check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marti

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Perfect Rivah Getaway

9 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kilmarnock House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, waterfront

Perfect Rivah (as the locals say) Getaway... 3+ wooded acres for lots of privacy. 680 feet of waterfront with views from all angles of the house. Very light and bright, who wants to sleep anyway? Perfect for getting to know the area, stay here, explore the antique shops, Historic Christ Church, parks, etc. There is a 60 ft dock that you can put two boats, 5ft MLW. Sleeps 8, perfect for 6. Everything is included, sheets, towels, pots, pans, dishes, toiletries. The view is spectacular off the back full house length deck. Although, the front porch isn't bad either.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Marti (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Marti

We have many rental properties in the Kilmarnock area. Although all but CAM Landing are yearly rentals. This is the house we will eventually retire to.

Marti purchased this house in 2005

Why Marti chose Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck

We came to this area looking for land to bank for a future retirement house. We saw this land first and bought immediately. It was perfect for us. We then had to build or lose our building site so close to the water. Long story short, it became a vacation rental.

Reviews

4.3
based on 9 traveler reviews

Perfect Rivah Getaway
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
4

Awesome place for family gathering

  • 4 of 5

This place is so far the best place that we've ever been to for our short trip. Great scenic water front view and nice spot for fishing and crabbing. We can't believe we caught more than 50+ crabs during our stay. The property is very cozy. We love the open concept of connecting kitchen, dining room and living room. Special thank to the owner for being responsive and able to resolve an unexpected frig broken issue before our arrival. At the end, we are the first group to enjoy the brend new frig.

The only suggestion we have for the owner is that a generated would be a great idea to have in case of emergency. We were forced to cut our trip one night short because of the power outage due to the thounder Storm. Since the property does not have a backup power system, we were out of power and out of water. Althought owner took action immediately after receiving our report, but it would still take several hours for the power company to get the power back on line. We know it was a nature caused unfortunate event; therefore, even with this unfortunate we still enjoy our vacation at the property. We will definitely come back next time!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your patience with the frig. Glad the local vendor stepped up their service and got a new one over so quickly. The storms come and go, the electric goes out, we have candles and board games, I know, apparently no one likes the old fashioned solution. We have certainly considered a generator and as soon as I get an extra $10,000, I will install one. And I don't mean that to sound flip, but it just isn't prudent at this point. Sorry you felt your stay had to be cut short, the electric was back on within hours and you could have enjoyed the next day fully. Either way, I am very glad you enjoyed the area and the house. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great getaway!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful getaway. House is well stocked and most importantly clean but bring your own wifi hotspot if you need internet.Cell phone service is intermittent. Fishing and crabbing was awesome. Nice private location. Lots of wildlife to watch. Bring your favorite dvds/vhs for TV although the house has its own stock. Overall a great experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed my home and the area. Thank you for the kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice property on the water!

  • 4 of 5

The property is extremely secluded and quiet, just what we were looking for. Instruction for arrive were spot on from the owner. The House was inviting, well decorated, clean, and comfortable. It was well stocked with dishes, small appliances (toaster oven) etc. there were even a few staple items incase you forgot something (soaps, lotions, shampoo, coffee filter) The view was incredible! We spent the majority of our trip down at the dock fishing for croakers and crabbing. We even caught a dogfish and a couple of sting rays. Beds were comfortable, and the A/C was COLD.

We did notice that upon arrive there was an abundance of flys in the house. I was able to catch them quickly since they were so slow because of the temp in the house. The grill was completely rusted inside and ran out of propane within 5 minutes of trying to use it. The back door in the dinning room was sticking and difficult to open/close the entire time we were there.

Overall this was a great experience and we enjoyed our stay. Thank you very much!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay in my home. There should have been an extra propane tank under the deck directly under the grill. And of course, to save the planet and my electric bill, you could adjust the thermostat. Also, the other two sets of doors to the rear of the house aren't as temperamental, sorry it was a bother. Please come back and we will have replaced the grill.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place but hard to have a boat

  • 4 of 5

Our only complaint is the boat access. We brought our kayaks and had to scramble down the rip-rap to get to the water. Not so easy with a toddler.

The house was great and the views were wonderful.

Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: oh no, I wish you had contacted me. There is a path, not very defined if you don't know where to look, down the left side of the property that we use to launch our canoes and kayaks. So sorry I didn't know. No, climbing down the rip rap is not recommended for anyone. I hope you were safe and still had a good time. Marti
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Very natural environment. Large property and land. The house was very comfortable and open. A lot of natural light. We just relaxed on the deck, talked, drank and let the troubles of everyday wash away. Very nice time...

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your time at our house. Please come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

The house worked out perfectly. It was right on the water, with great views. We grilled out on the porch one night at sunset. It's a short drive to Kilmarnick.

Everyone was comfortable and there was privacy in the 3rd room that has the pullout couch if needed.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your time here. Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
in town
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
many
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
in town
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
public
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kilmarnock House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$120
From
$140
Fri,Sat
$840
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kilmarnock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • River
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties