expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Beautiful waterfront view, two decks for relaxing, next to vineyards

Lawton, MI, USA
  • Cottage1800 sqft
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay3 nights

3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, sleeps 7

Our comfortable cottage with its spectacular waterfront view is waiting for you. Whether you are traveling to Kalamazoo on business, visiting Western Michigan University for its many events, or just looking for a close to home retreat, this is a perfect choice for your accommodations. The cottage offers spacious rooms, with two decks overlooking beautiful Bankson Lake, and a 60' beach area. The unique corner lot offers a second view of 'Little Bankson', an undeveloped area where wildlife abounds. Campfire area w/wood supply so get the s'more supplies ready! A sandy swimming area makes it a great place for the kids, or for just floating around. The surrounding vineyards and orchards provide a quiet ambiance and a local charm.

Additional Information: There is plenty of sun but also ample shade to keep you cool on those hot summer days. The immediate area boasts vineyards and a quiet setting. A fishing row boat is included, or fish right off the dock (and the fishing is great - walleye, muskie, and bluegill). If you are bringing your own boat or jet skis, the public boat launch is 1/8 of a mile down the road.

This is a great place for families to reconnect and spend some quality time together. I will be happy to help you with any information you need to help make your trip memorable and fun. Two couples could also easily share the cottage and would have separate bathrooms and room for privacy.

For those who may be traveling to the area on business, we offer a unique alternative to hotel accommodations & perhaps you can bring the family along!

Owner

rspiech@aol.com

Member Since 2010
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within one day
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 13, 2018

Amenities

    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 2
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 3
        3 twin/ single
      • Bedrooms 1 & 2 have a nice view of wildlife area. Linens are provided.

      Bathrooms

      • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, shower
      • Bathroom 3
        toilet
      • towels provided

      Location Type

        • Lake
        • Lakefront
        • Water View
        • Waterfront
        • Waterfront

          Theme

            • Away From It All
            • Family

              Meals

                • Guests provide their own meals

                  General

                    • Linens Provided
                    • Alarm Clock
                    • Ceiling Fans
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Fireplace
                    • Firewood
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Heating
                    • Basic Soaps
                    • Local Activities Guide
                    • Local Restaurant Guide
                    • Paper Towels
                    • Parking
                    • Parking Off Street
                    • Toilet Paper
                    • Towels Provided
                    • Washing Machine

                      Kitchen

                        • Kitchenette
                        • 4 Ring Stove
                        • Cooking Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Ice Maker
                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Microwave
                        • Oven
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Dining

                            • Dining Area

                              Entertainment

                                • CD Player
                                • DVD Player
                                • Games for Kids
                                • Television

                                  Outside

                                    • Beach Chairs
                                    • Binoculars
                                    • Boat Dock
                                    • Boat with Paddles
                                    • Lawn / Garden
                                    • Outdoor Grill Gas
                                    • Small Cooler
                                    • Walkway to Water
                                    • Wood Deck

                                      Suitability

                                        • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                        • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
                                        • wheelchair inaccessible

                                          Attractions

                                            • cinemas
                                            • museums
                                            • pond
                                            • restaurants
                                            • winery tours
                                            • zoo

                                              Leisure Activities

                                                • antiquing
                                                • bird watching
                                                • scenic drives
                                                • sight seeing
                                                • walking

                                                  Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                    • cycling
                                                    • fishing
                                                    • freshwater fishing
                                                    • golf
                                                    • hiking
                                                    • swimming
                                                    • water skiing

                                                      Notes

                                                        • Ceiling fan in family room. Room air conditioners in master bedroom & main living area. Some board games and beach toys. Non - motorized row boat and life vests. Bath towels and bed linens are provided. Special note: Access to cottage requires one flight of stairs. One flight of stairs to beach.

                                                          30 Reviews

                                                          Wonderful4.8/5

                                                          Latest reviews

                                                          We loved it!

                                                          Tammy M.

                                                          This place worked great for my family to relax after Christmas and enjoy some skiing at nearby resorts. Beautiful scenery and location and the cottage was clean and had all the conveniences you would want. The owners were great to us and responded quickly if we needed anything. We would love to go back sometime.

                                                          Spacious comfort with best view of Bankston Lake

                                                          Mary Kay G.

                                                          I'm pleased to recommend this vacation rental for its ease of living, comfortable beds, well-supplied kitchen, provisions for outdoor lake recreation, and fantastic view of the lake. We also liked the spaciousness and privacy this home affords. It also impressed us as being very clean and well maintained. If a renter is interested in viewing television, the choices are quite limited: mostly ION, shopping channels, and religious programs. Wifi here, though, is excellent with cell phone reception, depending on carrier, spotty at times. Lawton is close by with 2 very good restaurants on the main street, Big T and D Coy Ducks, and in PawPaw we enjoyed a delicious meal at LaCantina. For breakfast, the aptly named Breakfast Place in Lawton fit the bill. For folks seeking a restful time on a lovely, quiet lake, this is an oasis.

                                                          Wonderful place for a weekend at the lake

                                                          Sheyda E.

                                                          Came here for an unseasonably warm weekend in September and absolutely loved it. Had a group of friends together and we spent the entire weekend down on the dock and in the water. A beautiful home for a weekend away. I will definitely be back!

                                                          Grandkids loved the waterfront, men loved the fishing, and we girls loved the facilities.

                                                          richard e.

                                                          Everything was provided that we needed. We'd love to come back next year!

                                                          House/property is wonderful. Lake is too. BUT, cockroaches were very evident and very unfortunate.

                                                          Anne and Ted S.

                                                          We loved the house-all on one level, great for us with a toddler. Setup was great, lake was beautiful, good fishing. However, we were not informed prior to our arrival that there is a cockroach problem . We tried to deal with it, owner had exterminator come on Monday, but we continued to see them in areas other than the kitchen as the week progressed,so we packed up, ever so carefully, and left on Thursday. So disappointing that we were not informed of this problem and given the chance to cancel. And now we wait and hope we did not carry them to our home. We suggest that the owner inform all future guests, maybe shut down their rental until problem is eradicated, and start again. They did give us a full refund which we truly appreciate.

                                                          It is a terrible problem for them to have and some previous renter probably carried them in. So sorry for them but with much due diligence roaches can be eliminated.

                                                          We do not like giving this review but felt it necessary as we don't want others to experience what we did.

                                                          Owner's Response:

                                                          Hello to all my upcoming guests, future guests and returning guests for 2018 --

                                                          In response to this review -- I want to assure you all,

                                                          ** this was an isolated, confined, minimal incident.

                                                          ** I reacted swiftly - having an exterminator in the day after I was informed. (found out on Sunday - in on Mionday).

                                                          ** Followed up with guest on Tuesday - provided the option to depart with a refund. Guest stayed until Thurs, and was provided a full refund.

                                                          In Moving Forward::

                                                          ** Put cottage on a 6 week treatment (every two weeks) Have not had any further incident.

                                                          ** Will maintain a year long treatment program to ensure continued effectiveness.

                                                          I've had guests prior to and since this incident with no consequence (several already re-booked for 2018) and received favorable feedback from guests and cleaning crew.

                                                          I urge upcoming or potential guests to read my review history (I additionally have numerous heart-felt shared memories in the cottage guest book, which aren't reflected here). **And special to note: I have 7 returner guests for reservations -- some have submitted reviews at thieir initial stay - but now just write a note in the guest book. I put great care into the accommodations and my guest relations. Both properties at homeaway / VRBO

                                                          property #297091 - Michigan,

                                                          property #3871128 - Florida.

                                                          For anyone with further questions on this matter or any other questions regarding my rentals - please feel free to contact me directly.

                                                          I wish you all a wonderful fall season and look forward to hosting many returning guests and meeting some new ones., too!

                                                          -- Best to you and yours, Robin Spiech

                                                          269.207.1920

                                                          A great family get away

                                                          Susan W.

                                                          This is our second year at this property. The Bankson Lake home was perfect for our multi- generational family. Everyone had plenty of space. Our nine year old granddaughter enjoyed the swimming beach and raft. The adults were able to relax on the beach or enjoy the great views from the deck.

                                                          Owner's Response:

                                                          Nice to have you back again Susan and family! - and you are visiting again in summer 2018!! Will try to order excellent weather - and hope your grand daughter gets a lot of swim time in!

                                                          Thank you for your patronage - and it's a pleasure to have you ! --

                                                          Robin

                                                          Location

                                                          Lawton, MI, USA

                                                          Kalamazoo and Western Michigan University are a 20 minute drive. Kalamazoo offers theater, art and music events with a vibrant downtown. The Kalamazoo Air Zoo is great fun for your aviation enthusiasts. There are many recommended restaurants & wineries nearby and only 50 minutes to Lake Michigan day trip adventures. The cottage is located halfway between Chicago and Detroit approx. 10 minutes from I -94 Paw Paw exit, in the heart of beautiful wine country. Our nextdoor vineyard offers a unique setting to enjoy a nature hike, or a peaceful country picnic.

                                                          Rates & Availability

                                                          Additional information about rental rates

                                                          Tax Rate
                                                          6%

                                                          Rates are subject to change. A $350 deposit is required to reserve dates. Balance due + $250 damage deposit is due 3 weeks upon arrival date. Damage deposit will be returned if you leave the place in the condition that you found it. No pets or indoor smoking. Last minute reservations - online full payment. Cancellations must be made 30 days prior to arrival. $250 cancellation fee will apply.

                                                          $197avg/night
                                                          30 Reviews
                                                          Wonderful 4.8/5
                                                          Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                          For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                          Property # 297091

                                                          x