check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beach front cottage with spectacular views, great sunsets

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 nights

Description

Saint Albans City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 6

Great Lake Champlain cottage with 400 feet of lake front on Georgia Shore, with private beach Master Bedroom has a King size bed with private bath. 2 bedrooms upstairs with 2 twins each. Screened in front porch and also 2 outdoor decks. Washer/ Dryer also on first floor. Great place for a quiet get away but also close to Burlington, Stowe, Jay Peak and Montreal. Hiking and biking also near by.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Martha McGinn
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 27, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Beach front cottage with spectacular views, great sunsets
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
4

Great locaton, beautiful place to stay.

  • 4 of 5

This cottage was just perfect for us...my 3 old friends and I find a place every year for a reunion, and Lake Champlain was our choice this year. Location couldn't have been better. The cottage itself was clean and perfect for 4 women to unwind in...clean and well-equipped. The sunsets were to die for! The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because, when we arrived, the toilet in one of the two bathrooms wasn't working. Unfortunately, we were unable to get a response from the owner until we had already figured out what the problem was and had performed a bit of plumbing on our own. Not what we had planned for, but oh well! This problem continued throughout the week, but since we had figured it out, we just kept fixing it. I think it would have been nice if the owner had offered to come by to take a look at it (or fix it), but we saw neither hide nor hair of her the entire time. She responded quite a while after our first attempt to reach her, and then it was difficult to get a response, even when we'd already checked out. I had to try 3 different times to finally get a response to my encouragement to get the toilet fixed. Oh, and yes, there were no boats out for us to use. Perhaps it was because it was the end of the season and the owner was getting ready to close the cottage up for the winter, but I wish we'd had the nice interaction with the owners that other reviewers had.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that we did not get to meet our guests. As she said it was the end of our season and we were also in the middle of selling our house and preparing for the closing. I was under the assumption that the sticking toilet was fixed from the message that I received. I would normally have been there to assist. I did stop by but no one was there. Sometimes our lives just take over and we don't have enough time to do everything. I apologize. The boats are shared between the 2 cottages, and were there, just in the shed. Again sorry. Martha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A very comfortable and relaxing place

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed a relaxing vacation here. Beautiful accomodations. Wish the water levels had been higher so we could have enjoyed swimming. Did enjoy the kayak though.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Springfield, VA
5

Paradise on Lake Champlain

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent a week here in early June and had a great time. If you're looking for a relaxing lake vacation, look no further than this lake cottage in St. Albans Bay. This cottage provides you with access to two beaches as well as two decks with amazing views of Lake Champlain...perfect for enjoying the scenery, sunsets, and even looking out for Champ. In addition, if you're looking for side trips, St. Albans is only a few minutes down the road and Burlington is roughly 30 minutes away.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Peace and quietness get away

  • 5 of 5

We spent two weeks in this wonderful cottage. The cottage sits at the end of the road with water on 2 sides providing outstanding landscape and breath taking sunsets. We enjoyed St.Albans main street small restaurants, going to Burlington for a night out and access to beautiful lake Champlain( we brought our boat). Owners are very helpful and hospitable making sure you're well taken care of. If you're into cycling, Vermont roads are bike friendly and very nice.

We would love to go back if our time and the cottage availability permit.

Judith-Ann and Alain

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love Vermont and Lake Champlain so it is always Wonderful when our guests are able to experience what We are fortunate to have everyday. We hope that you Do make it back !
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Pleasant Environment With Beautiful Sunsets

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent a pleasant two weeks in late September at this cottage. The pace was relaxing and the sunsets over the lake were beautiful to behold. The cottage was clean and comfortable, and I cannot say enough good things about Martha, our host. It was a pleasure to deal with her and meet her husband, Mark.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always pleased when our guests have A wonderful stay. Autumn this year was exceptional! Hope to see you again in Vermont.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Exactly as Pictured!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cottage. We are 58 and 60 years of age and wanted a getaway from a cold, harsh winter and nonstop work the past 5 months. We are from the Hudson Valley in NY and we drove up the Thruway/Northway and took the Grand Isle Ferry across Lake Champlain to get here. Almost immediately we were discussing when we could come back! The setting is just wonderful- the cottage is surrounded on 2 sides by water, with 2 decks for eating and relaxing. Even from inside the cottage, you have views of the water, including the bedroom. Very peaceful.The inside was very clean and comfortable. Decorated in a nautical/rustic type style. Kitchen had everything we needed for the most part and we ate most meals in. Very good Wi-Fi as well. Owners Mark and Martha are very nice and helpful. We didn't use the rowboat, as the weather wasn't the greatest for several days, but on the good days we chose to relax on the decks, or visit the Champlain Islands and State Parks for some sightseeing. The parks, including Kill Kare, Sand Bar and Alburg Dunes have real nice swim beaches, but they had just opened the week were were there and the water was still cold. Still, the views are to die for and we picnicked along the shores. There is a ferry that will take you from Kill Kare State Park to Burton Island State Park, but we didn't get to do that this time around. You can also, in warmer weather, swim right from the beach area at the cottage. If you have your own boat and/or like to fish, this is the place for you! We were visited every morning by Canadian Geese and their goslings- very cute! We also took a run into Burlington to the Lake Champlain Chocolate Factory, rented bikes and road on the bike path along the lake and took a Trolley Tour of the city. We visited some northern towns as well. Had dinner in St. Albans at Jeff's Maine Seafood Restaurant- delicious- the Thai restaurant across from Hannafords (Yankee Magazine rated "Best Thai New England" and Pie in the Sky Pizza-all recommended- and lunch at Hero's Welcome in North Hero. Also saw a movie in St. Albans. The cottage is in a great location for touring and activities in the area. St. Alban's Bay is beautiful with it's views of the Adirondacks and its' islands. This cottage is great for couples like us, or families-there are bedrooms upstairs for the kids and there are 2 bathrooms downstairs. There were plenty of movies, books, magazines and games in the home. Hope to come back again sometime.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and we are so pleased That you enjoyed your week on Lake Champlain
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Burlington, Vt
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Champlain Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Bayside
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint Albans City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2017
May 14 2017 - Oct 14 2017
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
$4,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $75
Tax Rate 9.0%

1200/week
33% down for deposit to hold reservation dates.
Remaining balance 30 days prior to arrival
Refundable damage deposit due upon arrival
33% down for deposit to hold reservation dates.
Remaining balance 30 days prior to arrival
Refundable damage deposit due upon arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Saint Albans City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • For an extra visitor pull out love seat in living room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties