Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Breathtaking panoramic sunset views. Quiet island. Private Ocean beach.

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8 Max, central air, washer/dryer, w/w carp

Rocking chair breezeway porch offers a perfect vantage for a gathering or simply gazing at the view with a glass of wine. All bedrooms have balconies with views of ocean and Intracoastal Waterway. Located on a quiet side street, a short walk to private ocean beach (short enough for a pre-schooler to walk with bucket and shovel in hand).

A quiet and scenic escape for a couple or a family, this 4-bedroom, 2-bath home with cathedral ceiling and w/w carpeting accommodates 8 guests. The first floor has 2-bedrooms with a double bed in the first bedroom and a double bed in the second bedroom. The second floor has 2 bedrooms with a queen bed in the first bedroom and 2 single beds in the second bedroom. 'Sunset Vista' has central heat & air, dishwasher, microwave, washer & dryer, icemaker, color cable TV, VCR, and telephone with data-port. Other amenities include covered porches, covered parking and outside shower with hot & cold water. This is a NON-SMOKING house inside and outside.


Holden Beach is recognized as one of the ten best family beaches in North America. Sunset Vista is located on a short quiet street with few rental properties. It is the peaceful little beach street you would have loved as a kid.

If your intention is to rent Sunset Vista to host drunken friends, play loud music with total disregard to the time and the neighbors, be rude and fill the house beyond its capacity, then rent another house. Sunset Vista is not for you.

I respect my neighbors and the character of the island. Renters who abuse the house, the neighbors and the law will meet the Holden Beach police, be evicted and forfeit their rental fee.

More Details

Burton Hall
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 12, 2017


Holden Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • River
  • Town
  • Village
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor - outdoor shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


3.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

Breathtaking panoramic sunset views. Quiet island. Private Ocean beach.
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews

We LOVED it! Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely fell in love with this house. It did not feel like a vacation house, it felt like home. I wish I could live here year round. We didn't lack for any comforts. The only thing we had to bring were our towels and food. Kitchen was very well stocked.

The views were amazing.

There were 7 of us, 4 adults and 3 children. We had plenty of room to sleep and eat.

The porch was wonderful. My 76 year old Mother did not want to get out much, so she was well entertained with the marsh and ICW views. The wildlife was extraordinary for us.

I hope to be able to rent this same house every year. Mr. Hall was very helpful and very quick to respond to my inquiries before I rented.

Terri Thompson

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Terri: Sorry for the delayed response. Elaine and I just came back from our time away at Sunset Vista. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful comments. I cannot tell you how appreciative Elaine and I are to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We had worked very hard over the last off-season to bring a whole new look and feel to Sunset Vista and your comments make it all worth while. We hope you have the opportunity to return next season. Regards, Burton Hall
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location - but....

  • 2 of 5

OK - the positive first - the house is perfectly located on a quiet street overlooking the marsh with easy beach access. The house has a great layout and is perfect for entertaining and over all we had a great vacation - despite the cons.

The cons - the house is dated and needs some serious remodeling/refreshing. I traditionally cook at least 2 meals a day - but the stove was so old the burners don't sit flush and the pots and pans were so bad that to even boil eggs was a challenge.

The beds and bedding were old and frankly just didn't feel clean and when you add to that the carpets in the bedrooms were dirty and stained - it wasn't great.

The living layout is perfect - but the furniture is old, uncomfortable and frankly a little smelly.

The technology in the house is ok - if you are ok with 1 tv and basic cable. Note there is no wifi.

Additionally - there are no "perks" to the property - most of the other homes I have stayed in on Holden have a few beach chairs or toys - but there are none here - so be sure to bring your own.

Overall - we had a great vacation but for the price I had hoped for and expected more from the home.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am pleased that you had a great vacation. I appreciate your comments on the perfect location, convenience and layout for entertaining. I am sorry that you were not totally satisfied with your experience and your feedback is appreciated. I would also like to note that Sunset Vista was booked without interruption through the vacation season and we have received no other negative comments. That said, all comments are important and heeded. We have had the complete interior painted, the decks painted, and the living room, kitchen and bathroom floors replaced. The house is thoroughly cleaned after each renter. Carpeting is steam cleaned each season. Holden Beach is rated one of the top family beaches in North America. I have tried to create an environment that is conducive to that experience. Sunset Vista is my house and only vacation rental property. Each season we replace the cookware. The stove is electric with integrated burners. I appreciate your input. As always my goal is to make a vacation a quality experience. I will make every effort to address your concerns. While Sunset Vista was booked all last summer and this was the only negative comment, one criticism is one criticism too many. The house has been painted inside. The living room furniture has been replaced with new custom Rattan. The interior has been freshened. All window treatments have been replaced. There is all new cookware. Steam cleaning of the bedroom carpets has been completed. Regards, Burton Hall
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0

Rates & Availability

Holden Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Fair Value
Apr 15 2017 - May 12 2017
4 night minimum stay
Spring Resort
May 13 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
Summer Mid
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Mid Summer
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
Fall Resort
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
Fall Value
Aug 19 2017 - Oct 21 2017
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.75%

Season Weekly Min. Stay Turn Day

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Myrtle Beach, SC/Wilmington, NC


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties