Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

May 2017 Dates Available

Bedrooms 2
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Outdoor Pool
  • children welcome


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, + Convertible bed, Sleeps 6

Hono Kai - Steps from the Sea

On site managers Maalaea Bay Rentals Tax #W40839580-01 Online booking has been enabled.

An excellent choice for people who seek a quiet beach vacation, this property has an unbeatable view and is located on a beach that is empty for five miles. Monk seals, whales and rays can be seen in season. Four restaurants and three convenience stores are located within walking distance. A large aquarium and miniature golf can also be accessed without a car. More extensive shopping is six miles away.

Jean Ann Alter
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2017

About Jean Ann Alter

We live in Juneau, Alaska. Jim was born and raised in Alaska. Jean Ann came from Ohio in 1969. We have three grown children and six grandchildren. Both of us are retired educators.

Jean Ann Alter purchased this condo in 1984

Why Jean Ann Alter chose Maui

Maalaea is quiet and stunningly beautiful. Everything on the island is convenient to this area. Also, a person cannot beat the seculded beach for long walks or runs.

What makes this condo unique

The building is close to the beach in a way that would not be allowed for new construction. The sound of the surf is spectacular.


Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
  • Remodeled stone and tile large showers.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Twin beds in downstairs bedroom can be combined to create a king bed. The living room has a double futon with 6 inch foam mattress.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

May 2017 Dates Available
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews


  • 5 of 5

The perfect place for whale watching and long walks on beach.The condo was bright and airy and perfect size.Every morning we saw whales breaching right outside condo.

Jean was available for any question we had.The location was perfect.

Highly recommend this place.

Peter Fundora

Mineral Wells,Texas

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ocean sounds, breezes, privacy, centrally located

  • 5 of 5

We loved every minute. Absolutely love your condo. Ocean sounds and constant breezes. Saw stunning sunrises over Haleakala from the deck. Maalaea is peaceful, private, and convenient for going anywhere on Maui. Much better than when I've stayed in resorts in Kaanapali and it took fifteen minutes to get through the people and buildings every time we wanted to explore Maui. We did a month's worth of stuff in two weeks. Two trips to Hana and two trips to the crater. Saw sunset at the crater on one trip. Twice to my beloved Big Beach. Did things I've never done before on all my trips to Maui like the Bailey Museum and Haiku Mill. Absolutely love Alii Kula Lavender and especially Ocean Organic Vodka. Horrified that Iao Valley was devastated by the fluke flood. Shocked that there will no longer be sugar cane covering the isthmus. So much change has come to Maui but Maui is still a place of magic. We did a sunset cocktail cruise out of Lahaina and as the boat pulled onto the ocean a bold complete rainbow appeared over the water, framing Lahaina. I've been a lot of exotic places but that takes the cake. That beats anything I've seen anywhere. Thanks a million.

Steve Fraser

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Steve, for taking the time to let us know you had a great time. Jean Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Not Exactly as Advertised / What We Expected

  • 2 of 5

I’ll start with the good:

Loved that it was centrally located and close to the airport.

Loved the beautiful showers and the view of the ocean while showering.

Appreciated the “gear” in the closet so we didn’t have to bring, buy or rent any while there.

Appreciated that there weren't hidden fees added to the price when I clicked on "get estimate". The price was very reasonable.

The owners responded very quickly to all my correspondence.

The not so good:

It is not a two bedroom condo. It is more like a studio with a sliding divider downstairs and a (hot) loft upstairs. There is no privacy in either "bedroom".

There is no air-conditioning. Even with all the windows and doors open @ night and all the fans on (2 ceiling fans and 4 other fans) it was too hot to sleep. And, as stated in a review from over a year ago, the fans are still full of dust and need to be cleaned.

The "sound of the surf" was extremely loud. One of the reviews complained about it being in the flight path of the airport (which is true) and the planes are very loud (which is true) but the relentless pounding of the surf right outside overshadowed any noise the airplanes made. I wore earplugs and had a pillow over my head to no avail. It probably depends on the weather as to whether the surf is soothing or pounding but, of course, you have no control over that.

We had a maintenance issue, talked to Maintenance, who said they would fix the issue... never heard from them again.

It felt like there was too much furniture/decor/misc. for the size of the unit. There was very little room to put our personal belongings or move around. (there were 3 of us)

We rented the place for 8 nights. After 3 sleepless nights (due to the noise and heat), we left and stayed elsewhere.

The owners are nice people and try to provide a lovely place to stay, but it didn't work for us in any way.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I feel badly that our condo did not work for Deanna. Unfortunately, Deanna did not let us know that the fans were dirty or that she was having problems with maintenance until after her stay. We send out information asking to be notified if there are problems. We would have been able to contact our on island managers and ask that she receive better service if we were aware. The sound from the surf is something we cannot fix. Most, but not all, guests love it. The condo sits a few feet from the water. While I have sometimes heard a plane in the early morning, the condo is not in the flight path for mainland /island flights. The amenities section of the condo advertisement on HomeAway does not list air-conditioning as one of the amenities. The condo has two stories of louvered windows plus a screen door and ceiling fans and usually has excellent circulation. While we have no plans to remove the louvers and install air conditioning, we are planning to replace our ceiling fans with newer, more efficient fans. One of the things we like about Hawaii is being open to the out of doors. The on-line condo pictures show the lay-out of the condo. There are two bedrooms. The upstairs "loft" has full ceiling height and room for a bed, two bed stands, desk, closet and hall to the bath. While neither bedroom has floor to ceiling walls, we have found the privacy adequate for family and good friends. It is furnished as we find comfortable for our stays, but I am going to look at things from Deanna's point of view and see what furniture can be discarded. I encourage potential renters to look at the condo pictures and call with any questions before renting. Jean Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Steps from beach, turtle watching from lanai.

  • 5 of 5

Jean Ann and Jim were gracious hosts. Communication via e-mail or text was easy, Paypal used to pay the cost of the rental. Very smooth transaction. Excellent directions to and about the condo. Binoculars, Guide books were laid out, nice touches. Condo is on 2nd floor. Quiet complex. Pool out front was rarely used, totally refreshing. BBQ area was clean, met some other guests whom we enjoyed talking with. Condo was well furnished with comfortable beds, plenty of towels, dishes, full kitchen with all appliances. No A/C, but trade winds, many windows, ceiling fans, and other fans made it comfortable. (Fans could use a good cleaning, very dusty). Both bathrooms were nice, stone tiles, downstairs had the glass block wall. Nice to have 2 full bathrooms with 3 staying in condo. It was myself, my hubby and adult daughter. We enjoyed just grabbing a few things and being on the beach in a few steps! Enjoyed using boogie board and beach chairs. We left snorkeling gear (2 masks and 2 snorkels) for other guests to enjoy, purchased at ABC Store, will not use here in Sacramento! We did not want to leave. Receptionist in condo office was very nice! Construction was going on in the area (main street) and water was going to be shut off for a whole day during our stay, she informed us immediately on check-in. We planned to go to Hana that day, so we were gone the entire time. We would love to stay here again soon.

Mahalo to Jean Ann and Jim!!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

This condo was perfect for our trip to Maui! The Alters were great to work with, and the condo is lovely. Checking in was easy, even when we arrived late on a Saturday night. There were four of us in our group, and we found the condo easily accommodated our needs in terms of space and furnishings. The bathrooms are very nice, with wonderful showers. The area is very quiet; the main sounds come from the crash of waves on the shore. The beach is fabulous; we enjoyed long walks, particularly in the early morning. Often we saw turtles swimming near the shore. Opening the windows allows the breeze to flow through the condo, and you can hear the surf as you fall asleep. Plenty of linens and cookware are available in the condo, and the laundry room is just a few steps down the hall. The pool has an ocean view, and it's great when the surf is particularly rough. The location is convenient for sightseeing around the island; it's a short and easy drive both from the airport and to other sightseeing areas (definitely make the drive to Lahaina). Plus you can walk to the harbor, the Ocean Center (spring for the week pass; it's definitely worth multiple visits!), and a small shopping area. Check out the Maleelea General Store; the food is great (I recommend the mango cheesecake)! Definitely a great place to stay for your Maui holiday!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved every minute!

  • 4 of 5

This was exactly what I wanted for our vacation. My family has stayed at many large resorts and we were ready for some thing small that felt like home. One of the biggest reasons I booked this exact condo was other reviews that commented about the sound of the waves! WOW it was amazing so close to the water, a perfect breeze coming thru the condo. The morning sunrise while enjoying coffee was simply amazing.

Jim and Jean were so awesome to work with!

The condo was supplied perfectly it had everything we needed, this was a great space. I loved the screen door on the entrance door!

The beds were so comfortable and the bedding was nice. The bathrooms were newer and that was a bonus.

We stayed here for a week with our 3 kids and prior to arriving we were on Waikiki beach for 6 days, I wish we would have spent more time in Maui and less in Waikiki! Maui has so much to offer.

The only suggestions I would have is a med. size beach cooler to use. I brought a travel one but things got warm fast. A hard side cooler for picnics would have been great.

Thank you for sharing your condo with others, We hope to return one day!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed our Hawaii home. I will get another cooler when I am there in November. Jean Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Rates & Availability

Maalaea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Feb 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
6 night minimum stay
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.41%

5 night minimum stay or $125.00 cleaning fee.
Stays less than 5 days are also charged an additional $100 managment fee.
$200 deposit requested for reservation.;
Payment in full requested one month prior to scheduled rental.;
Deposit refund will be made two months prior to scheduled rental. All other refunds are at the owner's discretion. Generally refunds depend on the ability to rent the unit for the cancelled days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kahalui Airport OGG
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Beach Bums
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kahili or Dunes
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Beach Bums and others at Maalaea Village
Nearest Beach
30 Metres
Maalaea Beach
Car: recommended

Hono Kai sits on a sandy beach and your door is 50 steps from the water. Turtles and whales (in season) entertain you while you sip your coffee and watch the waves. The very walkable beach is empty for three miles to the edge of Kihei. A deli, aquarium, marina and several restaurants are an easy walk up the Hauoli Street to the Maalaea Village. Bus service is available at the aquarium.

Other Activities: Shopping, mini golf

Golf: Numerous golf resorts are available in a ten mile radius.


Partner Offers