving Hawaii or leaving the condo!

The owners were a dream to deal with, Marilee was quick to respond and very sweet. She even (so very kindly) allowed us to enjoy a check later checkout as our flights were not leaving until late that evening.

Thanks for a lovely experience, we look forward to coming back!

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Wonderful spot to vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd visit to this same condo at Ekahi, we love coming back! So great to have it stocked with everything we need- dishes/kitchenware, beach equipment, etc. We love watching the sunset over the water while feeding the geckos out on the lanai, walking down to the beach or the pool, or heading to the Shops at Wailea for ice cream. Can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Oakland, CA
5

Lovely Condo Provides A Little Bit of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

The perfect hosts make you feel at home. The accommodations are well appointed and nicely decorated to provide the perfect environment for your Hawaiian stay. The kitchen is well stocked with all the equipment and accessories one could need. The grounds are beautiful with tropical plants that are both fragrant and colorful and has a large green swath of lawn. The pools are well maintained and you are only a moments walk to the beach. The boardwalk provides a perfect place for a morning walk or to use to walk to outdoor cafes and restaurants along the way. It was the perfect getaway for my husband, daughter and myself. It was quiet and peaceful. It was fun testing out numerous eating establishments, surfing, snorkeling and going hiking nearby. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Wonderful place to stay with exceptional owners

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of August 2016 after deciding that the hotel that we had booked into in Kihei was just unbearable. We sent an e-mail to the owners inquiring as to their unit's availability and they responded within an hour. They felt so badly about our situation that the insisted that we immediately look at their condo and if we liked it, we could move in right away and there would be no charge for the first night. We moved into the unit in a matter of 2 hours!

The property is magnificent and the amenities are terrific. While one can access the beach directly from the property, we decided to drive down the hill and park next to the beach as this eliminated the walk uphill at the end of each day. The condo unit was spotless and everything one could need was there. Beach towels, boogie boards, beach umbrellas, beach chairs - you name it, it was all there. The owners left useful commentaries on places to eat and things to do. The A/C (it was very hot when we were in Maui) worked like a charm which was a hue improvement as we had left a situation where there was no A/C. The furnishings were very comfortable. The bed in the master was terrific. Great sleeps every night.

I was also impressed that the owners had thought to stock the place with all sorts of spices and condiments. It can be frustrating when one rents a place and decides to cook if one has to buy all kinds of spices and condiments only to use them once or twice and have to throw tem away at the end of one's visit.

While we did not use the BBQ or some of the other amenities in the condo, it was nice to know that they were there and were top of the line as we do pan to re-visit (and re-stay) at this condo at some point in the future when we can make the trip with other family members.

I can not say enough about how easy the owners were to deal with. When I originally inquired as to how I could pay the what I would owe them they replied to just send them a cheque! This was even though I was already ensconced in their condo. Their trust that I would fulfill my obligations was refreshing in this era of distrust and cynicism.

The condo is right next to one of the property's many pools so if you are not a beach person, you do not have a walk at all to get to the pool. The main pool next to the beach has refrigerator storage facilities so that you can bring a lunch to the beach. Great planning!

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
2

Great location and complex, but shabby unit

  • 2 of 5

The owner seemed very nice and Ekahi Village is magnificent. The landscaping and abundant tropical vegetation are the best on the island. The unit however is lacking. Having stayed in and looked at other Ekahi and Ekolu units, this one was a disappointment. From the stained white shag carpet, filthy refrigerator, dilapidated cabinets, ancient appliances, threadbare towels, plugged shower drain, mismatched sheets, tiny TVs, weird hand written notes everywhere, to the minimal quantity of TP, this is far from "charming." If we had been staying in a hostel, it would have made sense. But for what this place rents for, we felt cheated. It needs work.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: David, I am sorry you did not enjoy our unit as scores of other guests have. I will not reply to each point but disagree with everything (for example, the stove and dishwasher are new within the last 4 years, a few handwritten notes are in our purple notebook for guests, and there is no white carpeting here). The one broken lower cupboard hinge we did not know about and has been fixed. Nor will I discuss how you left our unit. Hope you have great vacations in the future wherever you go ~ Marilee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Rates & Availability

Wailea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$260
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$260
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates subject to change until confirmed.
For stays less than 7 nights, guest will cover the costs of the departure cleaning. No other fees or security deposits charged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Nearest Beach
200 Metres

Other Activities: Boating, Miniature Golf, Shopping, Kayaking

Photos

Partner Offers