Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rustic Hide-a-way with Bubbling Hot Tub and Wifi

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 640 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms plus sleeper sofa loft, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 6

Hidden away in the quiet woods of the popular Tanglewoods area of Sautee-Nacoochee, Rustling Leaves cabin is an inexpensive place for a get-a-way in the mountains of Northeast Georgia. All the activities of downtown Helen are just 4 miles away. Rustling Leaves is newly-updated, with rustic pine walls, shiny new pine floors, and soaring wood-beamed ceilings to greet you as you step through the front door. Warm up by the stone and wood fireplace with a crackling wood fire, Cook a meal in the galley-style kitchen, complete with a new saltillo tile floor and a bar overlooking your private hot tub. Step out on the covered deck to soak in your bubbling hot tub, or eat a meal overlooking the woods. A private bedroom and sleeper sofa loft provide sleeping arrangements for 4 people upstairs. Downstairs, a smaller second bedroom features a full size futon for two more people.

NEW FOR 2015! Wireless Internet, a flat screen TV in living room, and a new queen bed in the master!

More Details

Owner
Kate
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

This cabin was a joy to stay in. It was the perfect size for the 3 of us and 2 dogs. We did not see much wildlife outside, but the weather was perfect. We will be back.



Bravo Zulu for Sulu a cozy cabin!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Helen Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 640 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Toilet and vanity area separate from tub/shower. Bathroom can be privately accessed through the downstairs bedroom, or from the living room.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 double
    Downstairs - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Sleeper sofa in upstairs loft sleeps an additional two people. Maximum capacity is 6 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Full Kitchen: Kitchen Contains a Double Sink, Stovetop and Oven, Refrigerator, Microwave, Toaster, Crockpot and Coffeemaker. There Is No Dishwasher. Cooking Utensils Provided: Pots, Pans, Dishware, Glasses, Utensils, and Silverware Are Provided. Apartment-sized refrigerator has ice cube trays and bin for ice. Covered Lanai has a Private Hot Tub, and an Outdoor Eating Area. Living Room has a TV with DVD player. Master Bedroom has a small TV in armoire. There is a new convenience store (Tanglewood Mart) within walking distance which carries canned and paper products, ice, charcoal, frozen foods, beer and wine.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

Rustic Hide-a-way with Bubbling Hot Tub and Wifi
average rating of 4.6 based on 42 reviews
Marietta, GA
5

Perfect little getaway.

  • 5 of 5

I am an avid VRBO traveler and always read the reviews prior to booking. If you take the time to read the reviews of this cabin, you will realize this is a perfectly located cabin and it is an AWESOME place to get some R & R.

It is off the beaten path but easily located (if you read Kate's instructions and read the reviews.) It is about 5 minutes from Helen and well situated for quick access to Anna Ruby falls and many other of the wonderful hiking paths of North Georgia. Inside the cabin, there is a queen size bed, a sleeper sofa, a futon, and a couch. The cabin is fully stocked and actually stays very warm/cool. The owner could not have been more responsive and accommodating.

Now, because I read a few of the previous complaints about the cabin, I want to address them. It is on a bumpy, gravel road (its a cabin.) There were a few stink bugs inside (its a cabin.) It is among a community (of cabins) but no one is really close to you. It needs a few updates but, you guessed it, (its a cabin.) There are sticks and stones you might step on if you walked around outside barefoot (its a cabin... in the woods.) There are a bunch of steps getting up to the door just like the pictures show. There are no steps to get in the hot tub but I am 5' 7" and had no problem stepping over into the tub.

Bottom line: If you are looking for a great little place in the woods to stay while you get out and explore (Anna Ruby, Dukes Falls, Tallulah Gorge, Goats on the Roof, etc.) you wont find a better place for the price. If you are a city slicker looking for a mansion made of wood that slightly resembles a cabin with all the amenities of home, go somewhere else.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, well-stocked, near plenty of trails - only complaint is not very private

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time here! We're used to having to eat out for meals when we travel, so having a fully-stocked kitchen (we weren't sure what it would be like beforehand, but it had everything we needed - pots, pans, cooking utensils, cutlery, tupperwares, measuring cups... stove, oven, microwave, etc.) was a dream. Hot tub was great; it was outside and screened in with wooden paneling, but we could still hear the neighbors, which was a bit of a bummer. This cabin is in "neighborhood" of cabins, so no one is close enough to peep in any windows, but it's by no means isolated. The directions to find the cabin were great, but we arrived late at night, and since it was dark, it was hard to see the gravel road that split off from the parking lot in front of the leasing office. Location is great for getting out into the mountains. We were very pleased!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed a romantic weekend with my wife and dog at the cabin. The cabin was just like the description and pictures showed. It had the rustic flair of being deep in the woods, but also an easy drive to downtown Helen and multiple hiking destinations. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to book a fun weekend!

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The cabin was perfect for the 3 nights we were there. Built a fire each night and the hot tub was am

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect. The hot tub was amazing. Secluded yet close to town. It was perfect for the 3 nights we atayed there. We will definatly rent from Kate again. Steve and Lucy 2/25 - 2/28

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Yikes

  • 1 of 5

When we walked in the cabin looked nice. But after further inspection there were dead bugs all over the house. The front burner on the stove didn't work. And worst of all while trying to have a nice fire outside I stepped on a nail and it went through my foot! I don't think I'll be coming back to these cabins or renting from this company/person again.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for bringing the front stove burner issue to our attention - the burner was not securely pushed in the prongs after the foil on the drip pan was replaced during cleaning, but has been addressed now. Stinkbugs have been more prevalent this year because of the warm winter weather, despite regular pest control. They are common in wooded areas this year, which is why nearly most vacation rental guest info indicates that you may still see occasional bugs during your stay in the woods. We are currently sealing all the exterior window joints of the cabin, and replacing the door weather stripping as well. Had you had mentioned stinkbugs in your texts, I would have been happy to send Cas up to sweep or vacuum any that you found! As far as the wood is concerned, we do not leave spare wood lying around the cabin, and the piece that your boyfriend placed under the cabin had 1 inch screws (no nails) that were firmly embedded in the wood. I don't know where you found the piece, but I am glad that you were not severely injured when you stepped on it! I had not thought to suggest that guests do not walk barefoot around the firepit at night, but I may consider adding this to the guest instructions. We have been in this business now for 8 years, and try very hard to create an enjoyable experience for our guests, and I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expections.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very nice, well appointed, cozy cabin.

  • 5 of 5

Everything was as advertised. Cabin is small but cozy and well appointed. In a quiet, peaceful area close to Helen. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Atlanta International
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Innsbruck Golf Resort (public)
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Intersection of Rt 356 and Rt 17/75
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Several in Downtown Helen

Helen, Northeast Mountains, Georgia, USA (Approximately 4 Miles North of Helen) -- Just minutes from Unicoi State Park and Anna Ruby Falls, and four miles northeast of the Helen City Limits. The cabin is located about two miles from Unicoi State Park and Anna Ruby Falls.

Other Activities: Shopping, Mini Golf, Wildlife Viewing, Just minutes from Unicoi State Park and Anna Ruby Falls

Photos

Rates & Availability

Helen Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
Mar 13 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$95
From
$105
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$105
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$115
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$95
From
$105
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $55
Security Deposit Waiver $29
Pet Fee $25
Tax Rate 15.0%

Security deposit waiver is required for all bookings, in place of the traditional security deposit. This waiver covers unintentional damages, up to $1000. This fee is non-refundable.

Nightly rates do NOT included taxes or cleaning fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers