Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful waterfront view, two decks for relaxing, next to vineyards

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, sleeps 7

Our comfortable cottage with its spectacular waterfront view is waiting for you. Whether you are traveling to Kalamazoo on business, visiting Western Michigan University for its many events, or just looking for a close to home retreat, this is a perfect choice for your accommodations. The cottage offers spacious rooms, with two decks overlooking beautiful Bankson Lake, and a 60' beach area. The unique corner lot offers a second view of 'Little Bankson', an undeveloped area where wildlife abounds. Campfire area w/wood supply so get the s'more supplies ready! A sandy swimming area makes it a great place for the kids, or for just floating around. The surrounding vineyards and orchards provide a quiet ambiance and a local charm.

Additional Information: There is plenty of sun but also ample shade to keep you cool on those hot summer days. The immediate area boasts vineyards and a quiet setting. A fishing row boat is included, or fish right off the dock (and the fishing is great - walleye, muskie, and bluegill). If you are bringing your own boat or jet skis, the public boat launch is 1/8 of a mile down the road.

This is a great place for families to reconnect and spend some quality time together. I will be happy to help you with any information you need to help make your trip memorable and fun. Two couples could also easily share the cottage and would have separate bathrooms and room for privacy.

For those who may be traveling to the area on business, we offer a unique alternative to hotel accommodations & perhaps you can bring the family along!

More Details

Owner
rspiech@aol.com
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Kalamazoo International Airport
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
I -94 Paw Paw Exit
Nearest Beach
50 Miles
South Haven beach/ lighthouse

Kalamazoo and Western Michigan University are a 20 minute drive. Kalamazoo offers theater, art and music events with a vibrant downtown. The Kalamazoo Air Zoo is great fun for your aviation enthusiasts. There are many recommended restaurants & wineries nearby and only 50 minutes to Lake Michigan day trip adventures. The cottage is located halfway between Chicago and Detroit approx. 10 minutes from I -94 Paw Paw exit, in the heart of beautiful wine country. Our nextdoor vineyard offers a unique setting to enjoy a nature hike, or a peaceful country picnic.

Amenities

Lawton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • towels provided
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 3 twin/ single
  • Bedrooms 1 & 2 have a nice view of wildlife area. Linens are provided.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Ceiling fan in family room. Room air conditioners in master bedroom & main living area. Some board games and beach toys. Non - motorized row boat and life vests. Bath towels and bed linens are provided. Special note: Access to cottage requires one flight of stairs. One flight of stairs to beach.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful waterfront view, two decks for relaxing, next to vineyards
average rating of 4.785714 based on 28 reviews
5

Wonderful place for a weekend at the lake

  • 5 of 5

Came here for an unseasonably warm weekend in September and absolutely loved it. Had a group of friends together and we spent the entire weekend down on the dock and in the water. A beautiful home for a weekend away. I will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Grandkids loved the waterfront, men loved the fishing, and we girls loved the facilities.

  • 5 of 5

Everything was provided that we needed. We'd love to come back next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

House/property is wonderful. Lake is too. BUT, cockroaches were very evident and very unfortunate.

  • 2 of 5

We loved the house-all on one level, great for us with a toddler. Setup was great, lake was beautiful, good fishing. However, we were not informed prior to our arrival that there is a cockroach problem . We tried to deal with it, owner had exterminator come on Monday, but we continued to see them in areas other than the kitchen as the week progressed,so we packed up, ever so carefully, and left on Thursday. So disappointing that we were not informed of this problem and given the chance to cancel. And now we wait and hope we did not carry them to our home. We suggest that the owner inform all future guests, maybe shut down their rental until problem is eradicated, and start again. They did give us a full refund which we truly appreciate.

It is a terrible problem for them to have and some previous renter probably carried them in. So sorry for them but with much due diligence roaches can be eliminated.

We do not like giving this review but felt it necessary as we don't want others to experience what we did.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello to all my upcoming guests, future guests and returning guests for 2018 -- In response to this review -- I want to assure you all, ** this was an isolated, confined, minimal incident. ** I reacted swiftly - having an exterminator in the day after I was informed. (found out on Sunday - in on Mionday). ** Followed up with guest on Tuesday - provided the option to depart with a refund. Guest stayed until Thurs, and was provided a full refund. In Moving Forward:: ** Put cottage on a 6 week treatment (every two weeks) Have not had any further incident. ** Will maintain a year long treatment program to ensure continued effectiveness. I've had guests prior to and since this incident with no consequence (several already re-booked for 2018) and received favorable feedback from guests and cleaning crew. I urge upcoming or potential guests to read my review history (I additionally have numerous heart-felt shared memories in the cottage guest book, which aren't reflected here). **And special to note: I have 7 returner guests for reservations -- some have submitted reviews at thieir initial stay - but now just write a note in the guest book. I put great care into the accommodations and my guest relations. Both properties at homeaway / VRBO property #297091 - Michigan, property #3871128 - Florida. For anyone with further questions on this matter or any other questions regarding my rentals - please feel free to contact me directly. I wish you all a wonderful fall season and look forward to hosting many returning guests and meeting some new ones., too! -- Best to you and yours, Robin Spiech 269.207.1920
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

A great family get away

  • 4 of 5

This is our second year at this property. The Bankson Lake home was perfect for our multi- generational family. Everyone had plenty of space. Our nine year old granddaughter enjoyed the swimming beach and raft. The adults were able to relax on the beach or enjoy the great views from the deck.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nice to have you back again Susan and family! - and you are visiting again in summer 2018!! Will try to order excellent weather - and hope your grand daughter gets a lot of swim time in! Thank you for your patronage - and it's a pleasure to have you ! -- Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Michigan Vacation Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

If I could give Robin a 10 start count I would. From the moment we booked the cabin until our arrival and through to our departure, the experience was phenomenal.

The cabin was much more gorgeous than the pictures. The views were amazing. I would definitely do a repeat of this cabin.

Thank you Robin...

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dionnie - it was great having you and your family! Hope you may stop by again if your son attends WMU! (my Alma Mater!) I don't think the weather was the best - but you made the best of it! And no threat of gators! (guest is from FL) Best to you, Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic getaway destination

  • 5 of 5

This is a great little house that is perfect for a weekend getaway with friends/family. The unit was very clean and it sleeps up to 8 comfortably. Unexpected perks included Direct TV and wifi, not to mention lots of "extras" such as inner tubes, a paddleboat, etc. The wonderful view and massive porch is awesome, and it's a really great lake. Robin was super friendly/responsive throughout the process and we'd definitely come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kevin and Company! I believe this place provides the opportunity to relax and unwind from a busy world. I do strive to have the rental experience go smoothly and I'm always available to answer questions or provide information to ensure a favorable visit. Hope you can visit again sometime . Best regards, Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 6.0%

Rates are subject to change.
A $350 deposit is required to reserve dates.
Balance due + $250 damage deposit is due 3 weeks upon arrival date.
Damage deposit will be returned if you leave the place in the condition that you found it.
No pets or indoor smoking.
Last minute reservations - online full payment.
Cancellations must be made 30 days prior to arrival. $250 cancellation fee will apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.