check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

ed and/or joan

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Home in a Park Like Setting

23 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

Carpinteria House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Very comfortable and well appointed home on one half acre with lots of trees, grass, beautiful landscape-all the comforts of home without any of the usual responsibilities.

Located just 2 miles from the beach community of Carpinteria and an even shorter distance to the quaint little beach town of Summerland, and about 5 miles from downtown Santa Barbara where you will find 'fine to funky' dining, outdoor cafes, a great zoo, museums, street musicians, beautiful beaches, and plenty of outdoor activities for everyone in the family.

Enjoy relaxing afternoons around the pool and jacuzzi (pool is heated June-Sept. and jacuzzi is 'good to go' year round) on your large redwood deck where you will find plenty of sun or shade to read that book you have not found the time to get around to. There is also an outdoor fire pit for night time camp fires-just steps from the jacuzzi. And new this season, your own beach overlooking the pool (see photos)

If you are a horse lover (even if you aren't!), take in an afternoon polo match played by the top polo players in the world (May-September). This is where Prince William played in the summer of 2011-for what ever THAT'S worth!

Or if you are more inclined to a more active stay, take a run, walk or bike ride on several trails that are near by.

Make this your home away from home for all your get-away trips to beautiful Santa Barbara!

Keywords: well appointed home on half acre

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
ed and/or joan (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About ed and/or joan

We are a semi-retired couple who travel quite a bit. When in town and our home is rented, we may stay in the cottage that is also on the 1/2 acre property. However, it is in the front part of the property, while the pool, spa, bar-b-que and deck are in the back part of the lot and well secluded with all the privacy our guests desire. In fact, we have often gone an entire week without seeing-or being seen-by our guests, since when we are in Santa Barbara, we are usually out and about from early morning till night time-working or playing.

What makes this house unique

Your own private back yard beach! See pic's.

Reviews

4.8
based on 23 traveler reviews

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Home in a Park Like Setting
average rating of 4.826087 based on 23 reviews
Burbank, Ca
5

Family getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and I wanted a low key clean home with a pool to get away for the 4th and we found at the Wimberly's. This was the perfect location, close to everything and yet felt secluded. My 15 month boy and my 10 year old sons had a blast.

I would highly recommend this location for a quiet getaway.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Serene Escape

  • 5 of 5

We were in SB recently for a week to attend a family funeral and such events are never highly anticipated "fun getaways". I very much needed a home like setting, rather than a cold and impersonal hotel - a quiet sanctuary to escape to daily, a warm environment where family could gather in comfort, serenity, peace and relaxation. We were so fortunate to find Ed and Joan's home. It's ideally placed just at the edge of Summerland and feels so tucked away and private yet easily accessible to downtown Summerland, Carpinteria, Montecito and a short skip to Santa Barbara as well as the beach. The home sits in a quiet neighborhood, set back from the street and surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens, a gorgeous pool and several retreat areas with ample seating and lounging opportunities providing a welcome escape every day. Stop at the Trader Joe's in SB on your way, pull-up, unpack, and unwind. We slept comfortably every night in the sumptuous beds and cooked at home daily finding everything we needed including an outdoor grill and comfortable dining areas inside and out. The backyard is truly a tranquil paradise where one could spend all day long swimming, sunning, lounging, and resting. This home could function in so many ways; a romantic getaway for two, couples escape, girlfriends weekend for three or more, writer's retreat, or as a homebase for friends and family wanting to explore and adventure in the region. The interior with two fireplaces and gathering areas would be just as cozy in the cooler winter months. The owners were very respectful of our privacy, flexible, and extremely responsive to every need or question. I wish our stay had been under more pleasant circumstances but grateful we were able to find a real home that provided genuine comfort for friends and family during a trying time.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another Excellent Stay in this Summerland Home

  • 5 of 5

This is our third time back within a few years. We first stayed here for a long weekend, and have come back twice for week vacations. We are a family of 6, with kids now ages 9 to 16, and everyone enjoys the stay here. It is like a home away from home.

The house is very well maintained. The kitchen has everything needed to cook, which we do often, including the barbecue out back. The pool area is beautiful, with lovely gardens, and there are many different areas to just sit and relax. The kids also like the fire pit for s'mores.

The house is also in a perfect location. It is in a quite neighborhood and at the same time close to everything we want to do. Santa Claus beach, which is a 5 minute drive, is the best beach in the area (and I would say Southern CA as we are from LA). Carpinteria is 10 minutes down the road, and Santa Barbara is 10 minutes the other way. Montecito is just south of Santa Barbara, and we always have to go to Lucky's there for a fancy steak dinner. One of the best things we did on the last stay is attend a formal polo match on Sunday, we rented a box. Everyone loved it and it is a different experience versus other sporting events.

Joan and Ed are great hosts, very accommodating and easy to communicate with. I know I will be contacting them for a future stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Garden is a little paradise!

  • 5 of 5

My Family of 5 had a wonderful time in this really lovely house. The house is very comfortable and cozy, lovely decorated and has everything you need for a relax stay. Lots of space, comfortable beds and bathrooms and kitchen of good quality with everything you need. If you step outside you see a beautiful garden with lots of colorful flowers and palmtrees, a peaceful quiet oasis! A lovely swimmingpool and jacuzzi, lots of places to sit, a large dinningtable and everything you need to have a nice evening outside.

We really enjoyed our stay and recommend it to everyone who is looking for a nice stay in a clean, easy going house with a beautiful garden.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family of 5 had an amazing time. The home was better than advertised. The backyard truly transported you to a private oasis. We would be happy to recommend to friends and would love to return. Thanks for sharing your home with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

paradise

  • 5 of 5

My family of 5 ( my wife and myself, our 18 years old daughter , 15 years old son and 9 years old daughter ) had a fantastic time in this beautiful, clean and welcoming home.

the house is extremely confortable and cozy . Everything in the house is tasteful , clean , quality: beds, bathroom , kitchen, kitchenware ,…

Whatever you need .. all is in the house ( beach chairs, cooking utensils,outdoor grill, …)

The backward is really wonderful, like a private paradise .. what a beautiful place, to have breakfast each morning , to see our children playing in the fantastic heated pool and to relax with a glass of wine in the evening .

The care and attention that Ed and Joan ( the owners) give to this unique property is very apparent

The house is in a quiet and charming residential neighborhood. It was the perfect location for going to the beach or to the many restaurants in Summerland, Montecito or Santa Barbara.

Ed and Joan are extremely nice, kindly and helpful. They provide us a lot of informations about places to eat and things to do . It is also worth noting that the whole booking experience was totally effortless.. Ed and Joan were a pleasure to work with.

We certainly highly recommend this home to all of our friends.

Our kids did not want to leave ..my wife said me that it was one of our bests summer vacations..

and I .. i just want to be back next year … so we will.…

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Carpinteria House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$10,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $150
New tax of $2/night $2
Tax Rate 10.0%

$500 refundable security/damage deposit due to reserve date. Total bill plus 10 % bed tax, a new tax of $2/night, $150.00 cleaning fee due by check to owners one month prior to arrival. The separate $500 security/damage deposit returned to renter within two weeks of departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Carpinteria House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Beautiful new stone shower/floor
  • Two completely remodeled bathrooms in the past year- one off the master bedroom. Both have showers.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 murphy bed , a double murphy bed.
  • sleeps 6 in beds with A pack and play available for infants.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
outdoor firepit

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties