Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

June 24 week open-reserve now! EASY WALK TO TOWN AND BEACH! AMAZING VIEWS!

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 14, 3600 sqft, 3 levels all with decks & views

Once part of the historical Grandview Hotel that overlooked the bluff in 1905, this recently renovated home is 3 levels with decks on each level, front & back - spectacular views up & down the river & to Lake Michigan! You'll enjoy amazing sunsets as well as watching the boats up and down the river. It has 3600 sq ft of beautifully decorated entertaining space with gourmet kitchen that seats 6 at the granite bar with full amenities, 10 person dining table, large family room with multiple seating areas, backyard deck entertaining area with gas grill, firepit, dining table, 4 bedrooms on the 2nd level that sleep 6, one lower level queen sleeper sofa (open in living room), lower level bedroom with queen bed and twin trundle, 3rd level family room loft (has 4 twin beds loft style) with outdoor covered deck with views of river & Lake Michigan!! Home is equipped with 3 LCD TVs, DVD players, dish TV, kids playroom/toys, pack & play, beach toys. One block to town & 3 blocks to the beach - the Perfect location to easily walk to beach or town & enjoy the view!

Few blocks to Kids Corner!: Kids tired of going to the beach and want something different to do?! We are just a short walk over to Kids Corner which is a huge wooden play center with towers, bridges and hidden tunnels! Also slides, swings, tire swings, etc., basketball hoop/court, baseball/softball diamond, picnic tables and lots of grassy area to play other games!!

Concerts and Festivals: We are only a couple minutes walk to the river area where a lot of the free concerts and festivals are held. So, you don't have to pack up everything for the whole day - you can get home quickly any time you want to stop back in and take a break then right back to the festivities in minutes!!!

House made for entertaining: This is a place where we entertain and host our large family every year so we are set up with plenty of places for everyone to sit for eating and lounging around in the family room to watch TV. No more crowded seats with some people left out!!! Same goes for the outside back deck area. There are plenty of tables and chairs, plus a built in bench that lines the perimeter of the deck for extra seating.

Additionally, the third level family room/bedroom loft area is one large open space with 4 twin mattresses (two can be put together for a king bed) in the front of the space, and a large sectional and club chair with flat screen t.v. to the rear of the space and a 3rd level deck with plenty of comfy seating for viewing all of those spectacular sunsets or taking an afternoon nap!

More Details

Property Manager
Jill Panella - Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 12, 2017

About Jill Panella - Owner

I grew up in South Haven and lived there until I attended college at Michigan State. My immediate and extended family, as well as friends, still live there and I come and stay in my own home every summer! I currently live in Tampa, Florida.

Jill Panella - Owner purchased this house in 2005

Why Jill Panella - Owner chose South Haven

This property was lovingly renovated by me after I purchased it in 2005. It was made for entertaining with upgraded amenities and a spacious feel for accomodating your family and friends. It is over 100 years old and was originally part of The Grand Hotel that overlooked the bluff.

What makes this house unique

Three levels of decks with views of the lake and river from both the front and back of the house!! Very open floor plan for entertaining, as well as extra large seating area in the family room for large parties. Additionally has a third floor family room with amazing views of lake and river and SUNSETS!!!! Outside back deck is huge with large dining table/chairs and a fire pit with surrounding chairs and a bench that surround the entire deck. Plenty of seating for your back yard party!!

Map

Clementine's
"Everyone loves this place! It is housed in what was the old bank so it has interesting arch..."
Cafe Julia
"One of my favorite places to grab my morning latte and breakfast; as well as yummy pastry tr..."
Idler Restaurant
"Grill type food but a great place to hang out on the river outside and a fun atmosphere!!!"
Captain Nemos
"This has been around since I was growing up!! It has good cafe food and a good little salad..."
Su Casa Restaurante
"Great mexican food!! Has a bar as well. "
Maria's
"Italian dining has great food very family friendly. "
Tello Italian Bistro
"Love this place! Upscale Italian dining owned by my friends!! Smaller, quaint restaurant, ..."
Tello's Trattoria & Cabaret -- CLOSED
Captain Lou's
"Fun day spot for sitting outside for drinks/food on the river"
Sherman's Dairy Bar
"This has been around since I was growing up!! It has good cafe food and a good little salad..."
Maria's
"Italian dining has great food very family friendly. "
Thirsty Perch Grill -- CLOSED
Nearest Airport
35 Miles
South Bend Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Jake's Bar and Grill
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Blue Star Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Venezia's Italian Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
South Beach
Car: not necessary

A hop, skip and jump to beautiful Lake Michigan! Enjoy plenty of beach days swimming in the waves and magnificent sunsets as well as climbing or touring the sand dunes. South Haven has many free summer concerts and festivals, a quaint downtown shopping and restaurant area as well as nearby wineries and antique shopping.

Golf: Local golf facilities.

Amenities

South Haven House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View
  • Town ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 1st floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master Bath
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , After beach use
  • Master bath has jacuzzi tub and large walk-in, glass enclosed shower with stone floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , one of these twins can be relocated to the 3rd story
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , one of these twins can be relocated to the 3rd story
    Front living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , downstairs pullout sofa
    Bedroom 7 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , One queen/full day bed with a twin pull out trundle
    3rd level loft - 4 twin/ single
  • Also one pack and play available for use anywhere in house. Additionally please note that the third floor is a loft so the bed area is open to the TV area.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Absolutely No Smoking!!!! Game, beach toys, chairs, coolers, etc stored in basement. Please note, that although we do not allow dogs for renters, the owners do stay at the house once per year and they do have dogs..... FYI for allergy sufferers.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
26% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
June 24 week open-reserve now! EASY WALK TO TOWN AND BEACH! AMAZING VIEWS!
average rating of 4.652174 based on 46 reviews
New Baltimore, Michigan
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriends and I had the best weekend in South Haven. The house is incredible - Clean, spacious, beautifully decorated, and in the perfect location. The view from the third floor balcony is priceless. Jill was so very easy to work with and great with communicating! Will definitely be back for another visit!!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your gracious review! We are so happy you loved your stay at our place and enjoyed the very close proximity to everything. I hope you took in a couple sunsets from that third level - they are amazing! Hope to see you back again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great place for a family get away

  • 5 of 5

Everything was comfortable and as depicted. It's a very walkable location.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay In South Haven and the proximity of our house to everything!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Louis, MO
4

Beautiful location but needs some updating

  • 4 of 5

The home was in a great location. Easy walk to the beach and town. We barely got in our car. The first floor is a great room for gathering and eating. When we arrived the home was less than pristine. The floor and ceiling fans were less than clean. The furniture was adequate but "tired". The carpeting on the second floor had many stains, three of the four bedrooms. I believe the guest's information book needs to be updated. We found discrepancies from the website and what we were told by the owner. We were also a little disappointed when we arrived and had to go out and buy toilet paper, paper towels, napkins, and kleenex as well as propane for the bar-b-q pit the very first evening we arrived. I think this house could be spectacular but it needs some attention.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First off let me say that you will be hard pressed to find a house that is as updated and beautifully decorated as mine. Your accusation that my furniture is tired is completely untrue and this is a situation where someone is just finding things to complain about. My pictures accurately represent my furnishing and decorating so anyone can check pictures for themself. You did contact me about some cobwebs in the lighting fixtures over the island which I did talk to my cleaning crew about. As much as we strive for perfection sometimes in the rush to turnover a property in four hours we miss something small. As far as the other items there were paper towels and toilet paper provided and extra in the drawers - you were just not satisfied with how much was there. In an effort to make you happy I immediately sent over more toilet paper and paper towels the very next day even though you already had a sufficient amount. And lastly it is true I do not provide propane tanks anymore for my renters because the gas always gets left on and wasted and I was replacing it every week. I offered to credit you back the cost of the tank if you wanted to get gas. In all of my years of having renters I have never had someone launch so many petty complaints about my house or the service I provide.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

We had our family vacation there and theire were 14 of us, plenty of room, never felt crowded and the sunsets from the third floor balcony were spectacular! We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to do.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad the house accomodated your large group easily and that you had a great stay and enjoyed the awesome sunsets from the third level! Hope you will come back and stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazingly relaxing weekend. Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

The house is gorgeous and the location is perfect. All the porches and balconies allowed everyone ample time for rest and relaxation. There were a few hiccups with some of the appliances, but did not detract from a fantastic weekend. We loved our stay and everything was easily walkable from the house!

Wonderful weekend!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, we are glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope to see you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Indianapolis, Indiana
5

Very nice place with plenty of room for our large group.

  • 5 of 5

The weather was cold rainy and windy. We played games and did jigsaw puzzles. There was plenty of space in the open family room for all. It is a great place. I would rent it again. Everything ran very smoothly from check in to check out.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Sorry the weather didn't cooperate but I'm glad you had a great time in the house and had all the space you needed to spread out and be comfortable! I made that family room specifically to entertain large groups of family and friends! Come back and stay with us in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Damage Deposit $500

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. There is also a $200.00 cleaning fee. NO PETS ALLOWED - Rental agreement must be signed and strictly adhered. PLEASE PRINT the rental agreement upon reservation. DOOR CODES WILL BE LISTED UNDER THE HOSPITALITY SECTION!!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.