check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marcie Miller

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Big Views From this Hamakua Home

25 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Honokaa House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Queen Bedrooms + 1 Convertible bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

This private home on the lush Hamakua Coast is a beautiful blend of past and present. Located just a block from the overlook of the sacred Waipio Valley, the house allows visitors to commune with nature and history, while enjoying all the comforts of the 21st century.

We invite you to experience all the wonders of Pele’s home as you explore the Big Island, or simply relax on the lanai and enjoy the simple pleasure of quiet days in old Hawaii. Hiking, ATV tours, and horseback riding are within walking distance, and the historic town of Honoka’a is just a 10 minute drive away. A two minute walk will bring you to the overlook of the revered Waipio Valley, with its spectacular views, thundering waterfalls and black sand beach. Whales visit our islands each winter, and are visible from the deck.

This home is filled with glass art, blown by the owner. The open floor plan and cathedral ceilings invite interaction and community, while two bedrooms and two baths offer privacy for couples or families. Lots of windows and sliding doors allow you to enjoy the spectacular 180° ocean view, as well as the Waipio Valley and Maui in the distance. It is a serene place to relax, and a great base from which to explore the Big Island. Guidebooks are provided to speed you on your way.

Keywords: house, views

More Details
Marcie Miller (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Marcie Miller chose Hamakua Coast

We chose the Hamakua Coast because it gets just enough rain to be lush and green and enjoys lots of sun and amazing views. We chose to be near the Waipio Valley because we love the local people and their affinity for the 'aina, or land. For us, it is important to have our Hawaiian experience be one that honors both people and nature, and we fell in love with the true aloha spirit not always found in more populated areas.

What makes this house unique

Being on the northern tip of the Big Island, we enjoy the glorious colors at both sunrise and sunset. We love the spectacular views from nearly every room in our home, and learned to appreciate watching the changing colors of the ocean as the weather changes. The stars at night are spectacular!

Reviews

4.7
based on 25 traveler reviews

Big Views From this Hamakua Home
average rating of 4.68 based on 25 reviews
Colorado
5

Heaven on earth!

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for peace and tranquility as well as a little adventure, this is the place to be. The view from the lanai is breathtaking. The home is very comfortable and it has absolutely everything you need. We were able to go the beach and have a great picnic with the cooler, beach chairs, and boogie boards provided by the homeowner. We went on several excursions and loved coming "home" and chillin. We loved hanging out with the locals in town too. The vibe in the nearby town was very laid back. Not many tourists. Don't miss visiting the Waipaio Valley nearby. It is within walking distance of the house. But get ready for the hike of your life. It is really intense! Your hike will be rewarded by the most beautiful area you've ever seen...waterfall, farms, and a black sand beach. You can also drive to it but you have to have 4 wheel drive. Best vacation ever!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great visit!

  • 5 of 5

A great view, clean home - had everything we needed. Marcie was good to deal with and Victoria the cleaner very nice, too. We'd stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mesa, AZ
5

Very nicely cared for home in a secluded location.

  • 5 of 5

This home is exceptionally well maintained. It is nicely stocked with with items to enhance your stay - maps, books, snorkeling equipment, buggy boards plus kitchen and bathroom supplies. Everything is in good working order and well thought out. The location is great if you want to be alway from the crowds. We had a great time and would highly recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review! We're glad you liked it, and hope the island calls you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gresham, OR
5

Splendid home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay and found virtually everything we needed plus plenty of extras! This was a good home base for touring both sides of the island as well as Volcano and South Point. Waipi'o Valley was a little hard to access because of heavy rains - our trek on foot ended prematurely due to a crunched ankle - don't attempt that hill if it's wet! Luckily, I was blessed with walking stick someone left on the deck that helped me around for the rest week. We did make it down eventually by Jeep (4wd) and it was as beautiful as promised. We appreciated the excellently supplied kitchen and enjoyed fresh fruit smoothies every morning. Take advantage of the Farmers Markets in nearby Waimea! Nighttime can be a bit noisy with the frogs but no one had trouble sleeping. The trick is to wear yourself out during the day. This is a great place for anyone that wants to be away from the crowds and doesn't mind driving - I enjoy sightseeing so it was perfect for me. Our teens got a little bit of car fever, but those Kohala beaches are close enough to make up for it. It was a lovely vacation and I can honestly say the Hamakua Coast is my favorite part of the Big Island. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Big Island is more than twice the size of all the other islands combined, and there's so much to see and do that no matter where you are on the island, you're gonna have to drive if you want to see everything! The good news is that it takes a really big storm to cover the whole island, so you can nearly always find sun somewhere! People who love a resort experience will love the views, but will miss the golf, tennis, pools and onsite restaurants of hotel properties, but those who value a taste of local life in a small town will find a home away from home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very clean and in a beautiful location.

  • 4 of 5

Overall, we enjoying our stay at the glass house. Everything was very clean and it had all the amenities that we needed. It's just a minute down the road from waipio lookout and around 10 minutes from Honokaa. We only had a few issues, the freezer doesn't get very cold so it's hard to make ice and there are no curtains for the 3 large slipping doors in the living room or the master bedroom window over looking the living room. I'm sure this wouldn't be an issue for anyone who enjoys waking up with the sun at 5am. But I'm not one of those people. lol Besides that everything was awesome.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love being able to see the ocean without getting out of bed, but agree it's not for ever everyone! The second bedroom is probably better for late sleepers because you can draw the drapes, close the blinds and shut the door for dim, quiet rest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An absolute piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved everything about the glass house. There are windows everywhere! The views are beautiful from sunrise to sunset. We loved

sitting out on the lanai watching the horses graze in the pasture with the beautiful ocean on the horizon. We have rented a lot of VRBO's and

this was one of our favorites. The home was clean, comfy & cozy, the kitchen was well stocked with everything you can possibly need, and the location to the historical town of Honoka'a was just a short drive away. If you don't feel like cooking stroll over to the Waipio Cook House down the rode. It is close

enough to walk and the food is great!! also don't miss visiting Waipio Valley, if your up for the hike it is just beautiful!

Ginny & Dusty April 29-May 8

  • Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Waipio Cookhouse is new since we were there, but our friends tell us they love to take a bottle of wine and sit outside toasting the sunset views.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Hilo or Kona
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Honokaa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,215
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Honokaa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties