check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Perfect Rivah Getaway

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Kilmarnock House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, waterfront

Perfect Rivah (as the locals say) Getaway... 3+ wooded acres for lots of privacy. 680 feet of waterfront with views from all angles of the house. Very light and bright, who wants to sleep anyway? Perfect for getting to know the area, stay here, explore the antique shops, Historic Christ Church, parks, etc. There is a 60 ft dock that you can put two boats, 5ft MLW. Sleeps 8, perfect for 6. Everything is included, sheets, towels, pots, pans, dishes, toiletries. The view is spectacular off the back full house length deck. Although, the front porch isn't bad either.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 7, 2016
Call Owner

About Marti

We have many rental properties in the Kilmarnock area. Although all but CAM Landing are yearly rentals. This is the house we will eventually retire to.

Marti purchased this house in 2005

Why Marti chose Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck

We came to this area looking for land to bank for a future retirement house. We saw this land first and bought immediately. It was perfect for us. We then had to build or lose our building site so close to the water. Long story short, it became a vacation rental.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Perfect Rivah Getaway
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews

Awesome rental

  • 5 of 5

I had an awesome time. The house was beautiful and private on the water. I love having the master bedroom downstairs on the deck with the French doors so that I can wake up in the mornings and look straight out to the water. The boat launch wasn't far away to launch jet skis. Great fishing and crabbing from the dock. The house was clean and neat. Two of my favorite features was the big garden tub and the kitchen. I loved having my coffee on the deck looking out at the water. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. Please come back and stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful location and home!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a long weekend and were very pleased with the home. The location on a quiet creek within site of the Chesapeake Bay was exactly what my wife, teenage son, and I wanted for a getaway. We certainly would consider staying again whenever in the area. We enjoyed the collection of 'classic' video games in the evenings. There was a brand new gas grill on the porch for grilling. Wonderful place!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. New bed and furniture coming this year. Please come back and stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome place for family gathering

  • 4 of 5

This place is so far the best place that we've ever been to for our short trip. Great scenic water front view and nice spot for fishing and crabbing. We can't believe we caught more than 50+ crabs during our stay. The property is very cozy. We love the open concept of connecting kitchen, dining room and living room. Special thank to the owner for being responsive and able to resolve an unexpected frig broken issue before our arrival. At the end, we are the first group to enjoy the brend new frig.

The only suggestion we have for the owner is that a generated would be a great idea to have in case of emergency. We were forced to cut our trip one night short because of the power outage due to the thounder Storm. Since the property does not have a backup power system, we were out of power and out of water. Althought owner took action immediately after receiving our report, but it would still take several hours for the power company to get the power back on line. We know it was a nature caused unfortunate event; therefore, even with this unfortunate we still enjoy our vacation at the property. We will definitely come back next time!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your patience with the frig. Glad the local vendor stepped up their service and got a new one over so quickly. The storms come and go, the electric goes out, we have candles and board games, I know, apparently no one likes the old fashioned solution. We have certainly considered a generator and as soon as I get an extra $10,000, I will install one. And I don't mean that to sound flip, but it just isn't prudent at this point. Sorry you felt your stay had to be cut short, the electric was back on within hours and you could have enjoyed the next day fully. Either way, I am very glad you enjoyed the area and the house. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great getaway!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful getaway. House is well stocked and most importantly clean but bring your own wifi hotspot if you need internet.Cell phone service is intermittent. Fishing and crabbing was awesome. Nice private location. Lots of wildlife to watch. Bring your favorite dvds/vhs for TV although the house has its own stock. Overall a great experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed my home and the area. Thank you for the kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice property on the water!

  • 4 of 5

The property is extremely secluded and quiet, just what we were looking for. Instruction for arrive were spot on from the owner. The House was inviting, well decorated, clean, and comfortable. It was well stocked with dishes, small appliances (toaster oven) etc. there were even a few staple items incase you forgot something (soaps, lotions, shampoo, coffee filter) The view was incredible! We spent the majority of our trip down at the dock fishing for croakers and crabbing. We even caught a dogfish and a couple of sting rays. Beds were comfortable, and the A/C was COLD.

We did notice that upon arrive there was an abundance of flys in the house. I was able to catch them quickly since they were so slow because of the temp in the house. The grill was completely rusted inside and ran out of propane within 5 minutes of trying to use it. The back door in the dinning room was sticking and difficult to open/close the entire time we were there.

Overall this was a great experience and we enjoyed our stay. Thank you very much!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay in my home. There should have been an extra propane tank under the deck directly under the grill. And of course, to save the planet and my electric bill, you could adjust the thermostat. Also, the other two sets of doors to the rear of the house aren't as temperamental, sorry it was a bother. Please come back and we will have replaced the grill.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place but hard to have a boat

  • 4 of 5

Our only complaint is the boat access. We brought our kayaks and had to scramble down the rip-rap to get to the water. Not so easy with a toddler.

The house was great and the views were wonderful.


  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: oh no, I wish you had contacted me. There is a path, not very defined if you don't know where to look, down the left side of the property that we use to launch our canoes and kayaks. So sorry I didn't know. No, climbing down the rip rap is not recommended for anyone. I hope you were safe and still had a good time. Marti
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
in town
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
in town
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Kilmarnock House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kilmarnock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • River
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties