|Minimum Stay||5 - 6 nights|
Hono Kai -Steps from the Sea
On site managers Maalaea Bay Rentals Tax #W40839580-01 Online booking has been enabled. Contact the owner to book directly by credit card through PAY PAL.
An excellent choice for people who seek a quiet beach vacation, this property has an unbeatable view and is located on a beach that is empty for five miles. Monk seals, whales and rays can be seen in season. Four restaurants and three convenience stores are located within walking distance. A large aquarium and miniature golf can also be accessed without a car. More extensive shopping is six miles away.
We live in Juneau, Alaska. Jim was born and raised in Alaska. Jean Ann came from Ohio in 1969. We have three grown children and six grandchildren. Both of us are retired educators.
Jean Ann Alter purchased this condo in 1984
Maalaea is quiet and stunningly beautiful. Everything on the island is convenient to this area. Also, a person cannot beat the seculded beach for long walks or runs.
The building is close to the beach in a way that would not be allowed for new construction. The sound of the surf is spectacular.
We loved every minute. Absolutely love your condo. Ocean sounds and constant breezes. Saw stunning sunrises over Haleakala from the deck. Maalaea is peaceful, private, and convenient for going anywhere on Maui. Much better than when I've stayed in resorts in Kaanapali and it took fifteen minutes to get through the people and buildings every time we wanted to explore Maui. We did a month's worth of stuff in two weeks. Two trips to Hana and two trips to the crater. Saw sunset at the crater on one trip. Twice to my beloved Big Beach. Did things I've never done before on all my trips to Maui like the Bailey Museum and Haiku Mill. Absolutely love Alii Kula Lavender and especially Ocean Organic Vodka. Horrified that Iao Valley was devastated by the fluke flood. Shocked that there will no longer be sugar cane covering the isthmus. So much change has come to Maui but Maui is still a place of magic. We did a sunset cocktail cruise out of Lahaina and as the boat pulled onto the ocean a bold complete rainbow appeared over the water, framing Lahaina. I've been a lot of exotic places but that takes the cake. That beats anything I've seen anywhere. Thanks a million.
I’ll start with the good:
Loved that it was centrally located and close to the airport.
Loved the beautiful showers and the view of the ocean while showering.
Appreciated the “gear” in the closet so we didn’t have to bring, buy or rent any while there.
Appreciated that there weren't hidden fees added to the price when I clicked on "get estimate". The price was very reasonable.
The owners responded very quickly to all my correspondence.
The not so good:
It is not a two bedroom condo. It is more like a studio with a sliding divider downstairs and a (hot) loft upstairs. There is no privacy in either "bedroom".
There is no air-conditioning. Even with all the windows and doors open @ night and all the fans on (2 ceiling fans and 4 other fans) it was too hot to sleep. And, as stated in a review from over a year ago, the fans are still full of dust and need to be cleaned.
The "sound of the surf" was extremely loud. One of the reviews complained about it being in the flight path of the airport (which is true) and the planes are very loud (which is true) but the relentless pounding of the surf right outside overshadowed any noise the airplanes made. I wore earplugs and had a pillow over my head to no avail. It probably depends on the weather as to whether the surf is soothing or pounding but, of course, you have no control over that.
We had a maintenance issue, talked to Maintenance, who said they would fix the issue... never heard from them again.
It felt like there was too much furniture/decor/misc. for the size of the unit. There was very little room to put our personal belongings or move around. (there were 3 of us)
We rented the place for 8 nights. After 3 sleepless nights (due to the noise and heat), we left and stayed elsewhere.
The owners are nice people and try to provide a lovely place to stay, but it didn't work for us in any way.
Jean Ann and Jim were gracious hosts. Communication via e-mail or text was easy, Paypal used to pay the cost of the rental. Very smooth transaction. Excellent directions to and about the condo. Binoculars, Guide books were laid out, nice touches. Condo is on 2nd floor. Quiet complex. Pool out front was rarely used, totally refreshing. BBQ area was clean, met some other guests whom we enjoyed talking with. Condo was well furnished with comfortable beds, plenty of towels, dishes, full kitchen with all appliances. No A/C, but trade winds, many windows, ceiling fans, and other fans made it comfortable. (Fans could use a good cleaning, very dusty). Both bathrooms were nice, stone tiles, downstairs had the glass block wall. Nice to have 2 full bathrooms with 3 staying in condo. It was myself, my hubby and adult daughter. We enjoyed just grabbing a few things and being on the beach in a few steps! Enjoyed using boogie board and beach chairs. We left snorkeling gear (2 masks and 2 snorkels) for other guests to enjoy, purchased at ABC Store, will not use here in Sacramento! We did not want to leave. Receptionist in condo office was very nice! Construction was going on in the area (main street) and water was going to be shut off for a whole day during our stay, she informed us immediately on check-in. We planned to go to Hana that day, so we were gone the entire time. We would love to stay here again soon.
Mahalo to Jean Ann and Jim!!
This condo was perfect for our trip to Maui! The Alters were great to work with, and the condo is lovely. Checking in was easy, even when we arrived late on a Saturday night. There were four of us in our group, and we found the condo easily accommodated our needs in terms of space and furnishings. The bathrooms are very nice, with wonderful showers. The area is very quiet; the main sounds come from the crash of waves on the shore. The beach is fabulous; we enjoyed long walks, particularly in the early morning. Often we saw turtles swimming near the shore. Opening the windows allows the breeze to flow through the condo, and you can hear the surf as you fall asleep. Plenty of linens and cookware are available in the condo, and the laundry room is just a few steps down the hall. The pool has an ocean view, and it's great when the surf is particularly rough. The location is convenient for sightseeing around the island; it's a short and easy drive both from the airport and to other sightseeing areas (definitely make the drive to Lahaina). Plus you can walk to the harbor, the Ocean Center (spring for the week pass; it's definitely worth multiple visits!), and a small shopping area. Check out the Maleelea General Store; the food is great (I recommend the mango cheesecake)! Definitely a great place to stay for your Maui holiday!
This was exactly what I wanted for our vacation. My family has stayed at many large resorts and we were ready for some thing small that felt like home. One of the biggest reasons I booked this exact condo was other reviews that commented about the sound of the waves! WOW it was amazing so close to the water, a perfect breeze coming thru the condo. The morning sunrise while enjoying coffee was simply amazing.
Jim and Jean were so awesome to work with!
The condo was supplied perfectly it had everything we needed, this was a great space. I loved the screen door on the entrance door!
The beds were so comfortable and the bedding was nice. The bathrooms were newer and that was a bonus.
We stayed here for a week with our 3 kids and prior to arriving we were on Waikiki beach for 6 days, I wish we would have spent more time in Maui and less in Waikiki! Maui has so much to offer.
The only suggestions I would have is a med. size beach cooler to use. I brought a travel one but things got warm fast. A hard side cooler for picnics would have been great.
Thank you for sharing your condo with others, We hope to return one day!
We have only been back a few days and already miss it.
Dealing with Jim and Jean Ann to arrange this holiday was so easy and they were so wonderful with everything. The directions they provided were perfect, they gave driving directions right from the airport :) We checked in after the office had closed and the keys and more information were right where they were supposed to be. Everything went so smoothly.
The condo was perfect for what we needed or wanted. The sound of the waves putting us to sleep and waking us up was magical. The morning walks on the beach were beautiful. There were turtles everyday in front on the condo.
The residents and guests of the complex were all wonderful and very friendly and helpful. The maintenance man was very helpful when we had an issue with the washer not starting and made sure it turned out alright in the end.
We will definitely stay at this same condo again if we are ever able to return to Maui for another holiday. Thank you so much Jim and Jean Ann for sharing your piece of paradise with us, it was perfect in every way!!
Hono Kai sits on a sandy beach and your door is 50 steps from the water. Turtles and whales (in season) entertain you while you sip your coffee and watch the waves. The very walkable beach is empty for three miles to the edge of Kihei. A deli, aquarium, marina and several restaurants are an easy walk up the Hauoli Street to the Maalaea Village. Bus service is available at the aquarium.
Other Activities: Shopping, mini golf
Golf: Numerous golf resorts are available in a ten mile radius.
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Jan 9 2017 - Jan 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
Feb 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
6 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
5 night minimum stay or $125.00 cleaning fee.
Stays less than 5 days are also charged an additional $100 managment fee.
$200 deposit requested for reservation.;
Payment in full requested one month prior to scheduled rental.;
Deposit refund will be made two months prior to scheduled rental. All other refunds are at the owner's discretion. Generally refunds depend on the ability to rent the unit for the cancelled days.
* Approximate monthly rate. Actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay.