Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front Penthouse

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)


This is a penthouse unit in our oceanfront property. Being on the top floor of this 3 story building offers you the most spectacular views of the ocean and southern coast. You will be able to spot the dolphins even when they past the surf breaks. The elevation above the boardwalk also offers for privacy and solitude.

This spacious 2 bedroom condo sleeps 6-7 people comfortably. It is decorated with sophistication with comfort in mind. This home was recently renovated offering fresh surroundings and comfort. One of the bedrooms has two full beds and the second bedroom acts as the master with one queen size bed. There are two bathrooms. The master bath has a shower and the second bath has a bathtub plus shower. The kitchen comes complete with everything you need to enjoy a home-away-from-home vacation on the beach!


There are many high end treatments making this unit comfortable and accommodating including travertine throughout, granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, washer/dryer in the unit, dishwasher, wireless internet and parking. There is a private patio for the building with a large stainless steel barbecue and picnic tables. The patio has a view of the ocean!

There are views of the water from all west facing windows! That means you will be watching the sunset into the ocean from the comfort of your living room couch!

We have more condos in the same building that when combined can sleep a total of 24-32!

Keywords: ocean front, oceanfront, penthouse, two bedroom, 2 bed

More Details

Property Manager
Gina Isenburg
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018


Mission Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

45% Complete
27% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Ocean Front Penthouse
average rating of 4.0 based on 11 reviews

Views forever!

  • 5 of 5

The best word to describe our experience was breathtaking! The views from the top floor were incredible. We could see past the surf break to where the dolphins swim past. We had two families including 4 adults and 2 children. The house accommodated us all very well. We found all of the dishware we needed to eat at home most of the time. The oceanfront location is obviously ideal for watching sunsets from the living room while the kids played or slept. We also liked the North Mission Beach location because we could walk to all kinds of different restaurants and shopping. We are sincerely looking forward to coming back and hope to stay in the same home.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: March 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1

Stunning view, great location, rapid response

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was fantastic. The house is in a great location with many hot spots in walking distance.

The arrangement of living room and kitchen made for easy conversation between the two rooms. Plenty of seating at the bar, coffee table and couch. Back door opens up onto the board walk.

We had some problems with the shared bbq grill on the patio. The grill didn’t cook our large tri tip all the way through so we had to finish it in the oven (it could have been the wind factor) Other meats like sausage and burgers cooked fine.

Thank you to Gina! She was amazing!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, but condo dirty and run down

  • 3 of 5

Property was dirty. Shower curtain was moldy, floors were not clean in bathrooms, bed quilt had holes in it.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect Location on the Beach

  • 5 of 5

We were in town for a long weekend, and the Mermaid Penthouse was not only a perfect location, but it was also run by responsive and friendly people. We'll be back next year for sure!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!! We would love to have you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Phoenix, AZ

Great location, fabulous views

  • 4 of 5

As other reviewers have mentioned, the location was perfect, views were excellent, but the unit could use a little work. Any issues we had were responded to promptly and they were actually working on fixing some of the items during our stay. They replaced the old patio grill with a brand new one, and the elevator was down for a bit for repair but back up within a few hours. The dishes didn't really get clean in the dishwasher even though it looked new, so we hand washed everything. It's a great unit, just showing some wear and could really be great if the owner updated a few items, including some minor issues with the furniture (bed as other mentioned, and cocktail table).

All that said, we would definitely stay here again. The views of the beach, ocean and sunset were fabulous. We got to see the dolphins and plenty of people watching. We loved that the beach access was immediately in front of the unit, perfect for my parents who both are having hip and back issues. The parking space was tight but not impossible even for our mid-size SUV. You are just .5 miles from lots of great restaurants but still in a more "residential" area so it's quieter at night. We loved the door code access, especially for the three of us since we didn't need to deal with who had the keys to the unit. There were some beach toys, chairs, etc. provided but they looked rusty so we ended up buying our own chairs and brought our own 10' canopy to put up on the beach. Kitchen was well appointed for our needs. We were asked to start a load of linens upon checkout but there was no laundry detergent. We loved having our coffee in the morning with the windows open and great views. Again we would stay here again for the location & views, despite some of the minor issues.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great Location but needs some work

  • 3 of 5

The Condo is on the top floor of a three story 6 unit building. The parking space is tight as you drive up and the alley is narrow to back out. Combo locks were easy to operate for access. Elevator was great for getting luggage and groceries to top floor. Front room has a spectacular view of the beach and ocean. Unit itself needs a better bed in first room. I had to pull mattress off bed and align slats because they were all at angles and the mattress would go down in varied spots , way down. Hall bathroom toilet water kept running had to call property manager of other company that manages other 5 units to get someone to fix it. Second bedroom light was not working when we came in so we had to use a bulb from lamp in other room. Kitchen was very limited on utensils for cooking. I have stayed at a few VRBO destinations all had better planned what cooking essential utensils travelers would need. Location is close to Ocean Beach and is on Pacific Beach. Starbucks and other good restaurants within walking distance. Lastly and the biggest reason for the rating was I had to clean every dish before we used them, they were put away dirty, yuck. We enjoyed our stay none the less. We would probably rent here again for the location and view.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Mission Beach

Other Activities: Parasailing, racquetball, mini golf, boating, basketball, hot air ballooning, shopping, kayaking, health/beauty spa, horseshoes


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $190
Tax Rate 10.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties